DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/08/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streit (US 20210141896 A1), hereinafter Streit in view of Jakobsson et al (US 20200394332 A1), hereinafter Jakobsson, and further in view of Chevalier et al (US 20180039745 A1), hereinafter Chevalier.
-Regarding claim 1, Streit discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to (Abstract; FIGS. 1-24; [0014]-[0015]): receive data indicating an individual (FIGS. 1-2A, steps 102, 202; FIGS 3, 7, inputs 302, 702; FIG. 18; [0142], “an individual or entity based on acquired information”; [0235], “… initial unencrypted biometric information received on an individual …”); wherein the data indicating the individual includes at least two of: a visual representation, an audio representation, or a walking sequence (FIGS. 3, 7); perform preprocessing associated with the data indicating the individual to isolate the individual and to enhance the quality of the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 1-2A, steps 104, 204; [0063], “…Various forms of pre-processing … to limit the biometric information to important features or to improve identification by eliminating noise, reducing an analyzed area … ”; [0224]; [0231], “… Pre-processing steps … include cropping the image to significant portions …”; [0249]); extract a first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 1-2B, steps 110, 206, 252; FIG. 3, feature vector component; FIG. 7, embedding component; [0005], “… extract encrypted features from authentication information …”; [0052], “…transforms the input biometrics into feature vectors…”; [0067], “… image feature vectors, voice feature vectors, health data feature vectors …”; [0069]; [0074], “… feature vector and label inputs for respective users and their biometric inputs …”;[0240]; [0263]), wherein the first multiplicity of key features tend to uniquely identify the individual, and wherein the first multiplicity of key features include at least two of: a body structure, a limb movement, a walking speed, a shape, a contour, a motion, a facial feature, a body proportion, a hairstyle, a clothing, a pitch, a tone, a cadence, or an accent (FIGS. 1-3, 7, 19; [0013]; [0106], “… includes features consistent with a facial image … facial characteristics … sufficient volume … boundaries within image are consistent …”; [0259], “… include newer feature vectors permits biometrics that change over time …”); compare, using artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to a second multiplicity of key features associated with a user to determine whether the data indicates the user (FIGS. 3-4D, 7; [0044], “For a given user, the generated encrypted values can now be used for subsequent authentication. Subsequent authentication can include comparisons of encrypted values, and use of encrypted values to train classification networks. For example, the system can compare a newly created encrypted feature vector to the encrypted feature vectors stored on the system in a comparison.”; [0060]; [0070]; [0074]-[0075]); upon determining that the data indicates the user, determining whether a rule permits a use of the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 3,7, 10; [0006]; [0086]; [0216], “the results of each thread is joined to yield an authorization or invalidation … provides a positive authentication indication wherein first thread identity matches the second thread identity and one of the biometric inputs is determined to be live …”); and upon determining that the rule does not permit the use of the data indicating the individual, send an indication that the rule does not permit the use of the data indicating the individual to a source associated with the data indicating the individual (FIG. 10; [0006]; [0216], “If not positive … a denial can be communicated”).
Streit does not disclose retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual.
In the same field of endeavor, Jakobsson teaches a method for privacy and the management of permissions by retrieving a profile of the particular user device based at least in part on the one or more identifiers of the request and determining from the retrieved profile contact information of the user device (Jakobsson: Abstract; FIGS. 1-45). Jakobsson further teaches retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual (Jakobsson: FIGS. 8, 38, 41; [0009], “retrieve a profile of the particular user device based at least in part on the one or more identifiers of the request, to determine from the retrieved profile contact information of the user device, to generate based at least in part on the retrieved profile at least one message requesting at least one privacy-related permission from a user associated with the user device, and to send the message …”; [0011]; [0158]; [0544], “At the heart of providing privacy to users is the notion of identifying what rules to apply to what users, based on the potential recognition … selectively apply rules related to services … user privacy preferences” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Streit with the teaching of Jakobsson by retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual in order to improves privacy and the safety of individuals (Jakobsson: [0063]).
Streit in view of Jakobsson does not teach wherein the first multiplicity of key features include at least four of: a body structure, a limb movement, a walking speed, a shape, a contour, a motion, a facial feature, a body proportion, a hairstyle, a clothing, a pitch, a tone, a cadence, or an accent.
However, Chevalier is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method to identify individuals (Chevalier: Abstract; FIGS. 1-13D). Chevalier further teaches that the extracted features include at least four of: a body structure, a limb movement, a walking speed, a shape, a contour, a motion, a facial feature, a body proportion, a hairstyle, a clothing, a pitch, a tone, a cadence, or an accent (Chevalier: FIGS. 4-7, 10; [0042]; [0048]; [0249]; [0295]; [0313]-[0314]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Streit in view of Jakobsson with the teaching of Chevalier by using more static and dynamic features in order to better characterize the individual and improve the accuracy of the identification (Chevalier: [0240]-[0241]).
-Regarding claim 4, Streit in view of Jakobsson, and further in view of Chevalier teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1. The modification further teaches to receive the data indicating the individual comprising the visual representation including an illustration associated with the individual; extract the first multiplicity of key features including the facial feature, the body proportion, the hairstyle, and the clothing; represent the first multiplicity of key features by creating multiple feature vectors representing the first multiplicity of key features; and compare, using the artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to the second multiplicity of key features associated with the user to determine whether the data indicates the user, wherein the artificial intelligence includes Support Vector Machines or CNNs (Streit: FIGS. 1, 3-7; See also Chevalier: FIGS. 4-7; [0023]-[0024]; [0042]; [0048]).
-Regarding claim 7, Streit in view of Jakobsson, and further in view of Chevalier teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1. The modification further teaches to receive the data indicating the individual including an image or a video; perform preprocessing to enhance quality and reduce noise; extract the first multiplicity of key features including eyes, nose, mouth, and overall facial contour; represent the first multiplicity of key features by creating multiple feature vectors representing the first multiplicity of key features; when the data includes the video, track the individual's face across multiple frames associated with the video; and compare, using the artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to the second multiplicity of key features associated with the user to determine whether the data indicates the user (Streit: FIGS. 3-7; 15; [0013]; [0104]; [0124]; [0163]; See also Chevalier: [0007]; [0042]; [0225]).
Claim(s) 8, 11 14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streit (US 20210141896 A1), hereinafter Streit in view of Jakobsson et al (US 20200394332 A1), hereinafter Jakobsson.
-Regarding claim 8, Streit discloses a method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-24): receiving data indicating an individual (FIGS. 1-2A, steps 102, 202; FIGS 3, 7, inputs 302, 702; FIG. 18; [0142], “an individual or entity based on acquired information”; [0235], “… initial unencrypted biometric information received on an individual …”); performing preprocessing associated with the data indicating the individual to isolate the individual and to enhance the quality of the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 1-2A, steps 104, 204; [0063], “…Various forms of pre-processing … to limit the biometric information to important features or to improve identification by eliminating noise, reducing an analyzed area … ”; [0224]; [0231], “… Pre-processing steps … include cropping the image to significant portions …”; [0249]); extracting a first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 1-2B, steps 110, 206, 252; FIG. 3, feature vector component; FIG. 7, embedding component; [0005], “… extract encrypted features from authentication information …”; [0052], “…transforms the input biometrics into feature vectors…”; [0067], “… image feature vectors, voice feature vectors, health data feature vectors …”; [0069]; [0074], “… feature vector and label inputs for respective users and their biometric inputs …”;[0240]; [0263]), wherein the first multiplicity of key features tend to uniquely identify the individual, and wherein the first multiplicity of key features include at least two of: a body structure, a limb movement, a walking speed, a shape, a contour, a motion, a facial feature, a body proportion, a hairstyle, a clothing, a pitch, a tone, a cadence, or an accent (FIGS. 1-3, 7, 19; [0013]; [0106], “… includes features consistent with a facial image … facial characteristics … sufficient volume … boundaries within image are consistent …”; [0259], “… include newer feature vectors permits biometrics that change over time …”); comparing, using artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to a second multiplicity of key features associated with a user to determine whether the data indicates the user (FIGS. 3-4D, 7; [0044], “For a given user, the generated encrypted values can now be used for subsequent authentication. Subsequent authentication can include comparisons of encrypted values, and use of encrypted values to train classification networks. For example, the system can compare a newly created encrypted feature vector to the encrypted feature vectors stored on the system in a comparison.”; [0060]; [0070]; [0074]-[0075]); upon determining that the data indicates the user, determining whether a rule permits a use of the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 3,7, 10; [0006]; [0086]; [0216], “the results of each thread is joined to yield an authorization or invalidation … provides a positive authentication indication wherein first thread identity matches the second thread identity and one of the biometric inputs is determined to be live …”); and upon determining that the rule does not permit the use of the data indicating the individual, sending an indication that the rule does not permit the use of the data indicating the individual to a source associated with the data indicating the individual (FIG. 10; [0006]; [0216], “If not positive … a denial can be communicated”).
Streit does not disclose retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual.
In the same field of endeavor, Jakobsson teaches a method for privacy and the management of permissions by retrieving a profile of the particular user device based at least in part on the one or more identifiers of the request and determining from the retrieved profile contact information of the user device (Jakobsson: Abstract; FIGS. 1-45). Jakobsson further teaches retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual (Jakobsson: FIGS. 8, 38, 41; [0009], “retrieve a profile of the particular user device based at least in part on the one or more identifiers of the request, to determine from the retrieved profile contact information of the user device, to generate based at least in part on the retrieved profile at least one message requesting at least one privacy-related permission from a user associated with the user device, and to send the message …”; [0011]; [0158]; [0544], “At the heart of providing privacy to users is the notion of identifying what rules to apply to what users, based on the potential recognition … selectively apply rules related to services … user privacy preferences” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Streit with the teaching of Jakobsson by retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual in order to improves privacy and the safety of individuals (Jakobsson: [0063]).
-Regarding claims 14, Streit discloses a system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to (Abstract; FIGS. 1-24; [0014]-[0015]): receive data indicating an individual (FIGS. 1-2A, steps 102, 202; FIGS 3, 7, inputs 302, 702; FIG. 18; [0142], “an individual or entity based on acquired information”; [0235], “… initial unencrypted biometric information received on an individual …”); perform preprocessing associated with the data indicating the individual to isolate the individual and to enhance the quality of the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 1-2A, steps 104, 204; [0063], “…Various forms of pre-processing … to limit the biometric information to important features or to improve identification by eliminating noise, reducing an analyzed area … ”; [0224]; [0231], “… Pre-processing steps … include cropping the image to significant portions …”; [0249]); extract a first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 1-2B, steps 110, 206, 252; FIG. 3, feature vector component; FIG. 7, embedding component; [0005], “… extract encrypted features from authentication information …”; [0052], “…transforms the input biometrics into feature vectors…”; [0067], “… image feature vectors, voice feature vectors, health data feature vectors …”; [0069]; [0074], “… feature vector and label inputs for respective users and their biometric inputs …”;[0240]; [0263]), wherein the first multiplicity of key features tend to uniquely identify the individual, and wherein the first multiplicity of key features include at least two of: a body structure, a limb movement, a walking speed, a shape, a contour, a motion, a facial feature, a body proportion, a hairstyle, a clothing, a pitch, a tone, a cadence, or an accent (FIGS. 1-3, 7, 19; [0013]; [0106], “… includes features consistent with a facial image … facial characteristics … sufficient volume … boundaries within image are consistent …”; [0259], “… include newer feature vectors permits biometrics that change over time …”); compare, using artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to a second multiplicity of key features associated with a user to determine whether the data indicates the user (FIGS. 3-4D, 7; [0044], “For a given user, the generated encrypted values can now be used for subsequent authentication. Subsequent authentication can include comparisons of encrypted values, and use of encrypted values to train classification networks. For example, the system can compare a newly created encrypted feature vector to the encrypted feature vectors stored on the system in a comparison.”; [0060]; [0070]; [0074]-[0075]); upon determining that the data indicates the user, determining whether a rule permits a use of the data indicating the individual (FIGS. 3,7, 10; [0006]; [0086]; [0216], “the results of each thread is joined to yield an authorization or invalidation … provides a positive authentication indication wherein first thread identity matches the second thread identity and one of the biometric inputs is determined to be live …”); and upon determining that the rule does not permit the use of the data indicating the individual, send an indication that the rule does not permit the use of the data indicating the individual to a source associated with the data indicating the individual (FIG. 10; [0006]; [0216], “If not positive … a denial can be communicated”).
Streit does not disclose retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual.
In the same field of endeavor, Jakobsson teaches a method for privacy and the management of permissions by retrieving a profile of the particular user device based at least in part on the one or more identifiers of the request and determining from the retrieved profile contact information of the user device (Jakobsson: Abstract; FIGS. 1-45). Jakobsson further teaches retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual (Jakobsson: FIGS. 8, 38, 41; [0009], “retrieve a profile of the particular user device based at least in part on the one or more identifiers of the request, to determine from the retrieved profile contact information of the user device, to generate based at least in part on the retrieved profile at least one message requesting at least one privacy-related permission from a user associated with the user device, and to send the message …”; [0011]; [0158]; [0544], “At the heart of providing privacy to users is the notion of identifying what rules to apply to what users, based on the potential recognition … selectively apply rules related to services … user privacy preferences” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Streit with the teaching of Jakobsson by retrieving from a datastore a rule associated with the stored features or individual in order to improves privacy and the safety of individuals (Jakobsson: [0063]).
-Regarding claims 11 and 17, Streit in view of Jakobsson teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 14. The combination further teaches to receive the data indicating the individual comprising the visual representation including an illustration associated with the individual; extract the first multiplicity of key features including the facial feature, the body proportion, the hairstyle, and the clothing; represent the first multiplicity of key features by creating multiple feature vectors representing the first multiplicity of key features; and compare, using the artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to the second multiplicity of key features associated with the user to determine whether the data indicates the user, wherein the artificial intelligence includes Support Vector Machines or CNNs (Streit: FIGS. 1, 3-7; See also Chevalier: FIGS. 4-7; [0023]-[0024]; [0042]; [0048]).
-Regarding claim 20, Streit in view of Jakobsson teaches the system of claim 14. The combination further teaches to receive the data indicating the individual including an image or a video; perform preprocessing to enhance quality and reduce noise; extract the first multiplicity of key features including eyes, nose, mouth, and overall facial contour; represent the first multiplicity of key features by creating multiple feature vectors representing the first multiplicity of key features; when the data includes the video, track the individual's face across multiple frames associated with the video; and compare, using the artificial intelligence, the first multiplicity of key features associated with the data indicating the individual to the second multiplicity of key features associated with the user to determine whether the data indicates the user (Streit: FIGS. 3-7; 15; [0013]; [0104]; [0124]; [0163]; See also Chevalier: [0007]; [0042]; [0225]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664