DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 19, the limitation, “first value is not based on the requested… temperature,” attempts to define the invention in terms of what it is not or what does not have or contain. This seems to be an attempt to describe and claim the invention by excluding what the inventors did not invent rather than particularly pointing out what they did invent (see MPEP 2173.05). For examination purposes, above limitation is interpreted as ‘-- first value is based on a temperature --’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida (US 2016/0137024 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 5, Yoshida discloses a method for controlling a vehicle climate control system (controlling vehicle air conditioner, see abstract and figs. 1-5), comprising: adjusting a compressor flow rate command or a compressor outlet pressure command to be less than a first threshold compressor flow rate or less than a first threshold compressor outlet pressure (adjusting compressor rotational speed below lower limit threshold IVOmin, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 34-38, wherein rotational speed control of the compressor 11 is equivalent/proportional to adjusting compressor flow rate/pressure, see paragraphs 28-32) in response to a compressor (electric compressor 11, see fig. 3 and paragraph 15) being activated for a first time since the vehicle climate control system was manufactured (compressor 11 activated at time t0 for continuous/intermittent operation beyond time t6, see paragraphs 32-33, where the operational compressor implies that vehicle climate control system was manufactured), wherein the compressor flow rate command or the compressor outlet pressure command adjusts a rotation speed of the compressor (ON/OFF operation of compressor, which adjusts compressor flow rate/pressure, is equivalent/proportional to adjusting rotational speed of the compressor, see paragraph 32).
In regards to claim 2, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the compressor flow rate command is adjusted before or within a predetermined amount of time since most recently activating the compressor (see compressor speed adjustment between t0 and t6, fig. 4).
In regards to claim 3, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the compressor outlet pressure command is adjusted before or within a predetermined amount of time since most recently activating the compressor (see compressor speed adjustment between t0 and t6, fig. 4; Also see compressor ON/OFF operations till time t6 and beyond, fig. 4).
In regards to claim 4, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first threshold compressor flow rate is less than a vehicle climate control system compressor flow rate command (lower limit threshold IVOmin being less than the operational speed of the compressor between times t1 and t4, see fig. 4) that is based on a requested passenger cabin temperature when the compressor flow rate command is adjusted (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Yoshida teaches adjusting compressor speed at time t5 after the lower limit threshold IVOmin was less than the operational speed of the compressor between times t1 and t4, see fig. 4, wherein flow rate adjustment is directly proportional/equivalent to the compressor speed adjustment, see paragraphs 28-30), or where the first threshold compressor outlet pressure is less than a vehicle climate control system compressor outlet pressure command that is based on the requested passenger cabin temperature when the compressor outlet pressure command is adjusted (this is an alternative limitation, see MPEP 2173.05; and a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Yoshida teaches compressor speed adjustment between t0 and t6, fig. 4; Also see compressor ON/OFF operations till time t6 and beyond, fig. 4).
In regards to claim 6, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the compressor flow rate command or the compressor outlet pressure command adjusts a displacement of the compressor (adjusting compressor motor displacement to attain ON/OFF states of compressor and/or high-pressure state of compressor, see paragraphs 15-16 and 32-36).
In regards to claims 8 and 10, Yoshida discloses a vehicle climate control system (controlling vehicle air conditioner, see abstract and figs. 1-5), comprising: a variable speed compressor or a variable displacement compressor (compressor 11, see fig. 1 and paragraph 46, wherein compressor operates at different speeds Nc, see fig. 4; abstract and paragraphs 34-37); and a controller (electronic control unit ECU 18 with operation panel 25, see fig. 1) including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory (ECU 18 with CPU and memory ROM, RAM, see paragraph 18, wherein the ECU contains instructions as shown in figs. 2-5) that cause the controller to adjust the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor (adjusting compressor rotational speed below lower limit threshold IVOmin, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 34-38 and 28-32) in response to the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor being activated for a first time since a predetermined time (compressor speed changed beyond time t1 after activating compressor at time t0, see paragraphs 32-33 and fig. 4); wherein the predetermined time is a time the vehicle climate control system was manufactured (compressor 11 activated at time t0 for continuous/intermittent operation beyond time t6, see paragraphs 32-33, where the operational compressor implies that vehicle climate control system was manufactured before time t0).
In regards to claim 11, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that the predetermined time is a most recent time when the vehicle climate control system was deactivated for longer than a predetermined amount of time (adjusting compressor speed at and after time t6, see fig. 4, wherein time t6 follows a most recent compressor deactivation time period from t5 to t6, see fig. 4; Also see compressor speed adjustment after time t0, where compressor was deactivated before time t0).
In regards to claim 13, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that adjusting the variable speed compressor includes reducing a speed of the variable speed compressor below a speed request (reducing the compressor speed before IVOmax or IVOmin speed limits, see figs. 4-5) that is based on a requested passenger cabin temperature (see figs. 2-6 and paragraphs 23-25, 44, where compressor control is based on target temperatures Tset and TAO).
In regards to claim 14, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that adjusting the variable displacement compressor includes reducing a displacement of the variable speed compressor below a displacement request (reducing the compressor speed before IVOmax or IVOmin speed limits, see figs. 4-5; wherein, reducing the compressor speed by adjusting compressor motor displacement to attain ON/OFF states of compressor and/or high-pressure state of compressor, see paragraphs 15-16 and 32-36) that is based on a requested passenger cabin temperature (see figs. 2-6 and paragraphs 23-25, 44, where compressor control is based on target temperatures Tset and TAO).
In regards to claim 15, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses an electric machine (electric motor 12 and battery 13, see paragraph 15), the electric machine mechanically coupled to the variable speed compressor (electric motor 12 and battery 13 coupled to the compressor 11, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 15, 21).
In regards to claim 16, Yoshida discloses a method for controlling a vehicle climate control system (controlling vehicle air conditioner, see abstract and figs. 1-5), comprising:
adjusting a compressor control parameter to a first value (compressor optimum ON/OFF power saving control, see paragraph 32 and compressor activated at time t0, see fig. 4 and paragraph 33); adjusting a speed or a displacement of a compressor (adjusting compressor rotational speed below lower limit threshold IVOmin, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 34-38, wherein rotational speed control of the compressor 11 is equivalent/proportional to adjusting compressor flow rate/pressure, see paragraphs 28-32) in response to the compressor control parameter (in response to activating the compressor, see fig. 4) while the compressor has not continuously operated for a predetermined amount of time (compressor operated after time t6 after compressor had not continuously operated between t5 and t6 and before time t0, see fig. 4) after a time when the vehicle climate control system was manufactured (compressor 11 activated/operated at time t6 and/or t0 for continuous/intermittent operation beyond time t6, see paragraphs 32-33, where the operational compressor implies that vehicle climate control system was manufactured); and
adjusting the compressor control parameter to a second value (OFF state of compressor between t5 and t6 and cyclic OFF state, see fig. 4) in response to the compressor continuously operating for the predetermined amount of time (compressor turning OFF after operating for a predetermined period of time at time t6, see fig. 4 and paragraph 35) after the time when the vehicle climate control system was manufactured (compressor 11 activated/operated after time t6 and/or t0 for continuous/intermittent operation beyond time t6, see paragraphs 32-33, where the operational compressor implies that vehicle climate control system was manufactured).
In regards to claim 17, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses adjusting the speed or displacement of the compressor (adjusting compressor rotational speed below lower limit threshold IVOmin, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 34-38) in response to the compressor control parameter being adjusted to the second value (adjusting compressor speed beyond t0 and at time t6 in response to compressor being adjusted to an OFF state between times t5 and t6, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 34-36).
In regards to claim 18, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further discloses that the second value is based on a requested passenger cabin temperature (compressor control at step S9 is based on the set temperature Tset and target blowoff temperature TAO, see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 23-27, wherein, the compressor control include turning the compressor OFF based on evaporator temperatures, see fig. 4-6 and paragraphs 29-32).
In regards to claim 19, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 18 and further discloses that the first value is not based on the requested passenger cabin temperature (compressor speed is increased based on difference between evaporator temperatures TEO and TE, see paragraph 35, where evaporator temperature TE may not be the cabin temperature requested by the passenger).
In regards to claim 20, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the compressor is driven via an electric machine (compressor 11 driven by an electric motor 12, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 15, 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chevers (US 2019/0322158 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses supplying conditioned air into a vehicle cabin (see paragraph 17).
However, Yoshida does not explicitly teach heating a cabin.
Chevers teaches a vehicle climate control system (see HVAC 100, abstract; figs. 1-4; and paragraph 24) heats a passenger cabin (heating air outputted into vehicle cabin, see paragraphs 24 and 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of controlling the vehicle climate control system of Yoshida by heating the passenger cabin with the vehicle climate control system based on the teachings of Chevers in order to create a comfortable environment within the interior of the vehicle for the occupants of the vehicle with respect to the temperature of the outdoor in winter or summer.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Ulrey (US 2017/0015176 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor being activated includes rotating an electric motor of the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor (see paragraph 21).
However, Yoshida does not explicitly teach a rotating shaft.
Ulrey teaches a compressor being activated includes rotating an input shaft of the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor (rotation of a compressor crankshaft, see paragraphs 62, 81, 66, 76 and figs. 7-8).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle climate control system of Yoshida by providing an input crankshaft for the compressor, which is rotated by the motor to adjust compressor speed, displacement or pressure based on the teachings of Ulrey in order to uniformly control compressor speed and pressure for a successful and efficient air conditioning operation by controlling rotation of the input shaft of the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Vehr (US 2018/0001738 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Yoshida teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that the variable speed compressor or the variable displacement compressor is off for a predetermined amount of time (see OFF state of the compressor, fig. 4 and paragraphs 32, 35-36).
However, Yoshida is silent about a four hour off period.
Vehr teaches a compressor being turned off for a period of 4 hours or more (off time of the compressor being 4 hours or the threshold time being more than 4 hours, see paragraphs 93 and 97).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle climate control system of Yoshida by adjusting the predetermined amount of compressor off time to be greater than four hours based on the teachings of Vehr in order to operate the compressor efficiently and conservatively to minimize energy expenditure and prevent overcooling or overheating of the refrigerant, which would result in high energy consumption.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763