DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claims 1, 13 and 20 are independent claims. Claims 2-12 and 14-19 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: corresponding claims filed on 03-13-2025.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, based on the communication filed on August 14, 2025, submitted by the Office, an attempt to electronically retrieve, under the priority document exchange program, the foreign application 202441018433 to which priority is being claimed has failed. Therefore, applicant is required to file a certified copy for foreign application 202441018433 as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 14, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 13 and 20 recite the term “if”, where under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard make the expression following the term as optional limitation under the plain and ordinary meaning of the term, thereby not narrowing the claim limitations following the term since they can be omitted. Indeed, dictionary defines the term “if” as a “conditional clause”. Similarly, the following terms also found to be deficient are: may, might, can, could, potentially, possible ….etc. In re Johnston, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 113 Ex parte Schulhauser, see MPEP 2111.04 (II)
Therefore, provided applicant does intend to have these limitations to have patentable weight, the claims above must positively recite the claim limitation without invoking optional language.
Once such term that courts have found to positively recite a condition is the term “when”.
Such amendment may be made that complies with this requirement will not constitute a new grounds of rejection under 37 C.F.R. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2017/0017943 (hereinafter, “Bilhan”).
As per claim 13 Bilhan discloses a method for providing high-frequency anti-tamper protection in a communication interface, the method comprising:
monitoring, by a first counter, a number of clock pulses received within by the communication interface a predetermined time window; (sensor 124 that interface with module 118 includes a counter for “monitoring clock frequency” that counts clock cycles from a clock; Fig 1, ¶ [0034])
pre-loading a second counter with a predetermined count value indicating a threshold number of clock pulses expected to be received within the predetermined time window; (Fig. 1 in conjunction with ¶ [0034] disclosed a “second counter”, which is configured to monitor the clock frequency exceeds a configurable threshold. Claims 14-15, )
starting the second counter when a clock pulse is received; (second counter counts clock cycles from the tamper detection internal clock ; ¶ [0034] )
comparing a count value of the second counter to the threshold number of clock pulses after receiving a predetermined number of clock pulses; and (comparing the two counts enables detection of whether the primary system clock 114 is within a specified range; ¶ [0034] )
triggering a tamper signal if the count value of the second counter is greater than the threshold number of clock pulses. (generate a tamper trigger signal when a monitored clock frequency exceeds a configurable threshold or configurable to generate a tamper trigger signal when the difference between two monitored frequencies exceeds a configurable threshold.; Claims 14-15)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0017943 (hereinafter, “Bilhan”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0396551 (hereinafter, “Phadke”).
As per claim(s) 20, 1, 131, Bilhan discloses an apparatus comprising:
a communication interface for communicating with one or more peripheral devices; (¶ [0021] discloses a communications module 110 sends and receives information outside the POI system 100, for example, a printer. Alternatively, Fig 1 further discloses a communication busses between device 118 and peripheral devices 124 and 128)
a first counter to count a number of clock pulses received by the communication interface within a predetermined time window; (sensor 124 that interface with module 118 includes a counter for “monitoring clock frequency” that counts clock cycles from a clock; Fig 1, ¶ [0034])
a second counter pre-loaded with a predetermined count value indicating a threshold number of clock pulses expected to be received within the predetermined time window; (Fig. 1 in conjunction with ¶ [0034] disclosed a “second counter”, which is configured to monitor the clock frequency exceeds a configurable threshold. Claims 14-15, )
a comparator to compare a count value of the second counter to the threshold number of clock pulses; and (comparing the two counts enables detection of whether the primary system clock 114 is within a specified range; ¶ [0034] )
a control circuitry to:
start the second counter when a clock pulse is received; (second counter counts clock cycles from the tamper detection internal clock ; ¶ [0034] )
stop the second counter when a predetermined number of clock pulses have been received; and (second counter counts clock cycles from the tamper detection internal clock ; ¶ [0034] )
trigger a tamper signal if the count value of the second counter is greater than the threshold number of clock pulses. (generate a tamper trigger signal when a monitored clock frequency exceeds a configurable threshold or configurable to generate a tamper trigger signal when the difference between two monitored frequencies exceeds a configurable threshold.; Claims 14-15)
Bilhan does not distinctly discloses the following:
enable the first counter when a chip select signal is asserted;
disable the first counter when the chip select signal is de-asserted;
However, Phadke explicitly discloses the following:
a communication interface for communicating with one or more peripheral devices; (Fig 2 discloses serial bus 220 communicating with one or more coupled devices. Also, Fig 3)
a first counter to count a number of clock pulses received by the communication interface within a predetermined time window; ( The counter 402 counts cycles of a clock signal 406 provided by the SoC; Fig 4)
a second counter pre-loaded with a predetermined count value indicating a threshold number of clock pulses expected to be received within the predetermined time window; ( [0063] discloses how the second counter 606 “may be configured to count up until a threshold value is reached” which suggest to a POSITA that the threshold value is preprogrammed)
a comparator to compare a count value of the second counter to the threshold number of clock pulses; and (¶ [0081] discloses comparing output values based on count values of the first and second counters)
a control circuitry to:
enable the first counter when a chip select signal is asserted; (DS enable signal 620 to counter 604 or 624 signal for restart ; Fig 6)
disable the first counter when the chip select signal is de-asserted; (reset signal 622 or restart signal 624, which temporarily stops the counter before restarting; Fig 6)
start the second counter when a clock pulse is received; (DS enable signal 622or 624 restart signal to counter 606; Fig 6)
stop the second counter when a predetermined number of clock pulses have been received; and (reset/restart signal 622 or restart signal 624, which temporarily stops the counter before restarting; Fig 6)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bilhan and Phadke because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Phadke’s teaching of using a start/stop enable signal for counting count values would enhance Bilhan's system by allowing the system to prevent glitches associated during memory state transitions between different devices thus preserving a harmonious memory configuration.
As per claims 8, 18, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the control circuitry is to reset the second counter to zero when the chip select signal is de-asserted. (Phadke: two bits have the same zero value after the counters 604, 606 have been reset; ¶ [0066] )
As per claims 9, 19, Bilhan as modified discloses a system further comprising an application processor, wherein the tamper signal is to trigger a reset signal for the application processor or an interrupt signal to the application processor. (Phadke: The counters 604, 606 may further receive the SoC hard reset signal (reset_n 622) and/or to a restart signal (sw_restart 624); ¶ [0062])
As per claim 10, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the predetermined count value corresponds to a maximum allowed number of clock pulses within the predetermined time window. (Phadke: threshold detect logic 404 compares all bits of the counter 402 with upper and lower thresholds and may set the output 414 of the threshold detect logic 404 when the upper threshold is reached and clear the output 414 of the threshold detect logic 404 when the lower threshold is reached; ¶ [0053] )
As per claim 11, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the number of clock pulses is to be incremented until a terminal condition is triggered. (Phadke: threshold detect logic 404 compares all bits of the counter 402 with upper and lower thresholds and may set the output 414 of the threshold detect logic 404 when the upper threshold is reached and clear the output 414 of the threshold detect logic 404 when the lower threshold is reached; ¶ [0053] )
As per claim 12, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the predetermined count value is to be decremented by the second counter when respective clock pulses of the number of clock pulses are received from the first counter. (Phadke: ¶ [0101] discloses how the counter may be “decremented” when the input signal is in the second signaling state. )
Claim(s) 2-4, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0017943 (hereinafter, “Bilhan”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0396551 (hereinafter, “Phadke”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0225235 (hereinafter, “Huang”).
As per claims 2, 14, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the predetermined number of clock pulses, the predetermined number of clock pulses corresponding to a number of clock cycles to occur at corresponding frequencies of the communication interface. (Phadke: threshold detect logic 404 compares all bits of the counter 402 with upper and lower thresholds and may set the output 414 of the threshold detect logic 404 when the upper threshold is reached and clear the output 414 of the threshold detect logic 404 when the lower threshold is reached; ¶ [0053] )
Bilhan as modified does not distinctly disclose the clock pulses is about 6.
However, Huang discloses clock pulses is about 6. (Fig’s 5-6 illustrate a system where a counter is to count to a value 6 and calculating a difference between a first count value and a second count value through the logic circuit ¶[00300])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bilhan as modified and Huang because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Huang’s teaching of counting count values to 6 would enhance Bilhan's as modified system by allowing the system to better eliminate electromagnetic noise verses sustained electromagnetic attacks thus eliminating false positives
As per claims 3, 15, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the threshold number of clock pulses is 0. (Huang; Fig 2B)
As per claims 4, 16, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the predetermined time window is defined by a clock domain with a 384 MHz sampling frequency. (Huang: ¶ [0031] discloses 1 GHZ. However, the Office maintains that the natural clock frequency generated by the frequency generator is a minor modification to a POSITA that would be the result of obvious design choice to be determined through routine experimentation and optimization. )
Claim(s) 5-7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0017943 (hereinafter, “Bilhan”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0396551 (hereinafter, “Phadke”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2007/0030030 (hereinafter, “Waldrop”).
As per claim 5, Bilhan as modified does not distinctly disclose a system wherein the control circuitry is to operate with a full clock synchronizer.
However, Waldrop explicitly discloses a system wherein the control circuitry is to operate with a full clock synchronizer. (synchronous mode at one complete cycle of the clock period; ¶ [0047])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bilhan as modified and Waldrop because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Waldrop’s teaching of one complete cycle would enhance Bilhan's as modified system by allowing the system to perform data transfer at different speeds, thus enhancing power and memory operations.
As per claim 6, Bilhan as modified discloses a system wherein the control circuitry is to operate with a half clock synchronizer. (synchronous mode at half of cycle of the clock period; ¶ [0047])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bilhan as modified and Waldrop because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Waldrop’s teaching of one complete cycle would enhance Bilhan's as modified system by allowing the system to perform data transfer at different speed, thus enhancing power and memory operations.
As per claims 7, 17, Bilhan as modified discloses a system further comprising a logic circuitry to terminate a data transfer on the communication interface when the tamper signal is triggered. (Bilhan: generate a tamper trigger signal when a monitored clock frequency exceeds a configurable threshold or configurable to generate a tamper trigger signal when the difference between two monitored frequencies exceeds a configurable threshold.; Claims 14-15) & (Waldrop: termination register may be programmed through an ODT pin (not shown) on the memory chip that cause the ODT circuit to “not receiving data”. ¶ [007])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bilhan as modified and Waldrop because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Waldrop’s teaching of one complete cycle would enhance Bilhan's as modified system by allowing the system to perform data transfer at different speed, thus enhancing power and memory operations
Conclusion
With respect to any newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP §714.02 and § 2163.06. For example, when responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 As per independent claim(s) 1 and 13, these claims are substantially equivalent to apparatus claim(s) 1 and 13, because the additional feature(s) are present on any off the shelf general-purpose computer. Therefore, for at least this reason, claims 1 and 13 also stand rejected.