DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
No terminal disclaimer has been received, contrary to Applicant’s indication in the Remarks. Accordingly, the double patenting rejections have been maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “standard” is to be replaced with --corresponding-- to mirror the amendment made to claim 10 to overcome the 112(b) rejection thereof in the previous office action.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 19/077,358.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the ‘358 claims substantially encompass the recitations of claims 1-16 of the instant application. Those recitations not explicitly encompassed by, or recited in, the ‘358 claims are considered either inherent or obvious. The claims of the instant application, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" if the ‘358 application issues to patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiberghien et al (US 2007/0278791 A1).
As to claim 1, Tiberghien et al discloses a female fluid connector (A) for a quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling, the female fluid connector comprising: a housing (21) with an axially arranged inner recess (22a) for receiving a corresponding male connector of the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling; a latching pin (40) for reversible fixation of the male fluid connector inside the female fluid connector of the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling in a latching position ([0032]-[0034]); and a guiding slot (27) that is provided in the housing for guiding said latching pin during a movement of the latching pin, wherein said guiding slot is arranged at an angle (α) with respect to the axial direction, wherein the angle that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is larger than 45.5° (see [0047]) and faces away from a side of the housing configured to receive the corresponding male fluid connector (Fig. 1).
As to claim 2, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the angle that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is smaller than 60° (see [0047].
As to claim 3, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the latching pin is mechanically biased (via spring 32) in a direction toward a latching position (Fig. 3).
As to claim 4, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the female fluid connector is configured to couple to a standard male fluid connector with a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β). It is noted here that the male connector is not being positively claimed.
As to claim 5, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the female fluid connector is configured to couple to a male fluid connector comprising a contact pressure surface for the latching pin, where the angle (α) of the guiding slot and the angle (β) of the contact pressure surface differ by at least 1 and/or by not more than 10°. It is noted here that the male connector is not being positively claimed.
As to claim 6, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein it comprises a fluid shut-off system (valve 23).
As to claim 7, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, further comprising at least two latching pins (40) and/or guiding slots (27) and/or symmetrically arranged latching pins (40) and/or guiding slots (27). Refer to [0042].
As to claim 8, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein at least one cover member (30), covering at least the area comprising the guiding slots and/or the latching pins (see Fig. 2).
As to claim 9, Tiberghien et al discloses a quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling, comprising a female fluid connector (A) and a corresponding male fluid connector (B), the female fluid connector comprising: a housing (21) with an axially arranged inner recess (22a) for receiving a corresponding male connector of the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling; a latching pin (40) for reversible fixation of the male fluid connector inside the female fluid connector of the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling in a latching position ([0032] - [0034]); and a guiding slot (27) that is provided in the housing for guiding said latching pin during a movement of the latching pin, wherein said guiding slot is arranged at an angle (α) with respect to the axial direction, wherein the angle that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is larger than 45.5° (see [0047]) and faces away from a side of the housing configured to receive the corresponding male fluid connector (Fig. 1).
As to claim 12, Tiberghien et al discloses the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling according to claim 9, wherein the corresponding male fluid connector, the female fluid connector and/or the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling is configured as a fluid shut-off device (valve 23; see [0034]).
As to claim 13, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the angle (α) that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is larger than 46°. Refer to [0047].
As to claim 14, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 2, wherein the angle (α) that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is smaller than 55°. Refer to [0047].
As to claim 15, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 2, wherein the angle (α) that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is smaller than 50°. Refer to [0047].
As to claim 16, Tiberghien et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 2, wherein the angle (α) that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is smaller than 47°. Refer to [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiberghien et al in view of Highlen et al (US 5,570,910).
As to claim 10, Tiberghien et al discloses the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling according to claim 9, except that the corresponding male connector comprises a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β).
However, Highlen et al teaches a similar quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling comprising a male connector (20) with a contact pressure surface (32) for a latching pin (60) that is arranged at a 45° angle (β). See col. 2, lines 61-63.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tiberghien et al such that the corresponding male fluid connector with a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β), as taught by Highlen et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectively accommodate a ribbed male connector for making a barbed connection to another fluid component.
As to claim 11, Tiberghien et al discloses the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling according to claim 9, except that the angle (α) of the guiding slot of the female fluid connector and the angle (β) of the contact pressure surface of the corresponding male connector differ by at least 1° and/or by not more than 10°.
However, Highlen et al teaches a similar quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling comprising a male connector (20) with a contact pressure surface (32) for a latching pin (60) that is arranged at a 45° angle (β). See col. 2, lines 61-63.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tiberghien et al such that the corresponding male connector comprises a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β), as taught by Highlen et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectively accommodate a ribbed male connector for making a barbed connection to another fluid component.
Modifying Tiberghien et al by Highlen et al results in a difference in the angle of the slot of the female connector and the angle of the contact pressure surface of the male connector to be between 1 and 10 degrees, since Tiberghien et al’s slot angle can be between 40 and 50 degrees, and Highlen et al’s contact pressure surface angle can be between 35 and 55 degrees.
Refer to [0047] in Tiberghien et al and col. 2 ll. 61-63 in Highlen et al.
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679