DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants Application filed on March 13, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 13, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the status of the related applications in paragraph 0001 needs to be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym for URL must be spelled out before use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym for HTML must be spelled out before use. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,278,876. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 14 of the present application are broader in scope and thus encompass the subject matter already claimed in allowed U.S. Patent No. 12,278,876.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odendahl (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0182424) in view of Johnson (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0272551).
As per claims 1, 8 and 14, Odendahl discloses a method, a device and one or more non-transitory computer readable media comprising:
receiving, response data from the target (i.e. server), based on a request from the client to the target (paragraph 0045 discloses receiving from a scriptable proxy server a response based on a request from a client);
receiving a subsequent request from the client associated with the resource locator (paragraphs 0045 and 0046 discloses the scriptable proxy server receiving another request from the client); and
processing the subsequent request without forwarding the subsequent request to the target (paragraphs 0045 disclose the scriptable proxy server examining the client request to determine if it includes a script request or not and if it does not process the request by the scriptable proxy server).
However, Odendahl does not explicitly disclose:
modifying, to obtain modified response data, the response data to include a resource locator that reference the target; and
transmitting the modified response data to the client.
Johnson discloses determining whether to redirect a request originally destined for a server based on uniform resource locator comprising:
modifying, to obtain modified response data, the response data to include a resource locator that reference the target (paragraphs 0038-0039 discloses modifying a URL in response to a client request); and
transmitting the modified response data to the client (paragraph 0039 discloses transmitting modified URL in response to a client request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Odendahl by incorporating or implementing modifying URLs and associated messages in order to create flags and markers a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 2, Odendahl discloses:
configuring the resource locator as a one-time use endpoint (paragraph 0040); and
invalidating the resource locator after processing the subsequent request (paragraph 0045)
As per claim 3, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the resource locator is valid only for a duration of a session between the target and the intermediary (paragraph 0040).
As per claim 4, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the resource locator comprises a relative URL interpretable by the client as being addressed to the target (paragraph 0038).
As per claim 5, Odendahl discloses the invention substantially.
However, Odendahl does not explicitly disclose:
determining whether the response data is modifiable based on a content type of the response data.
Johnson discloses determining whether to redirect a request originally destined for a server based on uniform resource locator comprising:
determining whether the response data is modifiable based on a content type of the response data (paragraph 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Odendahl by incorporating or implementing modifying URL based on HTML content for purpose of displaying the modified URL on the client display in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claims 6, Odendahl discloses the invention substantially.
However, Odendahl does not explicitly disclose:
identifying whether the content type indicates HTML content.
Johnson discloses determining whether to redirect a request originally destined for a server based on uniform resource locator comprising:
identifying whether the content type indicates HTML content (paragraph 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Odendahl by incorporating or implementing modifying URL based on HTML content for purpose of displaying the modified URL on the client display in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 7, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the subsequent request comprises performing at least one of advertisement blocking, threat protection or content customization (paragraph 0054).
As per claim 9, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the intermediary is implemented as a transparent proxy that operates without explicitly knowledge of either the client or the target (paragraphs 0045).
As per claim 12, Odendahl discloses:
generate a random endpoint that uniquely identifies the resource locator prior to modifying the response data, wherein the resource locator includes the random endpoint (paragraphs 0045 and 0046).
As per claim 13, Odendahl discloses:
validate the subsequent request by validating the random endpoint against a list of endpoints previously generated by the intermediary in association with the client (paragraphs 0045 and 0046).
As per claim 15, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the intermediary is implemented as a web browser extension executing at a computing device that implements the client (paragraph 0012).
As per claim 16, Odendahl discloses:
maintaining a list of endpoints generated by the intermediary (paragraph 0045); and validating the subsequent request by verifying the resource locator against the list of endpoints (paragraph 0046).
As per claim 17, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the resource locator includes a prefix followed by a unique identifier, wherein the prefix indicates to the intermediary that the subsequent request is to be processed by the intermediary (paragraph 0046).
As per claim 18, Odendahl discloses:
wherein the intermediary is configured to provide a well-known endpoint that includes configuration information regarding functions enabled by the intermediary (paragraph 0045).
As per claim 19, Odendahl discloses:
receiving a third request from the client directed to the target; and determining, based on absence of a proxy-handling indication in the third request, to forward the third request to the target without processing by the intermediary (paragraph 0046).
As per claim 20, Odendahl discloses:
wherein processing the subsequent request comprises redirecting the client to a warning page hosted by the intermediary when the subsequent request is associated with potentially malicious content (paragraph 0045).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odendahl (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0182424) in view of Johnson (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0272551) and in further view of Flurry et al (hereinafter, “Flurry”, U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0144277).
As per claim 10, Odendahl in view of Johnson discloses the invention substantially as claims discussed above.
However, Odendahl in view of Johnson do not explicitly disclose:
inject a script that includes the resource locator, wherein the script is configured to monitor for events triggered within the client.
Flurry discloses an enhanced port type agnostic proxy support for web services intermediaries comprising:
inject a script that includes the resource locator, wherein the script is configured to monitor for events triggered within the client (paragraphs 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Odendahl in view of Johnson by incorporating or implementing creating an endpoint to include in the message response for the purpose of processing the request from the client in a timely and efficient manner.
As per claim 11, Odendahl discloses the invention substantially.
However, Odendahl does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the script is configured to listen for at least one of: a submit event or a click event on HTML elements.
Johnson discloses determining whether to redirect a request originally destined for a server based on uniform resource locator comprising:
wherein the script is configured to listen for at least one of: a submit event or a click event on HTML elements (paragraph 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Odendahl by incorporating or implementing modifying URL based on HTML content for purpose of displaying the modified URL on the client display in a timely and efficient manner.
Conclusion
/LASHONDA JACOBS-BURTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
ljb
June 12, 2026