DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts Sakariya does not teach a vertical synchronization signal and a horizontal synchronization signal, wherein the vertical synchronization signal is used to determine a frame period, and the horizontal synchronization signal is used to determine a first transmission period and a second transmission period in the frame period. The Examiner disagrees. Sakariya teaches synchronization signals that include vertical synchronization signals ([0045], Figs. 3A-B Default Frame Time of 16.67ms or 60 Hz) and horizontal synchronization signals as row by row data signals from scan driver 124 and row selection circuit 213 (Figs. 2, 3A-B, 4A, wherein in Fig. 4A R1 is refreshed for a first time period up to “idle” (first transmission period) and not refreshed in a second time period of “idle” (second transmission period); further, as shown in Fig. 2, for rows have dynamic content 230 and static content 220, first period is where dynamic content is refreshed as a first transmission period and second period is where static content is not refreshed as a second transmission period). For these reasons, Applicants arguments are not persuasive at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakariya et al. (US 2014/0104243, hereinafter “Sakariya”). Regarding claim 1, Sakariya discloses a data transmission method for a display driver circuit comprising (Figs. 1-2 and 4A-B, [0007], method for adaptive refresh of display panel): receiving a vertical synchronization signal and a horizontal synchronization signal, wherein the vertical synchronization signal is used to determine a frame period for a plurality of image data in an image frame, and the horizontal synchronization signal is used to determine a first transmission period and a second transmission period in a frame period (Figs. 2, 3A-B, 4A, [0022, 0038, 0045-0046], frame period is “Default Frame Time” of 16.67ms or 60Hz based on a first vertical synchronization signal of the synchronization signals for receiving image data as display data during each image frame, and horizontal synchronization signal is row by row signals R1-R1080 that determine a frame period which rows are refreshed (dynamic image) and/or idle (static image); in Fig. 4A R1 is refreshed for a first time period up to “idle” (first transmission period) and not refreshed in a second time period of “idle” (second transmission period); further, as shown in Fig. 2, for rows have dynamic content 230 and static content 220, first period is where dynamic content is refreshed as a first transmission period and second period is where static content is not refreshed as a second transmission period); when a first image data to be refreshed among the plurality of image data, receiving the first image data in the first transmission period corresponding to the first image data (Figs. 2, 3A-B and 4A, [0045-0046], in Fig. 4A R1 is refreshed for a first time period up to “idle” (first transmission period) and not refreshed in a second time period of “idle” (second transmission period); further, as shown in Fig. 2, for rows have dynamic content 230 and static content 220, first period is where dynamic content is refreshed as a first transmission period and second period is where static content is not refreshed as a second transmission period); and when a second image data not refreshed among the plurality of image data, stopping receiving the second image data in the second transmission period corresponding to the second image data (Figs. 2, 3A-B and 4A, [0045-0046], second image data is not refreshed when row is idle or static image is in a portion of the row). Regarding claim 3, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping receiving the horizontal synchronization signal from a host device in the second transmission period (Sakariya, Figs. 2, 3A-B, 4A, [0038], refresh logic 115 may receive signals from the processor 110 or another source, resulting in first synchronization signal from processor 110 being stopped when a synchronization signal is received from another source in an idle state or when a static image occurs in part of a row); and receiving an external horizontal synchronization signal from an external device, to use the external horizontal synchronization signal to determine the first transmission period and the second transmission period (Sakariya, , Figs. 2, 3A-B, 4A, [0038], refresh logic 115 may receive signals from the processor 110 or another source, resulting in first synchronization signal from processor 110 being stopped when a synchronization signal is received from another source and the synchronization signal from another source being used as the external horizontal synchronization signal to determine the first transmission period and the second transmission period based on an idle state or when a static image occurs in part of a row during the second image frame).
Regarding claim 4, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, wherein the display driver circuit receives the first image data through a transmission interface, and the transmission interface is set to a power saving state in the second transmission period (Sakariya, Fig. 1, [0032, 0038], display driver circuit 122 receives the first image from processor 110 through transmission interface in interface controller 114; transmission interface is set to a power saving state in mixed mode where refresh is limited to certain rows on the display panel 120 instead of the entire display panel).
Regarding claim 5, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, further comprising: outputting a data voltage corresponding to the first image data to a display panel when the first image data is refreshed (Sakariya, Figs. 1, 2, and 3A, [0005, 0027, 0038], display driver circuit 122 outputs pixel voltages as first image data to display panel 120 when first image is refreshed as dynamic image data); and stopping outputting any data voltage to the display panel when the second image data is not refreshed ((Sakariya, Figs. 1, 2 3A-B and 4A, [0005, 0027, 0038], display driver circuit 122 does not output pixel voltages as second image data to display panel 120 when second image is not refreshed during idle state or in portion of row having static image).
Regarding claim 6, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of image data comprise a plurality of first image data (Sakariya, Fig. 2, dynamic content 230) and a plurality of second image data (Sakariya, Fig. 2, static content 220), and the data transmission method further comprises: receiving a command from a host device before the frame period (Sakariya, [0038], signal from processor 110 as a command to provide mode as a mixed mode and coordinates of row indices that need to be refreshed and not refreshed); and determining a range of the plurality of first image data and the plurality of second image data according to the command (Sakariya, [0038], signal from processor 110 as a command to provide mode as a mixed mode and coordinates of row indices that need to be refreshed (e.g., in dynamic area) as first image data and those not to be refreshed as second image data (e.g., in idle area or where image is static)).
Regarding claim 7, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, wherein the display driver circuit is configured to receive the plurality of image data through a transmission interface, the plurality of image data comprising a plurality of first image data and a plurality of second image data, and the data transmission method further comprises (Sakariya, Fig. 1, [0032, 0038], signal from processor 110 as a command to provide mode as a mixed mode and coordinates of row indices that need to be refreshed (e.g., in dynamic area) as first image data and those not to be refreshed as second image data (e.g., in idle area or where image is static) via interface controller 114): determining a range of the plurality of first image data and the plurality of second image data according to a state of the transmission interface (Sakariya, Fig. 1, [0032, 0038], signal from processor 110 as a command to provide mode as a mixed mode which determines the range of the image data as refreshed or not refreshed rows and coordinates of row indices that need to be refreshed (e.g., in dynamic area) as first image data and those not to be refreshed as second image data (e.g., in idle area or where image is static) via interface controller 114 mode selection state).
Regarding claim 8, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, further comprising: in addition to receiving the first image data in the first transmission period, receiving a third image data not refreshed among the plurality of image data (Sakariya, Fig. 3A, [0046], for claims 8-10 only, when dynamic content 230 is centered in display panel 210, third image data can be to the right of dynamic content as still image data with second image data being still image data to the left of the dynamic content). Regarding claim 11, Sakariya discloses a data transmission method for a host device comprising (Figs. 1-2 and 4A-B, [0007], method for adaptive refresh of display panel with host device as processor 110): outputting a vertical synchronization signal and a horizontal synchronization signal, wherein the vertical synchronization signal is used to determine a frame period for a plurality of image data in a first image frame, and the horizontal synchronization signal is used to determine a first transmission period and a second transmission period in a frame period (Figs. 2, 3A-B, 4A, [0022, 0038, 0045-0046], frame period is “Default Frame Time” of 16.67ms or 60Hz based on a first vertical synchronization signal of the synchronization signals for receiving image data as display data during each image frame, and horizontal synchronization signal is row by row signals R1-R1080 that determine a frame period which rows are refreshed (dynamic image) and/or idle (static image); in Fig. 4A R1 is refreshed for a first time period up to “idle” (first transmission period) and not refreshed in a second time period of “idle” (second transmission period); further, as shown in Fig. 2, for rows have dynamic content 230 and static content 220, first period is where dynamic content is refreshed as a first transmission period and second period is where static content is not refreshed as a second transmission period); when a first image data to be refreshed among the plurality of image data, transmitting the first image data in the first transmission period corresponding to the first image data (Figs. 2, 3A-B and 4A, [0045-0046], in Fig. 4A R1 is refreshed for a first time period up to “idle” (first transmission period) and not refreshed in a second time period of “idle” (second transmission period); further, as shown in Fig. 2, for rows have dynamic content 230 and static content 220, first period is where dynamic content is refreshed as a first transmission period and second period is where static content is not refreshed as a second transmission period); and when a second image data not refreshed among the plurality of image data, stopping transmitting the second image data in the second transmission period corresponding to the second image data (Figs. 2, 3A-B and 4A, [0045-0046], second image data is not refreshed when row is idle or static image is in a portion of the row).
Regarding claim 13, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 11, wherein the vertical synchronization signal, the horizontal synchronization signal and the first image data are transmitted to a display driver circuit (Sakariya, Fig. 1, [0038], synchronization signals (i.e., vertical and horizontal synchronization signals of Fig. 3A-B and 4A) are sent to the data driver 122 from timing controller 118 including first image data of dynamic image content 230).
Regarding claim 14, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 13, further comprising: stopping transmitting the horizontal synchronization signal to the display driver circuit in the second transmission period (Sakariya, Figs. 2, 3A-B, 4A, [0045-0046], static content 220 in partial rows during a second transmission period results in stopping transmission of the horizontal synchronization signal; idle state).
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited in claim 4. Regarding claim 16, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 11, further comprising: stopping transmitting a plurality of image data of a second image frame after the first image frame in another frame period corresponding to the second image frame when the plurality of image data of the second image frame are determined to be identical to the plurality of image data of the first image frame (Sakariya, Fig. 3A, [0038-0039], in mixed mode any still image data as a second image frame is identical to the plurality of image data in the first frame for a still image resulting in image data being stopped (e.g., rows R3 and R4)).
Regarding claim 17, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 16, further comprising: stopping outputting the horizontal synchronization signal and the vertical synchronization signal in the other frame period corresponding to the second image frame (Sakariya, [0038], refresh logic 115 may receive signals from the processor 110 or another source, resulting in first vertical and horizontal synchronization signal from processor 110 being stopped when a synchronization signal is received from another source in an idle state or when a static image occurs in part of a row during the second image frame).
Regarding claim 18, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of image data comprise a plurality of first image data (Sakariya, Fig. 2, dynamic content 230) and a plurality of second image data (Sakariya, Fig. 2, static content 220), and the data transmission method further comprises: outputting a command to a display driver circuit before the frame period (Sakariya, [0038], signal from processor 110 as a command to provide mode as a mixed mode and coordinates of row indices that need to be refreshed and not refreshed), to indicate a range of the plurality of first image data and the plurality of second image data (Sakariya, [0038], signal from processor 110 as a command to provide mode as a mixed mode and coordinates of row indices that need to be refreshed for the first image data and those portions of rows not to be refreshed as second image data or static image data).
Regarding claim 19, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 11, further comprising: in addition to transmitting the first image data in the first transmission period, transmitting a third image data not refreshed among the plurality of image data (Sakariya, Fig. 3A, [0038, 0045-0046], for this claim only, when dynamic content 230 is centered in display panel 210, third image data can be to the right of dynamic content as still image data with second image data being still image data to the left of the dynamic content).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakariya in view of Lin et al. (US 2023/0072161, hereinafter “Lin ‘161”). Regarding claim 2, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame period comprises a data transmission period, a front porch and a back porch, wherein the first transmission period and the second transmission period are within the data transmission period.
Lin ‘161 discloses wherein the frame period comprises a data transmission period, a front porch and a back porch, wherein the first transmission period and the second transmission period are within the data transmission period (Fig. 5, [0041, 0043-0044, 0055], image data provided from application processor AP at “A” with synchronization signal including a data transmission period as dashed lines from “A”, which include a front porch VFP and a back porch VBP with a first transmission period where data is transmitted and a second transmission period where no data is transmitted being within the data transmission period. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data transmission method of Sakariya to have wherein the frame period comprises a data transmission period, a front porch and a back porch, wherein the first transmission period and the second transmission period are within the data transmission period, such as taught by Lin ‘161, for the purpose of providing commands to the data driver regarding how the image data is to be written to the display panel.
Regarding claim 12, this claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakariya in view of Lin et al. (US 2011/0142130, hereinafter “Lin ‘130”).
Regarding claim 9, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: performing an image processing on the first image data by referring to the third image data. Lin ‘130 discloses performing an image processing on the first image data by referring to the third image data ([0007, 0010-0011, 0016], decoder performs image processing on the first image data by referring to the third image data when decoding slices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sakariya to perform an image processing on the first image data by referring to the third image data by decoding slices and reordering data based on the sorting data, such as taught by Lin ‘130, for the purpose of obtaining a balance between hardware acceleration and software flexibility (Lin ‘130 [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: performing decompression on a slice comprising the first image data and the third image data. Lin ‘130 discloses performing decompression on a slice comprising the first image data and the third image data ([0007, 0010-0011, 0016], decoder performs image processing on the first image data by referring to the third image data when decoding slices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sakariya to perform decompression on a slice comprising the first image data and the third image data by decoding slices and reordering data based on the sorting data, such as taught by Lin ‘130, for the purpose of obtaining a balance between hardware acceleration and software flexibility (Lin ‘130 [0010]). Regarding claim 20, Sakariya discloses the data transmission method of claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: combining the first image data and the third image data to perform compression, and transmitting the first image data and the third image data after being compressed.
Lin ‘130 discloses combining the first image data and the third image data to perform compression, and transmitting the first image data and the third image data after being compressed (Lin ‘130, Fig. 1A, [0005-0007, 0012], video compression occurs combining the first image data and the third image data to perform compression which is transmitted and decompressed by decoder 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sakariya to perform combining the first image data and the third image data to perform compression, and transmitting the first image data and the third image data after being compressed which is later decompressed on a slice comprising the first image data and the third image data by decoding slices and reordering data based on the sorting data, such as taught by Lin ‘130, for the purpose of obtaining a balance between hardware acceleration and software flexibility (Lin ‘130 [0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622