DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 & 27-40, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilavdzic`761 Pub. No.: US 20140230761 A1 in view of WANG`213, Pub. No.: US 20190256213 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Pilavdzic discloses an electric aircraft ([0160] “movable vehicle 101 may include an electric vehicle” &[0162] “The movable vehicle 101 may include a marine water craft, any type of aircraft, etc.”), comprising:
(claim 37) a propulsion assembly with an electric motor and a rotor, the electric motor coupled to the rotor ([0160] “the movable vehicle 101 may include an electric vehicle having an electric drive that may use a battery assembly, or may use a collection of hydrogen cells, etc. For this case, the engine 102 includes an electric motor assembly and/or an electric motor assembly in combination with an electric battery assembly. The movable vehicle 101 includes the combination of the heat-generating assembly 104 and the cooling system 112. The cooling system 112 is configured to circulate the cooling medium 116 having carbon dioxide (liquid form and/or gas form) relative to the heat-generating assembly 104.”);
a cabin defining an interior ([0008] “Passenger-cabin cooling is a feature of a vehicle”);
a battery pack positioned on-board the electric aircraft ([0160] “a battery assembly” & [0162] “Battery electric vehicle (BEV));
an air manifold comprising an exterior inlet orifice and an exterior outlet orifice, the exterior inlet orifice arranged for directing ambient air into the air manifold, the exterior outlet orifice arranged for directing cabin air from the interior of the cabin out of the electric aircraft (Although Plavdzic`761 discloses how to remove the “heat” from the heated area/cabin and combine the exhausted energy at the exhaust manifold, see para. [0068] “This heat energy can be recovered and used on the number of ways. …combine exhausted energy at the exhaust manifold” & [0241] “the fluid distribution connector 308 is further configured to connect additional instances of the cabin-cooling loop 330 and of the cooling loop 340, ... The heat exchanger 334 is configured to: (A) absorb heat from an engine exhaust manifold 230, (B) combine the heat from the engine 102 (in the line 367), and (C) deliver the heat to a low-pressure connector 311.” ).
However, Plavdzic`761 is not explicit on “an exterior inlet orifice and an exterior outlet orifice, the exterior inlet/outlet orifice arranged for directing ambient air/cabin air into the air manifold/ from the interior of the cabin out of the electric aircraft”
WANG`213, US 20190256213 A1, teaches DUCT AND METHOD FOR DIRECTING A FLOW OF AIR FROM AN AIR-COOLED DEVICE ONBOARD AN AIRCRAFT and discloses the claim elements with number of ducts, “duct 40/400” (see para. [056]-[0070], orificies, “orifice 46” and “outlet 44” (see para.[0064]-[0066] and discloses the claim elements by “directing the flow of air” [0056], directing air from air-cooled devices onboard aircraft [0057], an air flow directed away from an air-cooled device and off-board the aircraft [0058], & [0065] “Duct 40 may be configured to direct the flow of exhaust air 37 away from electric motor 32 and discharge the flow of exhaust air 37 to one or both of the exterior of aircraft 10 and the interior of equipment bay 12”. Therefore, all the claim elements are disclosed.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by WANG`213 with the system disclosed by Pilavdzic`761 in order to provide ducts and methods for directing a flow of air from air-cooled devices onboard aircraft (see Abstract & para.[0002]).
Further, Plavdzic`761 discloses; and a thermal management system comprising
at least one fluid loop (and at least one valve), the at least one fluid loop comprising a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger (wherein the one or more valves is configured for selectively adjusting the thermal management system between a cooling mode and a heating mode, wherein) ([0061] “A set of valves located upstream of the fluid channels may be used to control fluid delivery responsive to temperature control. Temperature control loops are responsive to temperature feedback sensors, at least one, mounted in the selectively placed location of the cylinder sleeve where cooling or heating temperature may be maintained” & [0199] “To accomplish variable displacement, the digital fast electronically controlled valves are installed at the intake assembly 125 and the outlet assembly 128 for each cylinder.”),
the first heat exchanger arranged such that the cabin air flowing over the first heat exchanger rejects heat to a working fluid flowing through the first heat exchanger in a cooling mode, the second heat exchanger arranged such that the working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger rejects the heat from the cabin air to the battery pack in the cooling mode (see para.[0194], discloses a thermal/energy management system includes all claim elements with form and function. : “[0177] “ the cooling system 112 may be called a thermal-management system, a heat-management system, etc.” & [0194] “0194] “a cabin-cooling loop 330 and a cooling loop 340 may be used for absorbing heat from the cabin of the movable vehicle 101. … additional cooling loops may include a pressure-reducing device 331, a pressure-reducing device 392, a heat exchanger 332, and a heat exchanger 334.”. See also para. [0209]. [0241], [0256], [0288] for various configurations of the “cooling loop” and “heat exchangers”), and
(claim 37) wherein the second heat exchanger is arranged such that the battery pack rejects heat to the working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger in the heating mode, and the first heat exchanger is arranged such that the working fluid flowing through the first heat exchanger rejects the heat from the battery pack to the cabin air flowing over the first heat exchanger in the heating mode ([0184] Referring to FIGS. 4A and 4B, the heat rejection or heat energy recovery occurs after gas pressurization in a first compressor assembly 301, and if required, in a second compressor assembly 303” & [0185] The heat rejection in the supercritical region of the trans-critical process occurs by sensible cooling of the cooling medium 116 at a constant pressure in a gas cooler 306. The gas cooler 306 may be engineered to have an instance of the heat-exchange structure 127 with instances of the connecting passageway 108 suitably placed in a form of a skin panel (outer surface area of the movable vehicle 101) used for cooling as a secondary function”).
Regarding claims 22 & 38, Pilavdzic discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21 & claim 37, wherein the thermal management system further comprises a refrigeration loop, the refrigeration loop comprising an evaporator and a condenser, the evaporator arranged such that the working fluid flowing through the evaporator rejects heat to a refrigerant flowing through the evaporator in the cooling mode, the condenser arranged such that the refrigerant flowing through the condenser rejects heat to the working fluid flowing through the condenser in the cooling mode ([0049] “These climate control systems may include a compressor configured to compress a cooling medium, an evaporator configured to absorb the heat, and/or a condenser (a gas cooler) configured to remove heat from the cooling fluid; these assemblies are configured to remove heat from the passenger cabin of the automobile, or to supply heat to the cabin.” & [0210] “utilizing sensible cooling for condensation in the gas cooler 306 … improved cooling and/or heating of the movable vehicle 101 in a thermodynamic process based on the natural organic refrigerant (carbon dioxide) that has fewer environmental impacts.” & 0184] “FIGS. 4A and 4B, the heat rejection or heat energy recovery occurs after gas pressurization in a first compressor assembly 301” & [0185] The heat rejection in the supercritical region of the trans-critical process occurs by sensible cooling of the cooling medium 116 at a constant pressure in a gas cooler 306.” & the at least referenced paragraphs discloses claim elements with functionality.
Regarding claim 23, Pilavdzic discloses the electric aircraft of claim 22, wherein the refrigerant in the refrigeration loop is fluidly isolated from the working fluid in the at least one fluid loop ([0221] “The circuit assembly 401 and the circuit assembly 201 may be isolated from each other (indirect coupling), or may be fluidly connected to each other (direct coupling), as may be required.”).
Regarding claims 24 & 39, Pilavdzic discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21 & claim 37, wherein: the at least one fluid loop comprises a first fluid loop and a second fluid loop; the working fluid is a first working fluid; the first fluid loop comprises a fluid manifold for flowing the first working fluid through the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger; and the second fluid loop comprises the second heat exchanger and a third heat exchanger, the second heat exchanger arranged such that the first working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger rejects heat to a second working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger in the cooling mode, the third heat exchanger arranged such that the second working fluid flowing through the third heat exchanger rejects heat to a plurality of battery cells of the battery pack in the cooling mode ([0190]-[0194] A heat exchanger 304 is configured to absorb heat from the engine exhaust manifold 230 (depicted in FIG. 3) from the engine 102.” & [0191] “the apparatus 100 also includes … a gas cooler 306, a heat exchanger 307... The gas cooler 306 is coupled to the heat exchanger 304. The heat exchanger 307 is coupled with the gas cooler 306. The pressure-reducing device 309 is coupled to the heat exchanger 307. The cooling system 112 is coupled to the pressure-reducing device 309. The cooling system 112 is coupled to the gas-liquid separator 312. The heat exchanger 307 is positioned proximate to the heat exchanger 314.” & [0194] “a cooling loop is used to absorb heat from the engine exhaust gas at the heat exchanger 334. … additional cooling loops may include a pressure-reducing device 331, a pressure-reducing device 392, a heat exchanger 332, and a heat exchanger 334.).
Regarding claims 25, 27, & 35; Pilavdzic discloses the electric aircraft of claim 24.
(claim 25) wherein the third heat exchanger and the battery pack are disposed within a wing of the electric aircraft,
(claim 27) wherein the battery pack is disposed within a wing of the electric aircraft,
(claim 35) wherein the second heat exchanger is disposed within a wing of the electric aircraft.
(Kim et al. , [0039] “the heat exchanger 800 which is inserted between the plurality of battery cell pouches, being brought into a surface-contact with the battery cell pouch 100, to absorb heat of the battery cell pouch 100 and then to radiate the heat through the wing 120. ... the heat exchanger 800 having excellent thermal conductivity may be inserted between the battery cell pouches 100 and may radiate heat generated from the battery cell pouch 100 through the wing 120 more efficiently”).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilavdzic Pub. No.: US 20140230761 A1 in view of WANG`213, Pub. No.: US 20190256213 A1 and further in view of Mancini et al., Pub. No.: US 20190070924 A1.
Regarding claims 26; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21.
Pilavdzic`761 is not explicit on “battery pack is thermally pre- conditionable”, however Mancini et al., US 20190070924 A1, teaches OPTIMAL SOURCE ELECTRIC VEHICLE HEAT PUMP WITH EXTREME TEMPERATURE HEATING CAPABILITY AND EFFICIENT THERMAL PRECONDITIONING and discloses,
wherein the battery pack is thermally pre-conditionable such that the battery pack is a heat sink for thermal energy from the cabin in the cooling mode ([0099] The ability to precondition (heat) the battery system 106 before a trip” & [0121] “The goal is to efficiently heat the battery system 106 by sourcing ambient air via the cabin evaporator 218 (COP>>2) at relatively low load/pressure ratio. … A preheated battery system 106 is inherently useful for battery performance).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Mancini et a with the system disclosed by Pilavdzic`761 in order to provide a vehicle thermal management system includes a vehicle heat pump system, a battery system coolant loop, a drive train coolant loop, and control electronics. The control electronics may control the components of the vehicle thermal management system to precondition the battery. (see Abstract & para.[0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claims 28; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21, further comprising a fan disposed within the air manifold, the fan operable to flow the cabin air over the first heat exchanger ([0023] “A fan operates either independently of the engine, such as an electric fan, or which has an adjustable clutch. A thermostatic valve (also called a thermostat) can block the coolant flow when conditions are too cool. In addition, the motor, coolant, and heat exchanger have some heat capacity, which smoothens out temperature increase in short sprints.”).
Regarding claims 29-30 & 40; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21 & claim 37,
(claim 29) wherein the working fluid is a liquid working fluid ([0061] “The mixture of liquid droplets and vapor is sprayed over component to maintain desired engine temperature by absorbing heat into a cooling fluid.),
(claims 30 & 40) wherein the liquid working fluid comprises at least one of water, glycol, or mineral oil ([0012] Most liquid-cooled engines use a mixture of water and chemicals ... Some antifreezes use no water at all, instead using a liquid with different properties, such as propylene glycol or a combination of propylene glycol and ethylene glycol.” & [0199] “The liquid includes synthetically-derived oil, and the cooling medium 116 includes carbon dioxide in a gas state compatible with the oil.”).
Regarding claims 31; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21, further comprising a propulsion assembly with an electric motor and a rotor, the electric motor coupled to the rotor, the battery pack operable to power the electric motor for rotating the rotor ([0160] “the movable vehicle 101 may include an electric vehicle having an electric drive that may use a battery assembly, or may use a collection of hydrogen cells, etc. For this case, the engine 102 includes an electric motor assembly and/or an electric motor assembly in combination with an electric battery assembly. The movable vehicle 101 includes the combination of the heat-generating assembly 104 and the cooling system 112. The cooling system 112 is configured to circulate the cooling medium 116 having carbon dioxide (liquid form and/or gas form) relative to the heat-generating assembly 104.”).
Regarding claims 32-33; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21, further comprising electronics arranged such that the electronics reject heat to the cabin air from the interior of the cabin out within the air manifold. & (claim 33) wherein the electronics comprise one or both of an avionics device and a flight computer ([0184]-[0185] “heat rejection” & [0199] “the digital fast electronically controlled valves are installed at the intake assembly 125 and the outlet assembly 128 for each cylinder. The modulating and commutating of the flow of the cooling medium 116 is done” & [0205] “the pressure-reducing device 309 can include an expansion turbine or an electronically controlled injector valve configured to optimize the flow of the cooling medium 116 to the cooling system 112.” ).
Regarding claims 34; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21, wherein the first heat exchanger is disposed within the air manifold ([0241] “The instances of the heat exchanger 332 and of the heat exchanger 334 are configured to absorb heat from a cabin air volume. The heat exchanger 334 is configured to: (A) absorb heat from an engine exhaust manifold 230, (B) combine the heat from the engine 102 (in the line 367), and (C) deliver the heat to a low-pressure connector 311.”).
Regarding claims 36; Pilavdzic`761 discloses the electric aircraft of claim 21, wherein: the thermal management system comprises
one or more valves configured for selectively adjusting the thermal management system between the cooling mode and a heating mode ([0061] “A set of valves located upstream of the fluid channels may be used to control fluid delivery responsive to temperature control. Temperature control loops are responsive to temperature feedback sensors, at least one, mounted in the selectively placed location of the cylinder sleeve where cooling or heating temperature may be maintained” & [0199] “To accomplish variable displacement, the digital fast electronically controlled valves are installed at the intake assembly 125 and the outlet assembly 128 for each cylinder.”);
the second heat exchanger is arranged such that the battery pack rejects heat to the working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger in the heating mode; and the first heat exchanger is arranged such that the working fluid flowing through the first heat exchanger rejects the heat from the battery pack to the cabin air flowing over the first heat exchanger in the heating mode ([0184] Referring to FIGS. 4A and 4B, the heat rejection or heat energy recovery occurs after gas pressurization in a first compressor assembly 301, and if required, in a second compressor assembly 303” & [0185] The heat rejection in the supercritical region of the trans-critical process occurs by sensible cooling of the cooling medium 116 at a constant pressure in a gas cooler 306. The gas cooler 306 may be engineered to have an instance of the heat-exchange structure 127 with instances of the connecting passageway 108 suitably placed in a form of a skin panel (outer surface area of the movable vehicle 101) used for cooling as a secondary function”).
Double Patenting
Claims 21 & 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of 1st Parent US12269603B2 , 2nd Parent: US11794905B2 , 3rd Parent : US11230384B2, and 4th Parent: US10960785B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because bringing some dependent claim elements to the independent form, changing some claim elements, or perfecting the claim language makes the claim language compact and broader but does not make patentable distinct from the parent patent claim.
Claim comparison between instant application versus parent patent claims:
Instant App.
Parent Patent 1
Parent Patent 2 :
Parent Patent 3 :
App. #
18/240829
17/547995
17/033549
16/857003
US20250269724A1
US12269603B2
US11794905B2
US11230384B2
US10960785B2
Applicant /Assgn : Joby Aviation Inc
Independent Claims
21
21
1
1
1
21.An electric aircraft, comprising:
21. A method, comprising: while an electric aircraft is grounded, pre-conditioning the electric aircraft, wherein pre-conditioning the electric aircraft comprises
14. A system comprising: an electric aircraft comprising
12. A method comprising:
flying the electric aircraft, the electric aircraft comprising:
17. A system for an electric aircraft, the system comprising:
a cabin defining an interior;
a cabin defining an interior;
a cabin and
a battery pack positioned on-board the electric aircraft;
a plurality of battery cells on-board the electric aircraft;
a battery pack;
a battery pack onboard the electric aircraft; and …
a circulation loop onboard the electric aircraft, the circulation loop comprising:
an onboard heat sink thermally coupled to the battery pack;
an onboard circulation system comprising:
an air manifold comprising
a distribution manifold fluidly connected to the onboard heat sink;
an exterior inlet orifice and an exterior outlet orifice, the exterior inlet orifice arranged for directing ambient air into the air manifold, the exterior outlet orifice arranged for directing cabin air from the interior of the cabin out of the electric aircraft; and
“transferring thermal energy from cabin air to a second working fluid”
venting air out of the cabin through an exhaust nozzle,
a thermal management system comprising
“transferring thermal energy from … thermal communication with … storing the thermal energy within a thermal mass of the battery pack.
a thermal management system, comprising:
at least one fluid loop, the at least one fluid loop comprising
a first fluid loop;
a working fluid within the first fluid loop;
a first heat exchanger and
“a first heat exchanger”
a first heat exchanger thermally coupled to a plurality of battery cells on-board an electric aircraft, the first heat exchanger configured to transfer heat between the plurality of battery cells and the working fluid within the first fluid loop;
a second heat exchanger,
“a second heat exchanger”
a second heat exchanger … positioned within the electric aircraft such that the second heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat between the working fluid within the first fluid loop and the interior of the cabin; and …
a first liquid pump configured to circulate the working fluid within the first fluid loop in a liquid state,
wherein the first fluid loop is configured such that the working fluid flows through the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger in the liquid state.
the venting comprising using a fan positioned at the exhaust nozzle to increase at least one of: air pressure at the exhaust nozzle or velocity at the exhaust nozzle;
cooling the cabin while flying the electric aircraft, comprising:
transferring, at a first heat exchanger, thermal energy between a first working fluid and the air within the cabin;
at a second heat exchanger, transferring the thermal energy from the first working fluid to a second working fluid, the second working fluid in thermal communication with the battery pack; and
storing the first portion of thermal energy within a thermal mass of the battery pack.
a working fluid; and
a pump connected to the distribution manifold and configured to continuously circulate the working fluid through the onboard heat sink during aircraft flight;
wherein the onboard circulation system does not comprise an onboard compressor; and
a coupling configured to selectively connect the distribution manifold to an offboard cooling system, the offboard cooling system configured to transfer heat from the working fluid to a sub-ambient cooling loop comprising an offboard compressor,
wherein a temperature of the battery pack monotonically increases during aircraft flight.
the first heat exchanger arranged such that the cabin air flowing over the first heat exchanger rejects heat to a working fluid flowing through the first heat exchanger in a cooling mode, the second heat exchanger arranged such that the working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger rejects the heat from the cabin air to the battery pack in the cooling mode.
rejecting heat from the electric aircraft at an off-board heat exchanger of a ground-infrastructure; and while the electric aircraft is flying, cooling a cabin of the electric aircraft, wherein, comprising at a first heat exchanger, transferring thermal energy from cabin air to a second working fluid, at a second heat exchanger, transferring the thermal energy from the second working fluid to a first working fluid, the first working fluid in thermal communication with a battery pack, and storing the thermal energy within a thermal mass of the battery pack.
37. An electric aircraft, comprising:
21. “an electric aircraft”
a propulsion assembly with an electric motor and a rotor, the electric motor coupled to the rotor;
a cabin defining an interior;
“cooling a cabin of the electric aircraft”
a battery pack positioned on-board the electric aircraft, the battery pack operable to power the electric motor for rotating the rotor;
“a battery pack”
an air manifold comprising an exterior inlet orifice and an exterior outlet orifice,
Dependent claim 39: “ducting a portion of the cabin air”
the exterior inlet orifice arranged for directing ambient air into the air manifold,
the exterior outlet orifice arranged for directing cabin air from the interior of the cabin out of the electric aircraft; and
a thermal management system comprising at least one fluid loop and at least one valve,
“transferring the thermal energy”
the at least one fluid loop comprising a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger,
Dependent claim 26: “a fluid loop”
Claim 21 : “off- board heat exchanger … a first heat exchanger, transferring thermal energy from cabin air to a second working fluid, at a second heat exchanger …
wherein the one or more valves is configured for selectively adjusting the thermal management system between a cooling mode and a heating mode,
wherein the first heat exchanger is arranged such that the cabin air flowing over the first heat exchanger rejects heat to a working fluid flowing through the first heat exchanger in the cooling mode, and
“pre- conditioning the electric aircraft comprises rejecting heat from the electric aircraft”
wherein the second heat exchanger is arranged such that the battery pack rejects heat to the working fluid flowing through the second heat exchanger in the heating mode, and the first heat exchanger is arranged such that the working fluid flowing through the first heat exchanger rejects the heat from the battery pack to the cabin air flowing over the first heat exchanger in the heating mode.
“pre- conditioning the electric aircraft comprises rejecting heat from the electric aircraft”
Regarding dependent claims 22-36 & 38-40; these claims are substantial duplicates of Parent Patent dependent claims.
The instant claims recitations are obvious variation of the Prior Patent claims recitation in which both claims are represented by common drawings and are comingled in scope as mapped out above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/Jalal C CODUROGLU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665