DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
On 6/9/26, Applicant did not amend the claims. Rather, Applicant presented Remarks. On page 10, Applicant states that the prior art does not render obvious, “after the period of time, causing, by the one or more processors, the digital content from the one or more storage devices to be deleted”. Examiner notes that a 103 rejection was made an obviousness statement for this particular feature.
And, Vakil renders obvious this feature.
Vakil discloses causing, by the one or more processors, the digital content to be served for a period of time to one or more computing devices targeted according to the parameter values (see generate and campaign and natural language prompt at [46] and for period of time see duration which reads on period of time “[46]… The generative AI module 520 can then collectively generate contextually relevant, shareable taglines, textual content, and images representing specific promotional content for an offer that is to be shared via various preferred channels throughout the campaign's duration.”). Vakil does not explicitly disclose and after the period of time, causing, by the one or more processors, the digital content from the one or more storage devices to be deleted. However, Vakil discloses the content is only provided for a duration or limited period (“[46]… The generative AI module 520 can then collectively generate contextually relevant, shareable taglines, textual content, and images representing specific promotional content for an offer that is to be shared via various preferred channels throughout the campaign's duration.”). And, Vakil also discloses that data can only be stored for short periods (“[67]… Non-transitory CRM may refer to a CRM that stores data for short periods or in the presence of power such as a memory device or Random Access Memory (RAM). For example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium may include storage components, such as, a hard disk (e.g., a magnetic disk, an optical disk, a magneto-optic disk, and/or a solid state disk), a compact disc (CD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), a floppy disk, a cartridge, and/or a magnetic tape.). Note in this citation from Vakil [67] that storing data for short periods refers to RAM and also hard disks. Vakil further discloses that lower amounts of data leads to “reduced memory usage by the system” (“[11]… there can be significantly reduced memory usage by the system, since the customer base will be reduced to a fewer number of groups,” and also [26]). Vakil further discloses removing no longer needed data/content in order to optimize performance (see remove/removing at [39, 41]) and also “[55]… reducing cumbersome processes and enhancing efficiency for both an organization and its clients”. Examiner notes that these references Vakil [39, 41] show that removing data is generally done to optimize performance. And, Vakil [55] shows the general goal of enhancing efficiency for an organization and clients. Hence, Vakil shows the campaign providing content has a limited duration and that content is stored in memory for short periods and that reducing memory usage by the system is good and that con longer needed data/content can be removed and that the system should be optimized for efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add Vakil’s data stored for short periods and Vakil’s reducing memory usage and Vakil’s removing data/content to Vakil’s content displayed for a duration such that no longer needed content can be deleted/removed. One would have been motivated to do this in order to optimize performance [41] and for “[55]… reducing cumbersome processes and enhancing efficiency for both an organization and its clients” or reducing memory usage [11].
Hence, this features is rendered obvious.
Also, in regards to dependent claim 2, see the rejection of claim 2 and the added explanations there.
Also, the 101 is still found to apply. The use of a generative model is considered generic. No additional elements beyond the generic are found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Independent Claims 1, 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are in a statutory category of invention. However, the claims recite receiving, , a base object description and parameter values for one or more targeting parameters; obtaining, , based on the base object description and the parameter values, a natural language prompt for generate content from natural language prompts; storing, the natural language prompt; processing, , the natural language prompt to generate content; causing, the content to be served for a period of time targeted according to the parameter values; and after the period of time, causing, , the content to be deleted. This is considered in the Abstract Idea grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity - advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim is directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements. The additional elements are considered by one or more processors, a generative model trained to, in one or more storage devices in communication with the one or more processors, digital content, to one or more computing devices. These are considered generic. Also, the machine learning is considered generic as it operates at a high and generic level without technical specifics. The use of a generative model is considered generic. No additional elements beyond the generic are found. The generically recited computer elements do not add a practical application or meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitations only perform well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). Also, the additional hardware elements are: (i) mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, and/or (ii) recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions. Viewed separately or as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim does not provide significantly more than the identified abstract idea, in that there is no improvement to another technology or technical field, no improvement to the functioning of a computer, no application with, or by use of a particular machine, no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, no specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routing and conventional in the field, no unconventional step that confines the claim to a particular useful application, or meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, 20 are not considered directed to any additional non-abstract claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above. The machine learning is considered generic as it operates at a high and generic level without technical specifics. The dependent claims are not presently found to provide details to go past generic machine learning. While these descriptive elements may provide further helpful description for the claimed invention, these elements do not confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not more than the abstract concepts identified in the claimed invention. Hence, these dependent claims are also rejected under 101.
Please see the 35 USC 101 section at the Examination Guidance and Training Materials page on the USPTO website.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vakil (20240370898).
Claims 1, 10, 19. Vakil discloses a method for serving digital content, comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a base object description and parameter values for one or more targeting parameters (see target and campaign and [46, 47], note product at [54]);
obtaining, by the one or more processors, based on the base object description and the parameter values, a natural language prompt for a generative model trained to generate content from natural language prompts (see generate and campaign and natural language prompt at [46, 45]);
storing, by the one or more processors, the natural language prompt in one or more storage devices in communication with the one or more processors (see generate and campaign and natural language prompt at [46]);
processing, by the one or more processors, the natural language prompt through the generative model to generate digital content (see generate and campaign and natural language prompt at [46]).
Vakil further discloses causing, by the one or more processors, the digital content to be served for a period of time to one or more computing devices targeted according to the parameter values (see generate and campaign and natural language prompt at [46] and for period of time see duration which reads on period of time “[46]… The generative AI module 520 can then collectively generate contextually relevant, shareable taglines, textual content, and images representing specific promotional content for an offer that is to be shared via various preferred channels throughout the campaign's duration.”). Vakil does not explicitly disclose and after the period of time, causing, by the one or more processors, the digital content from the one or more storage devices to be deleted. However, Vakil discloses the content is only provided for a duration or limited period (“[46]… The generative AI module 520 can then collectively generate contextually relevant, shareable taglines, textual content, and images representing specific promotional content for an offer that is to be shared via various preferred channels throughout the campaign's duration.”). And, Vakil also discloses that data can only be stored for short periods (“[67]… Non-transitory CRM may refer to a CRM that stores data for short periods or in the presence of power such as a memory device or Random Access Memory (RAM). For example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium may include storage components, such as, a hard disk (e.g., a magnetic disk, an optical disk, a magneto-optic disk, and/or a solid state disk), a compact disc (CD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), a floppy disk, a cartridge, and/or a magnetic tape.). Note in this citation from Vakil [67] that storing data for short periods refers to RAM and also hard disks. Vakil further discloses that lower amounts of data leads to “reduced memory usage by the system” (“[11]… there can be significantly reduced memory usage by the system, since the customer base will be reduced to a fewer number of groups,” and also [26]). Vakil further discloses removing no longer needed data/content in order to optimize performance (see remove/removing at [39, 41]) and also “[55]… reducing cumbersome processes and enhancing efficiency for both an organization and its clients”. Examiner notes that these references Vakil [39, 41] show that removing data is generally done to optimize performance. And, Vakil [55] shows the general goal of enhancing efficiency for an organization and clients. Hence, Vakil shows the campaign providing content has a limited duration and that content is stored in memory for short periods and that reducing memory usage by the system is good and that con longer needed data/content can be removed and that the system should be optimized for efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add Vakil’s data stored for short periods and Vakil’s reducing memory usage and Vakil’s removing data/content to Vakil’s content displayed for a duration such that no longer needed content can be deleted/removed. One would have been motivated to do this in order to optimize performance [41] and for “[55]… reducing cumbersome processes and enhancing efficiency for both an organization and its clients” or reducing memory usage [11].
Claim 2, 11, 20. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the natural language prompt comprises: determining, by the one or more processors, whether the one or more storage devices store a natural language prompt generated from a respective base object description and respective parameter values within a threshold measure of similarity to the base object description and the parameter values; and in response to determining that the one or more storage devices store the natural language prompt generated from the respective base object description and the respective parameter values, retrieving the natural language prompt from the one or more storage devices (see generate content based on previous campaign and natural language prompt at [46], note that responses to previous campaigns are used, note that the historical data is curated before being used; also see threshold values for rules at [15, 32] so it is interpreted that threshold values are used throughout the disclosure whenever rules are also used; and similar campaigns at [32] so the data is used based on it being of a similar/relevant data; also see using past data and history for future similar campaigns “[54]… The insights gained during each cycle can then be maintained in the repository and used not only in subsequent cycles of the same campaign, but in future campaigns with similar objectives.”; also note similar and rules and analysis at [12, 13] and claim 1, and these rules can have thresholds, see rules and thresholds at [15, 32]; So, it is interpreted that historical data from responses and natural language prompts are used in a rules based analysis when that data is found to be similar, and these rules and similar analysis are rules based so subject to a threshold/constraints, hence, Vakil further discloses these features).
Claim 3, 12. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, by the one or more processors, differences between (i) the base object description and the parameter values and (ii) the respective base object description and the respective parameter values used in generating the stored natural language prompt (see curated the historical campaign data at [46]).
Claim 4, 13. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising modifying, by the one or more processors, the retrieved natural language prompt in accordance with the identified differences between the received base object description and the parameter values and the respective base object description and parameter values used to generate the received natural language prompt (see natural language prompt and curate the historical campaign data at [46]).
Claim 5, 14. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein receiving the natural language prompt comprises: determining, by the one or more processors, whether the one or more storage devices store a natural language prompt generated from a respective base object description and respective parameter values within a threshold measure of similarity to the base object description and the parameter values (see generate content based on previous campaign and natural language prompt at [46]; also see similar and product at [22] also see threshold values for rules at [15, 32] and similar campaigns at [32]). Vakil does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the one or more storage devices do not store the natural language prompt generated from the respective base object description and the respective parameter values, generating the natural language prompt from the base object description and the parameter values. However, Vakil discloses using natural language prompts [46, 45] and guided generative Ai with guide input for AI generation [29]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add Vakil’s natural language prompts to Vakil’s guided inputs for AI generation so that natural language prompts can be used to guide the AI generation. One would have been motivated to do this in order to better “[29]… tailored and hyper-targeted for the given scenario/customer to best sustain the customer's engagement.”.
Claim 6, 15. Vakil further discloses the method of claim1, wherein the generative model is trained to generate the same output in response to the same input prompts (see predefined rules and constraints at [15]).
Claim 7,16. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the base object description comprises at least one of a name of the base object, a natural language description of the base object, or data modeling characteristics of the base object (see [46] and historical campaign).
Claim 8, 17. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the base objection description comprises data corresponding to one or more modalities, the one or more modalities comprising at least one of video, audio, image, text, or multi-dimensional model (see any type of graphic element at [47], see asset and content and video or audio at [65]; see different presentation modes at [54, 56]).
Claim 9, 18. Vakil further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the generative model comprises one or more modality-specific encoders for encoding data comprising multiple modalities (see encoder at [46] and different presentation modes at [54, 56]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) West [40], Lohiya disclose natural language prompts and generating content for campaigns.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARTHUR DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622 7/23/26