DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 10, and 18 have been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on February 26, 2026. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11924536 in view of Rani (US 11,675,215 B1, Filed on April 21, 2020).
Present Application
US Patent 11924536
1. An augmented reality device comprising:
a variable focus lens; an eye tracking sensor configured to emit infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user and receive IR light reflected by the eye of the user; and
at least one processor configured to: detect, by using the eye tracking sensor, a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light,
measure a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on the measured radius of rotation,
obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge,
obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, and
determine a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
1. An augmented reality device comprising:
a variable focus lens; an eye tracking sensor comprising an infrared (IR) light source and an IR camera; and
at least one processor configured to: control the IR light source of the eye tracking sensor to emit IR light to the eye of the user and obtain an image by controlling the IR camera of the eye tracking sensor to photograph the IR light reflected by the eye of the user,
[Claim 4] 4. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain images by photographing an eye of the user moving by a preset rotation angle, by the eye tracking sensor; detect a pupil feature point by analyzing the images;
[Claim 4] measure a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point; and obtain the eye relief based on the measured radius of rotation.
detect a plurality of glint feature points from the obtained image, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on a distance between the plurality of detected glint feature points,
obtain information with respect to a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, and
an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, based on the plurality of glint feature points, and
determine a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the information with respect to the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
7. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises a first eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a left-eye image by photographing the left eye of the user and detect a left-eye pupil from the left-eye image and a second eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a right-eye image by photographing the right eye of the user and detect a right-eye pupil from the right-eye image, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information, and obtain the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil.
5. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect the pupil of the left eye from a left-eye image obtained by a first eye tracking sensor; detect the pupil of the right eye from a right-eye image obtained by a second eye tracking sensor; obtain three-dimensional coordinates of the pupil of the left eye and the pupil of the right eye based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information; and obtain the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the pupil of the left eye and the pupil of the right eye.
9. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
8. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
10. An operating method of augmented reality device, the operating method comprising:
emitting, through an eye tracking sensor of the augmented reality device, an infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user; receiving, through the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light; measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction;
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on the measured radius of rotation,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
9. An operating method of an augmented reality device, the operating method comprising:
emitting infrared (IR) light, by using an IR light source of an eye tracking sensor, to an eye of a user; obtaining, by an IR camera of the eye tracking sensor, an image by photographing the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a plurality of glint feature points from the image obtained by the IR camera;
[Claim 12] 12. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the detecting of the plurality of glint feature points comprises obtaining images by photographing an eye of the user moving by a preset rotation angle, by the eye tracking sensor, and detecting a pupil feature point by analyzing the images, and
[Claim 12] wherein the obtaining of the information with respect to eye relief comprises measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, and obtaining the eye relief based on the measured radius of rotation.
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on a distance between the plurality of detected glint feature points;
obtaining information with respect to a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, and
an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye of the user, based on the plurality of glint feature points; and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the information about the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
18. A computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions readable by an augmented reality device to perform:
emitting, through an eye tracking sensor of the augmented reality device, an infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user;
receiving, through the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light; measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction;
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on the measured radius of rotation,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
15. A computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions readable by an augmented reality device to perform:
emitting infrared (IR) light, by using an IR light source of an eye tracking sensor, to an eye of a user;
obtaining, by an IR camera of the eye tracking sensor, an image by photographing the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a plurality of glint feature points from the image obtained by the IR camera;
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on a distance between the plurality of detected glint feature points;
obtaining information with respect to a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, and an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye of the user, based on the plurality of glint feature points; and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the information about the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
2. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR light source configured to emit the IR light to the eye of the user and an IR camera configured to obtain a plurality of images by receiving, through an image sensor of the IR camera, the reflected IR light from the eye of the user, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify at least one pixel representing the pupil from among a plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and detect the pupil feature point based on the identified at least one pixel.
3. The augmented reality device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information.
4. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR scanner configured to emit the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user and an IR detector configured to detect the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector.
5. The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on a change of the position of the pupil feature point.
6. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye relief is inversely proportional to the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point.
8. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance; and determine, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
11. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting, by using an IR light source of the eye tracking sensor, to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises obtaining, by using an IR camera of the eye tracking sensor, a plurality of images by receiving, through an image sensor, the reflected IR light from the eye of the user, and wherein detecting of the pupil feature point comprises: identifying at least one pixel representing the pupil from among a plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and detecting the pupil feature point based on the identified at least one pixel.
12. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: obtaining coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information.
13. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises detecting, by using an IR detector of the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the pupil feature point comprises identifying a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector.
14. The operating method of claim 13, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on a change of the position of the pupil feature point.
15. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises a first eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a left-eye image by photographing the left eye of the user and detect a left-eye pupil from the left-eye image and a second eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a right-eye image by photographing the right eye of the user and detect a right-eye pupil from the right-eye image, and wherein the obtaining of the interpupillary distance comprises: obtaining three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information; and obtaining the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil.
16. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the position of a focal region of the variable focus lens comprises: obtaining coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance; and determining, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
17. The operating method of claim 10, further comprises: adjusting refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
2. The augmented reality device of claim 1 wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine the eye relief based on a size of a region of a glint pattern, which is a combination of the plurality of detected glint feature points.
3. The augmented reality device of claim 2, wherein the IR light source comprises a plurality of IR light-emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on a lens frame of the augmented reality device and spaced apart from each other by a preset distance, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain the eye relief based on at least one of the size of the region of the glint pattern, a positional relationship between the plurality of IR LEDs, or coordinates of each pixel of the IR camera.
6. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine, as a first focal region, a region having a preset size around a first center focus on a first variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a first gaze direction of the left eye toward the gaze point meets the first variable focus lens; and determine, as a second focal region, a region having a preset size around a second center focus on a second variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a second gaze direction of the right eye toward the gaze point meets the second variable focus lens.
7. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eye of the user, and the interpupillary distance; and determine, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
10. The operating method of claim 9 wherein the obtaining of the information about the eye relief comprises determining the eye relief based on a size of a region of a glint pattern, which is a combination of the plurality of detected glint feature point.
11. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the IR light source comprises a plurality of IR light-emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on a lens frame of the augmented reality device to be spaced apart from each other by a preset distance, and wherein the determining of the eye relief comprises obtaining the eye relief based on at least one of the size of the region of the glint pattern, a positional relationship between the plurality of IR LEDs, or coordinates of each pixel of the IR camera.
13. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the determining of the position of the focal region of the variable focus lens comprises: determining, as a first focal region, a region having a preset size around a first center focus on a first variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a first gaze direction of the left eye toward the gaze point meets the first variable focus lens; and determining, as a second focal region, a region having a preset size around a second center focus on a second variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a second gaze direction of the right eye toward the gaze point meets the second variable focus lens.
14. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the determining of the position of the focal region of the variable focus lens comprises obtaining coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eye of the user, and the interpupillary distance, and determining, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1, 10, 18 of the present application overlap and encompass the scope of claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11924536, and vice-versa, with the exception of the claimed aspect of: wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction.
However, Rani does disclose wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction (Rani at Figs. 5-6, second distance 512 or fourth distance 516; col. 13, ll. 11-17 discloses “After identifying the eyes and the pupils, the measurement component 328 may determine a first distance 510 between a first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a center of the right pupil 504(1), as well as a second distance 512 between the first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a second edge 508(1) of the right eye 502(1).”).
U.S. Patent No. 11924536 discloses a base eyeglass based measurement system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Rani discloses a comparable eyeglass based measurement system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to U.S. Patent No. 11924536 the teachings of Rani for the predictable result of determining the distance between the user’s eyes and the object upon which they gaze (Rani at col. 4. Ll. 43-45).
Claims 1, 8-10, 17, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12279033 in view of Lee (US 2020/0379214 A1, Published December 3, 2020) and Rani (US 11,675,215 B1, Filed on April 21, 2020).
Present Application
US Patent 12279033
1. An augmented reality device comprising:
a variable focus lens; an eye tracking sensor configured to emit infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user and receive IR light reflected by the eye of the user; and
at least one processor configured to:
detect, by using the eye tracking sensor, a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light,
measure a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on the measured radius of rotation,
obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge,
obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, and
determine a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
1. An augmented reality device comprising:
a variable focus lens; an eye tracking sensor comprising an infrared (IR) scanner and an IR detector, and
at least one processor configured to:
control the IR scanner of the eye tracking sensor to emit IR light to an eye of an user,
detect the IR light reflected by the eye of the user by using the IR detector, detect a plurality of glint feature points from the reflected IR light,
obtain distances between the plurality of detected glint feature points, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on the obtained distances between the plurality of glint feature points,
obtain information with respect to a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, and
an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, based on the plurality of glint feature points, and
determine a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the information with respect to the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
8. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance; and determine, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
7. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance; and determine, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
9. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
8. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
10. An operating method of augmented reality device, the operating method comprising:
emitting, through an eye tracking sensor of the augmented reality device, an infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user; receiving, through the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light; measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction;
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on the measured radius of rotation,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
9. An operating method of augmented reality device, the operating method comprising:
emitting, by an infrared (IR) scanner comprised in an eye tracking sensor, an IR light to an eye of an user; detecting, by an IR detector comprised in the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a plurality of glint feature points from the reflected IR light; obtaining distances between the plurality of detected glint feature points;
obtaining information with respect to eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on the obtained distances between the plurality of glint feature points;
obtaining information with respect to a gaze point at which gaze directions of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, and
an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, based on the plurality of glint feature points; and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the information about the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
17. The operating method of claim 10, further comprises: adjusting refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
16. The operating method of claim 9, further comprising adjusting refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region.
18. A computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions readable by an augmented reality device to perform:
emitting, through an eye tracking sensor of the augmented reality device, an infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user;
receiving, through the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction,
detecting a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light; measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point;
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on the measured radius of rotation,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge,
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
17. A computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions readable by an augmented reality device to perform:
emitting, by an infrared (IR) scanner comprised in an eye tracking sensor, an IR light to an eye of an user;
detecting, by an IR detector comprised in the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user;
detecting a plurality of glint feature points from the reflected IR light; obtaining distances between the plurality of detected glint feature points;
obtaining information with respect to eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a variable focus lens of the augmented reality device, based on the obtained distances between the plurality of glint feature points;
obtaining information with respect to a gaze point at which gaze directions of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge, and
an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye, based on the plurality of glint feature points; and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the information about the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance.
2. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR light source configured to emit the IR light to the eye of the user and an IR camera configured to obtain a plurality of images by receiving, through an image sensor of the IR camera, the reflected IR light from the eye of the user, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify at least one pixel representing the pupil from among a plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and detect the pupil feature point based on the identified at least one pixel.
3. The augmented reality device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information.
4. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR scanner configured to emit the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user and an IR detector configured to detect the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector.
5. The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on a change of the position of the pupil feature point.
6. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye relief is inversely proportional to the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point.
7. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises a first eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a left-eye image by photographing the left eye of the user and detect a left-eye pupil from the left-eye image and a second eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a right-eye image by photographing the right eye of the user and detect a right-eye pupil from the right-eye image, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information, and obtain the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil.
11. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting, by using an IR light source of the eye tracking sensor, to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises obtaining, by using an IR camera of the eye tracking sensor, a plurality of images by receiving, through an image sensor, the reflected IR light from the eye of the user, and wherein detecting of the pupil feature point comprises: identifying at least one pixel representing the pupil from among a plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and detecting the pupil feature point based on the identified at least one pixel.
12. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: obtaining coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information.
13. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises detecting, by using an IR detector of the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the pupil feature point comprises identifying a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector.
14. The operating method of claim 13, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on a change of the position of the pupil feature point.
15. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises a first eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a left-eye image by photographing the left eye of the user and detect a left-eye pupil from the left-eye image and a second eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a right-eye image by photographing the right eye of the user and detect a right-eye pupil from the right-eye image, and wherein the obtaining of the interpupillary distance comprises: obtaining three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information; and obtaining the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil.
16. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the position of a focal region of the variable focus lens comprises: obtaining coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance; and determining, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
2. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: sequentially emit, by using a point light source or a line light source included in the IR scanner, the IR light to be incident on an entire region in which the eye of the user is located, and sequentially receive the IR light reflected by the eye of the user by using a plurality of light detectors included in the IR detector.
3. The augmented reality device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect the plurality of glint feature points by analyzing an array of rays of the IR light sequentially received through the plurality of light detectors.
4. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the IR scanner comprises a micro-electro mechanical systems (MEMS) scanner configured to emit the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user.
5. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the IR detector comprises a plurality of photodiodes disposed on a lens frame of the augmented reality device and spaced apart from each other by a preset distance, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to calculate the eye relief based on the distances between the plurality of glint feature points and a positional relationship between the plurality of photodiodes.
6. The augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine, as a first focal region, a region having a preset size around a first center focus on a first variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a first gaze direction of the left eye toward the gaze point meets the first variable focus lens; and determine, as a second focal region, a region having a preset size around a second center focus on a second variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a second gaze direction of the right eye toward the gaze point meets the second variable focus lens.
10. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises sequentially emitting, by using a point light source or a line light source included in the IR scanner, the IR light to be incident on an entire region in which the eye of the user is located, and wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises sequentially receiving the IR light reflected by the eye of the user by using a plurality of light detectors included in the IR detector.
11. The operating method of claim 10, wherein the detecting of the plurality of glint feature points comprises: detecting the plurality of glint feature points by analyzing an array of rays of the IR light sequentially received through the plurality of light detectors.
12. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the IR scanner comprises a micro-electro mechanical systems (MEMS) scanner configured to emit the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user.
13. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the IR detector comprises a plurality of photodiodes disposed on a lens frame of the augmented reality device and spaced apart from each other by a preset distance, and wherein the obtaining of the information with respect to the eye relief comprises calculating the eye relief based on the distances between the plurality of glint feature points and a positional relationship between the plurality of photodiodes.
14. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the determining of the position of the focal region of the variable focus lens comprises: determining, as a first focal region, a region having a preset size around a first center focus on a first variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a first gaze direction of the left eye toward the gaze point meets the first variable focus lens; and determining, as a second focal region, a region having a preset size around a second center focus on a second variable focus lens at which a virtual straight line representing a second gaze direction of the right eye toward the gaze point meets the second variable focus lens.
15. The operating method of claim 9, wherein the determining of the position of the focal region of the variable focus lens comprises obtaining coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance, and determining, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1, 8-10, 17, 18 of the present application overlap and encompass the scope of claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12279033, and vice-versa, with the exception that claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12279033 does not disclose the claimed aspect of: “measure a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, determine eye relief,… based on the measured radius of rotation.”
However, Lee does disclose measure a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on the measured radius of rotation (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]. Examiner takes an official notice that the Pythagorean Theorem is well-known in the art. In view of the officially noticed facts, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to use the Pythagorean Theorem for the well-known purpose of determining a radial distance from eye 33 to screen 530).
U.S. Patent No. 12279033 discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to U.S. Patent No. 12279033 the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
The combination of US Patent 12279033 and Lee does not disclose: wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction.
However, Rani does disclose wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction (Rani at Figs. 5-6, second distance 512 or fourth distance 516; col. 13, ll. 11-17 discloses “After identifying the eyes and the pupils, the measurement component 328 may determine a first distance 510 between a first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a center of the right pupil 504(1), as well as a second distance 512 between the first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a second edge 508(1) of the right eye 502(1).”).
The combination of US Patent 12279033 and Lee discloses a base eyeglass based measurement system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Rani discloses a comparable eyeglass based measurement system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of US Patent 12279033 and Lee the teachings of Rani for the predictable result of determining the distance between the user’s eyes and the object upon which they gaze (Rani at col. 4. Ll. 43-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2021/0037232 A1, Published February 4, 2021) in view of Lee (US 2020/0379214 A1, Published December 3, 2020) and Rani (US 11,675,215 B1, Filed on April 21, 2020).
As to claim 1, Lin discloses an augmented reality device comprising:
a… lens (Lin at Fig. 1, lens 130a,b);
an eye tracking sensor configured to emit infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user and receive IR light reflected by the eye of the user (Lin at Fig. 1, light sources 160 and image capture units 140a,b Fig. 7, step S201; ¶ [0023][0042] discloses “The plurality of left-eye features comprises but not limited to, features of the left eyelid, features of the left iris, and/or the left eye pupil 12a.”); and
at least one processor configured to: detect, by using the eye tracking sensor, a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light,… determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens (Lin at Figs. 2-7, steps S702-S703, S705; ¶ [0031] discloses “he term “eye relief” in this disclosure is defined as a distance from the eye of the user to an outer surface (or the center of the outer surface) of a corresponding lens. For example, the first eye relief is a distance from the left eye 10a to the outer surface of the first lens 130a. As another example, the second eye relief is a distance from the right eye 10b to the outer surface of the second lens 130b.” ¶ [0042]-[0043]. Claim 1 discloses “calculating a second eye relief according to at least one right-eye feature in the two right-eye images; calculating an interpupillary distance (IPD) according to the first eye relief and the second eye relief; and adjusting, according to the IPD, a distance between a first lens and a second lens of the HMD”),…
obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye (Lin at Figs. 7, step 708; Claim 1 discloses “calculating an interpupillary distance (IPD) according to the first eye relief and second eye relief”), and
determine a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance (Lin at ¶ [0052] discloses “In some embodiments that the IPD has been determined, the HMD 100 may further use the first image capture unit 140a to capture a plurality of left- eye images, and use the second image capture unit 140b to capture a plurality of right- eye images. Then, the HMD 100 recognizes the plurality of left-eye features from the plurality of left-eye images and the plurality of right-eye features from the plurality of right-eye images to dynamically determine a point of gaze of the user.” Claim 9 including claims 1, 5, 6).).
Lin does not disclose measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on the measured radius of rotation.
Lin does not disclose obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge.
Lin does not disclose that the lens is a variable focus lens.
However, Lee does disclose measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point, determine eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and the variable focus lens, based on the measured radius of rotation (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]. Examiner takes an official notice that the Pythagorean Theorem is well-known in the art. In view of the officially noticed facts, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to use the Pythagorean Theorem for the well-known purpose of determining a radial distance from eye 33 to screen 530).
Lee does disclose obtain, by using the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge (Lee at Fig. 4, Steps S410-S430).
Lee also discloses a variable focus lens (Lee at ¶ [0006], [0063]).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
The combination of Lin and Lee does not disclose: wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction.
However, Rani does disclose wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction (Rani at Figs. 5-6, second distance 512 or fourth distance 516; col. 13, ll. 11-17 discloses “After identifying the eyes and the pupils, the measurement component 328 may determine a first distance 510 between a first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a center of the right pupil 504(1), as well as a second distance 512 between the first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a second edge 508(1) of the right eye 502(1).”).
The combination of Lin and Lee discloses a base eyeglass based measurement system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Rani discloses a comparable eyeglass based measurement system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lin and Lee and Lee the teachings of Rani for the predictable result of determining the distance between the user’s eyes and the object upon which they gaze (Rani at col. 4. Ll. 43-45).
As to claim 2, the combination of Lin, Lee and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR light source configured to emit the IR light to the eye of the user and an IR camera configured to obtain a plurality of images by receiving, through an image sensor of the IR camera, the reflected IR light from the eye of the user (Lin at Fig. 1), and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify at least one pixel representing the pupil from among a plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and detect the pupil feature point based on the identified at least one pixel (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Lin, Lee and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye relief is inversely proportional to the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point (Lee at Fig. 5C).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 7, the combination of Lin, Lee and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises a first eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a left-eye image by photographing the left eye of the user and detect a left-eye pupil from the left-eye image and a second eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a right-eye image by photographing the right eye of the user and detect a right-eye pupil from the right-eye image, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information, and obtain the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil (Lin at Figs. 6, 9, in particular; ¶ [0051]-[0052]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lin, Lee and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance (Lee at Fig. 5C; Lin at Figs. 6, 9); and determine, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus (Lee at Figs. 1, 13, 16, focus adjustment regions 112 to 126).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Lin, Lee and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region (Lee at Figs. 6-8, in particular; ¶ [0180]-[0181]).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 10, Lin discloses an operating method of augmented reality device, the operating method comprising: emitting, through an eye tracking sensor of the augmented reality device, an infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user; receiving, through the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user (Lin at Fig. 1, light sources 160 and image capture unit 140a,b; ¶ [0023]);
detecting a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light (Lin at Fig. 1, light sources 160 and image capture units 140a,b Fig. 7, step S201; ¶ [0023][0042] discloses “The plurality of left-eye features comprises but not limited to, features of the left eyelid, features of the left iris, and/or the left eye pupil 12a.”);
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a… focus lens of the augmented reality device,… (Lin at Figs. 2-7, steps S702-S703, S705; ¶ [0031] discloses “he term “eye relief” in this disclosure is defined as a distance from the eye of the user to an outer surface (or the center of the outer surface) of a corresponding lens. For example, the first eye relief is a distance from the left eye 10a to the outer surface of the first lens 130a. As another example, the second eye relief is a distance from the right eye 10b to the outer surface of the second lens 130b.” ¶ [0042]-[0043]. Claim 1 discloses “calculating a second eye relief according to at least one right-eye feature in the two right-eye images; calculating an interpupillary distance (IPD) according to the first eye relief and the second eye relief; and adjusting, according to the IPD, a distance between a first lens and a second lens of the HMD”),…
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye (Lin at Figs. 7, step 708; Claim 1 discloses “calculating an interpupillary distance (IPD) according to the first eye relief and second eye relief”), and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance (Lin at ¶ [0052] discloses “In some embodiments that the IPD has been determined, the HMD 100 may further use the first image capture unit 140a to capture a plurality of left- eye images, and use the second image capture unit 140b to capture a plurality of right- eye images. Then, the HMD 100 recognizes the plurality of left-eye features from the plurality of left-eye images and the plurality of right-eye features from the plurality of right-eye images to dynamically determine a point of gaze of the user.” Claim 9 including claims 1, 5, 6).).
Lin does not disclose obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge.
Lin does not disclose that the lens is a variable focus lens.
Lin does not disclose measuring a radius of the detected pupil feature point; determining eye relief based on measured radius of rotation.
However, Lee does disclose obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge (Lee at Fig. 2; Fig. 4, Steps S410-S430).
Lee also discloses a variable focus lens (Lee at ¶ [0006], [0063]).
Lee discloses measuring a radius of the detected pupil feature point; determining eye relief based on measured radius of rotation (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]. Examiner takes an official notice that the Pythagorean Theorem is well-known in the art. In view of the officially noticed facts, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to use the Pythagorean Theorem for the well-known purpose of determining a radial distance from eye 33 to screen 530).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005)).
The combination of Lin and Lee does not disclose: wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction.
However, Rani does disclose wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction (Rani at Figs. 5-6, second distance 512 or fourth distance 516; col. 13, ll. 11-17 discloses “After identifying the eyes and the pupils, the measurement component 328 may determine a first distance 510 between a first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a center of the right pupil 504(1), as well as a second distance 512 between the first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a second edge 508(1) of the right eye 502(1).”).
The combination of Lin and Lee discloses a base eyeglass based measurement system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Rani discloses a comparable eyeglass based measurement system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lin and Lee and Lee the teachings of Rani for the predictable result of determining the distance between the user’s eyes and the object upon which they gaze (Rani at col. 4. Ll. 43-45).
As to claim 11, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the operating method of claim 10, wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting, by using an IR light source of the eye tracking sensor, to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises obtaining, by using an IR camera of the eye tracking sensor, a plurality of images by receiving, through an image sensor, the reflected IR light from the eye of the user (Lin at Fig. 1), and
wherein detecting of the pupil feature point comprises: identifying at least one pixel representing the pupil from among a plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and detecting the pupil feature point based on the identified at least one pixel (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 15, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the operating method of claim 10, wherein the eye tracking sensor comprises a first eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a left-eye image by photographing the left eye of the user and detect a left-eye pupil from the left-eye image and a second eye tracking sensor configured to obtain a right-eye image by photographing the right eye of the user and detect a right-eye pupil from the right-eye image, and wherein the obtaining of the interpupillary distance comprises: obtaining three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil based on a positional relationship between the first eye tracking sensor and the second eye tracking sensor, and camera attribute information; and obtaining the interpupillary distance based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the left-eye pupil and the right-eye pupil (Lin at Figs. 6, 9, in particular; ¶ [0051]-[0052]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the operating method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the position of a focal region of the variable focus lens comprises: obtaining coordinates of a center focus based on the eye relief, a distance between the gaze point and the eyes of the user, and the interpupillary distance (Lee at Fig. 5C; Lin at Figs. 6, 9); and determining, as the focal region, a region of a preset size around the center focus (Lee at Figs. 1, 13, 16, focus adjustment regions 112 to 126).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the operating method of claim 10, further comprises: adjusting refractive power of the focal region by applying a control voltage to the variable focus lens to generate a phase modulation profile for a position corresponding to the focal region (Lee at Figs. 6-8, in particular; ¶ [0180]-[0181]).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005]).
As to claim 18, Lin discloses a computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions readable by an augmented reality device (Lin at Fig. 1, processing circuit 170, memory module 172, and computer program 174) to perform:
emitting, through an eye tracking sensor of the augmented reality device, an infrared (IR) light to an eye of a user; receiving, through the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user (Lin at Fig. 1, light sources 160 and image capture unit 140a,b; ¶ [0023]);
detecting a pupil feature point from the reflected IR light; measuring a radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point (Lin at Fig. 1, light sources 160 and image capture units 140a,b Fig. 7, step S201; ¶ [0023][0042] discloses “The plurality of left-eye features comprises but not limited to, features of the left eyelid, features of the left iris, and/or the left eye pupil 12a.”);
determining eye relief, which is a distance between the eye of the user and a… focus lens of the augmented reality device,… (Lin at Figs. 2-7, steps S702-S703, S705; ¶ [0031] discloses “he term “eye relief” in this disclosure is defined as a distance from the eye of the user to an outer surface (or the center of the outer surface) of a corresponding lens. For example, the first eye relief is a distance from the left eye 10a to the outer surface of the first lens 130a. As another example, the second eye relief is a distance from the right eye 10b to the outer surface of the second lens 130b.” ¶ [0042]-[0043]. Claim 1 discloses “calculating a second eye relief according to at least one right-eye feature in the two right-eye images; calculating an interpupillary distance (IPD) according to the first eye relief and the second eye relief; and adjusting, according to the IPD, a distance between a first lens and a second lens of the HMD”)…
obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, an interpupillary distance which is a distance between a pupil of the left eye and a pupil of the right eye (Lin at Figs. 7, step 708; Claim 1 discloses “calculating an interpupillary distance (IPD) according to the first eye relief and second eye relief”), and
determining a position of a focal region of the variable focus lens based on the eye relief, the gaze point, and the interpupillary distance (Lin at ¶ [0052] discloses “In some embodiments that the IPD has been determined, the HMD 100 may further use the first image capture unit 140a to capture a plurality of left- eye images, and use the second image capture unit 140b to capture a plurality of right- eye images. Then, the HMD 100 recognizes the plurality of left-eye features from the plurality of left-eye images and the plurality of right-eye features from the plurality of right-eye images to dynamically determine a point of gaze of the user.” Claim 9 including claims 1, 5, 6).).
Lin does not disclose obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge.
Lin does not disclose that the lens is a variable focus lens.
Lin does not disclose measuring a radius of the detected pupil feature point; determining eye relief based on measured radius of rotation.
However, Lee does disclose obtaining, through the eye tracking sensor, a gaze point at which gaze direction of a left eye of the user and gaze direction of a right eye of the user converge (Lee at Fig. 4, Steps S410-S430).
Lee also discloses a variable focus lens (Lee at ¶ [0006], [0063]).
Lee discloses measuring a radius of the detected pupil feature point; determining eye relief based on measured radius of rotation (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]. Examiner takes an official notice that the Pythagorean Theorem is well-known in the art. In view of the officially noticed facts, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to use the Pythagorean Theorem for the well-known purpose of determining a radial distance from eye 33 to screen 530).
Lin discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to Lin the teachings of Lee for the predictable result preventing dizziness or motion sickness to a user watching a virtual image for a long time (Lee at ¶ [0005)).
The combination of Lin and Lee does not disclose: wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction.
However, Rani does disclose wherein the radius of rotation is a distance between a first pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by a preset rotation angle in a first direction and a second pupil feature point when the eye of the user is moved by the preset rotation angle in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction (Rani at Figs. 5-6, second distance 512 or fourth distance 516; col. 13, ll. 11-17 discloses “After identifying the eyes and the pupils, the measurement component 328 may determine a first distance 510 between a first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a center of the right pupil 504(1), as well as a second distance 512 between the first edge 506(1) of the right eye 502(1) and a second edge 508(1) of the right eye 502(1).”).
The combination of Lin and Lee discloses a base eyeglass based measurement system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Rani discloses a comparable eyeglass based measurement system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lin and Lee and Lee the teachings of Rani for the predictable result of determining the distance between the user’s eyes and the object upon which they gaze (Rani at col. 4. Ll. 43-45).
Claims 3, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, Lee, and Rani as applied to claims 2 or 1 respectively above, and further in view of Koo (US 2022/0229490 A1, Filed January 21, 2022)
As to claim 3, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 2.
The combination does not expressly disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information.
However, Koo does disclose that the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera, and measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information (Koo at ¶ [0102]).
The combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Koo discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani the teachings of Koo for the predictable result of increasing user comfort (Koo at ¶ [0003]).
As to claim 4, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the augmented reality device of claim 1.
The combination does not expressly disclose that the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR scanner configured to emit the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user and an IR detector configured to detect the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector.
However, Koo does disclose that the eye tracking sensor comprises an IR scanner configured to emit the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user and an IR detector configured to detect the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector (Koo at Figs. 2, 4; ¶ [0020])).
The combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Koo discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani the teachings of Koo for the predictable result of increasing user comfort (Koo at ¶ [0003]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lin, Lee, Rani, and Koo discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to measure the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on a change of the position of the pupil feature point (Lee at Figs. 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]).
Claims 12, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, Lee, and Rani as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Koo (US 2022/0229490 A1, Filed January 21, 2022)
As to claim 12, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the operating method of claim 10.
The combination does not expressly disclose that the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: obtaining coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information.
However, Koo does disclose that the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: obtaining coordinate information of the at least one pixel from among the plurality of pixels of each of the plurality of images obtained by the IR camera; and measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on the coordinate information (Koo at ¶ [0102]).
The combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Koo discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani the teachings of Koo for the predictable result of increasing user comfort (Koo at ¶ [0003]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses the operating method of claim 10.
The combination does not expressly disclose that the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises detecting, by using an IR detector of the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the pupil feature point comprises identifying a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector.
However, Koo does disclose that the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises: wherein the emitting of the IR light comprises emitting the IR light in a form of point light or line light toward a light reflector, such that the emitted IR light is reflected by the light reflector to be directed to the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the IR light comprises detecting, by using an IR detector of the eye tracking sensor, the IR light reflected by the eye of the user, wherein the detecting of the pupil feature point comprises identifying a position of the pupil feature point by analyzing the IR light detected by the IR detector (Koo at Figs. 2, 4; ¶ [0020])).
The combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani discloses a base augmented reality device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Koo discloses a comparable augmented reality device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify or add to the combination of Lin, Lee, and Rani the teachings of Koo for the predictable result of increasing user comfort (Koo at ¶ [0003]).
As to claim 14, the combination of Lin, Lee, Rani, and Koo operating method of claim 13, wherein the measuring of the radius of rotation of the detected pupil feature point comprises measuring the radius of rotation of the pupil feature point based on a change of the position of the pupil feature point (Lee at Figs 5B-5C; ¶ [0164]-[0166]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but they are believed to be addressed above, and therefore, moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
03/18/2026