CTNF 19/077,808 CTNF 72641 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2025 was considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings filed on 3/12/2025 are acceptable for examination by the examiner. Title 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objection Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities. The claims recite “transmit … or …”, but does not how this choice is made. The claims recite a procedure of gathering information, performing math, and transmitting the calculated information. The claims appear to present a judicial exception as recited and will be further evaluated after this objection is resolved under 35 U.S.C. 101. Specifically, please consider that the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, such as mathematical calculations, without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the transmission of the calculated numbers or information does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by SATO (US 2020/0201227 A1) . Regarding claim 1, SATO teaches a server 150 for printer systems 100, the server 150 comprising: a communication interface connectable to an image forming apparatus and a user terminal ([0024] image information received through a communication path such as a client terminal/computer for use with a printer); and a processor 400a configured to: receive, via the communication interface from the image forming apparatus 100, a first number indicating the number of standard sheets printable using an installed toner cartridge of a first type under a standard condition [0032; printing limit number], a first average print ratio for the image forming apparatus for the installed toner cartridge based on a usage history of the image forming apparatus [0033; usage amount within period], a first average number of printed sheets per day for the image forming apparatus based on the usage history [0033], and a first remaining amount indicating the amount of toner left in the installed toner cartridge; 0031]; calculate a number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the installed toner cartridge according to the first number (printing limit number, [0029]), the first average print ratio, and the first remaining amount; calculate a number indicating the number of days for which the installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty according to the first number [0029], the first average print ratio, the first average number of printed sheets per day, and the first remaining amount [0029, 0031-0033]; and transmit at least one of the calculated number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the installed toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty via the communication interface [0107, data given to order section 450 for ordering] to the user terminal (figures 10-13, 5, 8; [0029,0031-0033] teaches calculated number process; decision at server 150 in figure 13 and [0104-0105]; message to the user [0110]). Regard claim 2, the processor 400a is further configured to: receive, via the communication interface from the image forming apparatus, a second number indicating the number of standard sheets printable using a detached toner cartridge of the first type under the standard condition ([0032] printing limit number), a second average print ratio for the image forming apparatus for the detached toner cartridge based on the usage history of the image forming apparatus [0033, usage amount within period based on print and print ratio], a second average number of printed sheets per day for the image forming apparatus based on the usage history [0033], and a second remaining amount indicating the amount of toner left in the detached toner cartridge [0031]; calculate a number indicating the remaining number of sheets that would have been printable using the detached toner cartridge if it had remained installed, the number being calculated according to the second number, the second average print ratio, and the second remaining amount [0029, 0031-0033]; calculate a number indicating the number of days for which the detached toner cartridge could have been used before being empty according to the second number [0041], the second average print ratio, the second average number of printed sheets per day, and the second remaining amount [0033]; and transmit at least one of the calculated number indicating the remaining number of sheets that would have been printable using the detached toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the detached toner cartridge could have been used before being empty [0041, 10 days] via the communication interface to the user terminal (figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 3, the processor is further configured to: receive a date on which the detached toner cartridge was detached from the image forming apparatus, and transmit the date to the user terminal (shown in figure 3; first day). Regarding claim 4, the first number of standard printable sheets is calculated based on a first standard print ratio for a toner cartridge of the first type [0047; used in the calculation]. Regarding claim 5, the processor is further configured to: receive a date on which the installed toner cartridge was installed, and transmit the date to the user terminal (in [0041], date of use is known). Regarding claim 6, the processor is further configured to: receive, via the communication interface from the image forming apparatus, a second number indicating the number of standard sheets printable using a second installed toner cartridge of a second type under a standard condition (print limit number), a second average print ratio for the image forming apparatus for the second installed toner cartridge based on the usage history of the image forming apparatus [0033], a second average number of printed sheets per day for the image forming apparatus based on the usage history [0033], and a second remaining amount indicating the amount of toner left in the second installed toner cartridge, calculate a number indicating the remaining number of sheets that would be printable using the second installed toner cartridge according to the second number [0033, number of sheets], the second average print ratio, and the second remaining amount; calculate a number indicating the number of days for which the second installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty according to the second number [0041], the second average print ratio, the second average number of printed sheets per day [0033], and the second remaining amount; and transmit at least one of the calculated number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the second installed toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the second installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty [0041] via the communication interface to the user terminal, and the first type is different from the second type (as discussed above, figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 8, SATO teaches a printer system, comprising: an image forming apparatus connectable to a network and configured to print sheets using toner cartridges; an information terminal including a display screen 110 and connectable to the network; and a server 150 connectable to the network and including: a communication interface connectable to the image forming apparatus and the information terminal via the network; and a processor 400a configured to: receive, via the communication interface from the image forming apparatus, a first number indicating the number of standard sheets printable using an installed toner cartridge of a first type under a standard condition, a first average print ratio for the image forming apparatus for the installed toner cartridge based on a usage history of the image forming apparatus, a first average number of printed sheets per day for the image forming apparatus based on the usage history, and a first remaining amount indicating the amount of toner left in the installed toner cartridge; calculate a number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the installed toner cartridge according to the first number (printing limit number), the first average print ratio, and the first remaining amount; calculate a number indicating the number of days for which the installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty according to the first number, the first average print ratio, the first average number of printed sheets per day, and the first remaining amount; and transmit at least one of the calculated number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the installed toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty via the communication interface to the information terminal (as discussed above, figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 9, the processor is further configured to: receive, via the communication interface from the image forming apparatus, a second number indicating the number of standard sheets printable using a detached toner cartridge of the first type under the standard condition, a second average print ratio for the image forming apparatus for the detached toner cartridge based on the usage history of the image forming apparatus, a second average number of printed sheets per day for the image forming apparatus based on the usage history, and a second remaining amount indicating the amount of toner left in the detached toner cartridge; calculate a number indicating the remaining number of sheets that would have been printable using the detached toner cartridge if it had remained installed [0032], the number being calculated according to the second number, the second average print ratio, and the second remaining amount; calculate a number indicating the number of days for which the detached toner cartridge could have been used before being empty according to the second number [0041], the second average print ratio, the second average number of printed sheets per day, and the second remaining amount; and transmit at least one of the calculated number indicating the remaining number of sheets that would have been printable using the detached toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the detached toner cartridge could have been used before being empty via the communication interface to the information terminal (as discussed above, figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 10, the processor is further configured to: receive a date on which the detached toner cartridge was detached from the image forming apparatus, and transmit the date to the information terminal (in [0041] the number of days is known based on date; [0105-0106]). Regarding claim 11, the first number of standard printable sheets is calculated based on a first standard print ratio for a toner cartridge of the first type [0102]. Regarding claim 12, the processor is further configured to: receive a date on which the installed toner cartridge was installed, and transmit the date to the information terminal (shown in figure 13; 1535}. Regarding claim 13, the processor is further configured to: receive, via the communication interface from the image forming apparatus, a second number indicating the number of standard sheets printable using a second installed toner cartridge of a second type under a standard condition (printing limit number), a second average print ratio for the image forming apparatus for the second installed toner cartridge based on the usage history of the image forming apparatus [0031-0033], a second average number of printed sheets per day for the image forming apparatus based on the usage history [0102], and a second remaining amount indicating the amount of toner left in the second installed toner cartridge [0032]; calculate a number indicating the remaining number of sheets that would be printable using the second installed toner cartridge according to the second number, the second average print ratio, and the second remaining amount [0032 or 0102]; calculate a number indicating the number of days for which the second installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty according to the second number [0041], the second average print ratio, the second average number of printed sheets per day, and the second remaining amount; and transmit at least one of the calculated number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the second installed toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the second installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty via the communication interface to the information terminal, and the first type is different from the second type (figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 15, the information terminal is a mobile terminal (the examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art at the effective filing date of this application to use a mobile device to perform printing). Regarding claim 16, both the number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the installed toner cartridge and the calculated number of days for which the installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty are transmitted to information terminal (figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 17, both the number indicating the remaining number of sheets printable using the installed toner cartridge or the calculated number of days for which the installed toner cartridge could be used before being empty are displayed on the display screen of the information terminal at the same time ([0104-0106]; any message related to system can be displayed). Regarding claim 18, SATO teaches an image forming apparatus, comprising: a storage unit; a display screen; and a processor configured to: determine a type of an installed toner cartridge, acquire a number of standard printable sheets under a standard condition for the determined type; calculate a number of remaining printable sheets and a number of remaining printable days for the installed toner cartridge based on the number of standard printable sheets [0031-0033], an average print ratio for sheets printed using the installed toner cartridge [0031-0033], an average number of printed sheets per day, and a remaining amount of toner in the installed toner cartridge; store, in the storage unit, the number of standard printable sheets, the average print ratio in the toner cartridge, the average number of printed sheets per day [0031-0033], and the remaining amount of toner in the installed toner cartridge when the installed toner cartridge is detached; and cause the display screen to display at least one of the number of remaining printable sheets or the number of remaining printable days (figures 10; 8, 5; [0029, 0031-0033] and [0104-0105; 0110]). Regarding claim 19, the image forming apparatus further comprising: a communication interface 160 connectable to a server device, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit at least one of the number of remaining printable sheets or the number of remaining printable days via the communication interface to the server (figures 11-12). Regarding claim 20, the processor transmits the at least one of the number of remaining printable sheets or the number of remaining printable days via the communication interface 160 to the server when the installed toner cartridge is detached (figures 11-12, communication section 160 can transfer any desired message) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATO (US 2020/0201227 A1) in view of INOUE et al. (US 2021/0326087 A1) . SATO does not teach different toner colors for use with the printer. INOUE teaches a management server process that transmits management information to the user. Inoue teaches (figures 7, 9; [0069-0072]) and the use of color within a color printer (shown in figure 3). Regarding claim 7, the first type and the second type are different toner color types (figure 3). Regarding claim 14, the first type and the second type are different toner color types (figure 3). SATO and INOUE are concerned with printing system management. INOUE teaches a management system that includes the management of color toners. The rationale for combining the teachings of INOUE with the teachings of SATO relates to the rationale of using a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of INOUE with the teaching of SATO to allow the server to communicate with a user a targeted information with which to make printing decisions that include color. Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. MATSUMOTO et al. (EP 0 840 182 A2) teach performing printer analytics at the printer. ASANUMA (US 2001/0055493 A1) teaches a toner cartridge service life determining process . Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUANA GRAINGER whose telephone number is (571)272-2135. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached on 571-272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 QG Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 9 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 10 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 11 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 12 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 13 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 14 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 15 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 16 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 17 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/077,808 Page 18 Art Unit: 2852