DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. 19078479, filed on 3/13/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2025 was filed after the filing date of the application on 3/13/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 9, “the range” should be “a range” to avoid lack of antecedent basis issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maren (US 20230054996 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maren teaches a suction belt for cutting machines, comprising:
a cutting layer (2) made of non-woven fabric, having a thickness of unknown value and having a first and a second surface opposite to each other (bottom and top surface, see Figure 1),
a reinforcing fabric (2) having a third and a fourth surface opposite to each other,
a hot melt adhesive layer (4) with a basis weight of unknown value, which bonds the second surface of said cutting layer to the third surface of said reinforcing fabric, and
wherein the suction belt has an air permeability between the first surface and the fourth surface, measured according to UNI EN ISO 9237:1995, a range of unknown range (via 5, see Figure 1).
Maren fails to teach a thickness between 1 - 6 mm, a basis weight between 0.01 - 0.3 kg/m², measured according to UNI EN ISO 9237:1995, in the range of 6 - 60 I/dm²/min.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific size of a thickness between 1 - 6 mm, a basis weight between 0.01 - 0.3 kg/m², measured according to UNI EN ISO 9237:1995, in the range of 6 - 60 I/dm²/min, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Maren’s suction belt to have the specific value set forth in the claim to get the desired dimension detail wanted by the end user.
Regarding claim 2, Maren teaches said cutting layer is made of fibers aggregated by needling and selected from the group comprising PET, PA, PP, CO-PET, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 7, Maren teaches said reinforcing fabric has a basis weight measured according to ISO 3801 in a range of unknown value and a thickness between unknown value.
Maren fails to teach a basis weight measured according to ISO 3801 in a range of 0.15 - 0.85 kg/m², and a thickness between 0.2 - 1 mm.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific size of a basis weight measured according to ISO 3801 in a range of 0.15 - 0.85 kg/m², and a thickness between 0.2 - 1 mm, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Maren’s suction belt to have the specific values set forth in the claim to get the desired dimension detail wanted by the end user.
Regarding claim 8, Maren teaches said reinforcing fabric has a tensile strength measured according to UNI EN ISO 5079 in a range of unknown value.
Maren fails to teach a tensile strength measured according to UNI EN ISO 5079 in a range of 30 50 cN/tex.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific size of a tensile strength measured according to UNI EN ISO 5079 in a range of 30 50 cN/tex, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Maren’s suction belt to have the specific values set forth in the claim to get the desired dimension detail wanted by the end user.
Regarding claim 9, Maren teaches said hot melt adhesive layer has a thickness of unknown value.
Maren fails to teach a thickness between 0 - 0.15 mm.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific size of a thickness between 0 - 0.15 mm, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Maren’s suction belt to have the specific values set forth in the claim to get the desired dimension detail wanted by the end user.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maren (US 20230054996 A1) in view of De Roeck
Regarding claims 3-4, Maren teaches fibers of said cutting layer are impregnated (paragraph 0104).
Maren fails to teach impregnated with a crosslinkable or polymerizable impregnating material at a weight concentration between 20-60% (as required by claim 3), said impregnating material is a synthetic rubber latex selected from the group comprising NBR, SBR, CR, HNBR, and combinations thereof (as required by claim 4).
De Roeck teaches a belt layer impregnated with a crosslinkable or polymerizable impregnating, said impregnating material is a synthetic rubber latex selected from the group comprising NBR, SBR, CR, HNBR, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0171).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Maren to add rubber impregnated material, as taught by De Roeck, in order to make a better belt (abstract of De Roeck).
Furthermore, with respect to the specific size of a weight concentration between 20-60%, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Maren’s suction belt to have the specific values set forth in the claim to get the desired dimension detail wanted by the end user.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maren (US 20230054996 A1) in view of Fuse (Us 20210039281 A1).
Regarding claims 5-6, Maren teaches said reinforcing fabric is made of weft threads and warp threads interwoven with each other and formed of fibers selected from the group comprising PET, PA, cotton, and combinations thereof (as required by claim 5), said weft threads and warp threads are multifilament threads produced by non-conventional open-end spinning (as required by claim 6).
Fuse teaches said reinforcing fabric is made of weft threads and warp threads interwoven with each other and formed of fibers selected from the group comprising PET, PA, cotton, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0138), said weft threads and warp threads are multifilament threads produced by non-conventional open-end spinning (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Maren to make the reinforcing fabric out of the material, as taught by Fuse, in order to make a reinforcing fabric (abstract).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maren (US 20230054996 A1) in view of Herman (US 6856843).
Regarding claim 10, Maren teaches a suction belt according to claim 1.
Maren fails to teach a cutting machine, comprising: -- a cutting table having two longitudinal guides and a suction chamber, a transverse beam movable along the longitudinal guides, a cutting head provided with a cutting member and movable along the transverse beam, and, supported by said cutting table.
Herman teaches a cutting machine, comprising: -- a cutting table having two longitudinal guides and a suction chamber (20, see Figure 2), a transverse beam movable along the longitudinal guides (42, see Figure 2), a cutting head provided with a cutting member and movable along the transverse beam, and, supported by said cutting table (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Maren to use the suction belt with the table arrangement of Herman, as taught by Herman, in order to make a better conveyor belt (abstract of Maren).
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 10/28/2026