DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137.
In regard to claim 1, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses an electronic device to which a cooling device is detachably attachable, the electronic device comprising:
an electronic component (see figure 9, element 95) as a heat source (see para 60-61);
a heat dissipation member (see figure 9, element 40 having thermal conductivity (see para 61); and
a first heat transfer member (see figure 9, element 38) configured to thermally connect the electronic component and the heat dissipation member (see para 52 and 63),
wherein a heat receiving member (see figure 4, element 81) of the cooling device and the heat dissipation member are thermally connected in a case (see figure 9, element 36) where the cooling device is attached to the electronic device (see para 68).
In regard to claim 2, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the cooling device is attachable to a bottom surface of the electronic device, and wherein a portion of the heat dissipation member can be exposed from an exterior member (see figure 9, element 137) constituting a portion of the bottom surface in a case where the cooling device is attached to the bottom surface of the electronic device (see figure 9, the cooling device 25 is attached to the bottom of the camera 2 when the device is viewed rotated 90 degrees).
In regard to claim 3, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 2, further comprising a lid member (see figure 18, element 142) that is attachable to and detachable from the exterior member, wherein the heat dissipation member is not exposed from the exterior member in attaching the lid member to the exterior member, and the portion of the heat dissipation member is exposed from the exterior member in detaching the lid member from the exterior member (see figure 17 and 18 and para 97-98).
In regard to claim 4, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the cooling device is attachable to a rear surface of the electronic device (see figure 17), and wherein a portion of the heat dissipation member can be exposed from an exterior member (see figure 17, element 137) constituting a portion of the rear surface in a case where the cooling device is attached to the rear surface of the electronic device (see para 97-98).
In regard to claim 5, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 4, further comprising a display unit (see figure 17, element 18) movable between a position overlapping the rear surface and a position not overlapping the rear surface (see para 97), wherein the portion of the heat dissipation member is not exposed when the display unit is in the position overlapping the rear surface, and the portion of the heat dissipation member is exposed when the display unit is in the position not overlapping the rear surface (see figure 17 and 18 and para 97-98).
In regard to claim 8, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a main construction constituting a main body (see figure 1, element 10) of the electronic device other than the heat dissipation member (see para 40); and
a second heat transfer member (see figure 4, element 64) configured to thermally connect the heat dissipation member and the main construction (see para 50).
In regard to claim 10, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic component includes an image sensor (see figure 1, element 12) that converts an optical image into an image signal (see para 40).
In regard to claim 11, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device is an image capturing apparatus (see figure 4, element 2 and para 40).
In regard to claim 12, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses a cooling device that is detachably attachable to an electronic device, the cooling device comprising:
a heat receiving member (see figure 1, element 81) partially exposed from an exterior member constituting an exterior of the cooling device (see para 54); and
a containment vessel (see figure 4, element 40) configured to store a thermal diffuser and a refrigerant (see para 52-55);
wherein the heat receiving member and the thermal diffuser are thermally connected to each other, and the thermal diffuser and the refrigerant are thermally connected to each other (see para 68), and
wherein a heat dissipation member included in the electronic device and the heat receiving member are thermally connected to each other in a case where the cooling device is attached to the electronic device (see para 63-68).
In regard to claim 15, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the cooling device according to claim 12, wherein the thermal diffuser includes a plurality of fins (see figure 4, element 81) for transferring heat to the refrigerant (see para 54-59).
In regard to claim 16, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the cooling device according to claim 12, further comprising a cooling unit (see figure 4, element 38) configured to cool the refrigerant (see para 51-54).
In regard to claim 17, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the refrigeration device according to claim 12, further comprising a convection unit (see figure 4, element 38) configured to cause convection of the refrigerant in the containment vessel (see para 51-54).
In regard to claim 18, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses an electronic device system comprising:
an electronic device (see figure 9, element 2) comprising:
an electronic component (see figure 9, element 95) as a heat source (see para 60-61);
a heat dissipation member (see figure 9, element 40 having thermal conductivity (see para 61); and
a first heat transfer member (see figure 9, element 38) configured to thermally connect the electronic component and the heat dissipation member (see para 52 and 63), and
a cooling device (see figure 4, element 25) that is detachably attachable to the electronic device, the cooling device comprising:
a heat receiving member (see figure 1, element 81) partially exposed from an exterior member constituting an exterior of the cooling device (see para 54); and
a containment vessel (see figure 4, element 40) configured to store a thermal diffuser and a refrigerant (see para 52-55);
wherein the heat receiving member and the thermal diffuser are thermally connected to each other, and the thermal diffuser and the refrigerant are thermally connected to each other (see para 68), and
wherein the heat dissipation member of the electronic device and the heat receiving member of the cooling device are thermally connected to each other in a case where the cooling device is attached to the electronic device (see para 63-68).
wherein a heat receiving member (see figure 4, element 81) of the cooling device and the heat dissipation member are thermally connected in a case (see figure 9, element 36) where the cooling device is attached to the electronic device (see para 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Misawa, JP 2006094382, as cited in the IDS filed 9/16/25.
In regard to claim 6, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses the electronic device according to claim 1. The Suzuki reference does not specifically disclose wherein a portion of the heat dissipation member is exposed in a battery chamber that houses a battery, and wherein the heat dissipation member and the heat receiving member are thermally connected in the battery chamber in a state where the cooling device is attached.
Misawa, JP 2006094382, discloses an electronic device with a cooling member 47 in a battery chamber, wherein the wherein the heat dissipation member and the heat receiving member are thermally connected in the battery chamber in a state where the cooling device is attached (see abstract and figures 1 and 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to have been motivated to modify Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Misawa, JP 2006094382, wherein a portion of the heat dissipation member is exposed in a battery chamber that houses a battery, and wherein the heat dissipation member and the heat receiving member are thermally connected in the battery chamber in a state where the cooling device is attached, in order to quickly and easily connect the devices for cooling.
In regard to claim 7, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Misawa, JP 2006094382, discloses the electronic device according to claim 6. The Misawa reference discloses wherein a portion of the cooling device including the heat receiving member is inserted into the battery chamber when the cooling device is attached to the electronic device (see figure 2B).
In regard to claim 13, since Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Misawa, JP 2006094382, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 6, the cooling device of claim 13 (see claim 6 above).
In regard to claim 14, since Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Misawa, JP 2006094382, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 7, the cooling device of claim 14 (see claim 7 above).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Yahashita, US 2023/0280639.
In regard to claim 9, Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, discloses an electronic device according to claim 1. The Suzuki reference does not specifically disclose further comprising a tripod mount, wherein the cooling device is attached to the electronic device by screwing a screw of the cooling device into the tripod mount.
Yamashita, US 2023/0280639, discloses an electronic device (see figure 1A, element 2) with a cooling device (see figure 1A, element 3) attached, wherein the cooling device is attached to the electronic device by screwing a screw (see figure 3, element 311) of the cooling device into the tripod mount (see figure 2A, element 237) (see para 31-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to have been motivated to modify Watanabe et al., US 2023/0418137, in view of Yamashita, US 2023/0280639, to have a tripod mount, wherein the cooling device is attached to the electronic device by screwing a screw of the cooling device into the tripod mount, in order to quickly and easily connect the devices for cooling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0368082, discloses an electronic device with a cooling unit attached. US 2021/0289110, discloses an imaging device with a cooling structure. US 2020/0288048, discloses an electronic system with a camera body and a cooling device.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs