Detailed Action
Detailed Action
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11914150 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Present application (19078085) US Patent 11914150 B2
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method, comprising:
A head-mounted display system comprising:
outputting image light from a light projection system of a head-mounted display, the image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with right-eye image light for forming right-eye images;
a head-mountable frame;
a light projection system comprising an emissive micro-display, wherein the light projection system is configured to output image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with right-eye image light for forming right-eye images;
a left eyepiece supported by the frame;
a right eyepiece supported by the frame; and
an optical router including a polarizer, a switchable polarization rotator and a polarization-sensitive reflector,
receiving, by a polarizer of an optical router, the image light from the light projection system and only outputting image light with a first polarization state;
wherein the polarizer is configured to receive the image light from the light projection system and to only output image light with a first polarization state,
receiving, by a switchable polarization rotator of the optical router, the image light with the first polarization state and selectively changing a polarization state of the received image light to a second polarization state;
wherein the switchable polarization rotator is configured to receive the image light with the first polarization state and to selectively change a polarization state of the received image light to a second polarization state,
receiving, by a polarization-sensitive reflector of the optical router, the image light from the switchable polarization rotator and reflecting image light having the first polarization state and transmitting image light having the second polarization state; and
wherein the polarization-sensitive reflector is configured to receive the image light from the switchable polarization rotator and to reflect image light having the first polarization state and transmit image light having the second polarization state, and
providing, by the optical router, at different times, the left-eye image light to a left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to a right eyepiece of the head-mounted display.
wherein the optical router is configured to provide, at different times, the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece and the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece.
As shown in the comparison above, the instant application claim 1 is broader in every aspect than the patent claim 1 of US 11914150 B2 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof. Claims 2-8 recite the same or similar limitations as claims 2-8 of US 11914150 B2, and therefore are rejected.
5. Claims 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11914150 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Present application (19078085) US Patent 11914150 B2
Claim 11
Claim 17
A method, comprising:
A head-mounted display system comprising:
outputting image light from a light projection system of a head-mounted display, the image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with right-eye image light for forming right-eye images; and
a head-mountable frame;
a light projection system comprising an emissive micro-display, wherein the light projection system is configured to output image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with right-eye image light for forming right-eye images;
a left eyepiece supported by the frame;
a right eyepiece supported by the frame; and
receiving, by an optical router, the image light from the light projection system and providing, at different times, the left-eye image light to a left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to a right eyepiece of the head-mounted display,
an optical router configured to: receive the image light from the light projection system, and provide, at different times, the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece and the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece,
wherein the left eyepiece comprises one or more left-eye waveguides, each left-eye waveguide comprising:
a left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element configured to in-couple light having the first polarization state into the left-eye waveguide; and
a left-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the left-eye waveguide,
wherein the left eyepiece comprises one or more left-eye waveguides, each left-eye waveguide comprising:
a left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element configured to in-couple light having the first polarization state into the left-eye waveguide; and
a left-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the left-eye waveguide,
wherein the right eyepiece comprises one or more right-eye waveguides, each right-eye waveguide comprising:
a right-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element configured to in-couple light having the second polarization state into the right-eye waveguide; and
a right-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the right-eye waveguide, and
wherein the right eyepiece comprises one or more right-eye waveguides, each right-eye waveguide comprising:
a right-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element configured to in-couple light having the second polarization state into the right-eye waveguide; and
a right-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the right-eye waveguide, and
wherein the left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element and the right-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element are disposed in a same image light path.
wherein the left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element and the right-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element are disposed in a same image light path.
As shown in the comparison above, the instant application claim 9 is broader in every aspect than the patent claim 17 of US 11914150 B2 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof. Claim 9 recite the same or similar limitations as claim 18 of US 11914150 B2, and therefore are rejected.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “in-coupling optical element” and “out-coupling optical element” in claims 6 and 9.
Because the claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 6 and 9 are interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
As for the limitations “in-coupling optical element” and “out-coupling optical element”, a review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph): [0168]-[0169], [0174]-[0176 [0197]-[0200], [0214], [0220]-[0223], [0234]-[0252], and [0325]-[0330] of the specification and Figs. 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 21, 29, 30, 33, and 34 of the drawing disclose the “in-coupling optical element” corresponds to reflector, deflector, lens, or grating structures and [0153], [0157], [0161], [0178]-[0179], [0233]-[0234], [0244]-[0245] of the specification and Figs. 6, 7, 9, 17, 18, and 20 of the drawing disclose the “out-coupling optical element” corresponds to grating structures or surface holograms.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitations “the first polarization state” and “the second polarization state”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations. For the purpose of the examination, the limitations “the first polarization state” and “the second polarization state” are interpreted as “a first polarization state” and “a second polarization state”. Claims 10-12 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOSHIHARA (JP 2012220774A).
Regarding claim 1, KOSHIHARA (Figs. 1-2) discloses a method, comprising:
outputting image light from a light projection system ([0027]-[0028]; light projection system including a light source 10 and a liquid crystal panel 12, which outputs image light) of a head-mounted display ([0022]; head-mounted display device 1A), the image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with right-eye image light for forming right-eye images ([0035]; left-eye image and right-eye image are generated in a time-division manner);
receiving, by a polarizer of an optical router ([0027]; polarizing plate 13), the image light from the light projection system and only outputting image light with a first polarization state ([0027]; image light with a polarization parallel to transmission axis of the polarizing plate 13 is transmitted through the polarizer 13, the transmitted light is a first polarized light);
receiving, by a switchable polarization rotator of an optical router ([0032] and [0036]-[0037]; switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator 3), the image light with the first polarization state and selectively changing a polarization state of the received image light to a second polarization state ([0032], [0036]-[0037], and [0045]; the image light with the first polarization state includes left-eye image light and right-eye image light, switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator 3 selectively changes the first polarized light associated with left-eye image into a second polarized light and outputs image light including a first polarized light (S-polarized light) as right-eye image light and a second polarized light (P-polarized light) as left-eye image light);
receiving, by a polarization-sensitive reflector of the optical router ([0024] and [0045]-[0047]; polarization-sensitive reflector 14), the image light from the switchable polarization rotator (switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator 3) and reflecting image light having the first polarization state and transmitting image light having the second polarization state ([0024] and [0045]-[0047]; polarization-sensitive reflector 14 reflects the first polarized light (S-polarized light) and transmits the second polarized light (P-polarized light)); and
providing, by the optical router, at different times, the left-eye image light to a left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to a right eyepiece of the head-mounted display ([0025], [0036]-[0037], [0045]-[0047], and [0052]; the switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator 3 outputs first polarized (S-polarized) right-eye image light to right eyepiece reflector 19 and second polarized (P-polarized) left-eye image light to left eyepiece reflector 23).
Regarding claim 2, KOSHIHARA (Figs. 1-2) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the image light with the first polarization state and selectively changing the polarization state of the received image light includes selectively changing the polarization state via a switchable half-wave plate (HWP) ([0032]; the liquid crystal polarization modulator 3 acts as a switchable half-wave plate).
Regarding claim 4, KOSHIHARA (Figs. 1-2) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing, at different times, the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece of the head-mounted display includes: directing, by the polarization-sensitive reflector ([0024] and [0045]-[0047]; polarization-sensitive reflector 14), left-eye image light having one of the first and second polarization states towards the left eyepiece (Fig. 2; left-eye image light); and directing, by the polarization-sensitive reflector ([0024] and [0045]-[0047]; polarization-sensitive reflector 14), right-eye image light having the other of the first and second polarization states towards the right eyepiece (Fig. 2; left-eye image light).
Regarding claim 5, KOSHIHARA (Figs. 1-2) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the image light from the switchable polarization rotator and reflecting image light having the first polarization state and transmitting image light having the second polarization state includes reflecting image light having the first polarization state and transmitting image light having the second polarization via a polarization beam splitter ([0024] and [0040]-[0047]; polarization beam splitter 5 reflects the first polarized light (S-polarized light) and transmits the second polarized light (P-polarized light)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KOSHIHARA (JP 2012220774A) in view of HU (US 20180164599 A1).
Regarding claim 3, KOSHIHARA (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: synchronizing generation of left-eye image images by the light projection system and routing of the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece by the optical router with generation of the right-eye images by the light projection system and routing of the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece by the optical router ([0035]-[0037] and [0053]-[0054]; generation of left-eye image and right-eye image and display of left-eye image images and right-eye image images to the user are synchronized); and synchronizing the switchable polarization rotator with the light projection system ([0035]-[0037]) to output left-eye image light with a first polarization state and to output right-eye image light with a second polarization different from the first polarization state ([0036]-[0037] and [0045]; right-eye image light is S-polarized, left-eye image light is P-polarized). The examiner further cites HU as a reference. Hu (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7) discloses a head-mounted display device similar to that disclosed by KOSHIHARA, and a method comprises: receiving, by a switchable polarization rotator of an optical router (Fig. 7C and [0078]; optical router comprising a liquid crystal polarization modulator), the image light with the first polarization state and selectively changing a polarization state of the received image light to a second polarization state (Fig. 7C and [0078]; e.g., input image light having a polarization state PPPP… or SSSS…, output image light having a polarization state PSPS… or SPSP…); and synchronizing the switchable polarization rotator with the light projection system (Fig. 7C) to output left-eye image light with a first polarization state and to output right-eye image light with a second polarization different from the first polarization state (Figs. 7C and 7D; right-eye image light is S-polarized (or P-polarized), left-eye image light is P-polarized (or S-polarized)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HU to the head-mounted display of KOSHIHARA. The combination/motivation would be to provide a polarized 3D imaging system.
14. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KOSHIHARA (JP 2012220774A) in view of LEE (US 20200143759 A1).
Regarding claim 6, KOSHIHARA (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in-coupling, by a left-eye in-coupling optical element (optical lens 4 and reflector 24; [0038]), image light into a left-eye light guide of the left eyepiece (left-eye light guide 16; [0040]); out-coupling, by a left-eye out-coupling optical element (optical lens 20(21) and reflector 23; [0047]), in-coupled image light out of the left-eye light guide (left-eye light guide 16); in-coupling, by a right-eye in-coupling optical element (optical lens 4 and reflector 14; [0038]), image light into a right-eye light guide of the right eyepiece (right-eye light guide 15; [0040]); and out-coupling, by a right-eye out-coupling optical element (optical lens 20(18) and reflector 19; [0046]), in-coupled image light out of the right-eye light guide (left-eye light guide 15).
KOSHIHARA does not disclose the waveguide and out-coupling optical element as claimed. However, LEE (Figs. 2-3, 9-11, and 13-14) discloses a head-mounted display device, comprising: in-coupling, by a left-eye in-coupling optical element (Figs. 9-11; reflector 920 or 1020), image light into a left-eye waveguide of the left eyepiece (Figs. 9-11; left-eye light guide 930 or 1030); out-coupling, by a left-eye out-coupling optical element (Figs. 9-11; reflector 935 or grating structures 1035), in-coupled image light out of the left-eye waveguide (Figs. 9-11; left-eye light guide 930 or 1030); in-coupling, by a right-eye in-coupling optical element (Figs. 9-11; reflector 920 or 1020), image light into a right-eye waveguide of the right eyepiece (Figs. 9-11; right-eye light guide 940 or 1040); and out-coupling, by a right-eye out-coupling optical element (Figs. 9-11; reflector 945 or grating structures 1045), in-coupled image light out of the right-eye waveguide (Figs. 9-11; right-eye light guide 940 or 1040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image signal coupling taught by LEE to the head-mounted display of KOSHIHARA. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image signal coupling into and from a waveguide with a high transmission efficiency and a reduced signal distortion.
15. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KOSHIHARA (JP 2012220774A) in view of SAMEC (US 20170323485 A1).
Regarding claim 6, KOSHIHARA (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in-coupling, by a left-eye in-coupling optical element (optical lens 4; [0038]), image light into a left-eye light guide of the left eyepiece (left-eye light guide 16; [0040]); out-coupling, by a left-eye out-coupling optical element (optical lens 20(21) and reflector 23; [0047]), in-coupled image light out of the left-eye light guide (left-eye light guide 16); in-coupling, by a right-eye in-coupling optical element (optical lens 4; [0038]), image light into a right-eye light guide of the right eyepiece (right-eye light guide 15; [0040]); and out-coupling, by a right-eye out-coupling optical element (optical lens 20(18) and reflector 19; [0046]), in-coupled image light out of the right-eye light guide (left-eye light guide 15).
KOSHIHARA does not disclose the waveguide and out-coupling optical element as claimed. However, SAMEC (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9) discloses a head-mounted display device, comprising: an in-coupling optical element (Fig. 9; in-coupling optical element 700) configured to in-couple image light (Fig. 9; image light 770) into the waveguide (Fig. 9; waveguide 670); and an out-coupling optical element (Fig. 9; out-coupling optical element 800) configured to out-couple in-coupled image light (Fig. 9; image light 770) out of the waveguide (Fig. 9; waveguide 670). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image signal coupling taught by SAMEC to the head-mounted display of KOSHIHARA. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image signal coupling into and from a waveguide with a high transmission efficiency and a reduced signal distortion.
Regarding claim 7, KOSHIHARA in view of SAMEC discloses the method of claim 1, SAMEC (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9) discloses further comprising: outputting light with variable amounts of wavefront divergence corresponding to a plurality of depth planes from the left eyepiece (e.g., Figs. 3-6 and 8-9; [0238], [0245]-[0270]); and outputting light with variable amounts of wavefront divergence corresponding to a plurality of depth planes from the right eyepiece (e.g., Figs. 3-6 and 8-9; [0238], [0245]-[0270]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SAMEC to the head-mounted display of KOSHIHARA. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image with a comfortable perception of depth to the viewer.
Regarding claim 8, KOSHIHARA in view of SAMEC discloses the method of claim 1, SAMEC (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9) discloses further comprising: outputting light of a plurality of component colors (e.g., Figs. 8-9 and [0287]; red light 790, green light 780, and blue light 770), and wherein each of the left eyepiece and the right eyepiece includes a respective waveguide assembly comprising at least one dedicated waveguide for light of each component color (e.g., Figs. 9 and [0287]; waveguide 690 for red light 790, waveguide 680 for green light 780, and waveguide 670 for blue light 770). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SAMEC to the head-mounted display of Simmonds. The combination/motivation would be to provide a full color image to the viewer.
16. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HU (US 20180164599 A1) in view of Simmonds (US 20190324278 A1) and further in view of KOSHIHARA (JP 2012220774A).
Regarding claim 9, HU (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7) discloses a method, comprising:
outputting image light from a light projection system (Figs. 2D-2E and 6-7; light projection system including a micro-display and a lens system) of a head-mounted display (Figs. 2A and 6A; head-mounted display), the image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images and right-eye image light for forming right-eye images (Figs. 6B and 7D; left-eye image and right-eye image); and
receiving, by an optical router, the image light from the light projection system (Fig. 7C and [0078]; optical router comprising a switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator) and providing, at different times, the left-eye image light to a left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to a right eyepiece of the head-mounted display (Figs. 7C-7D and [0080]; the switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator alternatively outputs first polarized (S-polarized) right-eye image light to right eyepiece and second polarized (P-polarized) left-eye image light to left eyepiece),
wherein the left eyepiece comprises one or more left-eye waveguides (e.g., Figs. 6B, 7D, and 4 and [0071], [0076], [0080]; left-eye waveguide assembly), each left-eye waveguide comprising:
a left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element (polarization-sensitive reflectors 618 and 626 or polarization-sensitive reflectors 738 and 746) configured to in-couple light having the first polarization state (left-eye image light with a first polarization state or a P polarization state) into the left-eye waveguide (left-eye waveguide 400); and
a left-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the left-eye waveguide (Fig. 4 and [0071]; light is out-coupled from left-eye waveguide 400),
wherein the right eyepiece comprises one or more right-eye waveguides (e.g., Figs. 6B, 7D, and 4 and [0071], [0076], [0080]; right-eye waveguide assembly), each right-eye waveguide comprising:
a right-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element (polarization-sensitive reflectors 620 and 628 or polarization-sensitive reflectors 740 and 748) configured to in-couple light having the second polarization state (left-eye image light with a second polarization state or a S polarization state) into the right-eye waveguide (right-eye waveguide 400); and
a right-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the right-eye waveguide (Fig. 4 and [0071]; light is out-coupled from right-eye waveguide 400), and
wherein the left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element and the right-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element are disposed in a same image light path (Figs. 6B and 7D; in-coupling reflectors 618, 626, 620 and 628 or in-coupling reflectors 738 and 746, 740, and 748 are disposed in a same image light path).
The “out-coupling optical element” recited in claim 2 has been interpreted to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). HU (e.g., Figs. 6B, 7D, and 4) discloses a left-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the left-eye waveguide, and a right-eye out-coupling optical element configured to out-couple in-coupled light out of the right-eye waveguide (Fig. 4; out-coupled light out of waveguide 400), but the out-coupling optical element disclosed by HU is different from the specification. However, Simmonds (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4) discloses an eyepiece comprises one or more left-eye waveguides, comprising: an in-coupling optical element (Fig. 1; grating 13) configured to in-couple image light (Fig. 1; image 14) into the waveguide (Fig. 1; waveguide 10); and an out-coupling optical element (Fig. 1; grating structures 15) configured to out-couple in-coupled image light (Fig. 1; image light 14) out of the waveguide (Fig. 1; waveguide 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image signal coupling taught by Simmonds to the head-mounted display of Hu. The combination/motivation would be to provide an image signal coupling into and out of a waveguide with a high transmission and extraction efficiency.
HU does not disclose the image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with and right-eye image light for forming right-eye images. KOSHIHARA (Figs. 1-4) discloses a head-mounted display device and a method, comprising: outputting image light from a light projection system ([0027]-[0028]; light projection system including a light source 10 and a liquid crystal panel 12, which outputs image light) of a head-mounted display ([0022]; head-mounted display device 1A), the image light comprising left-eye image light for forming left-eye images time-multiplexed with and right-eye image light for forming right-eye images ([0035]; left-eye image and right-eye image are generated in a time-division manner). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KOSHIHARA to the head-mounted display of Hu. The combination/motivation would be to provide a polarized 3D imaging system.
Regarding claim 10, HU in view of Simmonds and further in view of KOSHIHARA discloses the method of claim 9, HU (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7) discloses wherein a cleanup polarizer (polarizer 614 or 734, polarizer 616 or 736) is disposed between the left-eye polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element (polarization-sensitive reflectors 618 and 626 or polarization-sensitive reflectors 738 and 746) and the right-eye polarization-sensitive in- coupling optical element (polarization-sensitive reflectors 620 and 628 or polarization-sensitive reflectors 740 and 748), and wherein the method further comprises: blocking, by the cleanup polarizer, light not having a polarization for which the downstream polarization-sensitive in-coupling optical element is configured sensitive (polarizer 614 or 734 blocks unwanted S polarized light, polarizer 616 or 736 blocks unwanted P polarized light).
Regarding claim 11, HU in view of Simmonds and further in view of KOSHIHARA discloses the method of claim 9, HU does not expressly disclose a polarizer of the optical router receiving the image light from the light projection system and only outputting image light with a first polarization state to the switchable polarization rotator. However, HU (Fig. 7C) discloses the liquid crystal polarization rotator receiving the input image light having a polarization state (e.g., P polarization state), it is obvious that there must be a polarizer receiving the image light from the light projection system and only outputting image light with a first polarization state to the switchable polarization rotator. As a reference, KOSHIHARA (e.g., Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein providing, at the different times, the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece of the head-mounted display includes receiving, by a polarizer of the optical router ([0027]; polarizing plate 13), the image light from the light projection system and only outputting image light with a first polarization state ([0027]; image light with a polarization parallel to transmission axis of the polarizing plate 13 is transmitted through the polarizer 13, the transmitted light is a first polarized light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KOSHIHARA to the head-mounted display of Hu. The combination/motivation would be to provide a polarized 3D imaging system.
Regarding claim 12, HU in view of Simmonds and further in view of KOSHIHARA discloses the method of claim 11, HU (e.g., Figs. 2 and 6-7) discloses wherein providing, at the different times, the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece of the head-mounted display includes receiving, by a switchable polarization rotator of the optical router (Fig. 7C and [0078]; optical router comprising a liquid crystal polarization modulator), the image light from the polarizer with the first polarization state and selectively changing a polarization state of the received image light to a second polarization state (Fig. 7C and [0078]; e.g., input image light having a polarization state PPPP or SSSS, output image light having a polarization state SPSP, S polarization corresponding to horizontal polarization, P polarization corresponding to vertical polarization). In addition, KOSHIHARA (Figs. 1-4) also discloses wherein providing, at the different times, the left-eye image light to the left eyepiece of the head-mounted display and the right-eye image light to the right eyepiece of the head-mounted display includes receiving, by a switchable polarization rotator of the optical router, the image light from the polarizer with the first polarization state and selectively changing a polarization state of the received image light to a second polarization state ([0032], [0036]-[0037], and [0045]; the image light with the first polarization state includes left-eye image light and right-eye image light, switchable liquid crystal polarization modulator 3 selectively changes the first polarized light associated with left-eye image into a second polarized light and outputs image light including a first polarized light (S-polarized light) as right-eye image light and a second polarized light (P-polarized light) as left-eye image light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KOSHIHARA to the head-mounted display of Hu for the same reason above.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623