DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2025 and 7/7/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagaraj (JP 2004332113 A; see translation).
With regards to claim 1. Nagaraj disclose(s):
A structural member comprising:
a base material (112; figs 6-7), and
a protective film (142) covering a surface of the base material (112),
wherein a roughness of the surface is a roughness with an average length RSm of 70 um or more (lines 23-25 in page 10).
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isshiki (US 20200363571 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Isshiki disclose(s):
A structural member comprising:
a base material (11, 11a, and portion of 14 below 13; fig 1), and
a protective film (12) covering a surface of the base material (portion of 14 below 13),
wherein a roughness of the surface is a roughness with an average length RSm of 70 um or more ([0089]).
With regards to claim 3. Isshiki disclose(s):
The structural member according to claim 1, wherein the roughness of the surface is a roughness with an arithmetic average roughness Ra of more than 0.1 µum ([0089]).
With regards to claim 5. Isshiki disclose(s):
The structural member according to claim 1, wherein the base material is formed of a material containing aluminum oxide [0067].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki (US 20200363571 A1) in view of Tian (CN 108461390 A).
With regards to claim 6. Isshiki disclose(s):
The structural member according to claim 1,
wherein the protective film is formed of a material containing aluminum oxide within a transparent substrate (portion of 14; [0067])
Isshiki does not disclose(s):
the protective film is formed of a material containing yttrium oxide
Tian teaches:
the protective film is formed of a material containing aluminum oxide or yttrium oxide within a transparent substrate [last paragraph in page 5 of translation]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Isshiki by implementing the protective film is formed of a material containing yttrium oxide as disclosed by Tian in order to produce a transparent substrate as taught/suggested by Tian ([last paragraph in page 5 of translation]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki (US 20200363571 A1) in view of Liu (US 20160312351 A1)
With regards to claim 7. Isshiki disclose(s):
The structural member according to claim 1,
wherein the protective film is formed by different types of
Isshiki does not disclose(s):
the protective film is formed by an aerosol deposition method.
Liu teaches:
the protective film is formed by an aerosol deposition method [0020].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Isshiki by implementing the protective film is formed by an aerosol deposition method as disclosed by Liu in order to apply a uniform layer or material onto another layer as taught/suggested by Liu ([0020]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of apply a uniform layer or material onto another layer of Liu to the know device using a technique of apply a uniform layer or material onto another layer of Isshiki yielding the predictable result of produce highly uniform layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844