DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo (US 2018/0083364), hereinafter Foo, in view of Canon (JP 2006-013405) – of record, hereinafter Canon.
Regarding claim 1 Foo discloses an electromagnetic wave control element comprising: a first electrode (e.g., paragraph 0027); a liquid crystal layer (e.g., Figs. 1-5, at 146) in which an alignment state of a liquid crystal compound changes depending on a voltage; and a metasurface structure (e.g., Figs. 1-5, at 300) in which a plurality of microstructures are arranged (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Foo does not disclose wherein the electromagnetic wave control element acts on electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz, and the liquid crystal layer includes an azo compound.
Canon discloses wherein the electromagnetic wave control element acts on electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz (e.g., paragraph 0002 “30 GHz to 30 THz”), and the liquid crystal layer includes an azo compound (e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo in accordance with the teaching of Canon regarding the use of AZO compounds in order to change the frequency of the electromagnetic wave element (Canon, e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
Regarding claim 3 Foo does not discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a liquid crystal compound having an azo structure.
Canon further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a liquid crystal compound having an azo structure (e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo in accordance with the teaching of Canon regarding the use of AZO compounds in order to change the frequency of the electromagnetic wave element (Canon, e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
Regarding claim 4 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, further comprising: a second electrode constituting an electrode pair together with the first electrode (e.g., paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 5 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 4, wherein at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode is the microstructure (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 6 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure constitutes an electrode pair together with the first electrode (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 7 Foo does not explicitly disclose the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode reflects electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz.
Canon further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode reflects electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz (e.g., paragraph 0002 “30 GHz to 30 THz”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo in accordance with the teaching of Canon regarding wherein the first electrode reflects electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz in order to change and optimize the frequency of the electromagnetic wave element (Canon, e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
Regarding claim 8 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a patterned electrode (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 9 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure includes a metal (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 11 Foo does not explicitly disclose the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a liquid crystal compound having an azo structure.
Canon discloses wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a liquid crystal compound having an azo structure (e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo in accordance with the teaching of Canon regarding the use of AZO compounds in order to change the frequency of the electromagnetic wave element (Canon, e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
Regarding claim 12 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, further comprising: a second electrode constituting an electrode pair together with the first electrode (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 13 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 12, wherein at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode is the microstructure (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 14 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, wherein the microstructure constitutes an electrode pair together with the first electrode (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 15 Foo does not explicitly disclose the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, wherein the first electrode reflects electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz.
Canon further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode reflects electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz (e.g., paragraph 0002 “30 GHz to 30 THz”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo in accordance with the teaching of Canon regarding wherein the first electrode reflects electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 0.1 to 0.3 THz in order to change and optimize the frequency of the electromagnetic wave element (Canon, e.g., fourth paragraph under Example 2).
Regarding claim 16 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, wherein the first electrode is a patterned electrode (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 17 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, wherein the microstructure includes a metal (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 19 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 3, further comprising: a second electrode constituting an electrode pair together with the first electrode (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Regarding claim 20 Foo further discloses the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 19, wherein at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode is the microstructure (e.g., paragraphs 0025 and 0027).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo in view of Canon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasata et al., (US 2022/0214476), hereinafter Sasata.
Regarding claim 2 Foo as modified does not disclose the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the azo compound has two or more azo structures.
Sasata discloses wherein the azo compound has two or more azo structures (e.g., paragraphs 0059-0060)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo as modified by Canon and in further accordance with the teaching of Sasata regarding the use of two or more AZO structures such that alignment defects of a liquid crystal compound in a liquid crystal layer can be suppressed (Sasata, paragraph 0008).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo in view of Canon as applied to claims 1 and 2 respectively above, and further in view of Asahi Glass (JP 2002-223116) – of record, hereinafter Asahi.
Regarding claim 10 Foo as modified does not disclose the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure includes an oxide semiconductor.
Asahi discloses wherein the microstructure includes an oxide semiconductor (e.g., paragraph 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo as modified by Canon and in further accordance with the teaching of Asahi regarding wherein the microstructure includes an oxide semiconductor so that the radio wave focusing / deflecting unit can be deflected and transmitted efficiently as a plane wave (Asahi, paragraphs 0016-0017).
Regarding claim 18 Foo as modified does not disclose the electromagnetic wave control element according to claim 2, wherein the microstructure includes an oxide semiconductor.
Asahi discloses wherein the microstructure includes an oxide semiconductor (e.g., paragraph 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam steering antenna disclosed by Foo as modified by Canon and in further accordance with the teaching of Asahi regarding wherein the microstructure includes an oxide semiconductor so that the radio wave focusing / deflecting unit can be deflected and transmitted efficiently as a plane wave (Asahi, paragraphs 0016-0017).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The International Search Report submitted by Applicant and of record contains analysis and references considered highly relevant to the current application.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845