DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the annular groove" and “the circular ring” in line 3-4. There is no mention of these features earlier in this claim nor in claim 1 from which this claim depends. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-5 are rejected for their incorporation of the above through their dependency of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groover et al. (US Patent No. 5,305,924).
Re: Claim 1, Groover discloses the claimed invention including a discharge device with a locking trigger structure for a cold beverage maker, comprising
a housing (12) and a discharge disc, wherein the housing is provided with a first discharge port (46) (Fig. 2);
the discharge disc is provided with a second discharge port; the discharge disc is mounted on the housing through a clamping structure (52, 54, 56) (Figs. 2-4); the housing is provided with a microswitch (42) on a top of the first discharge port (Figs. 2-4); the clamping structure is configured to detachably lock the discharge disc and the housing (Depicted in Fig. 4, Col. 2, lines 21-32, clamps and locks in place); the discharge disc is configured to seal the first discharge port (Depicted in Fig. 4); and the microswitch is configured to identify whether the discharge disc is locked and turn a circuit on or off (Col. 2, lines 15-17, microswitch only able to turn on a circuit once discharge disc properly installed); and
the first discharge port communicates with the second discharge port (Fig. 4); and the second discharge port is configured to discharge ice cream or smoothie (Col. 1, lines 7-11, any type of beverage).
Re: Claim 9, Groover discloses the claimed invention including a cold beverage maker (10) (Figs. 1-2), comprising the discharge device with a locking trigger structure for a cold beverage maker according to claim 1 as evidenced in the rejection of claim 1 above (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyer et al. (US Patent No. 6,553,779) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Groover et al. (US Patent No. 5,305,924).
Re: Claim 1, Boyer discloses the claimed invention including a discharge device with a locking trigger structure for a cold beverage maker, comprising
a housing (3) and a discharge disc (80), wherein the housing is provided with a first discharge port (17) (Fig. 2);
the discharge disc is provided with a second discharge port (70); the discharge disc is mounted on the housing through a clamping structure (52, 54, 56) (Figs. 6-8); the housing is provided with a microswitch (59) on a top of the first discharge port (Fig. 9); the clamping structure is configured to detachably lock the discharge disc and the housing (Depicted in Figs. 7 & 9, Col. 16, lines 24-34, clamps and locks in place); the discharge disc is configured to seal the first discharge port (Depicted in Fig. 9); Boyer teaches identifying whether the discharge disc is locked and turn a circuit on or off (Col. 21, lines 33-43, no pressure indicates door open and machine shuts down) except for the microswitch indicating. However, Groover teaches a microswitch is configured to identify whether the discharge disc is locked and turn a circuit on or off (Col. 2, lines 15-17, microswitch only able to turn on a circuit once discharge disc properly installed);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use the microswitch of Groover, since such a modification provides a mechanical identification of the physical connection between parts without having to infer said connection from other parameters.
the first discharge port communicates with the second discharge port (Fig. 9); and the second discharge port is configured to discharge ice cream or smoothie (Fig. 1, Col. 9, lines 37-38, cold beverage maker)).
Re: Claim 2, Boyer discloses the claimed invention including the housing is provided with an annular groove (92) at the first discharge port ( Fig. 7); the annular groove is provided around the first discharge port (Figs. 7 & 9); a side of the discharge disc close to the housing is provided with a circular ring (91) (Figs. 7 & 9); and the circular ring is movably stretched into the annular groove (Col. 16, lines 46-56, ring in groove); and the clamping structure comprises a first clamping member (87a, 87b) and a second clamping member (86a, 86b); a plurality of first clamping members are provided around a sidewall of the annular groove (Depicted in Fig. 7); a plurality of second clamping members are provided around a sidewall of the circular ring (86a); and the first clamping member and the second clamping member are in one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 7), and are clamped with each other (Fig. 9, Col. 16, lines 25-35, clamp togethers, rotated into the circular ring for clamping to one another).
Re: Claim 6, Boyer discloses the claimed invention including the first clamping member comprises a first vertical portion and a first horizontal portion that are perpendicular to each other (Depicted in Fig. 9); an end of the first vertical portion away from the first horizontal portion is connected to an inner wall of the annular groove; and the first horizontal portion is flush with an outer surface of the housing (Depicted in Fig. 9); the second clamping member comprises a second vertical portion and a second horizontal portion that are perpendicular to each other; an end of the second vertical portion away from the second horizontal portion is connected to an inner wall of the discharge disc (Depicted in Fig. 9); and the second horizontal portion is flush with an end of the circular ring (Depicted in Fig. 9); and both a length direction of the first vertical portion and a length direction of the second vertical portion are the same as an axial direction of the first discharge port (Depicted in Fig. 9).
Re: Claim 8, Boyer discloses the claimed invention including the second horizontal portion of the second clamping member is close to the second vertical portion of the adjacent second clamping member (Depicted in Fig. 9); and the first horizontal portion of the first clamping member is close to the first vertical portion of the adjacent first clamping member (Depicted in Fig. 9).
Re: Claim 9, Boyer discloses the claimed invention including a cold beverage maker (1) (Figs. 1, Col. 9, lines 37-38, cold beverage maker), comprising the discharge device with a locking trigger structure for a cold beverage maker according to claim 1 as evidenced in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groover et al. (US Patent No. 5,305,924) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaack (US Patent No. 12,559,356).
Re: Claim 2, Groover discloses the claimed invention except However, Kaack teaches a housing is provided with an annular groove (B2) at the first discharge port (Fig. 5b); the annular groove is provided around the first discharge port (Figs. 5b-5c); a side of the discharge disc close to the housing is provided with a circular ring (B1); and the circular ring is movably stretched into the annular groove (Col. 4, lines 43-48, bayonet connection; and the clamping structure comprises a first clamping member (11) and a second clamping member (100); a plurality of first clamping members are provided around a sidewall of the annular groove; a plurality of second clamping members are provided around a sidewall of the circular ring; and the first clamping member and the second clamping member are in one-to-one correspondence, and are clamped with each other (Fig. 3c, Col. 4, lines 43-60, clamp togethers, rotated into the circular ring for clamping to one another).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the circular ring and annular groove as taught by Kaack, since Kaack states in col. 4, lines 57-58 that such a modification provides for no tools being needed for replacing/removing the discharge disc from the housing for the purpose of cleaning or for replacing in a quick and efficient manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 are provided teaching connection regions between disparate parts of dispensers.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754