Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: RF TEST SYSTEM WITH WAVEFORM-BASED SEPARATION OF MERGED REFERENCE AND MEASUREMENT SIGNALS.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The Abstract recites “A analysis signal path”. Applicant is required to amend A analysis signal path to An analysis signal path. Paragraph [0071] incorrectly recites that the measurement signal travels along the second signal path (22). Reference numeral (22) identifies the first signal path, whereas reference numeral (24) identifies the second signal path. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to because the claim initially introduces “a signal analysis circuit” but subsequently recites wherein “the analysis circuit” is configured to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal. For consistency in the claim language, analysis circuit should be amended to signal analysis circuit.
Claim 14 is objected to because it recites at least a second port while depending directly from claim 1, which does not introduce a first port. If the second port is intended to be an additional port relative to the first port of claim 12, claim 14 should be amended to depend from claim 12.
Claim 15 is objected to because test and or measurement system should be amended to test and/or measurement system.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0069140 A1, in view of Weill, U.S. Patent No. 6,370,207 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Verma teaches a test and/or measurement system (production test system, see [0008]); a signal generator circuit configured to generate an RF signal (signal generator 60, see [0043]); an output signal path connected to the signal generator circuit and connectable to a device under test (path extending through first coupler 140, first output 141, first connector 120, and socket 10, see [0042]); a signal analysis circuit (RF meter 50 and controller 80, see [0026]); a first signal path connected to the signal generator circuit so as to receive a reference signal corresponding to the RF signal (second output 142 of first coupler 140, see [0044]); a second signal path connectable to the device under test so as to receive a measurement signal from the device under test, wherein the measurement signal corresponds to the RF signal (path extending through second connector 130, second coupler 150, and first output 151, see [0043]); and an analysis signal path connected to both the first signal path and the second signal path (common selected signal path extending from switch 40 to RF meter 50, see [0025]), such that the reference signal and the measurement signal are merged into the analysis signal path, thereby obtaining an analysis signal (reference signal and measurement signal consecutively forwarded through switch 40 to the same RF meter 50, see [0044]); the signal analysis circuit analyzes the analysis signal, thereby obtaining analysis data (controller 80 determines the input power, output power, and gain of the device under test based on measurements from RF meter 50, see [0044]).
Verma does not teach that the RF signal is a modulated RF signal generated based on a predefined waveform or that the signal analysis circuit is configured to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal for analyzing the analysis signal based on the predefined waveform.
Weill teaches the RF signal is a modulated RF signal generated based on a predefined waveform or that the signal analysis circuit is configured to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal for analyzing the analysis signal based on the predefined waveform (a signal generator circuit configured to generate a modulated RF signal based on a predefined waveform transmitted signal modulated by a known pseudo-noise-coded cyclical waveform, see column 3, lines 44–50, wherein an analysis signal containing a reference signal and a delayed measurement signal having the same predefined modulation waveform, see column 6, lines 26–54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Verma by generating the RF test signal using the predefined modulated waveform taught by Weill and configuring Verma’s signal analysis circuit to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal based on the predefined waveform, because Weill teaches that a priori knowledge of the modulation waveform permits direct and delayed signal components to be identified through cross-correlation with delayed replicas of the known waveform, thereby enabling reliable separation and analysis of the signal components using a common receiver (see column 7, lines 25–54).
Regarding claim 2, Regarding claim 2, Verma teaches the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, including a signal analysis circuit configured to receive and analyze the reference signal and measurement signal forwarded through the common analysis signal path (RF meter 50 and controller 80, see [0044]).
Verma does not teach that the signal analysis circuit is configured to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal based on a group delay difference between the reference signal and the measurement signal.
Weill teaches a reference signal and measurement signal having different group delays (direct and reflected signal components having different propagation delays, see column 6, lines 42–50). Weill further teaches separating the reference signal from the measurement signal based on the group delay difference (cross-correlating the received signal with delayed replicas of the predefined waveform to estimate the respective signal delays, see column 7, lines 25–37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Verma’s signal analysis circuit to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal based on their group delay difference, as taught by Weill, because Weill teaches that cross-correlating a received signal with delayed replicas of a known modulation waveform permits the respective signal delays to be estimated and distinguished, thereby improving separation of direct and delayed signal components (see Weil’s column 7, lines 25–54).
Regarding claim 3, Verma teaches the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, including a first signal path carrying the reference signal (path extending from second output 142 of first coupler 140 to switch 40, see [0042]) and a second signal path carrying the measurement signal from the device under test (path extending through second connector 130, second coupler 150, and first output 151 to switch 40, see [0042]).
Verma does not expressly teach that the first signal path has a different electrical length compared to the second signal path.
Weill teaches a first signal path having a different electrical length compared to a second signal path (direct propagation path and reflected propagation path having different propagation distances and corresponding propagation delays, see column 6, lines 42–50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Verma’s signal analysis circuit to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal based on their group delay difference, as taught by Weill, because Weill teaches that cross-correlating a received signal with delayed replicas of a known modulation waveform permits the respective signal delays to be estimated and distinguished, thereby improving separation of direct and delayed signal components (see column 7, lines 25–54).
Regarding claim 4, Verma teaches the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, including a signal analysis circuit configured to measure an amplitude difference between the reference signal and the measurement signal (RF meter 50 measures the amplitude or power of an incoming signal, see [0024]).
Verma does not teach that the signal analysis circuit is configured to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal based on the amplitude difference between the reference signal and the measurement signal.
Weill teaches separating signal components based on an amplitude difference between the signal components (estimation of the signal components using their respective amplitude parameters and amplitude constraints, see column 9, lines 28–48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Verma’s signal analysis circuit to separate the reference signal from the measurement signal based on their amplitude difference, as taught by Weill, because Weill teaches that a reflected signal generally has a lower relative amplitude than the corresponding direct signal, thereby providing a distinguishable signal characteristic for identifying and separating the signal components (see column 6, lines 42–50).
Regarding claim 5, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, wherein Verma further teaches a first coupling circuit configured to couple the modulated RF signal from the output signal path into the first signal path (first coupler 140 couples the RF signal from signal generator 60 into second output 142 leading to switch 40 and RF meter 50, see [0042], thereby obtaining the reference signal).
Regarding claim 6, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 5, wherein Verma further teaches that the first coupling circuit comprises a first directive element (first coupler 140, see [0042]); the first directive element is connected to the output signal path and to the first signal path (first coupler 140 is connected between signal generator 60, first output 141, and second output 142, see [0043]); and the first directive element is configured to couple the modulated RF signal from the output signal path into the first signal path, thereby obtaining the reference signal (first coupler 140 supplies the RF signal through second output 142, see [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 5, wherein Verma further teaches that the first coupling circuit comprises a second directive element (switch or multiplexer 40, see [0025]); the second directive element is connected to the first signal path and to the analysis signal path (switch 40 is connected between second output 142 and the common signal path leading to RF meter 50, see [0042]); and the second directive element is configured to couple the reference signal into the analysis signal path (switch 40 selects second output 142 and forwards the reference signal to RF meter 50, see [0044]).
Regarding claim 8, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, wherein Verma further teaches a switching circuit (switch 40, see [0025]); the switching circuit is connected to the first signal path, the second signal path, and the analysis signal path (switch 40 is connected to second output 142, first output 151, and the common signal path leading to RF meter 50, see [0042]); and the switching circuit is configured to selectively forward the reference signal or the measurement signal to the analysis signal path (switch 40 selectively forwards the signal from second output 142 or first output 151 to RF meter 50, see [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, wherein Verma further teaches a second coupling circuit (second coupler 150, see [0042]); and the second coupling circuit is configured to couple the measurement signal into the second signal path and into the analysis signal path (second coupler 150 couples the output signal of the device under test through first output 151 to switch 40, see [0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Verma teaches the test and/or measurement system of claim 9, wherein the second coupling circuit comprises a third directive element (second coupler 150, see [0042]); the third directive element is connected to a signal path associated with the device under test and to the second signal path (second coupler 150 is connected between second connector 130 and first output 151, see [0042]); and the third directive element is configured to couple a signal from the device under test into the second signal path (second coupler 150 couples the output signal of the device under test through first output 151, see [0043]).
Verma does not teach that the third directive element is connected to the output signal path and to the second signal path and is configured to couple a signal reflected by the device under test into the second signal path, wherein the reflected signal is the measurement signal.
Weill teaches a signal reflected through an additional propagation path, wherein the reflected signal corresponds to the transmitted modulated RF signal and constitutes a measurement signal having a distinguishable amplitude and propagation delay (reflected signal component corresponding to the transmitted signal, see column 6, lines 26–50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Verma by connecting a directive element to the output signal path and the second signal path to couple a signal reflected by the device under test into the second signal path, as taught by Weill, because Weill teaches that reflected versions of a transmitted modulated signal are received as measurable signal components having distinguishable amplitude, phase, and propagation-delay characteristics, thereby permitting the reflected measurement signal to be identified and analyzed separately from the reference signal (see column 6, lines 26–50).
Regarding claim 11, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, wherein Verma further teaches that the second signal path and the analysis signal path are formed as a single signal line (selection of first output 151 by switch 40 establishes a continuous selected signal path from second coupler 150 through switch 40 to RF meter 50, see [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, wherein Verma further teaches a first port (first connector 120, see [0042]); the output signal path connects the signal generator circuit to the first port (signal generator 60 is connected through first coupler 140 and first output 141 to first connector 120, see [0042]); and the first port is connectable to the device under test (first connector 120 is connected through second lead 121 to the device under test, see [0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 12, wherein Verma further teaches that the first port is connectable to an input of the device under test (first connector 120 is connected through second lead 121 to the input of the device under test, see [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 1, wherein Verma further teaches at least a second port (second connector 130, see [0042]); and the second port is connectable to the device under test (second connector 130 is connected through second lead 131 to the device under test, see [0042]).
Regarding claim 15, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 14, wherein Verma further teaches that the second port is connectable to an output of the device under test (second connector 130 is connected through second lead 131 to the output of the device under test, see [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 14, wherein Verma further teaches that the measurement signal is an output signal of the device under test corresponding to the modulated RF signal (device under test receives the RF signal generated by signal generator 60 and produces a corresponding output signal that is forwarded to RF meter 50, see [0043]).
Regarding claim 17, Verma in view of Weill discloses the test and/or measurement system of claim 14, wherein Verma further teaches that the second signal path is connected to the second port (second signal path extends from second connector 130 through first lead 132, second coupler 150, and first output 151 to switch 40, see [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Verma teaches the test and/or measurement system of claim 3, including a first signal path carrying the reference signal (path extending from second output 142 of first coupler 140 to switch 40, see [0042]) and a second signal path carrying the measurement signal from the device under test (path extending through second connector 130, second coupler 150, and first output 151 to switch 40, see [0042]).
Verma does not expressly teach that the first signal path is electrically shorter than the second signal path.
Weill teaches that the first signal path is electrically shorter than the second signal path (direct signal path travels a shorter propagation distance than the reflected signal path, see column 6, lines 42–50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Verma by making the first signal path electrically shorter than the second signal path, as taught by Weill, because Weill teaches that a reflected signal traveling through a longer propagation path necessarily has a positive additional delay relative to a signal traveling through a shorter direct path, thereby establishing a predictable arrival order and facilitating separation of the reference signal from the measurement signal (see column 6, lines 42–50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2022/0294542 A1 to Song et al. disclose a measuring device may include: a signal generator for generating a test signal; and a measurement control unit that inputs the generated test signal to a radio frequency (RF) chain including at least one circuit element, detects output signals of a first diode, a second diode, and a third diode which receive, as input signals, signals generated on the basis of a coupled signal for an input test signal of a circuit element of the at least one circuit element and a coupled signal for an output test signal of the circuit element, and measures an S-parameter for the circuit element on the basis of a component signal of the third frequency in the output signal of the first diode, a component signal of the third frequency in the output signal of the third diode, and the output signal of the second diode.
U.S. 2019/0369158 A1 to Murao discloses a conventional high-frequency measurement method, it is difficult to accurately grasp variation in high-frequency performance when a high-frequency signal is input to an amplifier. One aspect of a high-frequency measurement method according to the present invention includes generating a test signal (TS), which is a sine-wave signal having a predetermined frequency, in which a period (τ) during which the power level is at a first power level and a period (T-τ) during which the power level is at a second power level lower than the first power level are periodically repeated, inputting the test signal (TS) to a device under test (10) as an input signal, and measuring the difference between an output signal (OUT) of the device under test (10) and an ideal value of the output signal (OUT).
U.S. 2023/0075278 A1 to Chen et al. disclose in Fig. 1 a signal measurement apparatus sending a measuring signal from two measuring ports, where a frequency of the measuring signal belongs to a frequency domain. A signal converter (30) includes two passive mixers coupled between two ports and configured as bidirectional. The mixers convert a signal received from the ports to another frequency domain, respectively and output from two ports, respectively. A controller controls a range of the latter frequency domain and reads measurement data from the apparatus. A storage medium e.g. RAM, is coupled to the controller. A calibration kit is electrically connected to the converter.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 8/21/2026