DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 6-8 use generic placeholder node-based editor, processing engine, generative AI module and export module that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Applicant doesn’t have hardware support for the generic placeholders.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claims 6-8 use generic placeholder node-based editor, processing engine, generative AI module and export module that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Applicant doesn’t have hardware support for the generic placeholders.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “(a) receiving an input file selected from text-based scripts and visual documents; (b) analyzing the input file to identify segments, wherein text segments are parsed by a large language model and visual segments are detected by a segmentation model”;
Step (a) selects an input file from text-based scripts and visual documents; However step (b) analyzes both. So if text-based script is selected, then visual segment can’t be analyzed and vice-versa. So step (b) is indefinite.
Claim 1 also recites “(d) applying at least one generative transformation to at least one of the clip nodes using an artificial intelligence model”. Here there is a lack of antecedent basis for the underlined portion. That’s why the limitation is indefinite.
Claims 2-5 are also rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 3 recites “comparing each text segment”. It is not clear whether it is referring to a new text segment or one of the text segment from claim 1. That’s why the limitation is indefinite.
Claim 6 recites “the edited sequence”. Here there is a lack of antecedent basis for the underlined portion. That’s why the limitation is indefinite.
Claims 7-8 are also rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 7 recites “the timeline sequence”. Here there is a lack of antecedent basis for the underlined portion. That’s why the limitation is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US Pub. No. 20210319596 “Lee”) in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 20250077859 “Sun”).
Regarding claim 1 Lee teaches A method of editing video content using a node-based non-linear editor that integrates generative processes (“[0019]….. Examples of the image/video editing application 106 may include, but are not limited to, a node-based digital compositing and visual effects application, an image editor, a digital effects application, a motion graphic editing application, a compositing application, a non-linear editing (NLE) application, a raster graphics editor, or a combination thereof”), the method comprising:
(a) receiving an input file comprising visual documents (“[0079] At 606, a first user input may be received via the GUI. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may be configured to receive the first user input via a GUI (such as the GUI 114) of an image/video editing application (such as the image/video editing application 106)”);
However Lee is silent about receiving an input file selected from text-based scripts and visual documents;
Sun teaches receiving an input file selected from text-based scripts and visual documents (“[0014] In one form, computer-implemented methods involve obtaining multimedia data from one or more data sources related to operation or configuration of an enterprise network [0015]…. The multimedia data includes an audio portion and/or a video portion that assist users in task completions. [0020] On the other hand, techniques presented herein provide for extracting segments or slices from the multimedia data based on context specific to a user. A slice is a segment of multimedia data e.g., one or more video frames. A slice includes an audio portion and a video portion. A slice may further include a text portion of the corresponding audio portion”);
Sun and Lee are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by receiving an input file selected from text-based scripts and visual documents as taught by Sun.
The motivation for the above is to receive inputs of different types and select according to user’s choice for multimedia generation.
Lee modified by Sun teaches, analyzing the input file to identify segments, wherein text segments are parsed by a large language model and visual segments are detected by a segmentation model (Sun “[0050] The e-learning graph generator 210 semantically analyzes the multimedia data 200 and segments it into various portions i.e., content 202a-c such as a first content 202a, a second content 202b, and a third content 202c. Each of the content 202a-c includes a video portion and an audio portion attached as attributes to a text portion. The environment 300 further involves e-learning graph generator 210 that uses machine learning to generate the multimedia graph 208 based on the multimodal slices 320a-k. [0059] The e-learning graph generator 210 semantically analyzes the text using machine learning to generate the multi-modal slices 320a-k. The e-learning graph generator 210 employs various language models to transform text into knowledge graphs i.e., the multimedia graph 208”.
Lee “[0056]…… . For example, the reference color image 412 may be loaded on the GUI 114 and a segmentation tool or a marker tool of the image/video editing application 106 may be used to select the region of interest. Detailed implementation of a segmentation tool may be known to one skilled in the art”);
automatically mapping each identified segment to a respective clip node within the node-based editor (Lee “[0052] At 404, a node graph 410 may be displayed. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may control a display device (such as the display device 104) to display the node graph 410 on the GUI 114 based on the first user input. The node graph 410 may include an input node 410A to select one or more grayscale images (such as a grayscale image 402A”.
Sun “[0050] The e-learning graph generator 210 semantically analyzes the multimedia data 200 and segments it into various portions i.e., content 202a-c such as a first content 202a, a second content 202b, and a third content 202c. Each of the content 202a-c includes a video portion and an audio portion attached as attributes to a text portion. For example, the first content 202a includes a first video portion (first video 204a) and a first audio/text portion (text 206a), the second content 202b includes a second video portion (second video 204b) and a second audio/text portion (text 206b), and the third content 202c includes a third video portion (third video 204c) and a third audio/text portion (text 206c). Each of the content 202a-c is a snippet, a segment, or a slice of a video recording e.g., a predetermined number of video frames with corresponding audio and text”);
applying at least one generative transformation to at least one of the clip nodes using an artificial intelligence model (Lee “ [0052] At 404, a node graph 410 may be displayed. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may control a display device (such as the display device 104) to display the node graph 410 on the GUI 114 based on the first user input. The node graph 410 may include an input node 410A to select one or more grayscale images (such as a grayscale image 402A), and a colorization node 410B which may represent (or may be linked to) a workflow for colorization of at least a first object (such as a jacket worn by a person 402B) in the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 402A). As shown, for example, the image colorization model 110 may be a neural network-based colorization model (such as the user-guided colorization model), which may require a reference color image (such as a reference color image 412) as input to colorize the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 402A).”) and
exporting a final edited sequence from the node-based editor as a video file in an industry-standard format (Lee “[0020] The image colorization model 110 may be a neural network-based colorization model, which may be trained on an image colorization task to colorize objects in a single image frame or in a sequence of images frames of a grayscale image. [0036] The I/O device 206 may include suitable logic, circuitry, code, and/or interfaces that may be configured to receive an input and provide an output based on the received input”.
Sun “[0089] Additionally, the computer-implemented method 900 involves at 908, providing the distilled multimedia data set for performing one or more actions associated with the enterprise network”).
Regarding claim 6 Lee teaches A system for node-based video editing with integrated generative capabilities (“[0019]….. Examples of the image/video editing application 106 may include, but are not limited to, a node-based digital compositing and visual effects application, an image editor, a digital effects application, a motion graphic editing application, a compositing application, a non-linear editing (NLE) application, a raster graphics editor, or a combination thereof”), comprising:
(b) a node-based editor module configured to represent each clip, generative effect, or modifier as a distinct node (Lee “[0052] At 404, a node graph 410 may be displayed. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may control a display device (such as the display device 104) to display the node graph 410 on the GUI 114 based on the first user input. The node graph 410 may include an input node 410A to select one or more grayscale images (such as a grayscale image 402A”);
However Lee is silent about a clip database configured to store a plurality of video and audio assets;
Sun teaches a clip database configured to store a plurality of video and audio assets (“[0015]….. The multimedia data includes an audio portion and/or a video portion that assist users in task completions. [0027]…..The cloud portal 100 may store multimedia data (multiple video recordings) collected from different data sources, such as video tutorial recordings, video learning seminars, debugging or troubleshooting videos, and/or other network related videos e.g., for progressing a network technology along an adoption lifecycle or changing the configuration of one or more affected network devices”);
Sun and Lee are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee by having a clip database configured to store a plurality of video and audio assets as taught by Sun.
The motivation for the above is to easy retrieval of multimedia data whenever needed.
Lee modified by Sun teaches a processing engine configured to analyze input files and map identified segments to respective nodes (Lee “[0052] At 404, a node graph 410 may be displayed. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may control a display device (such as the display device 104) to display the node graph 410 on the GUI 114 based on the first user input. The node graph 410 may include an input node 410A to select one or more grayscale images (such as a grayscale image 402A”.
Sun “[0050] The e-learning graph generator 210 semantically analyzes the multimedia data 200 and segments it into various portions i.e., content 202a-c such as a first content 202a, a second content 202b, and a third content 202c. Each of the content 202a-c includes a video portion and an audio portion attached as attributes to a text portion. For example, the first content 202a includes a first video portion (first video 204a) and a first audio/text portion (text 206a), the second content 202b includes a second video portion (second video 204b) and a second audio/text portion (text 206b), and the third content 202c includes a third video portion (third video 204c) and a third audio/text portion (text 206c). Each of the content 202a-c is a snippet, a segment, or a slice of a video recording e.g., a predetermined number of video frames with corresponding audio and text”);
a generative AI module operable to perform at least one of visual style transfer, character replacement, object replacement, environment adjustments, face-swapping, lip-syncing, or audio synthesis (Lee “ [0052] At 404, a node graph 410 may be displayed. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may control a display device (such as the display device 104) to display the node graph 410 on the GUI 114 based on the first user input. The node graph 410 may include an input node 410A to select one or more grayscale images (such as a grayscale image 402A), and a colorization node 410B which may represent (or may be linked to) a workflow for colorization of at least a first object (such as a jacket worn by a person 402B) in the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 402A). As shown, for example, the image colorization model 110 may be a neural network-based colorization model (such as the user-guided colorization model), which may require a reference color image (such as a reference color image 412) as input to colorize the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 402A).”); and
an export module configured to compile the edited sequence into an industry-standard video format (Lee “[0020] The image colorization model 110 may be a neural network-based colorization model, which may be trained on an image colorization task to colorize objects in a single image frame or in a sequence of images frames of a grayscale image. [0036] The I/O device 206 may include suitable logic, circuitry, code, and/or interfaces that may be configured to receive an input and provide an output based on the received input”.
Sun “[0089] Additionally, the computer-implemented method 900 involves at 908, providing the distilled multimedia data set for performing one or more actions associated with the enterprise network”).
Regarding claim 8 Lee modified by Sun teaches wherein the generative AI module further comprises an AI-driven upscaling node selected from ESRGAN, Real-ESRGAN, or a similar model, configured to enhance image quality prior to final export (Lee “[0047] The computing device 108 may receive the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 302A) and may apply the selected neural network-based colorization model (such as the auto-style colorization model) on the received one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 302A) to generate the one or more colorized images …. By way of example, and not limitation, the application of the color effect may modify at least one of: a color saturation, a brightness, a contrast, color values in specific color channels of the one or more grayscale images, a gamma or tonal change of the at least the first object (such as the jacket worn by the person 302B) in the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 302A)”).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim Lee modified by Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rivers (US Pub. No. 20250218464 “Rivers”).
Regarding claim 2, Even though Lee modified by Sun teaches the artificial intelligence model as shown above but is silent about wherein the artificial intelligence model comprises at least one of Stable Diffusion, Sora, or Runway;
Rivers teaches artificial intelligence model comprises at least one of Stable Diffusion, Sora, or Runway (“[0130] Visual Generator Module 603 receives the generated summaries as input prompts and creates visualizations. It employs a visual generation endpoint, for example a generative AI tool dedicated to image creation (such as Stable Diffusion, Stability.AI or the like), to produce contextually relevant images for each scene”);
Rivers and Lee modified by Sun are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee modified by Sun by having artificial intelligence model that comprises at least one of Stable Diffusion, Sora, or Runway as taught by Rivers.
The motivation for the above is to use a readily available well known AI model used for style transformation of images.
Lee modified by Sun and Rivers teaches perform visual style transfers, character replacement, object replacement, environment adjustments, or face-swapping in real time ((Lee “ [0052] At 404, a node graph 410 may be displayed. In one or more embodiments, the circuitry 202 may control a display device (such as the display device 104) to display the node graph 410 on the GUI 114 based on the first user input. The node graph 410 may include an input node 410A to select one or more grayscale images (such as a grayscale image 402A), and a colorization node 410B which may represent (or may be linked to) a workflow for colorization of at least a first object (such as a jacket worn by a person 402B) in the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 402A). As shown, for example, the image colorization model 110 may be a neural network-based colorization model (such as the user-guided colorization model), which may require a reference color image (such as a reference color image 412) as input to colorize the one or more grayscale images (such as the grayscale image 402A).”).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim Lee modified by Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wannerberg et al. (US Pub. No. 20250252661 “Wannerberg”).
Regarding claim 3 Lee modified by Sun is silent about comparing each text segment to metadata and tags of a clip database using a synonym-based matching algorithm or large language model;
Wannerberg teaches comparing each text segment to metadata and tags of a database using a synonym-based matching algorithm or large language model (“[0072]….. determined to sufficiently match the determined context, e.g., based on comparing a natural language description and/or metadata of one or more portions of the current 3D environment with a natural language description and/or metadata of 3D objects in one or more 3D content libraries. In some embodiments, such one or more recommended 3D objects may be generated based on 3D asset metadata and/or image analysis, and may adapt its search to differing APIs and 3D libraries using LLM technology. [0157]….. For example, each 3D object in the database may be tagged with relevant metadata related to the 3D object's category”);
Wannerberg and Lee modified by Sun are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee modified by Sun by comparing each text segment to metadata and tags of a clip database using a synonym-based matching algorithm or large language model similar to comparing each text segment to metadata and tags of a database using a synonym-based matching algorithm or large language model as taught by Wannerberg.
The motivation for the above is to automate clip to text mapping for faster processing.
Lee modified by Sun and Wannerberg teaches automatically populating the node-based editor with clips corresponding to the text segments (Wannerberg “[0021] In some embodiments, the disclosed techniques may determine a plurality of spatial relationships between a plurality of 3D objects of the 3D environment. In some embodiments, the data structure is a graph data structure comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes, the plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of 3D objects of the 3D environment and characteristics of the plurality of 3D objects, and the plurality of edges corresponding to the plurality of spatial relationships between the plurality of 3D objects. In some embodiments, determining the context of the 3D environment is based at least in part on the plurality of nodes and the plurality of edges of the graph data structure.
Sun [0050]…… Each of the content 202a-c is a snippet, a segment, or a slice of a video recording e.g., a predetermined number of video frames with corresponding audio and text. The e-learning graph generator 210 extracts text transcripts from audios attached to the video data”).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim Lee modified by Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parekkadan et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20180136814 “Parekkadan”).
Regarding claim 4 Lee modified by Sun is silent about adding an environmental modifier node that adjusts at least one parameter selected from lighting, background, volumetric effects, or camera motion in real time.
Parekkadan teaches adding an environmental modifier node that adjusts at least one parameter selected from lighting, background, volumetric effects, or camera motion in real time (“[[0024]…. The various content elements in the presentation can be laid out in an infinite reality-based or virtual-reality-based three-dimensional canvas, and can include an infinite 3D background which can provide context and an immersive quality to the presentation, or may anchor its various content within real-world and real-time 3D environments (as in augmented reality applications). 0040]……. a branched (non-linear) architecture (e.g., nodes can be networked and connect to one or other more nodes). An initial, basic node/panel network can automatically be created by the production system 300 based on, for example, the imported assets. Following this, the presentation creator can take production control and adapt the structure of the presentation as he wishes. For example, the creator can use the production system 300 to define events triggered by user navigation actions, traversals of paths, nodes, and panels, and other interactions with the presentation. Such events can include audio playback, filters, visual effects, camera movements, animations, video playback, content element manipulation, and so on”);
Parekkadan and Lee modified by Sun are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee modified by Sun by adding an environmental modifier node that adjusts at least one parameter selected from lighting, background, volumetric effects, or camera motion in real time as taught by Parekkadan.
The motivation for the above is to enhance video editing capability of Lee.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim Lee modified by Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of de Juan et al. (US Pub. No. 20240038271 “de Juan”);
Regarding claim 5 Lee modified by Sun is silent about wherein applying the generative transformation includes synchronizing a previously uploaded voice profile to a character's dialogue using a lip-sync model selected from Wav2Lip, LipGAN, or SyncNet.
De Juan teaches generative transformation includes synchronizing a previously uploaded voice profile to a character's dialogue using a lip-sync model selected from Wav2Lip, LipGAN, or SyncNet (“[0086]….. video frames of the fourth video segment are generated such that mouth movements (e.g., lip movements) of the first speaker in the fourth video segment are aligned with (e.g., synchronized with) speech of the second audio segment 558 [0087] In some examples, the second video 566 may be generated using Wav2Lip. For example, pixels of a video frame (e.g., the video frame 574) may be modified to generate a modified video frame (e.g., the modified video frame 594) for inclusion in the second video 566 using Wav2Lip”);
deJuan and Lee modified by Sun are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee modified by Sun by having generative transformation that includes synchronizing a previously uploaded voice profile to a character's dialogue using a lip-sync model selected from Wav2Lip, LipGAN, or SyncNet as taught by deJuan.
The motivation for the above is to use a readily available well known lip-sync model for better synchronization.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim Lee modified by Sun as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Benedetto et al. (US Pub. No. 20200206628 “Benedetto”).
Regarding claim 7 Lee modified by Sun is silent about a timeline view operably linked to the node-based editor, wherein modifications to node connections are automatically reflected in the timeline sequence.
Benedetto teaches a timeline view operably linked to the node-based editor, wherein modifications to node connections are automatically reflected in the timeline sequence (“[0124] FIG. 5D is an expanded illustration of a node graph 540 showing the hierarchy of snapshot nodes generated in association with snapshots captured during game play of a video game, in accordance with one embodiment of the present disclosure. The node graph 540 may be related to the node graph of FIG. 5C, but is used illustrate timelines used in a video game having portions of non-linear progression. For example, the game play within a level may be unrelated to game plays within another level. Also, game plays by different users within a single level may also be unrelated to each other in terms of progression through the video game”);
Benedetto and Lee modified by Sun are analogous art as both of them are related to image/video processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Lee modified by Sun by having a timeline view operably linked to the node-based editor, wherein modifications to node connections are automatically reflected in the timeline sequence as taught by Benedetto.
The motivation for the above is to display non-liner progression of sequence of video editing to the viewers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kalarot et al. (US Pat. 12530592) teaches non-linear neural network for editing image and video.
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612