Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The certified copy of the foreign priority document was electronically retrieved on 21 April 2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “40” (fig. 4) and “72” (fig. 7). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2492199 to Trela et al. (hereafter Trela).
Regarding claim 1, Trela discloses a device for combining beams, comprising: a holographic element that is configured to diffract a first light beam, which is from a first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a first direction, and a second light beam, which is from a second wavelength range that differs from the first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a second direction that differs from the first direction, into a common third direction, which differs from the first direction and the second direction (see at least Figs. 9A-9C and page 24, lines 5-21, where multiple wavelengths of light 141 are converged to a point on a holographic element 158 and redirected in a same direction 156).
Regarding claim 5, Trela discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Trela also discloses that the holographic element is furthermore configured to diffract into the common third direction a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on the holographic element from a fourth direction that differs from the first, second and third directions(see at least Figs. 9A-9C and page 24, lines 5-21, where any of the multiple wavelengths of light 141 are a third light beam in a third wavelength range).
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE102017200709 to Fiess et al., made of record in the IDS filed 3/12/2025, all citations are to the English language translation (hereafter Fiess).
Regarding claim 1¸ Fiess discloses a device for combining beams, comprising: a holographic element that is configured to diffract a first light beam, which is from a first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a first direction, and a second light beam, which is from a second wavelength range that differs from the first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a second direction that differs from the first direction, into a common third direction, which differs from the first direction and the second direction (see at least Fig.3 and page 4, paragraphs 6-9, where merging optics 301 is a holographic optical element).
Regarding claim 2, Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Fiess also discloses that the holographic element is configured to diffract the first light beam and the second light beam into the third direction starting from a first side of the holographic element, wherein the holographic element is furthermore configured to pass through the holographic element a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on a second side of the holographic element opposite the first side of the holographic element in the third direction (see at least Fig. 4, where the third direction emerges from a first side of the holographic element and first, second, and third light beams transmit through the element from a second side).
Regarding claim 5, Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Fiess also discloses that the holographic element is furthermore configured to diffract into the common third direction a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on the holographic element from a fourth direction that differs from the first, second and third directions (see at least Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Fiess also discloses that the holographic element is configured to collimate the first light beam and/or the second light beam (see at least Fig. 3, where the output light beam is collimated).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0075196 to Waldern et al. (hereafter Waldern).
Regarding claim 9¸ Waldern discloses a system, comprising: a white image hologram (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0064], where SBG region 30 is an off axis holographic lens), a first light source configured to emit a first light beam in a red wavelength range, a second light source configured to emit a second light beam in a green wavelength range, a third light source configured to emit a third light beam in a blue wavelength range (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0073], where 60a, 60b, and 60c are red, green, and blue lasers), and a device for combining beams, which is configured to combine the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam to form a common illumination light beam for the white image hologram (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0073], where 61 is a beam combiner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102017200709 to Fiess et al., made of record in the IDS filed 3/12/2025, all citations are to the English language translation (hereafter Fiess).
Regarding claims 3-4, Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Fiess also discloses that the device can be used in an LED headlight (see page 3, tenth paragraph) and that the prior art teaches the use of differently colored LEDS (see page 2, fifth paragraph).
Fiess does not specifically disclose that the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range, and a blue wavelength range and that the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range.
However, Official Notice is taken that red, green, and blue LEDs are old and well-known in the art for being used in illumination and display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fiess so that the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range, and a blue wavelength range and that the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range for the purpose of using particular colors of LEDs in order to produce a desired output since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claims 6-7, Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 5.
Fiess also discloses that the device can be used in an LED headlight (see page 3, tenth paragraph) and that the prior art teaches the use of differently colored LEDS (see page 2, fifth paragraph).
Fiess does not specifically disclose that the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range, and a blue wavelength range and that the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range.
However, Official Notice is taken that red, green, and blue LEDs are old and well-known in the art for being used in illumination and display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fiess so that the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range, and a blue wavelength range and that the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range for the purpose of using particular colors of LEDs in order to produce a desired output since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0075196 to Waldern et al. (hereafter Waldern) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of DE102017200709 to Fiess et al., made of record in the IDS filed 3/12/2025, all citations are to the English language translation (hereafter Fiess).
Regarding claim 10, Waldern discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Waldern does not specifically disclose that the device for combining beams comprises a holographic element that is configured to diffract a first light beam, which is from a first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a first direction, and a second light beam, which is from a second wavelength range that differs from the first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a second direction that differs from the first direction, into a common third direction, which differs from the first direction and the second direction.
However, Fiess teaches a device for combining beams wherein the device for combining beams comprises a holographic element that is configured to diffract a first light beam, which is from a first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a first direction, and a second light beam, which is from a second wavelength range that differs from the first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a second direction that differs from the first direction, into a common third direction, which differs from the first direction and the second direction (see at least Fig.3 and page 4, paragraphs 6-9, where merging optics 301 is a holographic optical element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern to include the teachings of Fiess so that the device for combining beams comprises a holographic element that is configured to diffract a first light beam, which is from a first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a first direction, and a second light beam, which is from a second wavelength range that differs from the first wavelength range and is incident on the holographic element from a second direction that differs from the first direction, into a common third direction, which differs from the first direction and the second direction for the purpose of using a known beam combiner in order to obtain predictable results such as the desired wavelengths and collimation of the combined light beam.
Regarding claim 11, Waldern as modified by Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 10.
Fiess also teaches that the holographic element is configured to diffract the first light beam and the second light beam into the third direction starting from a first side of the holographic element, wherein the holographic element is furthermore configured to pass through the holographic element a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on a second side of the holographic element opposite the first side of the holographic element in the third direction, wherein the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range, wherein the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range (see at least Fig. 4, where the third direction emerges from a first side of the holographic element and first, second, and third light beams transmit through the element from a second side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern as modified by Fiess to include the further teachings of Fiess so that the holographic element is configured to diffract the first light beam and the second light beam into the third direction starting from a first side of the holographic element, wherein the holographic element is furthermore configured to pass through the holographic element a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on a second side of the holographic element opposite the first side of the holographic element in the third direction, wherein the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range, wherein the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range for the purpose of arranging the holographic element relative to the light sources in a desired way in order to meet potential space limitations of a system.
Regarding claim 12, Waldern as modified by Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 10.
Fiess also teaches that the holographic element is furthermore configured to diffract into the common third direction a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on the holographic element from a fourth direction that differs from the first, second and third directions, wherein the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range, wherein the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range (see at least Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern as modified by Fiess to include the further teachings of Fiess so that the holographic element is furthermore configured to diffract into the common third direction a third light beam, which is from a third wavelength range that differs from the first and second wavelength ranges and is incident on the holographic element from a fourth direction that differs from the first, second and third directions, wherein the first, second and third wavelength ranges comprise a red wavelength range, a green wavelength range and a blue wavelength range, wherein the third wavelength range is the green wavelength range for the purpose of arranging the holographic element relative to the light sources in a desired way in order to meet potential space limitations of a system.
Regarding claim 13, Waldern as modified by Fiess discloses all of the limitations of claim 10.
Fiess also teaches that the holographic element is configured to collimate the first light beam and/or the second light beam (see at least Fig. 3, where the output light beam is collimated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern as modified by Fiess to include the further teachings of Fiess so that the holographic element is configured to collimate the first light beam and/or the second light beam for the purpose of allowing for efficient coupling of the illumination light into a lightguide (see at least Fig. 9 of Waldren).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0075196 to Waldern et al. (hereafter Waldern) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2008/0074752 to Chaves et al. (hereafter Chaves).
Regarding claim 14, Waldern discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Waldern does not specifically disclose that the device for combining beams comprises an RGB prism with two dichroic mirrors.
However, Chaves teaches a device for combining beams comprising an RGB prism with two dichroic mirrors (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph [0009], where 10 is an RGB prism with dichroic mirrors 11 and 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern to include the teachings of Chaves so that the device for combining beams comprises an RGB prism with two dichroic mirrors for the purpose of using a known beam combiner in order to obtain predictable results such as precise beam alignment.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0075196 to Waldern et al. (hereafter Waldern) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2021/0191138 to Zhai (hereafter Zhai).
Regarding claims 15-16, Waldern discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Waldern does not specifically disclose that the device for combining beams comprises: a first beam splitter configured to combine two light beams from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form an intermediate light beam, and a second beam splitter configured to combine the intermediate light beam and the remaining light beam from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form the illumination light beam and that the remaining light beam is the second light beam.
However, Zhai teaches a beam combiner comprising a first beam splitter configured to combine two light beams from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form an intermediate light beam, and a second beam splitter configured to combine the intermediate light beam and the remaining light beam from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form the illumination light beam and that the remaining light beam is the second light beam (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0052], where dichroic mirror 806 combines Red and Blue beams into an intermediate beam and the remaining beam is the green beam, which is combined with the intermediate beam by second dichroic mirror 805).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern to include the teachings of Zhai so that the device for combining beams comprises: a first beam splitter configured to combine two light beams from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form an intermediate light beam, and a second beam splitter configured to combine the intermediate light beam and the remaining light beam from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form the illumination light beam and that the remaining light beam is the second light beam for the purpose of using a known beam combiner in order to obtain predictable results such as accurate beam alignment and desired color mixing.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0075196 to Waldern et al. (hereafter Waldern).
Regarding claim 17, Waldern discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Waldern does not specifically disclose that the device for combining beams is configured to polarize the illumination light beam.
However, Official Notice is taken that polarizers are old and well-known in the art for providing polarizing light to a diffraction grating in order to optimize diffraction efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern so that the device for combining beams is configured to polarize the illumination light beam for the purpose of optimizing the diffraction efficiency of the holographic element (see at least paragraph [0062] of Waldern) since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0075196 to Waldern et al. (hereafter Waldern), in view of US 2021/0191138 to Zhai (hereafter Zhai).
Regarding claims 18-19, Waldern discloses a system, comprising: a white image hologram (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0064], where SBG region 30 is an off axis holographic lens), a first light source configured to emit a first light beam in a red wavelength range, a second light source configured to emit a second light beam in a green wavelength range, a third light source configured to emit a third light beam in a blue wavelength range (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0073], where 60a, 60b, and 60c are red, green, and blue lasers), and a device for combining beams, which is configured to combine the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam to form a common illumination light beam for the white image hologram (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0073], where 61 is a beam combiner).
Waldern does not specifically disclose that the device for combining beams comprises: a first beam splitter configured to combine two light beams from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form an intermediate light beam, and a second beam splitter configured to combine the intermediate light beam and the remaining light beam from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form the illumination light beam and that the remaining light beam is the second light beam.
However, Zhai teaches a beam combiner comprising a first beam splitter configured to combine two light beams from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form an intermediate light beam, and a second beam splitter configured to combine the intermediate light beam and the remaining light beam from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form the illumination light beam and that the remaining light beam is the second light beam (see at least Fig. 9 and paragraph [0052], where dichroic mirror 806 combines Red and Blue beams into an intermediate beam and the remaining beam is the green beam, which is combined with the intermediate beam by second dichroic mirror 805).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Waldern to include the teachings of Zhai so that the device for combining beams comprises: a first beam splitter configured to combine two light beams from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form an intermediate light beam, and a second beam splitter configured to combine the intermediate light beam and the remaining light beam from the group consisting of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam in order to form the illumination light beam and that the remaining light beam is the second light beam for the purpose of using a known beam combiner in order to obtain predictable results such as accurate beam alignment and desired color mixing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0284180 to Popovich et al. discloses a holographic illumination device comprising a holographic element that combines light from multiple light sources (see at least the abstract and Fig. 5).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872