DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2025 and 7/7/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220104528 A; see translation) in view of Nagaraj (JP 2004332113 A; see translation).
With regards to claim 1. Lee disclose(s):
Semiconductor manufacturing equipment ([lines 4-8 in page 2]) comprising:
a chamber ([lines 5 in page 2]); and
a structural member that is an inner wall of the chamber ([lines 5 in page 2]), the structural member including:
a base material; and a protective film covering a surface of the base material (see wall and thermal spray coating [lines 5-10 in page 2]),
Lee does not disclose(s):
wherein a roughness of the surface is a roughness with an average length RSm of 70 um or more.
Nagaraj teaches:
A structural member comprising:
a base material (112; figs 6-7), and
a protective film (142) covering a surface of the base material (112),
wherein a roughness of the surface is a roughness with an average length RSm of 70 um or more (lines 23-25 in page 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Lee by implementing the a roughness of the surface is a roughness with an average length RSm of 70 um or more as disclosed by Nagaraj in order to efficiently apply a thermal barrier to a base material while reducing costs as taught/suggested by Nagaraj ([lines 20-26 in page 1; lines 10-13 in page 5]).
With regards to claim 5. Lee as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The semiconductor manufacturing equipment structural member according to claim 1,
Nagaraj further discloses:
wherein the base material is formed of a material containing aluminum oxide [line 24 in page 5].
With regards to claim 6. Lee as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The semiconductor manufacturing equipment structural member according to claim 1,
Nagaraj further discloses:
wherein the protective film is formed of a material containing yttrium oxide [lines 29+ in page 5].
With regards to claim 8. Lee as modified disclose(s):
(New) The semiconductor manufacturing equipment according to claim 1,
Nagaraj further discloses:
wherein the semiconductor manufacturing equipment is a plasma etching system [lines 5-8 in page 2].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20220104528 A; see translation) in view of Nagaraj (JP 2004332113 A; see translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20160312351 A1)
With regards to claim 7. Lee as modified disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The semiconductor manufacturing equipment structural member according to claim 1,
Lee as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the protective film is formed by an aerosol deposition method.
Liu teaches:
the protective film is formed by an aerosol deposition method [0020].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Lee by implementing the protective film is formed by an aerosol deposition method as disclosed by Liu in order to apply a uniform layer or material onto another layer as taught/suggested by Liu ([0020]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of apply a uniform layer or material onto another layer of Liu to the know device using a technique of apply a uniform layer or material onto another layer of Lee yielding the predictable result of produce highly uniform layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regards to claim(s) 9: the prior art fails to disclose a/an structural member requiring:
a roughness of the surface is a roughness with an average length RSm of 70 pm or more and a root mean square slope Rdq of 15 pm or less, in combination with other limitations of the claim.
With regards to dependent claim(s) 10-13; it/they are allowable in virtue of their dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RENAN LUQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845