DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medford, publication number: US 2007/0192789 in view of Ma, publication number: US 2014/0150019.
As per claim 1, Medford teaches a transmitting method for transmitting a first stream related to first content including a first image, and a second stream related to second content including a second image, the transmitting method comprising:
transmitting the first content, content management information about the first
content, and time information about the first content (video stream with ad insertion information, [0046-0047]);
transmitting the second stream to cause a receiver to reproduce the second
content during a reproduction period of the first content (transmitting local ads via a multicast stream, [0047]);
transmitting content management information about the second content and time
information about the second content (indicating end of an avail,[0044], Ad location IP address, [0045]); and
transmitting time information for resuming reproduction of the first content, after
the second content is reproduced (resuming media stream after the avail, [0036]).
Medford does not teach content management information including information related to a resolution of the first content.
In an analogous art, Ma teaches content management information including information related to a resolution of the first content (matching resolutions for a main stream and an advertisement, [0014][0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify Medford’s advertisement insertion system to include matching stream resolution as described in Ma’s ad insertion system for the advantage of having visual continuity in the combined stream.
As per claim 2, Medford teaches a receiving method for receiving a first stream related to first content including a first image, and a second stream related to second content including a second image, the receiving method comprising:
receiving content management information about the first content,
and time information about the first content (video stream with ad insertion information, [0046-0047]);
receiving the second stream to cause the second content to be reproduced during a reproduction period of the first content (transmitting local ads via a multicast stream, [0047]);
receiving content management information about the second content and time
information about the second content (indicating end of an avail,[0044], Ad location IP address, [0045]);
receiving time information for resuming reproduction of the first content, after the
second content is reproduced (resuming media stream after the avail, [0036]); and
reproducing the second content during the reproduction period of the first content (advertisement between first and second portion of the stream, [0046]).
Medford does not teach content management information including information related to a resolution of the first content.
In an analogous art, Ma teaches content management information including information related to a resolution of the first content (matching resolutions for a main stream and an advertisement, [0014][0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify Medford’s advertisement insertion system to include matching stream resolution as described in Ma’s ad insertion system for the advantage of having visual continuity in the combined stream.
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494