Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bendable body” (Claim 10, line 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, in lines, recites: “a surface of the second support layer faces away from the first support layer is the third surface”. It should read: a surface of the second support layer facing away from the first support layer is the third surface.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, in lines 11-13, recites “the third surface and the fourth surface are independent from each other, and the second support area does not have a structure penetrating the third surface and the fourth surface”. This limitation is confusing because it is not clear what the meaning of the phrase “independent from each other” is. More in detail, surfaces are physical boundaries defined by the underlying material. Defining two surfaces as independent from each other creates ambiguity in whether it refers to kinematic properties (e.g., movement or bending of the third surface does not induce stress or displacement on the furth surface?), structural properties (composed of distinct, non-contiguous materials) or maybe even other type of independence (physical separation, topological discontinuity, etc.). Since the specification of the instant application does not define or explicitly discuss what constitutes “independent” surfaces, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to unequivocally determine the scope of the limitation or whether said limitation has been met. Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be read as: the second support area does not have a structure penetrating the third surface and the fourth surface.
A similar issue is raised regarding the meaning of the phrase “independent from each other” in at least claims 4, 10, and 14.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “The electronic device according to claim 9”, in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Fur the purposes of examination the limitation will be read as: The electronic device according to claim 10.
Claims 2-19 are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20210193941 A1, and Li ‘941 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1 (as best understood), Li ‘941 discloses a display assembly comprising:
a first functional layer configured for display (21, fig. 4) and including a bendable area (portion of 21 overlapping A2, fig. 4); and
a second functional layer (23, fig. 4) configured to provide support to the first functional layer (fig. 4);
wherein:
the second functional layer includes a first support area (portions of 23 disposed to the left and right of A2, fig. 4) and a second support area (portion of 23 overlapping A2, fig. 4), and the second support area corresponds to the bendable area (figs. 4-5; “folding section A2”, [0084]);
the first support area includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (annotated figure I below), with the first surface close to the first functional layer (annotated figure I below), and the second support area includes a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other, with the third surface close to the first functional layer (annotated figure I below);
the third surface and the fourth surface are independent from each other, and the second support area does not have a structure penetrating the third surface and the fourth surface (individual instances of 231 shown in fig. 4 penetrate either third surface or fourth surface but not both surfaces simultaneously); and
under a unit area, an amount of solid material between the third surface and the fourth surface is less than an amount of solid material between the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4 and annotated figure I below, elements 231 located in A2 are holes, therefore the amount of material would be less).
Regarding Claim 2, Li ‘941 discloses the display assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second functional layer includes a first support layer (232, fig. 4) and a second support layer (233, fig. 4), and a member of the first support layer at the second support area includes a hollow structure penetrating a thickness direction of the first support layer (231, fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Li ‘941 discloses the display assembly according to claim 2, wherein a surface of the member of the first support layer at the second support area facing away from the second support layer is the fourth surface (annotated figure I above, bottom surface of 231 disposed on 232), and a surface of the second support layer faces away from the first support layer is the third surface (annotated figure I above, top surface of 233).
Regarding Claim 7, Li ‘941 discloses the display assembly according to claim 2, wherein the second support layer includes the hollow structure, and the hollow structure of the second support layer and the hollow structure of the first support layer are staggered (231, annotated figure I above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘941 in view of Yan et al. (US 20240219977 A1, and Yan hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4 (as best understood), the display assembly according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose the first support area of the second functional layer includes at least two sub-areas independent from each other, and different sub-areas have different thicknesses.
Yan discloses a first support area of a functional layer includes at least two sub-areas independent from each other (annotated figure II below), and different sub-areas have different thicknesses (annotated figure II below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 to incorporate the teachings of Yan so that the first support area of the second functional layer includes at least two sub-areas independent from each other, and different sub-areas have different thicknesses, in order to reduce stress in regions of the functional layer adjacent to the bending area (“recessed portion reduces a cross-sectional area of the protective component to withstand stress during the bending process, thereby reducing the bending rigidity of the bending region”, [0008] of Yan). This modification could be implemented by substituting the first support layer of Li ‘941 by a support layer including grooves as taught by Yan.
Regarding Claim 5, Li/Yan discloses the display assembly according to claim 4, wherein the first support area of the second functional layer includes a groove structure that does not penetrate a thickness direction of the first support area (annotated figure II above).
Regarding Claim 6, Li/Yan discloses the display assembly according to claim 4, wherein:
a member of the first support layer at the first support area does not include a hollow structure, and a member of the second support layer at the first support area includes a hollow structure penetrating a thickness direction of the second support layer; or
the member of the first support layer at the first support area includes a hollow structure penetrating the thickness direction of the first support layer, and the member of the second support layer at the first support area does not include a hollow structure (annotated figure II above, groove is structure penetrating thickness direction. See also rejection of claim 4 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Li ‘941 discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display assembly including:
a first functional layer configured for display (21, fig. 4) and including a bendable area (portion of 21 overlapping A2, fig. 4); and
a second functional layer (23, fig. 4) configured to provide support to the first functional layer (fig. 4); wherein:
the second functional layer includes a first support area (portions of 23 disposed to the left and right of A2, fig. 4) and a second support area (portion of 23 overlapping A2, fig. 4), and the second support area corresponds to the bendable area (figs. 4-5; “folding section A2”, [0084]);
the first support area includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (annotated figure I below), with the first surface close to the first functional layer (annotated figure I below), and the second support area includes a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other, with the third surface close to the first functional layer (annotated figure I below);
the third surface and the fourth surface are independent from each other, and the second support area does not have a structure penetrating the third surface and the fourth surface (individual instances of 231 shown in fig. 4 penetrate either third surface or fourth surface but not both surfaces simultaneously); and
under a unit area, an amount of solid material between the third surface and the fourth surface is less than an amount of solid material between the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4 and annotated figure I below, elements 231 located in A2 are holes, therefore the amount of material would be less).
Li ‘941 does not explicitly disclose a bendable body; and the second functional layer connected to the body; and the bendable area of the first functional layer corresponds to the bendable area of the body.
Yan discloses a bendable body (including “first housing”, “second housing”, and “folding apparatus”; “A folding apparatus (not shown in the figure) is located between the first housing and the second housing”, [0083]); and a functional layer (figs. 1-2) connected to the body (“The first portion 21 corresponds to and is connected to the first housing, the second portion 22 corresponds to and is connected to the second housing”, [0084]. See also Claim 16); and the bendable area of the functional layer corresponds to the bendable area of the body (fig. 5; “the folded portion 23 corresponds to the folding apparatus”, [0084]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 to incorporate the teachings of Li ‘536 so that it comprises a bendable body; and the second functional layer is connected to the body; and the bendable area of the first functional layer corresponds to the bendable area of the body, in order to house the display assembly as well as other electronic components and provide protection from environmental factors ([0082] from Yan).
Regarding Claim 11, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the body includes: a first body and a second body (Yan: “first housing”, “second housing”; see rejection of claim 10 above), the first body rotating relative to the second body (“the first housing and the second housing can rotate toward each other (that is, a relative rotation of the first housing and the second housing close to each other)”, [0083] of Yan. See also rejection of claim 10 above), and the bendable area of the display assembly being arranged between the first body and the second body (Yan, fig. 4: “the folded portion 23 corresponds to the folding apparatus”, [0084]).
Regarding Claim 12 (as best understood), Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the second functional layer includes a first support layer (232, fig. 4 of Lin ‘941) and a second support layer (233, fig. 4 of Lin ‘941), and a member of the first support layer at the second support area includes a hollow structure penetrating a thickness direction of the first support layer (231, fig. 4 of Lin ‘941).
Regarding Claim 13, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein a surface of the member of the first support layer at the second support area facing away from the second support layer is the fourth surface (annotated figure I above, bottom surface of 231 disposed on 232), and a surface of the second support layer faces away from the first support layer is the third surface (annotated figure I above, top surface of 233).
Regarding Claim 14, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose the first support area of the second functional layer includes at least two sub-areas independent from each other, and different sub-areas have different thicknesses.
Yan discloses a first support area of a functional layer includes at least two sub-areas independent from each other (annotated figure II above), and different sub-areas have different thicknesses (annotated figure II above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 to incorporate the teachings of Yan so that the first support area of the second functional layer includes at least two sub-areas independent from each other, and different sub-areas have different thicknesses, in order to reduce stress in regions of the functional layer adjacent to the bending area (“recessed portion reduces a cross-sectional area of the protective component to withstand stress during the bending process, thereby reducing the bending rigidity of the bending region”, [0008] of Yan). This modification could be implemented by substituting the first support layer of Li ‘941 by a support layer including grooves as taught by Yan.
Regarding Claim 15, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 14,
wherein the first support area of the second functional layer includes a groove structure that does not penetrate a thickness direction of the first support area (annotated figure II above. See also rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein:
a member of the first support layer at the first support area does not include a hollow structure, and a member of the second support layer at the first support area includes a hollow structure penetrating a thickness direction of the second support layer; or
the member of the first support layer at the first support area includes a hollow structure penetrating the thickness direction of the first support layer, and the member of the second support layer at the first support area does not include a hollow structure (annotated figure II above, groove is structure penetrating thickness direction. See also rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the second support layer includes the hollow structure, and the hollow structure of the second support layer and the hollow structure of the first support layer are staggered (231, annotated figure I above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘941 in view of Jang et al. (US 20250098079 A1, and Jang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8, Li ‘941 discloses the display assembly according to claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the second support layer is less than a thickness of the first support layer.
Jang discloses a thickness of a second support layer (T1, fig. 3) is less than a thickness of a first support layer (T2, fig. 3; “a thickness T2 of the second support layer 520 may be greater than the thickness T1 of the first support layer 510”, [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 to incorporate the teachings of Jang so that a thickness of the second support layer is less than a thickness of the first support layer, in order to minimize the overall thickness of the device while providing enough mechanical support (“When the thickness T2 of the second support layer 520 is excessively small (e.g., less than about 20 μm), the second support layer 520 may not sufficiently support the display panel 100”, [0095] of Jang).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘941 in view of Li et al. (US 20260186536 A1, and Li ‘536 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 9, Li ‘941 discloses the display assembly according to claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose the first support layer and the second support layer are connected through a pressure-sensitive material.
Li ‘536 discloses a first support layer (61, fig. 23) and a second support layer (62, fig. 23) are connected through a pressure-sensitive material (63, fig. 23, “the third adhesive layer 63 is made of a pressure sensitive adhesive”, [0120]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 to incorporate the teachings of Li ‘536 so that the first support layer and the second support layer are connected through a pressure-sensitive material, in order to bond the support layers without affecting their support function (“so that the support performance of the first support layer 61 and the second support layer 62 is not be affected while the adhesive function is met”, [0120] of Li ‘536).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘941 in view of Yan, further in view of Jang.
Regarding Claim 18, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the second support layer is less than a thickness of the first support layer.
Jang discloses a thickness of a second support layer (T1, fig. 3) is less than a thickness of a first support layer (T2, fig. 3; “a thickness T2 of the second support layer 520 may be greater than the thickness T1 of the first support layer 510”, [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 and Yan to incorporate the teachings of Jang so that a thickness of the second support layer is less than a thickness of the first support layer, in order to minimize the overall thickness of the device while providing enough mechanical support (“When the thickness T2 of the second support layer 520 is excessively small (e.g., less than about 20 μm), the second support layer 520 may not sufficiently support the display panel 100”, [0095] of Jang).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘941 in view of Yan, further in view of Li
Regarding Claim 19, Li ‘941/Yan discloses the electronic device according to claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose the first support layer and the second support layer are connected through a pressure-sensitive material.
Li ‘536 discloses a first support layer (61, fig. 23) and a second support layer (62, fig. 23) are connected through a pressure-sensitive material (63, fig. 23, “the third adhesive layer 63 is made of a pressure sensitive adhesive”, [0120]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li ‘941 and Yan to incorporate the teachings of Li ‘536 so that the first support layer and the second support layer are connected through a pressure-sensitive material, in order to bond the support layers without affecting their support function (“so that the support performance of the first support layer 61 and the second support layer 62 is not be affected while the adhesive function is met”, [0120] of Li ‘536).
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841