DETAILED ACTION
Status Of Claims
Claims 1-25, received 3/12/2025, are pending for examination.
If applicant is aware of any relevant prior art, or other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Priority
U.S. application 19/078090 filed on 3/12/2025 is the earliest filed application that discloses all of the limitations in claim 18 and therefore is the earliest priority date given for claim 18. For example, it appears that at least figures 11B and 11C disclose the limitations of claim 16, but no figures or description in the priority documents appear to support claim 18, wherein the plurality of metasurface lenslets are attached to the image sensor with a spacer layer, wherein the limitations of claims 1 and 16 also require a microlens array wherein the microlens array and the plurality of metasurface lenslets are positioned on a single substrate. If applicant is aware of explicit support for the limitations of claim 18, dependent from claims 1 and 16, then they are encouraged to point to those specifics in the disclosures of the priority documents.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/29/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the crossed-through information referred to therein has not been considered.
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 1/19/2026 were considered, though it appears that several citations are to entire textbooks.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 18, in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 16, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deneuville, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0201015 A1 (hereafter Deneuville). It is noted that the foreign priority reference FR 2213920, filed 12/20/2022, is relied upon for Deneuville being prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with respect to claim 18. However, this date does not appear to apply to the other claims due to the support found in US provisional application 63/362285, filed 3/31/2022, which appears to provide support for the other limitations of the instant application.
Regarding claim 18, Deneuville discloses a polarization imaging device comprising:
a metasurface receiving an image light (see at least elements 117 and MS, paras. [0104]-[0105], [0124]-[0127]);
wherein the metasurface comprises:
a plurality of metasurface lenslets, wherein the plurality of metasurface lenslets comprise a plurality of first metasurface lenslets configured to diffract the image light with intensity proportional with a first polarization light in a first direction and intensity proportionality with a second polarization in a second direction (see at least elements MS(1), MS(2), MS(3) and MS(4), paras. [0104]-[0105], [0124]-[0127]); and
a microlens array (see at least element 401); and
wherein the microlens array and the plurality of metasurface lenslets are positioned on a single substrate (see at least figure 4B, elements 401 and 117/MS; and/or figure 6B, elements 401 and 117/MS; and/or figure 8 wherein element 401 is on one surface of substrate 115 and element 117/MS is on the other surface; and/or figure 9 wherein element 901 and/or element 401 are on surface(s) of substrate 115 while element 117/MS is embedded in the substrate 115); and
an image sensor positioned in an optical path of the first polarization and the second polarization from the metasurface, and wherein the image sensor comprises a plurality of image sensing units including a first image sensing unit positioned to sense the first polarization and a second image sensing unit positioned to sense the second polarization (see at least element 107);
wherein the plurality of metasurface lenslets are fixedly attached to the image sensor (see at least figure 4B and/or 6B and/or 8 and/or 9 wherein elements 109 join the images sensor unit to the metasurface lenslets); and
wherein the plurality of metasurface lenslets are attached to the image sensor with a spacer layer separating the plurality of metasurface lenslets from the image sensor see at least figure 4B and/or 6B and/or 8 and/or 9 wherein spacer elements 109 join the images sensor unit to the metasurface lenslets, and/or element 115 which may be considered a spacer layer).
Other Related Art
Similar to the Deneuville reference set forth above, this prior art, made of record, but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar optical elements to what is claimed and/or disclosed in the instant application:
Deneuville, US 2024/0201016 A1, discloses a similar polarization imaging device as claim 18 (fig. 4B);
Deneuville et al., US 2024/0204021 A1, discloses a similar polarization imaging device as claim 18 (fig. 4B);
Morita et al., US 2025/0362522 A1, discloses a similar polarization imaging device as claim 18 (fig. 26A, paras. [0099]-[0100]);
Vaillant et al., US 2024/0053202 A1, discloses a similar polarization imaging device as claim 18 (fig. 1, paras. [0093]-[0095], [0100]); and
Wang et al., US 2024/0125995 A1, discloses a similar polarization imaging device as claim 18 (fig. 1A, para. [0025]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,927,769 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely broader than or an obvious variation of claims 1, 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,927,769 B2.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, see the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,927,769 B2.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, see the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,927,769 B2 wherein claim 1 contains the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,276,807 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely broader than or an obvious variation of claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,276,807 B2.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, see the limitations of claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,276,807 B2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-17 and 19-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Derek S. Chapel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 9/22/2026
Derek S. CHAPEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872