DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 and 31-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. Claims 1, 9, 14, 31, and 33 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent claims 1, 9, 14, 31, and 33 recite “torsion beams”, “drive beams”, “movable portion” are essential for the definition of the invention and not clearly defined in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. There is no dependent claims which may be used to clearly define the torsion beams, drive beams, movable portion. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-13, 15-23, 32, and 34-39 inherit the same defect(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 24, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerini et al. (EP 3687192 A1).
As to claim 24, Cerini teaches an actuation structure 10 of a MEMS electroacoustic transducer 11 (actuation structure 10 further comprises a second stopper arrangement 32, which is also made integrally to the die 12 and the monolithic body 13, configured to limit movement of the cantilever elements 18 along a second direction of the vertical axis z and, as will be highlighted hereinafter, movement in the second direction of an acoustic membrane) comprising:
a frame (frame 14);
a central portion located inside an inner edge of the frame (Figs. 3, 7C-D, element 15);
a connection portion connecting the inner edge of the frame and an outer edge of the central portion (Figs. 7C-D – inner edge of 15, 17 to dotted line to dark circle).
Cerini does not explicitly discuss the frame includes an uneven structure. However, Cerini teaches each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the frame Figs. 4-5 with element 16 elevated, element 18 flat at bottom and other elements on to shown uneven.
Therefore frame 14 includes uneven structure as shown in Figs. 4-5 for the purpose of corresponding manufacturing process according to a possible alternative embodiment or particular design.
As to claim 27, Cerini teaches the membrane according claim 24, wherein the connection portion protrudes above the upper surface of the central portion (Figs. 3, 7C-D) and wherein a cross-sectional view taken in a direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the central portion, the upper surface and the lower surface of the connection portion curve in the same direction (Figs. 3, 7C-D).
As to claim 29, Cerini teaches the membrane according claim 24, wherein the frame, the connection portion, and the central portion have an integral structure (Figs. 3-5, 7 A-D).
5. Claim 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerini et al. (EP 3687192 A1) in view of Suyama et al. (JP 2002143769 A).
As to claim 28, Cerini does not explicitly discuss the membrane according claim 24, wherein the connection portion includes a plurality of slits arranged at predetermined intervals.
Suyama teaches the electromagnetic type of electro-acoustic transducer usually uses a metal plate close to the magnetic pole with priority given to efficiency and therefore has lower sound quality than a conductive electro-acoustic transducer that moves a coil. The structure described in claim 12 aims at improving sound quality. Slits 101 and 102 are formed at equal intervals on the outer periphery of diaphragms 99 and 100 by a circular thin plate of non-magnetic metal, and circular film 103 having an outer diameter similar to the outer diameter of diaphragms 99 and 100 , 104 are bonded at least at the center of the diaphragm (Fig. 10 and [0045]); and The slits are formed at equal intervals on the outer periphery of the diaphragm ([0022]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Suyama into the teachings of Cerini for the purpose of forming equal intervals on the outer periphery of the diaphragm.
As to claim 30, Suyama teaches the membrane according claim 24, further comprising a vibrating plate fixed to the central portion (abstract, Solution - arranging an armature 18 made of a magnetic substance and fixed to the central part of the vibration plate 17 parallel at the vicinity of the magnetic gap).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 1-23 and 31-39 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claims 1, 9, 14, 31, and 33, prior arts of record fail to teach , or render obvious, alone or in combination an electro-acoustic transducer comprising the claimed components, relationships, and functionalities as specifically recited in the claims.
Claims 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/QUYNH H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693