DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 2023/0378979 A1) in view of Marov (US 2016/0026527 A1) in view of Emami (US 2015/0256289 A1) in view of Stanisavljevic (US 2021/0288669 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Anderson teaches:
A memory system comprising: a non-volatile memory that stores data encoded with an error correction code that corrects errors of t bits or less, where t is an integer of 2 or more; and a memory controller configured to control writing to the non-volatile memory and reading from the non-volatile memory; (0012, According to one embodiment of the present disclosure, a system adapted to use accelerated error-correcting code (ECC) processing to improve the storage and retrieval of digital data distributed across a plurality of drives, includes: at least one processor including at least one single-instruction-multiple-data (SIMD) central processing unit (CPU) core that executes SIMD instructions and loads original data from a main memory and stores check data to the main memory, the SIMD CPU core including at least 16 vector registers, each of the vector registers storing at least 16 bytes; at least one system drive including at least one non-volatile storage medium that stores the SIMD instructions; a plurality of data drives each including at least one non-volatile storage medium that stores at least one block of the original data, the at least one block including at least 512 bytes; more than two check drives each including at least one non-volatile storage medium that stores at least one block of the check data; and at least one input/output (I/O) controller that stores the at least one block of the check data from the main memory to the check drives, wherein the processor, the SIMD instructions, the non-volatile storage media, and the I/O controller are configured to implement a polynomial coding system;) wherein the memory controller is further configured to calculate syndromes using a word read from the non-volatile memory; (0018, a system adapted to use accelerated error-correcting code (ECC) processing to improve the storage and retrieval of digital data distributed across a plurality of drives, includes: at least one processor including at least one single-instruction-multiple-data (SIMD) central processing unit (CPU) core that executes SIMD instructions and loads received original data and received check data from a main memory and computes syndrome data;) perform a first calculation in which first error locator polynomials from the first order to the k-th order, where k is an integer satisfying 1< k < t, first error locator polynomials each having an order with the same parity as k, is calculated using the syndromes, (0175, At operation 552, the processor computes an error location polynomial based on the syndromes. The processor calculates the error locations at 553 using the error location polynomial (e.g., by finding the roots of the error location polynomial using a Chien search). At operation 554, the processor calculates the error values based on the syndromes and the error locator polynomial, and at operation 555, the processor decodes the recovered data based on the error locations, error values, and the received codeword to generate the recovered data.) determine whether or not an error positions are calculable using the first error locator polynomial, when it is determined that the error positions are calculable using the first error locator polynomial, (0194 The syndromes correspond to the dot product of the whole codeword with the Vandermonde matrix (or the accelerated version using Horner's method). When computing the dot product of the full codeword (the data symbols together with the check symbols) and the Vandermonde matrix, when the check symbols are correct, the result is zero. However, when there is an error, the result is the syndrome of the error.) calculate the error positions using the first error locator polynomial,when it is determined that the error positions are not calculable using the first error locator polynomial; (0097, In operation 260, the processor multiplies the carry value (carVal) by the coefficient of the generator polynomial (identified as Poly in FIG. 1) corresponding to each position of the LFSR using a Galois field (GF) multiplier 130 to generate T GF products. In particular, the GF multiplier is configured to multiply values in accordance with the Galois field of the coding system (e.g. GF(256)).) calculate an initial value of a parameter used in a second calculation in which a second error locator polynomials up to the t-th order is calculated using the first error locator polynomials, perform the second calculation using the initial value, and calculate the error positions using the second error locator polynomial. (0078, may be implemented by a computing system including one or more processing circuits and memory. The memory may store data symbols and check data computed in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, in addition to parameters associated with the encoding process and instructions to control the one or more processing circuits to perform the encoding of data (e.g., generating check data to generate a codeword) or decoding of data (e.g., decoding original data from a codeword that includes one or more errors or erasures).)
Anderson fails to teach:
and correct an error of the word at either the error positions calculated using the first error locator polynomial or the error positions calculated using the second error locator polynomial.
However, Marov teaches:
and correct an error of the word at either the error positions calculated using the first error locator polynomial or the error positions calculated using the second error locator polynomial. (0033, to detect the positions of one or more SDC errors and restore the correct values for the erroneous blocks provided that the number p of the occurred SDC errors satisfies the condition.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system using accelerated error-correcting code in the storage and retrieval of data of Anderson with the teaching of Marov, which teaches methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer program products for error correction coding and decoding procedures for data storage or transfer in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Marov: 0003, data generated based on the data to facilitate recovery from corruption.)
With regards to claim 2, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory system of claim 1.
Anderson teaches:
wherein the error correction code is a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem code; (0074, the recovery of lost data using the technique described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,633,470 involves testing every value of the Galois Field in a trial-and-error approach (a Chien search, see, e.g., Chien, Robert. “Cyclic Decoding Procedures for Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem Codes.” IEEE Transactions on Information Theory 10.4 (1964): 357-363.) to find the locations of errors.)
Anderson in view of Marov fails to teach:
the first calculation is calculation using a Peterson Gorenstein Zierler method, and the second calculation is calculation using a Berlekamp Massey (BM) method.
However, Emami teaches:
the first calculation is calculation using a Peterson Gorenstein Zierler method, and the second calculation is calculation using a Berlekamp Massey (BM) method. (0020, (an algorithm can be used to determine the error locator polynomial coefficients, e.g., Berlekamp-Massey algorithm (finds the shortest linear feedback shift register (LFSR) for a given binary output sequence) or Peterson's algorithm (a concurrent programming algorithm for mutual exclusion that allows two processes to share a single-use resource without conflict, using only shared memory for communication) ;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system using accelerated error-correcting code in the storage and retrieval of data of Anderson with the teaching of Emami, which teaches methods decoding codewords with syndrome components in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Emami: 0003, to providing ultra-low power (ULP) forward error correction (FEC) decoding for variable spreading factor (VSF) ternary on-off keying (TOOK).)
With regards to claim 3, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami teaches the memory system of claim 2.
Anderson fails to teach:
wherein the initial value includes an auxiliary polynomial, a first modification value and a second modification value are calculated from an error locator polynomial having a highest order among the first error locator polynomials and an error locator polynomial having the second highest order among the first error locator polynomials, and the auxiliary polynomial is calculated by adding (i) the error locator polynomial having the highest order multiplied by the first modification value and (ii) a polynomial obtained from the error locator polynomial having the second highest order multiplied by the second modification value.
However, Marov teaches:
wherein the initial value includes an auxiliary polynomial, a first modification value and a second modification value are calculated from an error locator polynomial having a highest order among the first error locator polynomials and an error locator polynomial having the second highest order among the first error locator polynomials, and the auxiliary polynomial is calculated by adding (i) the error locator polynomial having the highest order multiplied by the first modification value and (ii) a polynomial obtained from the error locator polynomial having the second highest order multiplied by the second modification value. (0052, In general, BMA can be briefly described as follow. The input of this algorithm is the sequence of m code words (w.sub.0, w.sub.1, . . . , w.sub.m−1) and the number t which is the maximal even number such that t≦m. To determine the coefficients of error locator polynomial σ in the BMA, two auxiliary polynomials B and T are used.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system using accelerated error-correcting code in the storage and retrieval of data of Anderson with the teaching of Marov, which teaches methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer program products for error correction coding and decoding procedures for data storage or transfer in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Marov: 0003, data generated based on the data to facilitate recovery from corruption.)
With regards to claim 4, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami teaches the memory system of claim 2.
Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami fails to teach:
wherein the second calculation is calculation using a reformulated inversionless BM method.
However, Stanisavljevic teaches:
wherein the second calculation is calculation using a reformulated inversionless BM method. (0035, The KES block 40 in combination with the INIT block 50 solves the key equation to produce the errata locator polynomial L(x)″ and the errata magnitude polynomial m(x)″. The KES block 40 needs INIT block 50 for initialization values. The KES block 40 in an embodiment comprises the Berlekamp-Massey algorithm. In one or more embodiments, the RS decoder 30 uses the inverse free Berlekamp-Massey algorithm modified for errors and erasures as described in Zhang et al., On the High-Speed VLSI Implementation of Errors and Erasures Correcting Reed-Solomon Decoders, GLSVLSI '02, Apr. 18-19, 2002, New York, N.Y., the entirety of which is incorporated by reference.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system using accelerated error-correcting code in the storage and retrieval of data of Anderson with the teaching of Stanisavljevic, which teaches a memory system, Reed Solomon (“RS”) Decoder, and method for decoding Reed-Solomon codewords includes: a Syndrome Computation engine configured as a first stage of a pipeline for receiving the RS codeword and computing one or more Syndromes in order improve memory reliability and efficiency. (Stanisavljevic: 0003, Error Correction Code (ECC) and Redundant Array of Independent Disks (RAID) schemes are used to achieve high reliability and robustness against chip/package failures.)
With regards to claim 5, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami in view of Stanisavljevic teaches the memory system of claim 4.
Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami fails to teach:
wherein the initial value includes a first evaluation values and a second evaluation values, a second modification value, a third modification value, and a fourth modification value are calculated from an error locator polynomial having the highest order among the first error locator polynomials and an error locator polynomial having the second highest order among the first error locator polynomials, the first evaluation values are calculated in a process of determining whether or not the error positions are calculable using the error locator polynomial having the highest order, and the second evaluation values are calculated by adding (i) the first evaluation values on which a shift operation by the third modification value is performed multiplied by the fourth modification value and (ii) a second temporary evaluation values obtained by performing a shift operation on an evaluation values that is calculated in the process of determining whether or not the error positions are calculable using the error locator polynomial having the second highest order, multiplied by the second modification value.
However, Stanisavljevic teaches:
wherein the initial value includes a first evaluation values and a second evaluation values, a second modification value, a third modification value, and a fourth modification value are calculated from an error locator polynomial having the highest order among the first error locator polynomials and an error locator polynomial having the second highest order among the first error locator polynomials, the first evaluation values are calculated in a process of determining whether or not the error positions are calculable using the error locator polynomial having the highest order, and the second evaluation values are calculated by adding (i) the first evaluation values on which a shift operation by the third modification value is performed multiplied by the fourth modification value and (ii) a second temporary evaluation values obtained by performing a shift operation on an evaluation values that is calculated in the process of determining whether or not the error positions are calculable using the error locator polynomial having the second highest order, multiplied by the second modification value. (0006, one or more Syndrome Computation engines for receiving the Reed-Solomon (“RS”) codeword and computing one or more Syndromes; a key equation solver engine for generating the errata locator polynomial and the errata magnitude polynomial; one or more initialization units for providing initialization values for the key equation solver engine; one or more Chien Search engines for receiving the error locator polynomial and determining the one or more locations of the one or more erasures and random errors in the received Reed-Solomon codeword; and one or more error-value evaluation (“EE”) engines for receiving the errata magnitude polynomial and determining the one or more magnitudes of the one or more erasures and random errors in the RS received codeword, wherein the Reed-Solomon decoder is configured as a three stage pipeline wherein the one or more Syndrome Computation engines are configured in a first stage, the key equation solver engine and the one or more initialization units are configured as a second stage, and the one or more Chien Search engines and the one or more EE engines are configured as a third stage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system using accelerated error-correcting code in the storage and retrieval of data of Anderson with the teaching of Stanisavljevic, which teaches a memory system, Reed Solomon (“RS”) Decoder, and method for decoding Reed-Solomon codewords includes: a Syndrome Computation engine configured as a first stage of a pipeline for receiving the RS codeword and computing one or more Syndromes in order improve memory reliability and efficiency. (Stanisavljevic: 0003, Error Correction Code (ECC) and Redundant Array of Independent Disks (RAID) schemes are used to achieve high reliability and robustness against chip/package failures.)
With regards to claim 6, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory system of claim 1.
Anderson teaches:
wherein the error correction code is a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem code; (0074, the recovery of lost data using the technique described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,633,470 involves testing every value of the Galois Field in a trial-and-error approach (a Chien search, see, e.g., Chien, Robert. “Cyclic Decoding Procedures for Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem Codes.” IEEE Transactions on Information Theory 10.4 (1964): 357-363.) to find the locations of errors.)
With regards to claim 7, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory system of claim 6.
Anderson teaches:
wherein the error correction code is a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem code; (0074, the recovery of lost data using the technique described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,633,470 involves testing every value of the Galois Field in a trial-and-error approach (a Chien search, see, e.g., Chien, Robert. “Cyclic Decoding Procedures for Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem Codes.” IEEE Transactions on Information Theory 10.4 (1964): 357-363.) to find the locations of errors.)
With regards to claim 8, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory system of claim 1.
Anderson teaches:
wherein the error correction code is a Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem code; (0074, the recovery of lost data using the technique described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,633,470 involves testing every value of the Galois Field in a trial-and-error approach (a Chien search, see, e.g., Chien, Robert. “Cyclic Decoding Procedures for Bose-Chaudhuri-Hocquenghem Codes.” IEEE Transactions on Information Theory 10.4 (1964): 357-363.) to find the locations of errors.)
With regards to claim 9, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory controller and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 10, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory controller of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 11, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami teaches the operating method of claim 10 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 12, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami teaches the memory controller of claim 10 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 13, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami in view of Stanisavljevic teaches the memory controller of claim 12 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 14, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory controller of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 6 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 15, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the memory controller of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 7 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 16, Anderson in view of Marov teaches a method for controlling the memory system and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 17, Anderson in view of Marov teaches the method for controlling the memory system of claim 16 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 18, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami teaches the method for controlling the memory system of claim 17 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 19, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami teaches the method for controlling the memory system of claim 17 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 20, Anderson in view of Marov in view of Emami in view of Stanisavljevic teaches the method for controlling the memory system of claim 19 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
McCrate (US 2024/0272981 A1): Provided is an apparatus comprising a search engine configured to (i) receive parallel input of a set of syndrome polynomial products corresponding to a set of ECC words and (ii) produce corresponding sets of polynomial roots therefrom and a sequence detector configured to identify sequences within each of the polynomial roots within the set of roots. Also provided is sequence check logic for (i) combining the identified sequences within each of the polynomial roots and (ii) performing a sequence check of the combined identified sequences to determine whether only one of the identified sequences if valid; and an error location generator to derive an error location in each of the ECC words within the set responsive to the valid sequence.
KONDO (JP 2023/173724 A): To perform error correction (decryption) with a simpler configuration. SOLUTION: A memory system of an embodiment comprises a non-volatile memory and a memory controller. The non-volatile memory stores data encrypted by error correction code for correcting errors of n bits or less (n is an integer of 3 or above). The memory controller reads a reception word from the non-volatile memory, calculates a syndrome using the read reception word, and estimates the number of error bits using the syndrome. When the number of error bits is 2 or 3, the memory controller calculates an inverse element of a value calculated on the basis of the syndrome, performs variable conversion for a variable of an error position polynomial corresponding to the number of bits and calculates a root of a conversion polynomial which has converted the error position polynomial according to the variable conversion using the inverse element, calculates a root of the error position polynomial by subjecting the root of the conversion polynomial to variable inverse conversion, and corrects an error of the error position corresponding to the root of the error position polynomial.
KOKUBU (JP 2023/136252 A): To improve error correction capability. SOLUTION: A memory system includes a nonvolatile memory configured to store data encoded with an error correction code of correcting errors of t bits or less, and a memory controller. The memory controller is configured to: execute first calculation of obtaining first degree to k-th degree error locator polynomials (1≤k<t) by using a syndrome; determine whether error locations can be calculated by the error locator polynomials up to the k-th degree; obtain an initial value of a parameter to be used for second calculation of obtaining error locator polynomials up to t-th degree when it is determined that the error locations cannot be calculated; execute the second calculation using the initial value; calculate the error locations by using an error locator polynomial determined to be able to calculate the error locations among the first degree to k-th degree error locator polynomials or by using an error locator polynomial obtained by the second calculation; and correct the errors in the calculated error locations.
KONDO (US 2024/0275408 A1): A memory system includes a non-volatile memory and a memory controller. The memory stores data encoded with an error correction code for correcting errors of n (n is 3 or more) bits or less. The controller estimates the number of error bits by using syndromes calculated from a received word. When the number of error bits is two or three, the controller executes variable transformation on a variable of an error locator polynomial corresponding to the number of error bits with a first value or a second value based on the syndromes. The controller also executes, with the first/second values, calculation of roots of a transformed polynomial obtained by converting the error locator polynomial. The controller obtains roots of the error locator polynomial by variable inverse transformation on the roots of the transformed polynomial and corrects the error of the error locations corresponding to the obtained roots.
Conclusion
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 08/7/2026