DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Response to applicant argues on pages 5-8 Barringer in view of Yuta fails to disclose “… container having an interior space: a camera positioned outside the container” [See applicant's argument: pages 5-8]; while the applicant points are understood the examiner respectfully disagrees. Barringer discloses encloses/ container having interior and exterior space as sowing Figs 1-2 and 4 and the camera with housing is positioned outside the encloses/container. Barringer further describe the imaging system enclosure can be moved into a protected resting position against a matching shield quality and component life. The enclosure can be rotated between an operating position and, reducing exposure when not actively imaging [See abstract and Paragraphs 24-32and Figs.1-2, 4].
Response to applicant argues on pages 5-8 Barringer in view of Yuta fails to disclose “… a shielding structure positioned around the camera, wherein the shielding structure comprises a radiation-absorbing material structured to reduce gamma radiation exposure to the camera” [See applicant's argument: pages 5-8]; while the applicant points are understood the examiner respectfully disagrees. Barringer discloses a camera built to work in very harsh radiation environments, such as nuclear reactors, fuel pools, decommissioning a shielded resting area instead of the environment. When the camera is in sites, and radiotherapy areas. The camera uses a digital image sensor, but instead of leaving the sensor exposed, it places the camera module inside a radiation-shielding enclosure [See abstract and Paragraphs 6-11 and 28-36].
Response to applicant argues on pages 5-8 Barringer in view of Yuta fails to disclose “… a mirror positioned adjacent to a viewport of the container, the mirror having a reflective layer configured to reflect infrared signals from the interior space of the container toward the camera while allowing gamma radiation to pass through the mirror without substantial reflection” [See applicant's argument: pages 5-8]; while the applicant points are understood the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yuta discloses the camera is installed in a position beside the irradiation range of the X-ray generation device. A reflecting mirror that is disposed on an optical axis of the X-ray generator and reflects an appearance image of an inspection object with respect to the camera, the reflecting mirror being disposed such that an optical axis of the camera and an optical axis of the X-ray generator from the inspection object to the reflecting mirror coincide with each other [See Paragraphs 15-36],
Regarding dependent claims, in response to applicant's arguments, the examiner
recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the
teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching,
suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the
knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071,5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Barringer in combination with Yuta and Frangioni meet all rejected limitations of the instant application.
Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re
Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barringer et al. (US 2015/0195437) (Niklas Barringer) in view of Yuta et al. (JP 2018/128401) (Arai Yuta).
Regarding Claim 7, Barringer discloses a camera protection system comprising: a container having an interior space [See abstract and Figs. 1-2], a camera positioned outside the container [See Paragraphs 24-32and Fig. 4], and a shielding structure positioned around the camera, wherein the shielding structure comprises a radiation-absorbing material structured to reduce gamma radiation exposure to the camera [See abstract and Paragraphs 6-11 and 28-36].
Barringer doesn’t explicitly disclose a mirror positioned adjacent to a viewport of the container, the mirror having a reflective layer configured to reflect infrared signals from the interior space of the container toward the camera while allowing gamma radiation to pass through the mirror without substantial reflection
However, Yuta discloses a mirror positioned adjacent to a viewport of the container, the mirror having a reflective layer configured to reflect infrared signals from the interior space of the container toward the camera while allowing gamma radiation to pass through the mirror without substantial reflection [See Paragraphs 15-36],
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon to add the teachings in Yuta as above, to provide a method that enables easy acquisition of external appearance of test subject and correspondence of internal structure. Offers small X-ray fluoroscope inspection apparatus [See Paragraph 9].
Regarding Claim 9, Barringer doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reflective layer comprises at least one of aluminum or silver.
However, Yuta discloses wherein the reflective layer comprises at least one of aluminum or silver [See Paragraph 15].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon to add the teachings in Yuta as above, to provide a method that enables easy acquisition of external appearance of test subject and correspondence of internal structure. Offers small X-ray fluoroscope inspection apparatus [See Paragraph 9].
Regarding Claim 10, Barringer doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the mirror is positioned at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to an optical axis extending from the interior space through the viewport.
However, Yuta discloses wherein the mirror is positioned at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to an optical axis extending from the interior space through the viewport [See Paragraph 15].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon to add the teachings in Yuta as above, to provide a method that enables easy acquisition of external appearance of test subject and correspondence of internal structure. Offers small X-ray fluoroscope inspection apparatus [See Paragraph 9].
Regarding Claim 11, Barringer discloses wherein the radiation-absorbing material comprises lead [See Paragraph 11].
Regarding Claim13, Barringer doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the camera is an infrared camera.
However, Yuta discloses wherein the camera is an infrared camera [See Paragraph 11].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon to add the teachings in Yuta as above, to provide a method that enables easy acquisition of external appearance of test subject and correspondence of internal structure. Offers small X-ray fluoroscope inspection apparatus [See Paragraph 9].
Regarding Claim 14, Barringer doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the mirror is a first surface mirror
However, Yuta discloses wherein the mirror is a first surface mirror [See Paragraphs 15-16].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon to add the teachings in Yuta as above, to provide a method that enables easy acquisition of external appearance of test subject and correspondence of internal structure. Offers small X-ray fluoroscope inspection apparatus [See Paragraph 9].
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barringe et al. (US 2015/0195437) (Niklas Barringe) in view of Yuta et al. (JP 2018/128401) (Arai Yuta), and further in view of Frangioni et al. (US 2006/0108509) (John Frangioni)
Regarding Claim 8, Barringer and Yuta don’t explicitly wherein the reflective layer comprises gold
However. Frangiomi discloses wherein the reflective layer comprises gold [See Paragraph 71].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon and Yuta to add the teachings in Frangiom as above, to provide a method that he system provides multi-image data indicative of spatial relationship in dimension(s) between distribution of radionuclide within portion and its optical image [See Frangiom abstract].
Regarding Claim 12, Barringer and Yuta don’t explicitly wherein the lead has a thickness of at least 60 mm.
However. Frangiomi discloses wherein the lead has a thickness of at least 60 mm [See Paragraphs 71, 99, 134 60mm examiner take is a design choice].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Gweon and Yuta to add the teachings in Frangiom as above, to provide a method that he system provides multi-image data indicative of spatial relationship in dimension(s) between distribution of radionuclide within portion and its optical image [See Frangiom abstract].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a}.
/TSION B OWENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487