DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 7 recites, “current valve”, which should be corrected to “current value”.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9,11,13-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sexton et al. (US 2011/0063768).
Regarding Claim 1, Sexton discloses an intelligent circuit breaker system (Figures 1-12) comprising:
a current sensor that is configured to measure electrical current applied to a power line load (comprising current sensors 525, 530, 535, Figures 5-7);
a memory storing trip curve data corresponding to a trip curve of an associated circuit breaker (memory 405 in 312, Figure 4A, trip curve data comprising excessive overcurrent threshold and excessive overcurrent timer data used by processor 410/shown in the flow chart, Figure 10;
a processor that is configured to receive a measured current value from said current sensor (part of 312, 410, Figures 4A, 5-7, 525, 530, 535 output to 312, Figures 5-7);
said processor further configured to compare said measured current value by said current sensor with a pre-established threshold value (1010, Figure 10); and wherein when said measured current value exceeds a pre-established threshold value (YES at 1010, Figure 10), said processor further is configured to
i. start a timer (1015, 1020, Figure 10),
ii. determine whether a time duration from said start of said timer (determining whether timer expired 1045, Figure 10), and
iii. disconnect said load when said measured current value exceeds a level and duration specified by said trip curve data (measured current value exceeding a level/pre-established threshold value and excessive overcurrent timer duration, YES at 1045 to 1040, Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Saxton discloses the system as defined in Claim 1, further comprising a relay operatively coupled to said processor, and wherein said processor is configured to send a control signal to said relay to disconnect said load when said measured current value exceeds said level and duration specified by said trip curve data (open relays at 1040, Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Saxton discloses the system as defined in Claim 1, wherein said processor is further configured to log in a data storage for diagnostic or monitoring purposes one or more of said measured current value, timer duration, and/or disconnection events (Paragraph 63, “….tracking of faults in one or more memories and/or control units 312 associated with the ASD 100 may facilitate post mortem failure analysis and/or detections of abuse or misuse of an ASD 100. As one example, an ASD 100 may track the number of GFCI trips, overcurrent trips, self-test failures, and/or other types of identified faults as desired…”) .
Regarding Claim 6, Saxton discloses the system as defined in Claim 1, further comprising a user interface configured to display one or more of real-time current values, said status of said timer, and/or whether said load has been disconnected (Paragraphs 60, 68, 69).
Regarding Claim 7, Saxton discloses the system as defined in Claim 1, wherein said processor is further configured to reset said timer and reconnect said load automatically when said measured current value falls below said pre-established threshold value for a predefined recovery period (1050, 1070, 1075, Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 8, Sexton discloses a method for managing overcurrent conditions in an intelligent circuit breaker system (Figures 1-12) comprising:
measuring electrical current applied to a power line load using a current sensor (comprising current sensors 525, 530, 535, Figures 5-7, current values from 450 via data bus 430 to processor 420, Figure 4A, 1005, Figure 10);
storing trip curve data corresponding to a trip curve of an associated circuit breaker in a memory (memory 405, Figure 4A, excessive overcurrent threshold and excessive overcurrent timer data used/shown in the flow chart, Figure 10);
receiving a current value measured by a current sensor (525, 530, 535 output to 312, Figures 5-7, current values from 450 via data bus 430 to processor 420, Figure 4A);
comparing said measured current value with a pre-established threshold value (1010, Figure 10); and
disconnecting said load when said measured current value exceeds a level and duration specified by said trip curve data (timers 1015, 1020, YES at 1045 to 1040, Figure 10, measured current value exceeding a level/pre-established threshold value and excessive overcurrent timer duration).
Regarding Claim 9, Sexton discloses the method as defined in Claim 8, further comprising starting a timer when said measured current value exceeds said pre-established threshold value and monitoring said duration of said overcurrent condition(1015, 1020, Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 11, Sexton discloses the method as defined in Claim 8, further comprising logging in a storage module for diagnostic purposes one or more of said measured current value, duration of said overcurrent condition, and/or load disconnection events (Paragraph 63, “….tracking of faults in one or more memories and/or control units 312 associated with the ASD 100 may facilitate post mortem failure analysis and/or detections of abuse or misuse of an ASD 100. As one example, an ASD 100 may track the number of GFCI trips, overcurrent trips, self-test failures, and/or other types of identified faults as desired…”).
Regarding Claim 13, Sexton discloses the method as defined in Claim 8, further comprising reconnecting said load automatically when said measured current value falls below said pre-established threshold value for a predefined recovery period (1050, 1070, 1075, Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 14, Sexton discloses the method as defined in Claim 8, further comprising displaying one or more real-time current values, timer status, and/or disconnection status on a user interface (Paragraphs 60, 68, 69).
Regarding Claim 15, Sexton discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions (Paragraph 190) that, when executed by a processor (part of 312, 410, Figures 4A, 5-7), causes said processor to:
receive a current value measured by a current sensor (comprising current sensors 525, 530, 535, Figures 5-7, current values from 450 via data bus 430 to processor 420, Figure 4A, 1005, Figure 10);
compare said measured current value with a pre-established threshold value 1010, Figure 10);
start a timer when said measured current value exceeds said pre-established threshold value (YES at 1010 to 1015, 1020, Figure 10); and
disconnect said load when said measured current value exceeds a level and duration specified by trip curve data stored in a memory (measured current value exceeding a level/pre-established threshold value and excessive overcurrent timer duration, at 1045 YES to 1040, Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 16, Sexton discloses the medium as defined in Claim 15, wherein said instructions further cause said processor to log into a storage module for later analysis one or more of said measured current values, timer durations, and/or disconnection events (Paragraph 63, “….tracking of faults in one or more memories and/or control units 312 associated with the ASD 100 may facilitate post mortem failure analysis and/or detections of abuse or misuse of an ASD 100. As one example, an ASD 100 may track the number of GFCI trips, overcurrent trips, self-test failures, and/or other types of identified faults as desired…”).
Regarding Claim 19, Sexton discloses the medium as defined in Claim 15, wherein said instructions further cause said processor to display one or more of real-time current values, overcurrent durations, and/or disconnection statuses on a user interface (Paragraphs 60, 68, 69).
Regarding Claim 20, Sexton discloses the medium as defined in Claim 15, wherein said instructions further cause said processor to automatically reset said timer and reconnect said load when said current value falls below said pre-established threshold for a predefined recovery period (1050, 1070, 1075, Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5,10, 12, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sexton et al. (US 2011/0063768) in view of Jimenez et al. (US 2019/0036324).
Regarding Claim 2, Sexton does not specifically disclose the system as defined in Claim 1, wherein said processor is further configured to adjust said pre-established threshold value based on one or more environmental factors; said environmental factors include one or more factors selected from the group consisting of ambient temperature, ambient pressure, and ambient humidity.
Jimenez discloses an intelligent circuit breaker system (Figures 1-6) comprising:
a current sensor that is configured to measure electrical current applied to a power line load (comprising current sensor 20, Figures 1-2);
a memory storing trip curve data corresponding to a trip curve of an associated circuit breaker (memory 30 in processor 28, Figures 1-2, trip curves, Figures 3-4);
a processor that is configured to receive a measured current value from said current sensor (processor 28, Figures 1-2);
wherein said processor is further configured to adjust said pre-established threshold value based on one or more environmental factors (110, 214, Figures 3-4 respectively); said environmental factors include one or more factors selected from the group consisting of ambient temperature, ambient pressure, and ambient humidity (adjusting trip time based on ambient temperature, 104, 204, Figures 3-4 respectively). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Sexton, adjusting the pre-established threshold value as taught by Jemenez, to more accurately determine the overcurrent event accounting for the changes due to environmental factors and thus to increase safety of operation.
Regarding Claim 5, Sexton does not specifically disclose the system as defined in Claim 1, wherein said processor is further configured to adjust said pre-established threshold value based on one or more environmental factors;
said environmental factors include one or more factors selected from the group consisting of ambient temperature, ambient pressure, and ambient humidity.
Jimenez discloses an intelligent circuit breaker system (Figures 1-6) comprising:
a current sensor that is configured to measure electrical current applied to a power line load (comprising current sensor 20, Figures 1-2);
a memory storing trip curve data corresponding to a trip curve of an associated circuit breaker (memory 30 in processor 28, Figures 1-2, trip curves, Figures 3-4);
a processor that is configured to receive a measured current value from said current sensor (processor 28, Figures 1-2);
wherein said trip curve data stored in said memory includes multiple predefined trip curves (trip curves 50-58, Figures 3-4);
said processor is configured to select an appropriate trip curve based on said type of load connected to said power line (108, 210, Figures 3-4 respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Sexton, multiple trip curve data as taught by Jemenez, to safely operate the system based on the type of load and its characteristics.
Claims 10, 12 recite the method of Claim 8 with corresponding limitations as Claims 5, 2 respectively. Therefore, Claims 10, 12 are rejected for the same reasons as for Claims 5, 2 respectively.
Claims 17-18 recite the method of Claim 15 with corresponding limitations as Claims 5, 2 respectively. Therefore, Claims 17-18 are rejected for the same reasons as for Claims 5, 2 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hosko et al. (US 2023/0133287) discloses an intelligent circuit breaker system (Figures 1-5) comprising: a current sensor that is configured to measure electrical current applied to a power line load (comprising current sensor 20, Figure 1), and a memory storing trip curve data corresponding to a trip curve of an associated circuit breaker (trip curve data 40 associated with circuit breaker 16, Figures 1-2, Paragraph 26).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 9/19/2026
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838