DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on March 13, 2025. Claims 1 – 6 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 09, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in The Republic of Japan on October 20, 2020.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 01, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments for amended claim(s) [1], with respect to the rejection of claims 1 - 6 under Rejection 35 U.S.C. § 102 and / or 35 U.S.C. § 103 are discussed below.
On page 5 of the Applicant’s response, the Applicant argues that Ikeda does not teach restricting display of an adjacent lane which is not the destination lane.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. Ikeda explicitly teaches restricting display of an adjacent lane with is not the destination lane as demonstrated in (Figs. 4 ~ process method step S104 – restricting display of an adjacent lane (prohibited lane ~ “non-possible” lane) while displaying the destination target lane change (an adjacent lane) as taught with process method step S106, Figs. 9, 10, ¶0085 ~ restricting display of the adjacent lane which is NOT the destination lane (target lane for lane change), ¶0087, ¶0091 ~ "FIG. 9 is a diagram showing another example of the screen of the display device 32... the partition line LM4 out of two partition lines for partitioning the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed, and the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed", and ¶0092 ~ "in a situation in which the automated driving control device 100 does not controllably change the lane of the host vehicle M to the adjacent lane LN3, it is possible to allow an occupant to understand that a lane change to the adjacent lane LN3 cannot be performed by restricting display of the adjacent lane LN3". See also Abstract).
On page 6 of the Applicant’s response, Ikeda does not teach helping a driver recognize the direction of a lane change during a lane change.
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion here and offers that Ikeda provides ample teaching wherein Fig. 3; Ikeda, Fig. 4; Ikeda ~ displaying the destination target lane change (an adjacent lane) as taught with process method step S106, Fig. 7, ¶0079; Ikeda ~ "acquires information of a target trajectory generated by the target trajectory generator 144", and ¶0089; Ikeda ~ "Fig. 7... showing... the screen of the display device 32... TR represents a target trajectory. In the shown example, the HMI controller 174 causes the display device 32 to further display a target trajectory TR superimposed in addition to the partition lines described in FIG. 6"). The combination of Ikeda/Hayakawa is further relied upon to display an indication indicating a direction of the lane change wherein ¶0057; Hayakawa ~ "FIG. 4A illustrates the second lane change information presented on the presentation device 15… the display... with a lane change destination of the subject vehicle Y which is displayed using a visual pattern such as an arrow, and an acceptance button"
Please see detailed rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0312151 A1 to IKEDA et al. (herein after "Hayakawa"), already of record from IDS).
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 1,
Ikeda’s vehicle display control device discloses a display system (see Fig. 1 ~ outlines a block configuration of vehicle system 1 comprising an HMI 30 having a display device 32 and ¶0041 ~ vehicle system 1 includes the display device 32) comprising:
a display device provided at an inside of a vehicle (see Fig. 1 ~ display device 32, ¶0007 ~ a display controller… displays information regarding lane changes, Abstract ~ display device); and
a processor configured to control the display device (see Fig. 17 ~ outlines hardware configuration of the automated driving control device 100,
see ¶0053 ~ automated driving control device 100 includes controllers comprising a processor, and ¶0100 ~ a CPU 100-2).
wherein when an autonomous lane change assistance of the vehicle is executed if there are adjacent lanes on both sides of a running lane of the vehicle (see Fig. 4 ~ outlines a process flow chart for execution of autonomous lane change assistance and
see ¶0083 ~ automated driving control device 100 executes processing by a behavior plan generator 140 which "determines whether a lane change to the adjacent lane can be performed on the basis of the type of partition line for partitioning both lanes between the host lane and the adjacent lane." Figs. 6 – 7 also illustrates adjacent lanes (LN1 and LN3 respectively) on both sides of a running lane L2 of the vehicle M and as further taught in ¶0087), the processor is configured to
display the running lane and a destination lane of a lane change (see Fig. 7, ¶0079 ~ "acquires information of a target trajectory generated by the target trajectory generator 144", ¶0086 ~ ” in a case where it is determined by the behavior plan generator 140 that a lane change to the adjacent lane can be performed, the HMI controller 174 causes the display device 32 to display the adjacent lane, the host lane or the like”, and ¶0089 ~ "Fig. 7... showing... the screen of the display device 32... TR represents a target trajectory. In the shown example, the HMI controller 174 causes the display device 32 to further display a target trajectory TR superimposed in addition to the partition lines described in FIG. 6") and
restrict display of an adjacent lane which is not the destination lane. (See Figs. 4 ~ process method step S104 – restricting display of an adjacent lane (prohibited lane ~ “non-possible” lane) while displaying the destination target lane change (an adjacent lane) as taught with process method step S106, Figs. 9, 10, ¶0085 ~ restricting display of the adjacent lane which is NOT the destination lane (target lane for lane change), ¶0087, ¶0091 ~ "FIG. 9 is a diagram showing another example of the screen of the display device 32... the partition line LM4 out of two partition lines for partitioning the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed, and the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed", and ¶0092 ~ "in a situation in which the automated driving control device 100 does not controllably change the lane of the host vehicle M to the adjacent lane LN3, it is possible to allow an occupant to understand that a lane change to the adjacent lane LN3 cannot be performed by restricting display of the adjacent lane LN3". See also Abstract).
As to Claim 5,
Ikeda discloses a display method performed by a computer (see Figs. 1 and 3 - 4, and ¶0041 ~ vehicle system 1 includes the display device 32), comprising:
when an autonomous lane change assistance of a vehicle is executed if there are adjacent lanes on both sides of a running lane of the vehicle (see Fig. 4 ~ outlines a process flow chart for execution of autonomous lane change assistance and ¶0083 ~ automated driving control device 100 executes processing by a behavior plan generator 140 which "determines whether a lane change to the adjacent lane can be performed on the basis of the type of partition line for partitioning both lanes between the host lane and the adjacent lane"),
controlling a display device provided at an inside of the vehicle so as to display the running lane and a destination lane of a lane change (see Figs. 3 - 4, 7, ¶0079 ~ "acquires information of a target trajectory generated by the target trajectory generator 144", and ¶0089 ~ "Fig. 7... showing... the screen of the display device 32... TR represents a target trajectory. In the shown example, the HMI controller 174 causes the display device 32 to further display a target trajectory TR superimposed in addition to the partition lines described in FIG. 6") and
restrict display of an adjacent lane which is not the destination lane. (See Figs. 9 - 10, ¶0091 ~ "FIG. 9 is a diagram showing another example of the screen of the display device 32... the partition line LM4 out of two partition lines for partitioning the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed, and the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed", and ¶0092 ~ "in a situation in which the automated driving control device 100 does not controllably change the lane of the host vehicle M to the adjacent lane LN3, it is possible to allow an occupant to understand that a lane change to the adjacent lane LN3 cannot be performed by restricting display of the adjacent lane LN3". See also Abstract).
As to Claim 6,
Ikeda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one of more instructions which when executed by a computer (see at least Figs. 1,17, and ¶0014 ~ a computer readable non-transitory storage medium) cause the computer to perform:
when an autonomous lane change assistance of a vehicle is executed if there are adjacent lanes on both sides of a running lane of the vehicle (see at least Fig. 4 ~ outlines a process flow chart for execution of autonomous lane change assistance and ¶0083 ~ automated driving control device 100 executes processing by a behavior plan generator 140 which "determines whether a lane change to the adjacent lane can be performed on the basis of the type of partition line for partitioning both lanes between the host lane and the adjacent lane"),
controlling a display device provided at an inside of the vehicle so as to display the running lane and a destination lane of a lane change (see at least Figs. 3 - 4, 7, ¶0079 ~ "acquires information of a target trajectory generated by the target trajectory generator 144", and ¶0089 ~ "Fig. 7... showing... the screen of the display device 32... TR represents a target trajectory. In the shown example, the HMI controller 174 causes the display device 32 to further display a target trajectory TR superimposed in addition to the partition lines described in FIG. 6") and
restrict display of an adjacent lane which is not the destination lane. (See at least Figs. 9 - 10, ¶0091 ~ "FIG. 9 is a diagram showing another example of the screen of the display device 32... the partition line LM4 out of two partition lines for partitioning the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed, and the adjacent lane LN3 is not displayed", and ¶0092 ~ "in a situation in which the automated driving control device 100 does not controllably change the lane of the host vehicle M to the adjacent lane LN3, it is possible to allow an occupant to understand that a lane change to the adjacent lane LN3 cannot be performed by restricting display of the adjacent lane LN3". See also Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0312151 A1 to IKEDA et al. (herein after "Hayakawa"), already of record from IDS) as to claim 1 above, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0237739 A1 to HAYAKAWA et al. (herein after "Hayakawa").
As to Claim 2,
As shown above, Ikeda’s vehicle display control device discloses the display system according to claim 1 (see Figs. 1, 3 - 4, ¶0041, and ¶0091 - ¶0092; Ikeda), but is silent in disclosing wherein the display displays an indication indicating a direction of the lane change.
On the other hand, Hayakawa’s vehicle control device displaying an indication indicating a direction of the lane change. (See ¶0057; Hayakawa ~ "FIG. 4A illustrates the second lane change information presented on the presentation device 15… the display... with a lane change destination of the subject vehicle Y which is displayed using a visual pattern such as an arrow, and an acceptance button").
To that end, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ikeda’s vehicle display control device with the visual lane change indicator, as taught by Hayakawa to provide timely visual cues, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: safer, more reliable autonomous lane changes.
As to Claim 3,
Ikeda/ Hayakawa discloses the display system according to claim 2,
wherein the indication is an arrow. (See Fig. 4A and ¶0057; Hayakawa).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0312151 A1 to IKEDA et al. (herein after "Hayakawa"), already of record from IDS) as to claim 1 above, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2023/0150540 A1 to KIM et al. (herein after "Kim").
As to Claim 4,
As shown above, Ikeda’s vehicle display control device discloses the display system according to claim 1 (see Figs. 1, 3 - 4, ¶0041, and ¶0091 - ¶0092; Ikeda), but is silent in disclosing wherein is configured to
keep displaying the destination lane while the autonomous lane change assistance is being executed, regardless of a speed of the vehicle.
Conversely, Kim’s route providing device discloses keep displaying the destination lane while the autonomous lane change assistance is being executed, regardless of a speed of the vehicle. (See ¶0030 ~ " the processor may output information inquiring whether to change to a second lane on a display of the vehicle when there is the second lane in which the vehicle can travel at the set speed" and ¶0610 ~ "When it is determined based on the autonomous driving visibility information that there is the second lane in which the vehicle can keep traveling at the set speed, the processor 830 may control the vehicle to change a lane to the second lane while traveling at the set speed (S1540)).
Consequently, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ikeda’s vehicle display control device with the vehicle speed maintenance display functionality, as taught by Kim to provide vehicle speed pacing through the lane change maneuver, thereby enabling benefits, including but not limited to: safer, more reliable autonomous lane changes and mitigated traffic merging congestions and/or stutters.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY L REDHEAD JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661