DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 13, 2025, and July 18, 2025, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohara et al. (JP 2015136896 A), hereinafter Ohara. Textual references to Ohara are drawn from the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Ohara teaches an image forming apparatus, comprising: an ejection portion which ejects ink toward a conveyed sheet (fig. 1; ink head 2, sheet 3, conveyance path 8; ¶[0017]-[0019]);
an acquisition processing portion which acquires, when duplex image forming processing for forming images on a first surface and second surface of the sheet using the ejection portion is executed, adherence amount information related to an adherence amount of the ink by the image formation for each of a plurality of specific areas preset in an image forming area on the first surface of the sheet (figs. 4, 10; control unit 100, image formation control unit 110, curling amount calculation unit 150, holding time calculation unit 160, print information 210, paper information 220, print mode information 230, image information 240; equations 1-12; ¶[0036]-[0043], [0075]-[0083]);
a setting processing portion which sets a stop time during which conveyance of the sheet is stopped, based on a plurality of pieces of the adherence amount information acquired by the acquisition processing portion (fig. 4; holding time calculation unit 160; ¶[0043], [0075]-[0083]);
and a stop processing portion which temporarily stops, based on the stop time set by the setting processing portion, the conveyance of the sheet after the image formation on the first surface of the sheet and before the image formation on the second surface of the sheet during the execution of the duplex image forming processing (fig. 4; image forming control unit 110; ¶[0043]),
wherein the plurality of specific areas include a center portion area that is set at a center portion of the image forming area and an end portion area that is set at an end portion of the image forming area (fig. 10; ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Ohara teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adherence amount information is information indicating a coverage rate in each of the specific areas (¶[0075]-[0080]), and the setting processing portion corrects each piece of the adherence amount information using a correction coefficient preset for each of the specific areas (fig. 10; ¶[0075]-[0080]), and sets, as the stop time, a time that is acquired based on a maximum value out of the corrected adherence amount information (equation 12; ¶[0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohara teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting processing portion sets the stop time based on a combination of the plurality of pieces of adherence amount information acquired by the acquisition processing portion, a type of the sheet, and a basis weight of the sheet (equations 1-12; ¶[0038]-[0043], [0075]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohara teaches an image forming method executed in an image forming apparatus including an ejection portion which ejects ink toward a conveyed sheet (figs. 1, 13; ink head 2, sheet 3, conveyance path 8, steps S101-S111; ¶[0017]-[0019], [0090]-[0097]), comprising: an acquisition step of acquiring, when duplex image forming processing for forming images on a first surface and second surface of the sheet using the ejection portion is executed, adherence amount information related to an adherence amount of the ink by the image formation for each of a plurality of specific areas preset in an image forming area on the first surface of the sheet (figs. 4, 10; control unit 100, image formation control unit 110, curling amount calculation unit 150, holding time calculation unit 160, print information 210, paper information 220, print mode information 230, image information 240; equations 1-12; ¶[0036]-[0043], [0075]-[0083]); a setting step of setting a stop time during which conveyance of the sheet is stopped, based on a plurality of pieces of the adherence amount information acquired in the acquisition step (fig. 4; holding time calculation unit 160; ¶[0043], [0075]-[0083]); and a stop step of temporarily stopping, based on the stop time set in the setting step, the conveyance of the sheet after the image formation on the first surface of the sheet and before the image formation on the second surface of the sheet during the execution of the duplex image forming processing (fig. 4; image forming control unit 110; ¶[0043]), wherein the plurality of specific areas include a center portion area that is set at a center portion of the image forming area and an end portion area that is set at an end portion of the image forming area (fig. 10; ¶[0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohara (JP 2015136896 A). Textual references to Ohara are drawn from the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 3, Ohara teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the end portion area includes a first area that is set at each corner portion of the image forming area on an upstream side of a conveying direction of the sheet and a second area that is set at each corner portion of the image forming area on a downstream side of the conveying direction (fig. 10; ¶[0075]-[0084]), the correction coefficient set for the first area is largest out of a plurality of the correction coefficients respectively corresponding to the plurality of specific areas (fig. 10; ¶[0075]-[0084]).
Ohara fails to teach the correction coefficient set for the second area is second largest out of the plurality of correction coefficients respectively corresponding to the plurality of specific areas.
However, the recitation of, “the correction coefficient set for the second area is second largest out of the plurality of correction coefficients respectively corresponding to the plurality of specific areas,” amounts to merely applying a technique known in the art to a known device ready for improvement in a manner that yields predictable results. The teachings of Ohara provide both a technique for, and a device capable of applying different weights to regions of an image area based on expectations of amounts of curl caused by the presence of applied ink on a medium (see particularly ¶[0075]-[0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique taught by Ohara to the device taught by Ohara in such a manner that individual weights are selected for each image region based on the expected amount of curl in each image region, wherein the weights of the upstream corners are largest and the weights of the downstream corners are second largest, in order to optimize a stopping time and curling amount of the medium.
See MPEP §2143(I)(D).
Additionally, the particular collection of correction coefficients amounts to a mere functional recitation of a desired mode of operation and fails to recite any additional structure necessary to perform that function. Attention is invited to MPEP § 2114:
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original).
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since Ohara teaches all the structure as recited and is capable of operating in the manner recited, it thereby meets the claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tomida et al. (US 20220314645 A1) teaches an inkjet printing apparatus that performs duplex printing wherein a stop time is determined from a combination of coefficients applied to image regions and paper type. Itogawa (US 20130257964 A1) teaches an inkjet printing apparatus the performs a decurling procedure based on calculations of liquid ejection amounts applied to evaluation regions of an image area.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853