DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on March 12, 2025. Claims 1-15 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDSs) were submitted on March 12, 2025 and July 17, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Federal Republic of Germany on March 14, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Each of claims 10 and 11 requires aligning the second transport chassis to the second transport chassis. It is unclear how a transport chassis may be aligned with itself. For purposes of this Action, Examiner is interpreting each of these claims to mean that the second transport chassis is aligned with another transport chassis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL video “Drive Modes of FORMIC Transportsystem: Parallel Driving and Rotation Around a Given Point” (hereinafter, “FORMIC”). Examiner notes that citations are made to screenshot images collected from the video and are indicative of actions performed in the video at the noted times.
Regarding claim 1, FORMIC discloses Method for transporting a load (12) with a transport system (17) comprising a first driven transport chassis (1) and a second driven transport chassis (i') (see at least Fig. 1; the first and second transport chassis), with the following method steps:
- transporting the load (12) with the transport system (17) in a first driving manoeuvre, wherein in the first driving manoeuvre the second transport chassis (i') follows the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1; the leading one is considered the first transport chassis and the following one is considered the second transport chassis),
- ending the first driving manoeuvre and switching to a second driving manoeuvre (see at least Fig. 1-Fig. 4; the maneuvers may be switched),
- aligning the second transport chassis (i'), wherein the second transport chassis (i') is automatically positioned relative to the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1-Fig. 4; the transport chassis are both aligned relative to one another to effectuate the second driving maneuver),
- transporting the load (12) with the transport system (17) in the second driving manoeuvre, wherein in the second driving manoeuvre the second transport chassis (l') follows the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 4; the second transport chassis follows the first transport chassis in a second driving maneuver).
Regarding claim 2, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the second transport chassis (l') provides feedback on the complete alignment after the second transport chassis (i') has completely aligned itself relative to the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1-5; the controller indicates that the alignment is completed based on the virtual indication of the corresponding transport chassis).
Regarding claim 3, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 or claim 2. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the second transport chassis (i') provides feedback on the incomplete alignment after the second transport chassis (i') has incompletely aligned itself relative to the first transport chassis (1) and/or while the second transport chassis (i') is aligning itself relative to the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1-5; the controller indicates that the alignment is completed or not completed based on the virtual indication of the corresponding transport chassis).
Regarding claim 4, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that before the first driving manoeuvre the second transport chassis (i') is aligned relative to the first transport chassis (1), in particular manually, that after the alignment, in particular manual alignment, a straight-ahead travel, in particular with the load (12), is carried out, and that when the two transport chassis (1, i') are not travelling parallel, the second transport chassis (i') is aligned relative to the first transport chassis (i'), in particular aligns itself until both transport chassis (1, i') are travelling parallel (see at least Fig. 1-4; the first and second transport chassis are adjusted such that they travel in parallel after not being aligned to travel in parallel).
Regarding claim 5, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the first transport chassis (1) comprises a frame (2) and a turntable (11) operatively connected to the frame (2), that the turntable (11) is provided for supporting the load (12) to be transported, that the turntable (11) is rotatable relative to the frame (2), that the first transport chassis (1) comprises a rotary encoder (16), that the rotary encoder (16) detects the angle of rotation and/or the change in the angle of rotation of the turntable (11) relative to the frame (2), and/or that the second transport chassis (i') comprises a frame (2') and a turntable (11') operatively connected to the frame (2'), that the turntable (11') is provided for supporting the load (12) to be transported, that the turntable (11') is rotatable relative to the frame (2'), that the second transport chassis (l') comprises a rotary encoder (16'), that the rotary encoder (16') detects the angle of rotation and/or the change in the angle of rotation of the turntable (11') relative to the frame (2'), and that the angle of rotation of the first transport chassis (1) and/or the second transport chassis (i') and/or that the change in the angle of rotation of the first transport chassis (1) and/or the second transport chassis (i') is used to align the second transport chassis (i') (see at least Fig. 1-5; each chassis includes a turntable for supporting the load and rotating relative to each chassis base, and the rotation alignment, as shown on the screen is synchronized to align the first and second transport chassis relative to one another).
Regarding claim 6, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the first transport chassis (1) communicates wirelessly with the second transport chassis (i') (see at least Fig. 1-5; the chassis communicate indirectly via the remote control).
Regarding claim 7, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the transport system (17) comprises an operating device (21), in particular a remote control, and that the first transport chassis (1) and/or the second transport chassis (i') can be operated via the operating device (21) (see at least Fig. 1-5; the remote control operates the first transport chassis and the second transport chassis).
Regarding claim 8, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the second transport chassis (l') informs the operating device (21) whether the second transport chassis (i') has fully aligned itself relative to the first transport chassis (1), and/or whether the second transport chassis (l') has incompletely aligned itself relative to the first transport chassis (1), and/or whether the second transport chassis (i') is aligning itself relative to the first transport chassis (1), and in particular that the operating device (21) outputs the message to an operator (see at least Fig. 1-5; the virtual images corresponding to the real life robots are considered output messages which indicate alignment of the chassis relative to one another).
Regarding claim 10, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 7, claim 8, or claim 9. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the operating device (21) sends a command for aligning the second transport chassis (i') to the second transport chassis (i') (see at least Fig. 1-5; the user may adjust any of the three transport chassis to align with any other transport chassis).
Regarding claim 11, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the operating device (21) sends the command for aligning the second transport chassis (i') to the second transport chassis (i') until the second transport chassis (i') is aligned (see at least Fig. 1-5; the user may adjust any of the three transport chassis to align with any other transport chassis).
Regarding claim 12, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the transport system (17) comprises a third driven transport chassis (1, i') (see at least Fig. 4-5; the third transport chassis), with the following method steps:
- transporting the load (12) with the transport system (17) in a first driving manoeuvre, wherein in the first driving manoeuvre the second transport chassis (i') and the third transport chassis (1, i') follow the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1-5; the send and third transport chassis follow the first transport chassis),
- ending the first driving manoeuvre and switching to a second driving manoeuvre (see at least Fig. 1-5; the parallel driving (i.e., first driving maneuver) is switched and, after alignment, a new parallel driving maneuver (i.e., a second driving maneuver) is activated),
- aligning the second transport chassis (i') and the third transport chassis (1, i'), wherein the second transport chassis (i') and the third transport chassis (1, i') are automatically positioned relative to the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1-5; the transport chassis are all aligned relative to one another based on the user input),
- transporting the load (12) with the transport system (17) in the second driving manoeuvre, wherein in the second driving manoeuvre the second transport chassis (l') and the third transport chassis (1, i') follow the first transport chassis (1) (see at least Fig. 1-5; the load is transported via all three transport chassis).
Regarding claim 13, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the transport chassis (1, i') have the same overall height (see at least Fig. 1-5; the transport chassis are all the same height).
Regarding claim 14, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of any one of claims 1-13. Additionally, FORMIC discloses Transport system for transporting a load (12), which is designed to carry out a method according to one of Claims 1 to 13 (see at least Fig. 1-5; the controller and transports, in combination, may be considered the transport system).
Regarding claim 15, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of any one of claims 1-13. Additionally, FORMIC discloses Driven transport chassis (1, i') for a transport system (17) according to Claim 14 and/or driven transport chassis (1, i') which is provided for carrying out a method according to one of Claims 1 to 13 (see at least Fig. 1-5; the controller and transports, in combination, may be considered the transport system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over FORMIC.
Regarding claim 9, FORMIC discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, FORMIC discloses characterized in that the transport system (17) comprises a first operating device (21), in particular a first remote control, for the first transport chassis (1) and a second operating device (21), in particular a second remote control, for the second transport chassis (i'), and in that the first operating device (21) communicates with the second operating device (21), in particular wirelessly (see at least Fig. 1-5; the operator may toggle between two operating devices—one for the first transport chassis and one for the second transport chassis. The two operating devices may communicate with one another and operate simultaneously).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable expectation of success, would have recognized the duplicity of separate controllers which communicate via an old and well known method to be an obvious variant to the disclosed single controller which may toggle between control of different transport chassis.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
NPL video “3800kg Demo: Heavy Transport with Modular FORMIC Transportsystem” which includes additional information pertaining to the primary reference used herein.
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665