DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansen (US 20140251231 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Hansen teaches a pet toy (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a base (base of toy below “top piece” 40/70/80) including a plurality of treat compartments (Figs. 2-3, “depressions” 50, “treat holes” 90, “treat receptacles” 100);
a rotating body coupled to the base (Figs. 1-3, “top piece” 40/70/80) and configured to selectively cover one or more of the plurality of treat compartments (As shown in Figs. 1-3 with “top piece” 40/70/80 covering “depressions” 50, “treat holes” 90, “treat receptacles” 100); and
a pin (Fig. 3, at “center axis point” 110) extending through and rotatably coupling the rotating body and the base (As shown in Fig. 3 with rotating arrow).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Claims 22-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combined limitations of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Specifically, a pet toy comprising: a base including a plurality of treat compartments; and a rotating body coupled to the base and configured to selectively cover one or more of the plurality of treat compartments, the rotating body including a blade and a folding panel rotatably coupled to the blade.
Hansen (US 20140251231 A1) in view of Hu (US D1038539 S), Wu (US D1027057 S), Wu (US D1001397 S), Citak (US 2020/0187456 A1), Hansen (US D755446 S), Liu et al. (US 2015/0305305 A1), Hansen (US 2014/0224185 A1), Lee (KR 101264278 B1), Desrosiers (US 2012/0204799 A1), and Polimeni, Jr. (US 7,198,005) teaches a similar pet toy as the claimed invention.
However, Hansen (US 20140251231 A1) in view of Hu (US D1038539 S), Wu (US D1027057 S), Wu (US D1001397 S), Citak (US 2020/0187456 A1), Hansen (US D755446 S), Liu et al. (US 2015/0305305 A1), Hansen (US 2014/0224185 A1), Lee (KR 101264278 B1), Desrosiers (US 2012/0204799 A1), and Polimeni, Jr. (US 7,198,005) lacks the rotating body including a blade and a folding panel rotatably coupled to the blade. The above references disclose at least one blade or at least one folding panel, but in contrast, none of the above references has the two coupled to one another as required by claims 14 and 22.
Thus the prior art does not fairly teach these features as specifically required by the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3647