DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/2025 and 10/8/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keylink (Smart Plasma Processing System) in view of Wang (CN 106086987 B; see translated portion).
With regards to claim 1, Keylink disclose(s):
An apparatus for applying plasma to the mid-frame of an
a frame creating and interior volume (see frame in fig of pag 1), wherein the frame has a bottom portion (see portion below middle horizontal portion of fig 1) and a top portion (see portion above middle horizontal portion of fig 1) terminating at the top of the apparatus (see top of fig 1);
a robot arm (see arm in fig 1; see “The 5- to 6-axis robotic arm enables accurate and repeatable treatment of complex 3D components,” [see section “1. High Precision & flexibility in pag 1”]) is secured to the frame;
a plasma device secured to the robot arm at the end opposite the connection to the frame (see arm in fig 1);
a computer (see PLC; [see section “4. Smart & Safe Operation”]; see Overview in pag 2) operably coupled with the robot arm and the plasma device.
Keylink does not disclose(s):
The
Wang teaches:
The device being an electronic device, within the scope of plasma treatment ([lines 21-29 in page 4]; see fig 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Keylink by implementing the device being an electronic device as disclosed by Wang in order to improve the surface energy of terminal aluminum material housing such that anode layer adhesion of terminal aluminum material shell is enhanced as taught/suggested by Wang ([second paragraph in page 5]).
With regards to claim 2, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink further disclose(s):
further comprising a floor plate secured to the frame, wherein the floor plate separates the bottom portion from the top portion (see surface plate holding the arm in fig of pag. 1).
With regards to claim 5, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink further disclose(s):
further comprising a screen secured to the frame and operably coupled with the computer (see “touchscreen” in page 2).
With regards to claim 7, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink further disclose(s):
comprising a plurality of safety shields secured about the top portion (see se mi transparent side covers in fig 1).
With regards to claim 11, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink further disclose(s):
wherein the computer is comprised of a storage device having apparatus software stored thereon (“Control Unit and / or PC” within programing involves software; [page 3]).
With regards to claim 12, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 11,
Keylink further disclose(s):
wherein the software is configured to display a graphical user interface on the screen (“touch screen interface”; page 3).
With regards to claim 14, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 11,
Keylink further disclose(s):
wherein the software is configured to instruct the robot arm to move the plasma device around a particular
Wang further disclose(s):
The device being an electronic device, within the scope of plasma treatment ([lines 21-29 in page 4]; see fig 3).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keylink (Smart Plasma Processing System) in view of Wang (CN 106086987 B; see translated portion) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (CN 118342078 A).
With regards to claim 3, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink as modified does not disclose(s):
a device support secured to the floor plate, within reach of the plasma device and the robot arm.
Yang teaches:
a device support secured to the floor plate, within reach of the plasma device and the robot arm (see clamping means 4 and 42; fig 3; [1st paragraph in page 6]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Keylink by implementing the device support secured to the floor plate, within reach of the plasma device and the robot arm as disclosed by Yang in order to hold/secure in place a device for plasma treatment as taught/suggested by Yang ([1st paragraph in page 6]).
With regards to claim 4, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the robot arm is secured to the top of the apparatus.
Yang teaches:
wherein the robot arm is secured to the top of the apparatus (see 2; fig 3; [1st paragraph in page 6]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Keylink by implementing the robot arm is secured to the top of the apparatus as disclosed by Yang in order to efficiently move around a target treated device as taught/suggested by Yang ([1st paragraph in page 6; last paragraph in page 7]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keylink (Smart Plasma Processing System) in view of Wang (CN 106086987 B; see translated portion) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyawaki (US 20210138660 A1).
With regards to claim 6, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 1,
Keylink as modified does not disclose(s):
further comprising a placement apparatus secured to the robot arm.
Miyawaki teaches:
further comprising a placement apparatus secured to the robot arm (see 120; fig 13; []).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Keylink by implementing the placement apparatus secured to the robot arm as disclosed by Miyawaki in order to move around a treated device within a treatment device as taught/suggested by Miyawaki ([0094]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keylink (Smart Plasma Processing System) in view of Wang (CN 106086987 B; see translated portion) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fu (CN 208937282 U; see translated portion).
With regards to claim 8, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 7,
Keylink as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the frame creates four sides to the apparatus and only three sides of the top portion include the safely shield.
Fu teaches:
wherein the frame creates four sides to the apparatus and only three sides of the top portion include the safely shield (see Claim 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Keylink by implementing the frame creates four sides to the apparatus and only three sides of the top portion include the safely shield as disclosed by Fu in order to protect an operator while allowing access to a treated/operated device as taught/suggested by Fu ([Claim 9]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keylink (Smart Plasma Processing System) in view of Wang (CN 106086987 B; see translated portion) and Fu (CN 208937282 U; see translated portion) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Shoenfeld (US 20060161296).
With regards to claim 9, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 8,
Keylink as modified does not disclose(s):
further comprising a light array bar and a corresponding part, wherein the corresponding part is a sensor which determines when the light is disrupted.
Shoenfeld teaches:
further comprising a light array bar (24; figs 1 and 7) and a corresponding part (26), wherein the corresponding part is a sensor which determines when the light is disrupted (Fig 7; para [0039]: transmitter emits a sheet of light across the opening 16, and the detector picks this up. Any time that a break is detected in the sheet of light, e.g., whenever a persons hand penetrates into the opening, this penetration is detected. The light curtain can be used to disable the action of the conveyor within the cabinet so that the hanger bars 18 can only move if the light screen is clear).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Keylink by implementing the a light array bar and a corresponding part, wherein the corresponding part is a sensor which determines when the light is disrupted as disclosed by Shoenfeld in order to disable the operation of a machine when an unauthorized element enters the enclosure as taught/suggested by Shoenfeld ([0039]).
With regards to claim 10, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 9,
Shoenfeld further discloses:
wherein the apparatus will not operate if the light from the light array bar is disrupted [0039].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keylink (Smart Plasma Processing System) in view of Wang (CN 106086987 B; see translated portion) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Nortman (US 20250161619 A1)
With regards to claim 13, Keylink as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus for applying plasma of claim 11,
wherein the graphical user interface displays at least one item selected from the list of items consisting of: a model selector, machine statistics, average time to complete a plasma application, live display of plasma application, the location of the plasma apparatus on an electronic device, a system checklist, an abort button, and total usage time.
Nortman teaches:
wherein the graphical user interface displays at least one item selected from the list of items consisting of: a model selector, machine statistics, average time to complete a plasma application, live display of plasma application, the location of the plasma apparatus on an electronic device, a system checklist, an abort button ([0057]), and total usage time.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of modified Keylink by implementing the graphical user interface displaying an abort button as disclosed by Nortman in order to allow an operator to stop the operation of an apparatus as taught/suggested by Nortman ([0057]).
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845