DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: API line 4 should be spelled out to – information program interface (API)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Priebatsch et al, US Pub. 2016/0371668.
Priebatsch et al disclose token-based cards and systems comprising: obtaining product identifying information (a first token identifying the card) and added value from a customer at a point of sale (a second activating token token) (see par. 0023); encrypting the product identifying information and added value (the payment gateway 320, par. 0057); transmitting the product identifying information and added value from the point of sale to the Fluid API (the management server serves as the API, Fig. 3); generating a passcode; transmitting the product identifying information, added value, and passcode to a central storage method for indexing (par. 0057); communicating the passcode to the customer; and requiring the customer to utilize the passcode to check the value of the gift card (par. 0068).
Regarding claim 2, wherein customer information is obtained at the point of sale from the customer (par. 0022).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the customer information is utilized in generating the passcode (par. 0057).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the passcode is communicated to the customer by transmitting the passcode to the point of sale and the passcode is provided to the customer on a receipt (par. 0022).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the passcode is communicated to the customer by transmitting the passcode to the point of sale and the passcode is provided to the customer digitally (par. 0022, including through a mobile App).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the passcode is communicated to the customer by sending the code via text to a provided phone number (par. 0079).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the passcode is communicated to the customer by altering the gift card at the point of sale to display the generated passcode (the passcode is transmitted to the merchant and can alter the gift card to display the passcode, par. 0022).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the passcode is generated by requesting a code from the customer and using that code as the passcode ( the code is associated with the user identification, it can be generated by requesting it, par. 0059+).
Regarding claim 9, further consisting of the step of: requiring the customer to utilize the passcode to redeem any value of the gift card ( par. 0073-78).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the central storage method is a database (see Fig. 2B/3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priebatsch et al in view of Yang et al, WO 2023199114. The teachings of Priebatsch et al have been discussed above.
Priebatsch et al fail to disclose a blockchain as the database.
Yang et al disclose systems and methods for digital gift card marketplace and redemptions comprising: databases for storing the gift card information, wherein the data base is a blockchain (par. 00110).
In view of the teachings of Yang et al, it would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Priebatsch et al include a blockchain as a storage means for storing gift card information. Such modification would enhance security and would provide transparency and trust. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by Priebatsch et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heidari, US Pub. 2020/0311715, discloses methods and apparatus for payment card activation. Arora et al, US Pub. 2020/0104829, disclose methods and systems for redeeming a gift card at a merchant terminal.
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876