DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/12/2025 in which claims 21-44 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “said power distribution circuit” in lines 6-7 is unclear because the claim has a primary power distribution circuit and a secondary power distribution circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross et al (hereinafter Ross) (US 9,081,568 B1).
As to claim 21, Ross discloses a power distribution management system (see abstract) comprising:
first, second and third power outlets (Fig 3, 220);
said first, second and third power outlets each including a selector switch (Fig 3, 236, 244, 234) to designate said first, second and third power outlets on either a primary (Fig 3, 206) or a secondary power distribution circuit (Fig 3, 208);
at least one of said first, second and third power outlets is switched to said primary power distribution circuit, and at least one of said first, second and third power outlets is switched to said secondary power distribution circuit (col 3, lines 5-9);
said power distribution circuit includes a circuit power monitor (col 4, lines 15-17, power monitoring) that is configured to monitor power used by said circuit and power used on each of said first, second and third power outlets (col 12, lines 30-32); and
a controller (Fig 8, 252); said controller is configured to selectively disable power to one or more power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit when power monitored by said circuit power monitor achieves a threshold value (col 10, lines 49-52, 62-64, col 11, lines 22-25, overcurrent/mismatch condition); said controller is configured to enable power to one or more power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit that have been disabled when power monitored by said circuit power monitor falls below said threshold value (Fig 7, the 220 is enable when there is no overcurrent/mismatch occurred).
Ross does not disclose about a threshold value. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ross to have the power monitor is above the threshold value in order to protect the outlets when too much current applied to them.
As to claim 22, Ross discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 21, wherein one or more of said circuit power monitor and said outlet power monitor is comprised of a current transformer (col 4, line 16).
Claim(s) 23-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross et al (hereinafter Ross) (US 9,081,568 B1) in view of Cooper (US 11,183,843 B1).
As to claim 23, Ross discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 21, wherein one or more devices powered by said power outlets comprise critical devices (Fig 7, 202) on said primary power distribution circuit.
Ross does not disclose wherein one or more devices powered by said power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit comprise battery chargers. However, Cooper discloses one or more devices powered by said power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit comprise battery chargers (Fig 12, 66). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ross to include the charger as taught by Cooper in order to provide power to the battery.
As to claim 24, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 22, wherein one or more devices powered by said power outlets comprise critical devices (Ross, Fig 7, 202) on said primary power distribution circuit, and wherein one or more devices powered by said power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit comprise battery chargers (Cooper, Fig 12, 66).
As to claims 25 and 37, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 21, wherein said controller is further configured to selectively enable power to said one more power outlets in said secondary power distribution circuit that have been disabled based on associated amount of power used prior to disabling (Cooper, see Fig 4, col 30, lines 4-35, the priority load 16-18 is connected when the power of generator is available and vice versa).
As to claims 26 and 38, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 24, wherein said controller is further configured to selectively enable power to said one more power outlets in said secondary power distribution circuit that have been disabled based on associated amount of power used prior to disabling (see Fig 4, col 30, lines 4-35, the priority load 16-18 is connected when the power of generator is available and vice versa).
As to claims 27 and 39, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 25, wherein said controller enables power to said one more power outlets in said secondary power distribution circuit that have been disabled based on power usage of said disable power outlet prior to disconnection (see Fig 4, col 30, lines 4-35).
As to claims 28 and 40, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 26, wherein said controller enables power to said one more power outlets in said secondary power distribution circuit that have been disabled based on power usage of said disable power outlet prior to disconnection (see Fig 4, col 30, lines 4-35).
As to claims 29 and 41, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 21, wherein said controller is further configured to tracks a total power usage of said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits (Cooper, see col 59, lines 16-25); and further including outlet power monitors (Cooper, Fig 27, 23, alt 23) that are configured to provide power data for individual outlets on said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits (Cooper, see col 15, line 56 to col 16, line 2).
As to claims 30 and 42, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the power distribution system as defined in claim 28, wherein said controller is further configured to tracks a total power usage of said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits (see col 59, lines 16-25); and further including outlet power monitors (Fig 27, 23, alt 23) that are configured to provide power data for individual outlets on said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits (see col 15, line 56 to col 16, line 2).
As to claims 31 and 43, Ross discloses a method for managing power distribution (see abstract) comprising:
providing first, second and third power outlets (Fig 3, 220);
said first, second and third power outlets each including a selector switch (Fig 3, 236, 244, 234) to designate said first, second and third power outlets on either a primary (Fig 3, 206) or a secondary power distribution circuit (Fig 3, 208);
at least one of said first, second and third power outlets is switched to said primary power distribution circuit, and at least one of said first, second and third power outlets is switched to said secondary power distribution circuit (col 3, lines 5-9);
said power distribution circuit includes a circuit power monitor (col 4, lines 15-17, power monitoring) that is configured to monitor power used by said circuit and power used on each of said first, second and third power outlets (col 12, lines 30-32);
providing a controller (Fig 8, 252); said controller is configured to selectively disable power to one or more power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit; said controller is configured to enable power to one or more power outlets on said secondary power distribution circuit that have been disabled (col 10, lines 49-52, 62-64, col 11, lines 22-25, overcurrent/mismatch condition);
monitoring total current draw on said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits by said controller (see col 59, lines 16-25);
prioritizing power delivery to devices on said primary power distribution circuit (Fig 3, the primary source 206 will provide power to the load 202);
selectively disconnecting devices on said secondary power distribution circuit when said total current exceeds a predefined threshold value (col 10, lines 49-52, 62-64, col 11, lines 22-25, overcurrent/mismatch condition); and
selectively reconnecting devices on said secondary power distribution circuit when said total current falls below said predefined threshold value (Fig 7, the 220 is enable when there is no overcurrent/mismatch occurred).
Ross does not disclose: supplying power from an inverter to said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits;
measuring current to each device connected to said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits using a plurality of current transformers.
However, Cooper discloses supplying power from an inverter (Fig 27, 133) to said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits;
measuring current to each device connected to said primary and/or secondary power distribution circuits using a plurality of current transformers (see Fig 15, 23d, current transformer, col 53, lines 57-60). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ross to include the teachings as taught by Cooper in order to effectively monitor the current of the outlets through current transformers.
As to claim 32, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the method as defined in claim 31, wherein measuring current comprises using an analog-to-digital converter to convert analog signals from said current transformers into digital data (see col 61, lines 29-33).
As to claim 33, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the method as defined in claim 31, further comprising transmitting and receiving data over a powerline communications module (Fig 4, 26a-26c, 27a-27b, 28a-28c) to coordinate power distribution.
As to claim 34, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the method as defined in claim 32, further comprising transmitting and receiving data over a powerline communications module (Fig 4, 26a-26c, 27a-27b, 28a-28c) to coordinate power distribution.
As to claim 35, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the method as defined in claim 31, further comprising analyzing power usage data stored by said microcontroller to optimize load management (see col 39, lines 18-21, col 60, lines 10-19).
As to claim 36, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the method as defined in claim 34, further comprising analyzing power usage data stored by said microcontroller to optimize load management (see col 39, lines 18-21, col 60, lines 10-19).
As to claim 44, the combination of Ross and Cooper discloses the computer program product as defined in claim 43, wherein said instructions a) include transmitting and receiving power management data over a powerline communications module (Fig 4, 26a-26c, 27a-27b, 28a-28c), b) further cause said processor to store historical power usage data for later analysis (see col 39, lines 18-21, col 60, lines 10-19), and/or c) include generating real-time alerts when said total current draw approaches said predefined threshold (see col 38, lines 48-51; col 78, lines 10-21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2023/0291206 A1; US 2019/0181690 A1.
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 May 26, 2026
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836