DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, lines 24-31, filed October 22, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2,304,849 to Ruthman. Ruthman teaches a cooling component which surrounds and radiatively cools the shaft and is cooled externally.
Upon further search and consideration, Ruthman and US 5,779,453 to Nagayama teach the limitations of claim 14. New rejections will be put forth below. Accordingly, the current rejection is non-final.
The corrections to the claims are noted with appreciation. The objections and rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cooling component” in claim 1.
The generic, non-structural term “component” is defined by the function of “cooling” and is not defined by the structure capable of performing the function. Therefore, the “cooling component” meets the requirements of 35 USC 112(f).
Upon inspection of the applicant’s specification, paragraph 81 describes a “cooling component 1000” which has a generally cylindrical shaped body which “may be colored black, via a coating or material selection”. Figures 11 and 12 show a generally cylindrically shaped body which surrounds the shaft – akin to a sleeve – and has passages for a cooling fluid. Accordingly, the “cooling component” will be treated as a sleeve having passages for cooling fluid and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb et al, published June 11, 2021 and in view of US 2,304,849 to Ruthman.
In Reference to Claim 1
Caleb teaches:
A method of pressurizing or moving a liquid material (molten silicon, see abstract) via a pump (pump, see Figure 3), the pump comprising an impeller (not numbered, see annotated Figure 3 below), a shaft assembly (insulating shaft in Figure 3), and a pump chamber (not numbered, space occupied by “pump”, see annotated Figure 3 below), the method comprising:
pumping the liquid material by rotating the impeller, the impeller being attached to and rotated by the shaft assembly, wherein the liquid material is at a temperature between 1000-3000°C (1800°C to 2080°C, abstract lines 10-11).
Caleb fails to teach:
Radiatively cooling the shaft assembly by surrounding a region of the shaft assembly with a cooling component that is cooled externally.
Ruthman teaches:
A method of operating a pump (molten metal pump, see column 1, lines 1-4) comprising:
radiatively cooling a shaft assembly (16) by surrounding a region (portion of the shaft within the water jacket 67) of the shaft assembly with a cooling component (water jacket 67) that is cooled externally (via water from pipe 70) (see column 4, lines 7-29 and Figure 11).
Figure 11 shows the water jacket adjacent to the shaft. The water jacket is a stationary component which is bound by bolts (35), while the shaft rotates on bearings (34). Accordingly, the water jacket is spaced from the shaft to allow the rotation to occur. While Ruthman does not explicitly describe the water jacket as radiatively cooling the shaft, the water jacket is spaced from the shaft and would necessarily absorb at least some thermal radiation from the shaft.
The water jacket surrounds the shaft and has a passage for a cooling fluid (water). Therefore, the examiner considers the water jacket to be a “cooling component” which radiatively cools the shaft assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb by radiatively cooling the shaft using a cooling component which is externally cooled as taught by Ruthman as both references are directed to molten metal pumps, and for the purpose of further cooling the shaft.
In Reference to Claim 13#
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the liquid material is at the temperature between 1900°C and 2400°C while being pumped. Caleb states the liquid material can be within 1800 and 2080°C while being pumped (abstract, lines 10-11), which includes temperatures between 1900°C and 2400°C, such as 2000°C.
In Reference to Claim 20#
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the liquid material is pumped with a flow rate that is at least 1 gallon per minute. On page 5 of Caleb, under “Pumping results”, lines 1-3 refer to operating the pump in two experiments with the results being shown in Figure 10. On page 6, the graph on the right of Figure 10 shows the relationship between flowrates (measured in gallons per second) and mass. The flowrate ranges from 0 to a value between 60 and 70 gallons per second. Any flowrate value above 1/60 gallon per second is a flow rate that is at least 1 gallon per minute. For instance, a value of 30 gallons per second equals 1,800 gallons per minute.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2,948,524 to Sweeney.
In Reference to Claim 2
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1, comprising the shaft assembly and the impeller.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
At least one of the shaft assembly and the impeller is formed from one or more materials selected from the group consisting of graphite, a metal, a nitride, a boride, a carbide, a silicide, and an oxide.
Sweeney teaches:
A pump comprising a shaft assembly (22) and an impeller (19), wherein the shaft assembly and impeller are formed from graphite or a carbide (silicon carbide) (column 3, lines 43-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by forming the shaft assembly and impeller of graphite or silicon carbide as taught by Sweeney for the purpose of having a high resistance to disintegration by either corrosive or erosive attack from a bath of molten metal (column 3, lines 52-54 of Sweeney).
In Reference to Claim 3#
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Sweeney teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the carbide is silicon carbide (column 3, line 59 of Sweeney).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 102004009546 to Broessel (a machine translation will be referred to herein).
In Reference to Claim 4
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1, comprising the shaft assembly.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
The pump further comprises one or more bearings that surround the shaft assembly, and the one or more bearings have a diameter larger than a diameter of the shaft assembly such that the one or more bearings are separated from the shaft assembly thereby eliminating or at least reducing surface-to-surface contact between the one or more bearings and the shaft assembly and providing hydrodynamic lubrication between the one or more bearings and the shaft assembly.
Broessel teaches:
A pump (1) comprising a shaft assembly (2, 12, 13) and one or more bearings (not numbered, stationary components which form bearing gaps 19) that surround the shaft assembly, and the one or more bearings have a diameter larger than a diameter of the shaft assembly such that the one or more bearings are separated from the shaft assembly thereby eliminating or at least reducing surface-to-surface contact between the one or more bearings and the shaft assembly and providing hydrodynamic lubrication between the one or more bearings and the shaft assembly (see paragraphs 14-15, and 24-25, and Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by adding a hydrodynamic bearing around the shaft assembly, wherein the bearing has a larger diameter than the shaft assembly as taught by Broessel for the purpose of supporting the shaft assembly during rotation to allow the forces acting on the shaft to be balanced (paragraph 25, lines 6-9 of Broessel).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman and DE 102004009546 to Broessel as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 9,970,442 to Tipton.
In Reference to Claim 5
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel teaches:
The method of claim 4, comprising the one or more bearings.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel fails to teach:
The diameter of the one or more bearings is greater than a diameter of the impeller.
Tipton teaches:
A pump (10) comprising an impeller (22) and at least one bearing (36), wherein a diameter of the at least one bearing is greater than a diameter of the impeller (see column 3, line 39 through column 4, line 9 and Figure 2). Figure 2 shows the diameter of the bearing (measured at the radially outer ends of bearing ring 36) is greater than the diameter of the impeller (measured at the radially outer end of radial edge 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel by adding a bearing with a diameter greater than the impeller diameter as taught by Tipton for the purpose of supporting rotation of the impeller (column 4, line 3 of Tipton).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman and DE 102004009546 to Broessel as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 6,890,104 to Gomyo.
In Reference to Claim 6
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel teaches:
The method of claim 4, comprising the one or more bearings, and wherein the one or more bearings are hydrodynamically lubricated by filling the liquid material between each of the one or more bearings and the shaft assembly (see paragraph 25 of Broessel).
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel fails to teach:
Each of the one or more bearings comprises grooves.
Gomyo teaches:
A pump comprising a bearing (13) having grooves (13a, 13b), wherein the bearing is lubricated by filling at least via the grooves, a liquid material (5) between the bearing and a shaft assembly (21) (see column 6, line 61 through column 7, line 27 and Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel by adding grooves to the bearing as taught by Gomyo for the purpose of controlling the pressure of the lubricating fluid (column 7, lines 20-24 of Gomyo).
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman and DE 102004009546 to Broessel as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 6,439,860 to Greer.
In Reference to Claim 7
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel teaches:
The method of claim 4, comprising the one or more bearings.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel fails to teach:
The one or more bearings are formed from one or more materials selected from the group consisting of graphite, alumina, silicon carbide, silicon nitride, and zirconia.
Greer teaches:
A pump (1) comprising a bearing (8A), wherein the bearing is formed of graphite (see column 2, line 66 through column 3, line 5 and column 4, lines 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel by adding a bearing formed of graphite as taught by Greer for the purpose of further supporting the shaft assembly with a bearing having the desired material properties, such as strength.
In Reference to Claim 8
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel teaches:
The method of claim 4, comprising the one or more bearings.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel fails to teach:
The one or more bearings are formed from graphite.
Greer teaches:
A pump (1) comprising a bearing (8A), wherein the bearing is formed of graphite (see column 2, line 66 through column 3, line 5 and column 4, lines 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel by adding a bearing formed of graphite as taught by Greer for the purpose of further supporting the shaft assembly with a bearing having the desired material properties, such as strength.
In Reference to Claim 9
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein an operating environment (space where pump is located) of the pump is defined by a cold zone (region near the motor of Caleb) and a hot zone (region near the impeller of Caleb) having a higher operating temperature than the cold zone.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel fails to teach:
At least one of the one or more bearings is positioned in the cold zone thereby allowing replacement of the at least one of the one or more bearings without accessing the hot zone.
Greer teaches:
A pump (1) comprising a bearing (8A) positioned in a cold zone (area near motor 2) thereby allowing replacement of the bearing without accessing a hot zone (area near impeller 26) (see column 2, line 66 through column 3, line 5 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Broessel by adding a bearing positioned in the cold zone as taught by Greer for the purpose of further supporting the shaft assembly.
In Reference to Claim 10
Caleb as modified by Broessel and Greer teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more bearings comprise at least one more bearing (bearing of Broessel above the impeller) positioned in the hot zone.
In Reference to Claim 11
Caleb as modified by Broessel and Greer teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein: the pump further comprises a motor (motor of Caleb, see Figure 3 with the rejection of claim 1) positioned in the cold zone proximate the at least one of the one or more bearings.
Greer further teaches the shaft assembly comprises a first shaft (2B), a second shaft (12), and a coupling component (6), the first shaft is attached to the motor (2), the second shaft is attached to the impeller (26), the coupling component is attached to the first shaft and the second shaft, the first shaft and the second shaft are separated by a gap (space occupied by coupling 6) along a shaft axis (axis of rotation) of the shaft assembly, and the coupling component surrounds the first shaft and the second shaft (see column 6, lines 19-21 and Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Broessel and Greer by forming the shaft of a first shaft and a second shaft, and adding a coupling component which joins the first and second shafts as taught by Greer for the purpose of allowing easy removal of the motor shaft (column 2, lines 24-27 of Greer).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0045197 to Henry.
In Reference to Claim 12
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1 comprising the liquid material.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
The liquid material comprises molten tin (Sn). Caleb uses silicon as the liquid material.
Henry teaches:
A pump (100) comprising a liquid material (liquid tin), wherein the liquid material comprises molten tin (see paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by using molten tin as the liquid material as taught by Henry which is a simple substitution of one known element for another which would yield predictable results. In this case, the predictable result would be a method of pumping molten tin by rotating the impeller at a high temperature.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,779,453 to Nagayama et al.
In Reference to Claim 14
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1, comprising the cooling component, wherein the cooling component has a cylindrical shape (water jacket of Ruthman is cylindrical, see Figure 11), and comprises an inner surface (surface which faces the shaft) which absorbs thermal radiation from the shaft assembly.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
The inner surface is black.
Nagayama teaches:
A pump comprising a cooling component (can 7 and frame 9) having an inner surface (4) which is black (column 5, lines 29-33) to absorb thermal radiation from a portion (motor stators on end of shaft) of the shaft (see column 5, lines 29-44 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by making the inner surface of the cooling component black as taught by Nagayama for the purpose of increasing the amount of heat radiated from the shaft to the cooling component.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,524,066 to Thut and case law.
In Reference to Claim 15
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1 comprising the impeller.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
The impeller comprises vanes cut into a cylindrical surface, and a ratio of a height the cylindrical surface over a diameter of the cylindrical surface is 0.1 to 100. Caleb is silent regarding the shape of the impeller.
Thut teaches:
A pump (10) comprising an impeller (21), wherein the impeller comprises vanes (not numbered, material between passages 78) cut into a cylindrical surface (74), and wherein the cylindrical surface has a height (length in axial direction) and a diameter, and there is a ratio of the height to the diameter (see column 8, lines 7-34, column 9, lines 5-13, and Figures 1 and 4).
The Court has held that limitations relating to the size of [an apparatus] were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.04 IV A. Changes in Size/Proportion for further clarification).
In In re Rose, the applicant claimed a lumber package comprising a plurality of bundles including strips of lumber, wherein the strips of each bundle cooperated to provide a composite package of a size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck. The applied prior art taught a lumber package comprising one or more layers which could be lifted by hand. The Appellant argued the prior art failed to teach the package being of a size and weight which required handling by a lift truck. The Court found that the limitation regarding the size and weight is not patentably significant since it relates to the size of the article under consideration which is not ordinarily a matter of invention.
In the instant application, Thut teaches the impeller having a cylindrical surface with a ratio of the height to the diameter.
There is a reasonable expectation of success when changing the size of the impeller such that the ratio is between 0.1 and 100 because the impeller would fit within the pump and still be capable of moving the liquid material. The ratio affects the flow rate of the liquid material, where a larger height allows more material to move through the impeller.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by replacing the impeller with an impeller having vanes cut into a cylindrical surface and having a ratio of height over diameter as taught by Thut which is a simple substitution of one known element for another which would yield predictable results. In this case, the predictable result would be an impeller having vanes which rotates to pump the liquid material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman and Thut by sizing the impeller such that the ratio is between 0.1 and 100 in view of case law for the purpose of allowing the desired amount of material to move through the impeller.
In Reference to Claim 16
Caleb as modified by Ruthman, Thut, and case law teaches:
The method of claim 15, wherein the impeller further comprises openings (24 of Thut) at a bottom surface (72 of Thut) that is perpendicular to the cylindrical surface (see column 9, lines 5-13 and Figure 4 of Thut).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “High-temperature Pumping of Silicon for Thermal Energy Grid Storage” to Caleb as modified by US 2,304,849 to Ruthman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 9,074,601 to Thut (hereafter Thut 601).
In Reference to Claim 18
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1 comprising the liquid material in the pump chamber.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
Controlling a minimum pressure of the liquid material in the pump chamber by supplying a gas, having a gas pressure, to the pump chamber, wherein the minimum pressure of the liquid material is a function of the gas pressure that is variable, and forming a gas-liquid interface between the liquid material having a liquid material pressure and the gas having the gas pressure by supplying the gas to the pump chamber, the liquid material being positioned below the gas-liquid interface, wherein a position of the gas-liquid interface in the pump chamber varies as a function of the gas pressure.
Thut 601 teaches:
A method of controlling a pump (10), the method comprising:
controlling a minimum pressure of a liquid material (molten metal 14) in a pump chamber (space occupied by impeller 34) by supplying a gas (pressurized inert gas, see column 4, line 64), having a gas pressure (0 to 5 psi, column 8, lines 9-11, or higher than 5 psi, column 8, lines 15-17), to the pump chamber,
wherein the minimum pressure of the liquid material is a function of the gas pressure that is variable (the regulator 41 controls the gas pressure, which presses against and affects the liquid height and therefore pressure, column 7, lines 39-44), and
forming a gas-liquid interface (not shown, inherent plane where gas meets liquid) between the liquid material having a liquid material pressure and the gas having the gas pressure by supplying the gas to the pump chamber (column 7, lines 36-39),
the liquid material being positioned below the gas-liquid interface, wherein a position of the gas-liquid interface in the pump chamber varies as a function of the gas pressure (see column 7, line 30 through column 8, line 23 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by controlling a minimum pressure of the liquid material by supplying a gas, and forming a gas-liquid interface as taught by Thut 601 for the purpose of avoiding cavitation in the pump (column 7, lines 39-43 of Thut 601).
In Reference to Claim 19
Caleb as modified by Ruthman teaches:
The method of claim 1, comprising the pump and the liquid material.
Caleb as modified by Ruthman fails to teach:
The pump is maintained in an inert environment while pumping the liquid material.
Thut 601 teaches:
A method of controlling a pump (10), wherein the pump is maintained in an inert environment (area having pressurized inert gas) while pumping the liquid material (column 4, lines 63-66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Caleb as modified by Ruthman by adding gas to maintain the pump in an inert environment while pumping the liquid material as taught by Thut 601 for the purpose of avoiding cavitation in the pump (column 7, lines 39-43 of Thut 601).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON G DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745