DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroiwa (US2012/0012593).
1. Kuroiwa a tank (Fig. 1) that stores a fluid, the tank comprising a tank body (1) that defines a storage space for the fluid, wherein the tank body includes: a fiber-reinforced plastic layer (12); and a metal layer (11, column 2, lines 53-56) that is in contact with the fiber-reinforced plastic layer (Fig. 1). Kuroiwa DIFFERS in that it does not disclose a liner layer located between the storage space and the fiber-reinforced plastic layer, where the metal layer is located between the storage space and the fiber-reinforced plastic layer; and the metal layer is located between the liner layer and the fiber-reinforced plastic layer. Attention, however is directed to Kuroiwa (column 2, lines 53-56), which discloses that a liner layer could be more than one layer. Additionally see column 11, lines 40-45, which discloses that the invention is not limited to the embodiments described and may be subjected to various modifications within the scope of the technical spirit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art, to have an additional liner layer, in order to further protect the previous layer. This modification would allow the metal layer to be located between the liner layer and the fiber-reinforced plastic layer.
2. The tank according to claim 1, wherein the metal layer is closer to the storage space than a central position (center of fiber layer) in a thickness direction of the fiber-reinforced plastic layer is (this occurs when the reference is modified).
5. The tank according to claim 1, Kuroiwa DIFFERS in that it does not disclose the metal layer includes at least one of aluminum, copper, and gold. However, aluminum is a well known metal layer, therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Kuroiwa, by employing aluminum, in order to use an alternative durable material.
7. The tank according to claim 1, wherein the liner layer is made of resin (this occurs when the reference has been modified, see (column 2, lines 53-56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks page 6) that Kuroiwa does not teach the amended claim one. Examiner disagrees, Kurowi does teach the liner can be multi layered (column 2, lines 53-56). Attention, however is directed to Kuroiwa (column 2, lines 53-56), which discloses that a liner layer could be more than one layer. Additionally see column 11, lines 40-45, which discloses that the invention is not limited to the embodiments described and may be subjected to various modifications within the scope of the technical spirit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art, to have an additional liner layer, in order to further protect the previous layer. This modification would allow the metal layer to be located between the liner layer and the fiber-reinforced plastic layer.
Applicant argues (Remarks, page 8), in light of the amendment to claim 1, that claim 4 and 5 are allowable. Examiner agrees that this amendment changing the soap of claim 1 and additionally claim 4, renders claim 4 allowable. Examiner disagrees that claim 5 is allowable. Claim 5 requires that the metal layer is at least one of aluminum, copper and gold; this material is well known in the art and it would have been obvious to modify the metal layer to include one of aluminum, copper or gold, in order to use an alternative durable material.
Applicant argues (Remarks, page 8) that claims 6-8 are allowable. Examiner agrees that claims 6 and 8 are allowable. However, claim 7 is not found allowable, as Kuroiwa discloses the liner can be resin (column 2, lines 53-56).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREEN K THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736