DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 – 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,479,541, “Robinson.”
Regarding Claim 1: Robinson discloses a motor (10) for a compressor (16) (Figures 1 – 9), the motor comprising: a rotor (34, 36, 38) configured over a shaft (20); a stator (40, 42, 44) arranged around the rotor within a cover (11, 12, 13) associated with the motor; and at least one fluid injection device (54, 54a, 102, 202, 302, 304), wherein the at least one fluid injection device comprises an inlet port (Interpreted as the connection between fluid conduit 52, 52a, and the respective manifolds 54, 54a, and 304) and one or more outlet ports (56, 106, 214, 312, 306), wherein the one or more outlet ports are fluidically connected to the inlet port via a plurality of fluidic passages extending within the corresponding fluid injection device (As shown in each of Figures 4 – 9; Each embodiment discloses fluidic connections between the corresponding inlet ports and the one or more outlet ports), and wherein the inlet port of each of the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected to a fluid injection passage (52) extending through the cover (As shown in at least Figures 1 and 2; The inlet pipe 52 is shown extending through the cover).
Regarding Claim 5: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein a ring-shaped fluid injection device (54, 102, 202, 302) among the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected to the corresponding fluid injection passage of the cover at one end of the shaft (Each of the identified fluid injection devices are shown as being ring shaped in at least Figures 3 – 9; As additionally identified in at least Cl. 4, ln. 73, “end rings 38 are subjected to more even cooling since the number of holes 106 in the ring 102 is far in excess of the number of nozzles 56 used to spray the cooling medium on the end rings in the motor 10”).
Regarding Claim 8: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein the inlet port (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; The inlet port is shown formed radially at a position along an outer curved surface of the ring-shaped member) and the one or more outlet ports are configured radially at positions along an outer curved surface of a corresponding ring-shaped member of the at least one fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figures 7 – 9; The outlet ports 312 are shown formed radially at a position along an outer curved surface of the ring-shaped member).
Regarding Claim 9: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein the inlet port is configured radially on an outer curved surface of a ring-shaped member of the at least one fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; The inlet port is shown formed radially at a position along an outer curved surface of the ring-shaped member), and the one or more outlet ports are configured axially at positions along a planar surface of the corresponding ring-shaped member (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, and 6; The outlet ports 56, 106, 214, are shown arranged axially at positions along a planar surface of ring-shaped members 54, 102, 202).
Regarding Claim 10: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein a disc-shaped fluid injection device among the at least one fluid injection device is configured with the cover at an end of the shaft (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; The at least one fluid injection devices at least 54, 102, and 202, are each shown as being disc-shaped and configured with the cover element 13 at an end of the shaft), and wherein the inlet port and the one or more outlet ports are defined radially and/or axially along an outer curved surface and/or a planar surface respectively of the disc-shaped fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 7; Each of the inlet and outlet ports are shown arranged radially or axially around either an outer curved surface or a planar surface of the disc-shaped element identified).
Regarding Claim 12: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein the size of the one or more outlet ports is less than the size of the inlet port (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; Each of the outlet ports is shown as being smaller than that of the inlet port formed at the connection of supply line 52).
Regarding Claim 13: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein the at least one fluid injection device is coaxially configured with the shaft (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; The fluid injection device is shown arranged with the shaft passing therethrough such that it is interpreted as being configured coaxially with the shaft), and wherein the one or more outlet ports are positioned above a plane passing through a center of the shaft (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 9; At least one of the one or more outlet ports is shown arranged positioned above a plane passing through a center of the shaft (i.e. a plan into the page in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 4, 6, 14 – 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,479,541, “Robinson,” in view of US 2021/0199356, “Heger.”
Regarding Claim 2: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein the at least one fluid injection device is configured at one or both ends of the shaft (As shown in at least Figure 2; The at least one fluid injection device is located at both ends of the shaft); however, Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the compressor is a screw compressor. Robinson discloses a centrifugal compressor.
Heger teaches a motor (20) (Figures 2 – 5) for a compressor (12), wherein the motor is a refrigerant cooled motor ([0002], “electric motor may be cooled using a working fluid of the vapor compression system (e.g., a heat transfer fluid such as a refrigerant)”), and wherein the compressor is a screw compressor (Figure 5; [0040] – [0042], “compressor 12 is representative of a screw compressor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have utilized a screw compressor, as taught by Heger, in substitution for the compressor of Robinson, as such a compressor will work equally well as a refrigerant compressor and as such a modification is viewed as a simple substitution of one known compressor type for another. Such a substitution would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 3: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses having a first section of the shaft (Interpreted as the portion of the shaft extending from the compressor housing 16 into, and within, the motor housing 11, 12, 13) extending out of a housing of the compressor into the cover, and a second section of the shaft enclosed within the housing (Interpreted as the portion of the shaft shown located within the compressor housing 16); however, Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the compressor is a semi-hermetic screw compressor. Robinson discloses a centrifugal compressor.
Heger teaches a motor (20) (Figures 2 – 5) for a compressor (12), wherein the motor is a refrigerant cooled motor ([0002], “electric motor may be cooled using a working fluid of the vapor compression system (e.g., a heat transfer fluid such as a refrigerant)”), and wherein the compressor is a screw compressor (Figure 5; [0040] – [0042], “compressor 12 is representative of a screw compressor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have utilized a screw compressor, as taught by Heger, in substitution for the compressor of Robinson, as such a compressor will work equally well as a refrigerant compressor and as such a modification is viewed as a simple substitution of one known compressor type for another. Such a substitution would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 4: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 3; once combined, Robinson further discloses wherein the at least one fluid injection device is configured to flow or spray a refrigerant (Cl. 3, ln. 28, “refrigerant is sufficiently cold to provide cooling to the motor 10”) towards the stator and/or the rotor (As shown in at least Figure 2; As further described in at least Cl. 3, ln. 27 – Cl. 4, ln. 3), at one or both ends of the shaft or the first section of the shaft, through the one or more outlet ports via the corresponding fluidic passages (As shown in at least Figure 2; The refrigerant is sprayed towards both ends of the first section of the shaft which is located within the motor housing).
Regarding Claim 6: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 3; once combined, Robinson further discloses wherein a ring-shaped fluid injection device (54, 102, 202, 302) among the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected with the corresponding fluid injection passage in the housing at an end of the first section of the shaft or an end of the shaft (Each of the identified fluid injection devices are shown as being ring shaped in at least Figures 3 – 9; As additionally identified in at least Cl. 4, ln. 73, “end rings 38 are subjected to more even cooling since the number of holes 106 in the ring 102 is far in excess of the number of nozzles 56 used to spray the cooling medium on the end rings in the motor 10”) coaxially extending through the ring-shaped fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 9; Each of the identified fluid injection devices are shown with corresponding flow passages which extend through the ring-shaped fluid injection device in the direction coaxial with the direction of the shaft).
Regarding Claim 14: Robinson discloses a motor (10) for a semi-hermetic compressor (16) associated with a vapor compression system (Figures 1 – 9), the motor comprising: a shaft (20) rotatably configured within a housing associated with the compressor (16), such that a first section of the shaft extends out of the housing (Interpreted as the portion of the shaft extending from the compressor housing 16 into, and within, the motor housing 11, 12, 13) and a second section of the shaft remains enclosed within the housing (Interpreted as the portion of the shaft shown located within the compressor housing 16); a stator (40, 42, 44) and a rotor (34, 36, 38) arranged around the first section of the shaft (At least Figure 2), wherein the stator, the rotor, and the first section of the shaft are enclosed by a cover (11, 12, 13) attached to the housing (At least Figure 2); and at least one fluid injection device (54, 54a, 102, 202, 302, 304) configured at one or both ends of the first section of the shaft (At least Figure 2), wherein the at least one fluid injection device comprises an inlet port (Interpreted as the connection between fluid conduit 52, 52a, and the respective manifolds 54, 54a, and 304) and one or more outlet ports (56, 106, 214, 312, 306), the one or more outlet ports being fluidically connected to the inlet port via a plurality of fluidic passages extending within the corresponding fluid injection device (As shown in each of Figures 4 – 9; Each embodiment discloses fluidic connections between the corresponding inlet ports and the one or more outlet ports), and wherein the inlet port of each of the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected to a corresponding fluid injection passage (52) extending through the cover and/or the housing of the motor (As shown in at least Figures 1 and 2; The inlet pipe 52 is shown extending through the cover); however, Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the compressor is a screw compressor.
Heger teaches a motor (20) (Figures 2 – 5) for a compressor (12), wherein the motor is a refrigerant cooled motor ([0002], “electric motor may be cooled using a working fluid of the vapor compression system (e.g., a heat transfer fluid such as a refrigerant)”), and wherein the compressor is a screw compressor (Figure 5; [0040] – [0042], “compressor 12 is representative of a screw compressor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have utilized a screw compressor, as taught by Heger, in substitution for the compressor of Robinson, as such a compressor will work equally well as a refrigerant compressor and as such a modification is viewed as a simple substitution of one known compressor type for another. Such a substitution would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 15: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 14; once combined, Robinson further discloses wherein the at least one fluid injection device is configured to flow or spray a refrigerant (Cl. 3, ln. 28, “refrigerant is sufficiently cold to provide cooling to the motor 10”) towards the stator and/or the rotor (As shown in at least Figure 2; As further described in at least Cl. 3, ln. 27 – Cl. 4, ln. 3), at one or both ends of the shaft or the first section, through the one or more outlet ports via the corresponding fluidic passages (As shown in at least Figure 2; The refrigerant is sprayed towards both ends of the first section of the shaft which is located within the motor housing).
Regarding Claim 16: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 14; Robinson further discloses wherein a ring-shaped fluid injection device (54, 102, 202, 302) among the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected to the corresponding fluid injection passage of the cover at one end of the shaft (Each of the identified fluid injection devices are shown as being ring shaped in at least Figures 3 – 9; As additionally identified in at least Cl. 4, ln. 73, “end rings 38 are subjected to more even cooling since the number of holes 106 in the ring 102 is far in excess of the number of nozzles 56 used to spray the cooling medium on the end rings in the motor 10”).
Regarding Claim 17: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 14; once combined, Robinson further discloses wherein a ring-shaped fluid injection device (54, 102, 202, 302) among the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected with the corresponding fluid injection passage in the housing at an end of the first section of the shaft or an end of the shaft (Each of the identified fluid injection devices are shown as being ring shaped in at least Figures 3 – 9; As additionally identified in at least Cl. 4, ln. 73, “end rings 38 are subjected to more even cooling since the number of holes 106 in the ring 102 is far in excess of the number of nozzles 56 used to spray the cooling medium on the end rings in the motor 10”) coaxially extending through the ring-shaped fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 9; Each of the identified fluid injection devices are shown with corresponding flow passages which extend through the ring-shaped fluid injection device in the direction coaxial with the direction of the shaft).
Regarding Claim 19: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 14; Robinson further discloses wherein the size of the one or more outlet ports is greater than the size of the inlet port (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; The sum of the areas of each of the outlet ports is shown as being greater than that of the single inlet port formed at the connection of supply line 52).
Regarding Claim 20: Robinson, in view of Heger, teaches the motor of claim 14; Robinson further discloses wherein the at least one fluid injection device is coaxially configured at the one or both ends of the first section of the shaft (As shown in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8; The fluid injection device is shown arranged with the shaft passing therethrough such that it is interpreted as being configured coaxially with the shaft), and wherein the one or more outlet ports are positioned above a plane passing through a center of the shaft (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 9; At least one of the one or more outlet ports is shown arranged positioned above a plane passing through a center of the shaft (i.e. a plan into the page in at least Figures 2, 4, 6, and 8).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,479,541, “Robinson,” in view of US 3,241,331, “Endress.”
Regarding Claim 7: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 1; Robinson further discloses wherein the one or more outlet ports (306, 312) are configured radially along an outer curved surface of the corresponding ring-shaped member (As shown in at least Figures 7 – 9); however, Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inlet port is configured axially on a planar side of a ring-shaped member of the at least one fluid injection device. Robinson discloses a connection between the inlet port and the ring-shaped member as being arranged on the radial surface of the ring-shaped member.
Endress teaches a motor (10) for a compressor (10) (Figures 1 – 3), the motor comprising: a rotor (39) configured over a shaft (41); a stator (38) arranged around the rotor within a cover (16, 16a) associated with the motor; and at least one fluid injection device (67), wherein the at least one fluid injection device comprises an inlet port (Interpreted as the fluid connection between annular space 68 and supply passage 66) and one or more outlet ports (69) (Cl. 3, ln. 69, “an annular space 68 in communication with passage 66 is provided with small passageways 69 serving as nozzles for delivering liquid coolant to the interior of the casing”), wherein the one or more outlet ports are fluidically connected to the inlet port via a plurality of fluidic passages extending within the corresponding fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figure 3; Each of the openings of nozzles 69 are shown fluidically connected to the annular space and the axially extending passages communicating between the annular space and the nozzle openings), and wherein the inlet port of each of the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected to a fluid injection passage (66, 65, 36) extending through the cover (As shown in at least Figures 3; At least the inlet pipe 65 is shown extending through the cover), and further teaches wherein the inlet port is configured axially on a planar side of a ring-shaped member of the at least one fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figure 3; The fluid injection devices 67 is shown formed as a ring shaped member and the inlet port is shown located on a planar side of the device, on the right hand side as shown in at least Figure 3, which is shown formed with a planar surface extending radially with respect to the axis of rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the radial inlet arrangement of Robinson with the axial inlet arrangement of Enders with the predicted results that such an axial arrangement will work equally as well as an inlet to the manifold and that such an arrangement will allow for the reduction or relocation of the inlet line of Robinson by relocating the supply within the housing as taught by Enders (At least Figure 3; Integral fluid passages).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,479,541, “Robinson,” in view of US 2021/0199356, “Heger,” and US 3,241,331, “Endress.”
Regarding Claim 18: Robinson discloses the motor of claim 14; Robinson further discloses wherein the one or more outlet ports (306, 312) are configured radially at positions along an outer curved surface of the corresponding ring-shaped member (As shown in at least Figures 7 – 9); however, Robinson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inlet port is configured axially on a planar side of a ring-shaped member of the at least one fluid injection device. Robinson discloses a connection between the inlet port and the ring-shaped member as being arranged on the radial surface of the ring-shaped member.
Endress teaches a motor (10) for a compressor (10) (Figures 1 – 3), the motor comprising: a rotor (39) configured over a shaft (41); a stator (38) arranged around the rotor within a cover (16, 16a) associated with the motor; and at least one fluid injection device (67), wherein the at least one fluid injection device comprises an inlet port (Interpreted as the fluid connection between annular space 68 and supply passage 66) and one or more outlet ports (69) (Cl. 3, ln. 69, “an annular space 68 in communication with passage 66 is provided with small passageways 69 serving as nozzles for delivering liquid coolant to the interior of the casing”), wherein the one or more outlet ports are fluidically connected to the inlet port via a plurality of fluidic passages extending within the corresponding fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figure 3; Each of the openings of nozzles 69 are shown fluidically connected to the annular space and the axially extending passages communicating between the annular space and the nozzle openings), and wherein the inlet port of each of the at least one fluid injection device is fluidically connected to a fluid injection passage (66, 65, 36) extending through the cover (As shown in at least Figures 3; At least the inlet pipe 65 is shown extending through the cover), and further teaches wherein the inlet port is configured axially on a planar side of a ring-shaped member of the at least one fluid injection device (As shown in at least Figure 3; The fluid injection devices 67 is shown formed as a ring shaped member and the inlet port is shown located on a planar side of the device, on the right hand side as shown in at least Figure 3, which is shown formed with a planar surface extending radially with respect to the axis of rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the radial inlet arrangement of Robinson with the axial inlet arrangement of Enders with the predicted results that such an axial arrangement will work equally as well as an inlet to the manifold and that such an arrangement will allow for the reduction or relocation of the inlet line of Robinson by relocating the supply within the housing as taught by Enders (At least Figure 3; Integral fluid passages).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the at least one fluid injection device comprises one or more mounting holes that are configured to fluidically connect the inlet port of the at least one fluid injection device to the corresponding fluid injection passage and to the cover and/or a housing of the motor using one or more fasteners.” Robinson fails to disclose an attachment or mounting mechanism for the at least one fluid injection device wherein one or more mounting holes of the mounting mechanism are configured to fluidically connect the inlet port of the at least one fluid injection device while also using one or more fasteners.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0069455 – Device for liquid cooling of electric motor
US 2015/0276282 – Motor cooling system for chillers
/BENJAMIN DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746 2026.02.27
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746 3/12/2026