DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement that was filed on 12 March 2025 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but instead use the word “device”, which is a generic term that does not provide a specific structural meaning on its own. Such claim limitations are: “control device”, “communication device”, and “mobile device” as recited in claims 1-10.
When read in light of the specification, the aforementioned claim limitations are considered to denote sufficiently definite structure to one of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore have been found not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) despite reciting the generic term “device”. Namely, the claimed functions performed by the “control device” are readily understood to be performed by any generic and well-known controller structure (e.g., a processor/CPU); the claimed functions performed by the “communication device” are readily understood to be performed by any generic and well-known structure for transmitting and/or receiving signals (e.g., a transceiver); the claimed functions performed by the “mobile device” are readily understood to be performed by any generic and well-known mobile computing system (e.g., a smartphone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the instruction" on line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and claim 1 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) at least due to their dependence on rejected claim 1.
As best understood by the examiner, the term “the instruction” is being interpreted as corresponding to the term “the function” as recited earlier in claim 1 (e.g., on line 10). The examiner recommends amending claim 1 to instead recite “thefunction” at the appropriate portion of line 12, or otherwise amending claim 1 as deemed appropriate such that the claim language is consistent throughout the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2025/0214532), hereinafter referred to as Zhao, in view of the NPL reference “Car Connectivity Consortium, Digital Key Release 3, Technical Specification, Version 1.2.2 (CCC-TS-101)”, hereinafter referred to as CCC. Zhao and CCC are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of controlling a vehicle system using a digital key.
The examiner notes that the reference by Zhao was effectively filed on 26 August 2022, in view of its Foreign Application Priority Data. Further, the CCC reference is cited in the Applicants IDS filed 12 March 2025 (reference “C2” under Non Patent Literature Documents), and a copy of the document has been filed on 12 March 2025 alongside the corresponds IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches:
A method for signaling a communication state for a motor vehicle ("The mobile terminal equipped with the digital vehicle key 21 may perform data transmission with the vehicle via Bluetooth. Optionally, the process of establishing a Bluetooth communication connection between the vehicle 20 and the mobile terminal equipped with the digital vehicle key 21 includes a Bluetooth connecting operation, a Bluetooth pairing operation, key authentication operation, etc. on the premise of guaranteeing security." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0061),
wherein the motor vehicle comprises a control device ("A method 200 for operating a vehicle 20 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may comprise operations S201-S203 as shown in FIG. 2. As shown in FIG. 2A, the method 20 comprises one or all of operations S201 to S203, or may comprise more operations. The executive subject of operations S201 to S203 may be various components located on the vehicle 20 (e.g., a central processing unit, BLE node, UWB node, NFC node etc., on the vehicle 20 as shown in FIG. 2B), or may be various components located outside the vehicle 20." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0056)
and a communication device, wherein the control device is configured to communicate with a mobile device via the communication device ("As an example, for example, referring to FIG. 2B, the vehicle 20 may be optionally mounted with a BLE node to establish a Bluetooth communication connection with a mobile terminal equipped with a digital vehicle key 21." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0060),
wherein the mobile device has an authenticated digital key valid for the motor vehicle ("Specifically, referring to FIGS. 3A and 3B, first, the vehicle 20 may establish a communication connection with the at least one mobile terminal through the aforementioned operation S201. Optionally, assuming that the vehicle 20 is already in the process of traveling, the digital vehicle key of the driver of the vehicle 20 has passed the authentication of the vehicle 20. The vehicle 20 can further pass the mutual authentication with other digital vehicle keys (e.g., the digital vehicle keys of the passengers inside the vehicle 20), which is not limited by the present disclosure. For details with respect to the authentication method, please refer to the following detailed example approaches with reference to FIGS. 7 and 8, which will not be detailed here by the present disclosure." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0078),
and wherein the method is performed by the control device and comprises: receiving a first signal from the mobile device via the communication device indicating a remote control key event ("As an example, the vehicle 20 can, in cooperation with various devices in FIG. 2B or independently, complete one or more of the following operations:... receiving a request of digital vehicle key for controlling the vehicle's operations, and processing and controlling the vehicle to complete related operations (such as unlocking vehicle, raising and lowering vehicle window, switching on and off air conditioner, starting ignition authority, etc.)" – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0058);
causing a start of an execution of a function associated with the remote control key event on the motor vehicle ("In operation S203, based on the senseless operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle is controlled to perform a corresponding operation." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0071);
and sending a second signal to the mobile device,... to signal that the execution of the instruction is continuing ("In addition, in response to the vehicle 20 still performing the corresponding operation, it is also possible to transmit an event notification related to the corresponding operation “being performing” to the at least one mobile terminal." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0074).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose, but CCC teaches:
sending a second signal to the mobile device, when the execution of the function continues for a period of time longer than a predetermined period of time ("Note 3: When the vehicle executes operations that take longer than the usual UI-tolerated times, it should send this indication to the device." – see at least CCC: Page 246, Table 15-44).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with these above aforementioned teachings from CCC to include sending a second signal to the mobile device, when the execution of the function continues for a period of time longer than a predetermined period of time. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate CCC’s UI indication for long processing times with Zhao’s method for operating a vehicle using a digital key in order to send a notification to the mobile device when execution of an operation is taking an unusually long amount of time ("Note 3: When the vehicle executes operations that take longer than the usual UI-tolerated times, it should send this indication to the device. The device can show an appropriate UI" – see at least CCC: Page 246, Table 15-44). Doing so would provide the benefit of notifying the mobile device and a user of the mobile device of the status of an operation which requires a longer-than-usual amount of time to perform.
The examiner notes that, as set forth above, the Zhao reference already teaches in at least paragraph 0074 a method of transmitting a signal to a mobile device to indicate that the execution of a function is continuing. As such, the CCC reference merely further specifies that this signal is transmitted when the execution of the function continues for a period of time longer than a predetermined period of time (e.g., longer than the usual UI-tolerated times). This is considered an obvious variation of the method taught by Zhao, and this modification of Zhao may be readily applied by one of ordinary skill in the art based at least on the motivations and teachings of CCC as set forth above.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao in view of CCC teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao further teaches:
wherein the motor vehicle transmits a third signal to the mobile device when the execution of the function is completed ("Optionally, the method 200 further comprises operation S204, in which a result of the performance of the corresponding operation is transmitted to the at least one mobile terminal in response to the vehicle completing the performance of the corresponding operation." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao in view of CCC teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao further teaches:
wherein the communication between the motor vehicle and the mobile device takes place via a Bluetooth protocol ("As an example, for example, referring to FIG. 2B, the vehicle 20 may be optionally mounted with a BLE node to establish a Bluetooth communication connection with a mobile terminal equipped with a digital vehicle key 21. In which, the BLE node optionally includes a Bluetooth primary node and a Bluetooth secondary node. The Bluetooth primary node in the digital key system is used to establish a Bluetooth communication link between the vehicle and the mobile terminal device, which is responsible for data transmission between both parties." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of CCC teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao further teaches:
wherein the function associated with the remote control key event is a starting of the air conditioning system of the motor vehicle ("As an example, the vehicle 20 can, in cooperation with various devices in FIG. 2B or independently, complete one or more of the following operations:... receiving a request of digital vehicle key for controlling the vehicle's operations, and processing and controlling the vehicle to complete related operations (such as unlocking vehicle, raising and lowering vehicle window, switching on and off air conditioner, starting ignition authority, etc.)" – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0058)
and/or a starting of the engine of the motor vehicle ("By using one or more digital vehicle keys in the terminal device, the functions such as unlocking (or locking) vehicle door, starting (or stopping) vehicle's engine, opening and closing trunk and the like can be implemented." – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao in view of CCC teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao further teaches:
wherein the function associated with the remote control key event is an opening or closing of the windows of the motor vehicle ("As an example, the vehicle 20 can, in cooperation with various devices in FIG. 2B or independently, complete one or more of the following operations:... receiving a request of digital vehicle key for controlling the vehicle's operations, and processing and controlling the vehicle to complete related operations (such as unlocking vehicle, raising and lowering vehicle window, switching on and off air conditioner, starting ignition authority, etc.)" – see at least Zhao: paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 1 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, this claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 1 as has been set forth above.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of CCC, further in view of Heath et al. (US 2022/0006718), hereinafter referred to as Heath. Heath is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication with a mobile device.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao in view of CCC teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao does not explicitly disclose, but Heath teaches:
wherein the mobile device requests feedback from the motor vehicle at regular time intervals until the execution of the function is completed ("In the example shown, a communication device 106 may send the heartbeat request 128 to the network device 200 and receive a corresponding heartbeat confirmation signal 126. In some implementations, communication devices 106 continuously receive heartbeat signals 126 (e.g., at regular intervals) and continue to perform tasks or operations responsive to receiving the heartbeat signals 126." – see at least Heath: paragraph 0032) (The examiner notes that the heartbeat request as taught by Heath corresponds to the claimed feedback request from the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with these above aforementioned teachings from Heath such that the mobile device requests feedback from the motor vehicle at regular time intervals until the execution of the function is completed. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Heath’s method of sending heartbeat requests with Zhao’s method for operating a vehicle using a digital key in order to allow continued execution of a current operation when a heartbeat confirmation signal is returned (“A communication device 106 such as an IoT device 106a sends a heartbeat request 128 to the network device 200 (e.g., data processing hardware 210) in the primary network 102 requesting that the network device 200 send back a heartbeat confirmation signal 126. The heartbeat confirmation signal 126 may include heartbeat confirmation data 118. When the IoT device 106a receives the heartbeat confirmation signal 126, the IoT device 106a continues executing a current task or operation with the primary network 102 since no network fault condition 130 is present.” – see at least Heath: paragraph 0026). Doing so would provide the benefit of generating a “keep alive” signal which allows an ongoing operation to continue (“The devices tend to need a heartbeat (also referred to as a keep alive signal) back from the cloud-environment to ensure that the device may continue to do the task or operation that was ongoing.” – see at least Heath: paragraph 0002).
The examiner notes that while Heath is not explicitly directed towards operation of a motor vehicle, the teachings of Heath are widely applicable to the operation of a variety of devices and equipment (“Various communication devices 106, 106ae register and communicate with the primary network 102 through techniques including through wireless or wired interfaces. While examples of five different types of communication devices 106 are shown, any number of communication devices 106 may register and communicate with the primary network 102 at any given time. For instance, some communication devices 106a, 106b, 106e may include internet of things (IoT) devices or user equipment (UE) devices such as a temperature sensor or smart appliance in a building” – see at least Heath: paragraph 0025). As such, the aforementioned teachings and benefits of applying the heartbeat request and heartbeat signals as taught by Heath are substantially the same, regardless of the particular type of device that is being operation.
The examiner further notes that similar technology as that taught by Heath with regard to heartbeat and keep-alive signals are considered well-known in the art. The Conclusion section of this Office Action notes additional prior art references which are cited but not relied upon, wherein these additional references include further teachings regarding similar technology for monitoring a communication using heartbeat signals.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao in view of CCC and Heath teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao does not explicitly disclose, but Heath teaches:
wherein the motor vehicle sends a feedback message back to the mobile device at regular intervals until the execution of the assigned function on the motor vehicle is completed ("In the example shown, a communication device 106 may send the heartbeat request 128 to the network device 200 and receive a corresponding heartbeat confirmation signal 126. In some implementations, communication devices 106 continuously receive heartbeat signals 126 (e.g., at regular intervals) and continue to perform tasks or operations responsive to receiving the heartbeat signals 126." – see at least Heath: paragraph 0032) (The examiner notes that the heartbeat signals as taught by Heath correspond to the claimed feedback messages).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with these above aforementioned teachings from Heath such that the motor vehicle sends a feedback message back to the mobile device at regular intervals until the execution of the assigned function on the motor vehicle is completed. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Heath’s method of sending heartbeat signals with Zhao’s method for operating a vehicle using a digital key in order to allow continued execution of a current operation when a heartbeat confirmation signal is returned (“A communication device 106 such as an IoT device 106a sends a heartbeat request 128 to the network device 200 (e.g., data processing hardware 210) in the primary network 102 requesting that the network device 200 send back a heartbeat confirmation signal 126. The heartbeat confirmation signal 126 may include heartbeat confirmation data 118. When the IoT device 106a receives the heartbeat confirmation signal 126, the IoT device 106a continues executing a current task or operation with the primary network 102 since no network fault condition 130 is present.” – see at least Heath: paragraph 0026). Doing so would provide the benefit of generating a “keep alive” signal which allows an ongoing operation to continue (“The devices tend to need a heartbeat (also referred to as a keep alive signal) back from the cloud-environment to ensure that the device may continue to do the task or operation that was ongoing.” – see at least Heath: paragraph 0002).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of CCC, further in view of Malone et al. (US 2014/0081492), hereinafter referred to as Malone. Malone is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of operating components of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao in view of CCC teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Zhao does not explicitly disclose, but Malone teaches:
wherein the function associated with the remote control key event is a vehicle function in which a delayed response of the vehicle may occur due to referencing phases, diagnostic sequences and/or start times when exiting energy saving modes ("However, if the requested energy-expending action triggers adjustment of the vehicle mode (YES at 904) the method includes at 908 determining if a delay in execution of the energy-expending action will exceed a predetermined threshold value. The delay may be determined based on an expected duration needed to modify the vehicle mode, vehicle energy usage, and/or engine fuel consumption." – see at least Malone: paragraph 0060).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with these above aforementioned teachings from Malone such that the function associated with the remote control key event is a vehicle function in which a delayed response of the vehicle may occur due to referencing phases, diagnostic sequences and/or start times when exiting energy saving modes. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Malone’s delay indicator for a vehicle operation with Zhao’s method for operating a vehicle using a digital key in order to anticipate a delay in executing of an operation of an element of a vehicle caused by a change in vehicle operational mode (“However, if it is determined that the delay exceeds the predetermined threshold value (YES at 908) the method includes at 910 indicating acknowledgement of control element activation. In some examples, indicating acknowledgement may include changing the appearance of a delay indicator. At 912 the method includes indicating the delay duration. Next at 913 the method includes modifying the vehicle mode.” – see at least Malone: paragraphs 0060-0061). Doing so would provide the benefit of informing a user of a delay in execution of a vehicle operation and indicating progress of the delay until the vehicle operation is completed (“Next at 914 the method may include indicating progress of the delay. In one example, the diminishing duration of the delay may be indicated via a delay indicator. In another example, indicating progress of the delay may be adjusted based on vehicle feedback. At 916 the method includes indicating completion of the delay. Again, the appearance of a delay indicator may be altered to indicate the completion. At 918 the method includes executing the requested energy-expending action in the powered vehicle system after delay completion. In this way, the mode of the vehicle may be adjusted based on a requested action and an operator may be made aware of a delay in execution of the action, if needed.” – see at least Malone: paragraph 0062).
The examiner notes that Malone explicitly teaches that a vehicle may operate in a mode which saves energy by temporary deactivating and subsequently restarting vehicle components (“As described herein, engine 110 may be periodically set to a deactivated state where the consumption of fuel at the engine is significantly reduced or discontinued. This deactivation (e.g., temporary deactivation) and subsequent start-up may be referred to as start-stop operation. Start-stop operation may reduce fuel consumption in the vehicle.” – see at least Malone: paragraph 0031), which can then cause delays in execution of energy-expending actions of the vehicle (“Additionally, the control system 190 may be configured to manage energy use in the vehicle. Specifically, the control system 190 may be configured to prioritize energy-expending actions executed via the powered vehicle systems 196. Therefore in some examples, implementation of energy-expending actions may be delayed based on vehicle energy usage.” – see at least Malone: paragraph 0033). These teachings of Malone are substantially similar to the teachings in the specification of the instant application with regard to delays caused by temporarily turning off vehicle components in an energy-saving mode (“With these functions, a timeout can easily occur after the assigned function has been instructed. For example, an energy-saving mode may require parts of a central control unit to be switched off temporarily in order to reduce the vehicle's energy consumption. If certain vehicle functions are requested, it may be necessary to perform certain start-up and diagnostic sequences to ensure proper operation of the control unit.” – see at least paragraph 0022 of the specification of the instant application).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bu et al. (US 2025/0065843) teaches in at least paragraph 0119-0120 a digital key control system for a vehicle, including a communication between a mobile device and a vehicle, wherein the vehicle digital key enables one or more vehicle functions to be performed at the vehicle without using a physical key for the vehicle, the functions including starting and/or stopping an engine or motor of the vehicle, controlling an air conditioning system of a vehicle, and physical opening and/or closing of at least a part of the vehicle.
Tomita et al. (US 2014/0316610) teaches in at least paragraphs 0011, 0032, and 0045-0047 a vehicle portable key system capable of transmitting and receiving signals from a vehicle, wherein portable key is operable to transmit a command signal to the vehicle to operate a vehicle component (e.g., to lock or unlock a door of the vehicle, to start or stop an engine of the vehicle, to open or close a window of the vehicle, and/or to start or stop an air conditioner of the vehicle), and further including a lighting display to indicate transmission of the command signal, a reply waiting mode for waiting for a reply signal indicating completion or incompletion of the operation commanded by the operation command signal, and an LED lighting display to indicate whether the operation was successful or unsuccessful.
Zhong (US 2023/0379676) teaches in at least paragraphs 0132 and 0180-0188 a mobile device containing a digital key of a vehicle key, wherein the digital key may be authenticated to allow vehicle operations to be performed using the mobile device, such as unlocking a vehicle door, starting an ignition, and/or starting an air conditioner.
Yorke et al. (US 2018/0015905) teaches in at least paragraphs 0033-0037 a method of communication between a vehicle and a mobile smart device, including the use of a signal strength indication in combination with heartbeat messages transmitted at regular intervals to determine the continued presence of a user.
Ruther et al. (US 2012/0046807) teaches in at least paragraphs 0056 and 0144 a method of monitoring the status of a wireless communications link between a display device and a vehicle diagnostic device using intermittent, periodic, or semi-periodic broadcasts of heartbeat signals.
/D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/TUAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661