DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1.1, Species 2.1 & Species 3.1 in the reply filed on March 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
The applicant indicated that claims 1-11 and 13-19 read on the elected invention. However, after further review, the examiner finds that claim 8 is directed to Species 1.2 of Fig. 5 (see the flexible belts 220) and that claim 9 is directed to Species 1.4 of Fig. 7 (see the solenoid). Therefore claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn as being directed to non-elected species and claims 1-7, 10, 11 and 13-19 are elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Paragraph [0078] of the specification sets forth that the air is “not exhausted after each stroke” which is not that same as the claimed material of the fluid not being exhausted during the strokes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Simmons (USPN 4,543,044).
Simmons discloses a displacement pump (see the Title) comprising: a housing (outer structure of B in Figs. 1-6) at least partially defining an internal pressure chamber (6b) configured to be filled with a working fluid (the liquid in 24) having a charge pressure (determined by pumps 25 & 29); a first diaphragm (10) at least partially defining a first process fluid cavity (6a) on a first side of the first diaphragm; a second diaphragm (5) at least partially defining a second process fluid cavity (1a) on a first side of the second diaphragm; wherein when the first diaphragm is changing over (see Fig. 2; note there is no arrow on the shaft 9) from a first suction stroke (see Fig. 1 and the arrow on rod 9) to a first pumping stroke (see Fig. 3 and the arrow on shaft 9) the second diaphragm is already displacing (in Fig. 2 when the first diaphragm 10 is changing over the second diaphragm is already displacing (see the arrow rod 4 and the valve E being open, note the legend at the bottom of Fig. 1) through a first pumping stroke.
Claim 18 sets forth the same material as claim 1 but broadens the first and second diaphragms to be fluid displacers. Claim 19 additionally sets forth that the first fluid displacer is a diaphragm. Thus, claims 18 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 13-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,1867,165 (hereafter the ‘165 patent) in view of Simmons (USPN 4,543,044).
The limitations of claims 1, 18 and 19 are present in claim 12 of the ‘165 patent including the housing, the internal pressure chamber with a charge pressure, and the first and second fluid displacers or diaphragms. Claim 12 also teaches additional elements. Claim 12 of the ‘165 patent does not teach wherein when the first diaphragm is changing over from a first suction stroke to a first pumping stroke the second diaphragm is already displacing through a first pumping stroke. As set forth in the rejections under 35 USC 102 above Simmons discloses this feature (see Figs. 1-3 and the discussion in the 102 rejection).
At the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the charge pressure, as taught by Simmons, in the pump of the ‘165 patent, in order to accomplish a pumping effective having constant flow rate from the pump (see the abstract).
The limitations of claims 10 and 13-15 are also present in claim 12 of the ‘165 patent. The limitations of claim 16 are present in claim 15 of the ‘165 patent. The limitations of claim 17 are present in claim 13 of the ‘165 patent.
Claims 1, 10, 13, 18 and 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,253,071 (hereafter the ‘071 patent) in view of Simmons (USPN 4,543,044).
The limitations of claims 1, 18 and 19 are present in claim 3 of the ‘071 patent including the housing, the internal pressure chamber with a charge pressure, and the first and second fluid displacers or diaphragms. Claim 3 also teaches additional elements. Claim 3 of the ‘071 patent does not teach wherein when the first diaphragm is changing over from a first suction stroke to a first pumping stroke the second diaphragm is already displacing through a first pumping stroke. As set forth in the rejections under 35 USC 102 above Simmons discloses this feature (see Figs. 1-3 and the discussion in the 102 rejection).
At the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the charge pressure in the pump of the ‘165 patent, as taught by Simmons, in order to accomplish a pumping effective having constant flow rate from the pump (see the abstract).
The limitations of claims 10 and 13 are also present in claim 3 of the ‘071 patent.
Claims 2-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. ‘165 in view of Simmons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above and further in view of Pawlowski et al (USPN 5,219,274).
‘165 in view of Simmons discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose/claim that the reciprocator is configured to pull the diaphragms (claim 2), is formed as a piston (claim 3), includes first and second pull chambers and a first pull and a second pull (claim 4), that the first pull includes an attachment end and a free end (claim 5), that the first pull is movable relative to the reciprocator (claim 6), or that the reciprocator is electrically driven (claim 7).
Pawlowski et al discloses a similar pump with first (19) and second (21) diaphragms being driven by a reciprocator where the reciprocator is configured to pull the diaphragms (see Figs. 1 and 2), the reciprocator is formed as a piston (15, 13), includes first and second pull chambers (41) and first and second pulls (39), that the first pull includes an attachment end (the threaded end indirectly connected to the diaphragm) and a free end (the distal end), that the first pull is movable relative to the reciprocator (the pulls move relative to the inner portion 13 of the piston), and that the reciprocator is electrically driven (43).
At the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a reciprocator as taught by Pawlowski et al for the generic reciprocator claimed in the ‘165 patent in order to obtain a double diaphragm pump having pressure relief (see the Title and the Abstract).
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
April 14, 2026