ETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
References to the claims are to be removed. See paragraph [0014], for example.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the angle...is larger than 45.5°”, and the claim also recites “preferably larger than 46°”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “the angle...is smaller than 60°”, the claim also recites “preferably smaller than 55°”, and still further recites “more preferred smaller than 50° “, and even still further recites “even more preferred smaller than 47° “, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7, the use of three “and/or” clauses renders the claim unclear.
Claim 10, it is unclear as to what constitutes a standard male fluid connector. Although the specification expounds on the term “standard male fluid connector”, there is no defined standard to which one can refer to ascertain exactly what constitutes a
Claim 12, the use of two “and/or” clauses renders the claim unclear.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 19/077,358.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the ‘358 claims substantially encompasses the recitations of claims 1-12 of the instant application. Those recitations not explicitly encompassed by, or recited in, the ‘358 claims are considered either inherent or obvious. The claims of the instant application, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" if the ‘358 application issues to patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pastore et al (US 2022/0290787).
As to claim 1, Pastore et al discloses a female fluid connector (100) for a quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling, the female fluid connector comprising: a housing (102) with an axially arranged inner recess (108) for receiving a corresponding male connector of the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling; a latching pin (134) for reversible fixation of the male fluid connector inside the female fluid connector of the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling in a latching position; and a guiding slot (160) that is provided in the housing for guiding said latching pin during a movement of the latching pin, wherein said guiding slot is arranged at an angle (α160) with respect to the axial direction, wherein the angle that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is 45.5° larger than preferably larger than 46° (refer to paragraph [0129]).
As to claim 2, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the angle that is enclosed by the direction of the guiding slot and the axial direction is smaller than 60°, preferably smaller than 55°, more preferred smaller than 50°, even more preferred smaller than 47° (refer to paragraph [0129]).
As to claim 3, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the latching pin is mechanically biased (via spring 158) in a direction toward a latching position.
As to claim 4, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the female fluid connector is designed and arranged to couple to a standard male fluid connector with a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β).
As to claim 5, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein the female fluid connector is designed and arranged to couple to a male fluid connector comprising a contact pressure surface for the latching pin, where the angle (α) of the guiding slot and the angle (β) of the contact pressure surface differ by at least 1 and/or by not more than 10°.
As to claim 6, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein it comprises a fluid shut-off system (valves 50, 170).
As to claim 7, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein at least two latching pins (134) and/or guiding slots (160) and/or by symmetrically arranged latching pins (134) and/or guiding slots (160).
As to claim 8, Pastore et al discloses the female fluid connector according to claim 1, wherein at least one cover member (154), covering at least the area comprising the guiding slots and/or the latching pins.
As to claim 9, Pastore et al discloses a quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling, comprising a female fluid connector (100) and a male fluid connector (10), wherein the female fluid connector is designed and arranged as a female fluid connector according to claim 1.
As to claim 12, Pastore et al discloses the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling according to claim 9, wherein the male fluid connector and/or the female fluid connector and/or the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling is designed and arranged as a fluid shut-off device (valves 50, 170).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pastore et al in view of Highlen et al (US 5,570,910).
As to claim 10, Pastore et al discloses the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling according to claim 9, except that the male connector is a standard male fluid connector (see foregoing 112 rejection) with a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β).
However, Highlen et al teaches a similar quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling comprising a male connector (20) with a contact pressure surface (32) for a latching pin (60) that is arranged at a 45° angle (β). See col. 2, lines 61-63.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pastore et al such that the male connector is a standard male fluid connector (see foregoing 112 rejection) with a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β), as taught by Highlen et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectively accommodate a ribbed male connector for making a barbed connection to another fluid component.
As to claim 11, Pastore et al discloses the quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling according to claim 9, except that the angle (a) of the guiding slot of the female connector and the angle (β) of the contact pressure surface of the male connector differ by at least 1° and/or by not more than 10°.
However, Highlen et al teaches a similar quick connecting and disconnecting fluid coupling comprising a male connector (20) with a contact pressure surface (32) for a latching pin (60) that is arranged at a 45° angle (β). See col. 2, lines 61-63.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pastore et al such that the male connector is a standard male fluid connector (see foregoing 112 rejection) with a contact pressure surface for the latching pin that is arranged at a 45° angle (β), as taught by Highlen et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to effectively accommodate a ribbed male connector for making a barbed connection to another fluid component.
Modifying Pastore et al by Highlen et al results in a difference in the angle of the slot of the female connector and the angle of the contact pressure surface of the male connector to be between 1 and 10 degrees, since Pastore et al’s slot angle can be between 40 and 50 degrees, and Highlen et al’s contact pressure surface angle can be between 35 and 55 degrees.
Refer to [0129] in Pastore et al and col. 2 ll. 61-63 in Highlen et al.
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hansen discloses a hose coupling having a pin and slot coupling arrangement.
CN ‘330 discloses a hose coupling having a pin and slot coupling arrangement, wherein the slot is arranged at 45°.
DE ‘233 discloses a hose coupling having a clip and slot coupling arrangement.
Karl discloses male connector having a rib with a back end having a range of acceptable angles to cooperate with a pin and slot pipe coupling arrangement.
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679