DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A5, B11, C14 and D8 and associated claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-13 in the reply filed on July 9, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “…a search of all 13 claims would not result in undue burden of the Examiner…” Essentially no serious search burden (see election pg. 6).
This is not found persuasive because the species are in fact mutually exclusive and distinct features because one simply needs to observe the differences in each figure/embodiment(s) to see the mutual exclusivity. Such distinctions require a different keyword and class search for each disparate feature (i.e. different lid assemblies, different tray/cutting board assemblies, different bowls, and different latching or locking handles and so on) and therefore collectively impart a serious burden upon the Examiner. Furthermore the different types of inventions presented in the claims represent areas of art typically requiring examiners of different expertise. Therefore, the examination of all the species and claims is serious search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4 and 10 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 9, 2026.
In summary, claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-13 are currently pending and will be examined on their merits herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because
reference character 2003 has been used to designate “tray” “bottom tray or tier” (see [0069])
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: as noted in the drawing objections above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, ln. 2, the phrase, “…having an edge around the same…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to what structural limitation(s) or relationship(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required. An art rejection is provided below, as best understood by the examiner; emphasis added.
In claim 8, ln. 2-3, the phrase, “…having an edge….around the same…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to what structural limitation(s) or relationship(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required. An art rejection is provided below, as best understood by the examiner; emphasis added.
As for claims 2-3, 5-7, 9 and 11-13, due to their dependencies from claims 1 and 8, respectively, they too have these deficiencies.
Examiner's note: The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geelen (US 20090200324 A1 – art of record; hereinafter Geelen).
Regarding claim 1, Geelen discloses a food serving system comprising:
a board (i.e. in the form of a pan (104)) having a predetermined geometric shape having an edge around the same, the edge having at least one indentation (i.e. in the form of a respective recess or groove at each respective corner of the pan – as shown in annotated Geelen Fig. 9 below); and
a cover (i.e. in the form of a cover-base assembly (108)) having the same predetermined geometric shape as the board, and at least one dual stage locking handle (132A-D) configured to lock the board in both a first position (as shown in Figs. 2 and 9 - when covered by the cover), and a second position (as shown in Figs. 3 and 10 - when the board is nested within the cover turned upside down; Geelen [0021-0036] and Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 2, Geelen further discloses wherein the board further comprises at least two indentations (i.e. the respective recess or groove at the respective corners of the pan) positioned opposite each other and the cover further comprises at least two dual stage locking handles (132A-D), each positioned and configured to engage one of the at least two indentations in the board (see Geelen Figs. 2-10).
Regarding claim 8, Geelen discloses a food serving system comprising:
a board (i.e. in the form of a pan (104)) having a predetermined geometric shape having an edge of a predetermined thickness around the same; and
a cover (i.e. in the form of a cover-base assembly (108)) having the same predetermined geometric shape as the board, and at least one dual stage locking handle (132A-D) configured to engage the edge and lock the board in both a first position (as shown in Figs. 2 and 9 - when covered by the cover), and a second position (as shown in Figs. 3 and 10 - when the board is nested within the cover turned upside down; Geelen [0021-0036] and Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claims 3, 7, 9 and 13, Geelen further discloses wherein the at least one dual stage locking handle is pivotally connected to the cover and comprises a lower end (620A-D) having a transverse extension extending there from and a snapping nub (i.e. the respective head (616A-D) of the respective latches (612A-D)) spaced from the transverse extension (Geelen [0031,0033-0034] and Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Geelen further discloses wherein the at least one dual stage locking handle is pivotally connected to the cover and comprises:
a pivot connection point having an inner surface;
a transverse extension extending from the inner surface; and
a snapping nub (i.e. the respective head (616A-D) of the respective latches (612A-D)) spaced from the transverse extension;
wherein when in the second nested position (as shown in Geelen Figs. 3 and 10), the edge of the board in the area of the at least one indentation fits between the transverse extension and the snapping nub thereby securing the board in the second nested position within the upside down cover (Geelen [0031,0033-0034] and Figs. 9-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20090200324 A1 – art of record; hereinafter Geelen) in view of Xiao (US D1052958 S; hereinafter Xiao).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Geelen as above teaches all the structural limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 8 (respectively), except for wherein the board further comprises a plurality of compartments for receiving food items for serving.
Xiao is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, which is a [compartmented] board having a latching cover. Xiao teaches a food serving system having a board having a predetermined geometric shape having an edge around the same, the edge having at least one edge;
a cover having the same predetermined geometric shape as the board; and
wherein the board further comprises a plurality of compartments for receiving food items for serving (see Xiao Fig. 9).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board (of Geelen) to have a plurality of compartments (as taught by Xiao) to allow the user to carry and transport multiple or distinct food content at once.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736