DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 7, 10 – 12, 17 - 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significant more.
Regarding to claim 1,
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A method, comprising:
determining, by at least one processor, a target destination at an airport airside and of an aircraft;
receiving at least one aircraft current operating context indicating a current state of the aircraft, a current environment around the aircraft, or both;
determining, by at least one processor, at least one ground navigation guidance procedure for the aircraft to move on the airport airside, comprising:
looking up the aircraft current operating context in a catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts of aircraft moving on the airport airside to determine a match between the aircraft current operating context and one of the historical operating contexts, and
identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure of a matching one of the historical operating contexts; and
providing the identified at least one ground navigation procedure to at least one operator of the aircraft.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind.
Specifically, the limitation of “determining a target destination ...” encompasses a person using observation, evaluation, and judgment to determine a target destination for the aircraft based on collected information. Similarly, the limitation of “determining at least one ground navigation guidance procedure ...” encompasses the same person using evaluation and judgment to determine a suitable ground navigation guidance procedure for the aircraft. The limitation of “looking up the aircraft current operating context ...” encompasses the same person using observation, evaluation, and judgment to compare the current operating context with historical operating contexts and determine a matching historical operating context based on collected information. The limitation of “identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure ...” encompasses the same person using evaluation and judgment to select a suitable ground navigation guidance procedure associated with the matching historical operating context. Accordingly, these limitations recite mental processes that can be practically performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, comparison, and judgment.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A method, comprising:
determining, by at least one processor, a target destination at an airport airside and of an aircraft;
receiving at least one aircraft current operating context indicating a current state of the aircraft, a current environment around the aircraft, or both;
determining, by at least one processor, at least one ground navigation guidance procedure for the aircraft to move on the airport airside, comprising:
looking up the aircraft current operating context in a catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts of aircraft moving on the airport airside to determine a match between the aircraft current operating context and one of the historical operating contexts, and
identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure of a matching one of the historical operating contexts; and
providing the identified at least one ground navigation procedure to at least one operator of the aircraft.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “at least one processor” the examiner submits that this limitations are an attempt to generally link additional elements to a technological environment. In particular, the “at least one processor” is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the determining steps, therefore acting as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea. The additional limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer. The additional limitation of “receiving at least one aircraft current operating context …” is related to data gathering, thus being directed to insignificant extra-solution activities. The additional limitation of “providing the identified at least one ground navigation procedure to at least one operator of the aircraft” amounts to mere data output or post-solution activity. It does not recite any specific technical improvement in computer or avionics functionality, nor does it integrate the abstract idea into a particular machine or technological process in a meaningful way. Accordingly, this limitation does not integrate the claimed method into a practical application under the Alice/Mayo framework.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “at least one processor” amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional limitation of “receiving at least one aircraft current operating context …” is related to data gathering, thus being directed to insignificant extra-solution activities. The additional limitation of “providing the identified at least one ground navigation procedure to at least one operator of the aircraft” amounts to mere data output or post-solution activity. It does not provide inventive concept. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2- 7 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. claims 2 – 7 do not recite any additional limitation that would integrate the claim into practical application or to provide inventive concept. Therefore, dependent claims 2 - 7 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
The analysis of claim 10 is similar to the analysis of claim 1 above.
The dependent claims 11 – 12 do not recite any additional limitation that would integrate the claim into practical application or to provide inventive concept.
The analysis of claim 17 is similar to the analysis of claim 1 above.
The dependent claims 18, 20 do not recite any additional limitation that would integrate the claim into practical application or to provide inventive concept.
Therefore, claim(s) 1 – 7, 10 – 12, 17 - 18, 20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8 – 11, 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shloosh Ori (English Translation of EP3444791A2; hereinafter Shloosh) in view of Yang et al. (English Translation of CN10019354A; hereinafter Yang_354).
Regarding to claim 1, Shloosh teaches
A method, comprising:
determining, by at least one processor, a target destination at an airport airside and of an aircraft; ([Par. 0250], “a method within the AMS [320] involved with predicting taxiway congestions and hotspots. 2302 extracts all runways, taxiways, junctions and routes from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 2303retrieves the active runways in use. 2304 retrieves the scheduled departures with their assigned routes to the runway from the Aircraft Location Database [1010]. 2305retrieves the scheduled arrivals with their assigned routes after landing from the Aircraft Location Database [1010]. 2306 processes all the assigned routes of all the departures and arrivals retrieved by 2304 and 2305. 2307 processes the current locations of all aircrafts moving on taxiways and runways.”)
receiving at least one aircraft current operating context indicating a current state of the aircraft, a current environment around the aircraft, or both; ([Par. 0253], “retrieves the current location of the aircraft. 2606 calculates the distance between the current operation and the next takeoff or landing operation. 2607determines if the turbulence can affect the next landing of takeoff operation. If 2607outputs false the process is terminated. If 2607 output is true, 2608 looks if the next operation is a takeoff or a landing.”; [Par. 0239], “receives current data from the aircraft locations database [1010] on any aircraft currently on the runway. 1203 checks if there are any aircraft received by the 1202process. If there is an aircraft on the runway, there is a need to wait 1204, and recheck again for aircraft positions 1202. As long as the runway is clear 1204 receives from the database [1011] the latest runway conditions applicable for the takeoff operation including; wind direction and speed; and possible alert on birds. 1206 receives aircraft departure data including the RNV SID or departure heading and/or initial climb altitude, and, contact information for departure ATC including frequency and altitude for switching to the departure ATC frequency. 1206 includes turbulence advisory from previous runway operation when relevant, 1207 creates a takeoff clearance Control Message processed by 3001 [ FIG. 3 ],”)
determining, by at least one processor, at least one ground navigation guidance procedure for the aircraft to move on the airport airside, ([Par. 0240], “receives current data from the aircraft locations database [1010] on any aircraft currently on the runway. 1203 checks if there are any aircraft received by the 1202process. If there is an aircraft on the runway, there is a need to wait 1204, and recheck again for aircraft positions 1202. As long as the runway is clear 1204 receives from the database [1011] the latest runway conditions applicable for the takeoff operation including; wind direction and speed; and possible alert on birds. 1206 receives aircraft departure data including the RNV SID or departure heading and/or initial climb altitude, and, contact information for departure ATC including frequency and altitude for switching to the departure ATC frequency. 1206 includes turbulence advisory from previous runway operation when relevant, 1207 creates a takeoff clearance Control Message processed by 3001 [ FIG. 3 ],”) comprising:
providing the identified at least one ground navigation procedure to at least one operator of the aircraft. ([Par. 0243], “method within the AMS[320] involved with managing a Go-Around or Missed Approach. Once a Pilot requests a Go-Around or a Missed Approach, 1602 gets information associated to missed approach and go-around from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 1603 decides on a missed approach or go-around based on the incoming request. For Go-Around, 1604sends a confirmation through process 3001 [ FIG. 3 ] to update the DAM [161] or CPDLCDU [140] with relevant information associated to the Go-Around [ FIG. 42 ],1605 outputs a "Go-Around" voice command over the ATC frequency directed at the flight crew aboard the aircraft. In addition, 1606 notifies the departure ATC of the go-around through the ICM [330] display and 1607 sounds a tone associated to a go-around over the ICM [330] to ensure the departure ATC is notified.”; [Par. 0251], “calculates the best pushback times for each airside object at a gate or stand by using the output from 2308 [ FIG. 23 ]. 2409 sends the Pilot a routing selection Control Message through process 3001 [ FIG. 3 ] and the Pilot can accept the route of select another route. If a Pilot selects a different route2410 through the DAM [161] or CPDLCDU [140] as shown in FIG. 44 , the selected route will be assigned 2411.”)
Shloosh teaches to provide ground navigation guidance procedure to the pilot based on current state of the aircraft and the environment surrounding the aircraft as described above. Shloosh further teaches preparing the best possible routes for the aircraft based on pilot historical and preferred route (par. 0223], but does not explicitly disclose looking up the aircraft current operating context in a catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts of aircraft moving on the airport airside to determine a match between the aircraft current operating context and one of the historical operating contexts, and identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure of a matching one of the historical operating contexts;
However, Yang_354 teaches looking up the aircraft current operating context in a catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts of aircraft moving on the airport airside to determine a match between the aircraft current operating context and one of the historical operating contexts, ([Par. 0014 – 0015], “the step of matching the current status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station with the historical status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups to determine the historical data group with the highest matching degree includes:[0015]The current status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station is matched with the historical status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups to determine the historical status information that matches each type of current status information.”) and
identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure of a matching one of the historical operating contexts; ([Par. 0020 – 0022], “after determining the historical control command in the historical data group with the highest matching degree as the control command corresponding to the operation signal, the method further includes: [0021]Display the control command corresponding to the operation signal; [0022] When a change command is received for the control instruction corresponding to the operation signal, the control instruction corresponding to the operation signal is changed to a new control instruction according to the change command.”; [Par. 0029], “Based on the historical control commands in the historical data group with the highest matching degree, a control command is generated and sent to the drone so that the drone receives the control command and returns to a safe location.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Shloosh to incorporate the teaching of Yang_354. The modification would have been obvious because utilizing Yang's historical-context matching technique enables selection of a ground navigation guidance procedure based on previously encountered operating conditions that are similar to the current operating context, thereby improving the relevance of the guidance provided to the aircraft operator.
Regarding to claim 2, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the method of claim 1.
Shloosh further teaches determining airside location and a secondary factor including at least one of: a direction to move the aircraft from that same current airside location, a time to cross traffic, or a time to takeoff. ([Par. 0249], “the AMS [320] involved in simultaneously managing multiple runway operations. 2202 retrieves active runways in use from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 2203 extracts all taxiways for each of the active runways from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 2204retrieves the next 10 scheduled landings and 2205 retrieves the next 2 takeoffs foreach of the active runways from the Aircraft Locations Database [1010]. 2206 retrieves the updated runway conditions for each of the active runways from the Runway Conditions Database [1011]. Once all the data is pulled, 2207 calculates the time when an aircraft on each of the runways used for takeoffs will be airborne. After 2007calculates airborne time for each of the active runways, 2208 checks for the next takeoff scheduled for each of the runways. As long as there are no scheduled takeoffs left on any of the active runways, the process is complete 2209. For as long as there are still scheduled takeoffs on any of the runways, 2210 checks if there is enough time to execute the takeoff operation on each runway. If there is no time on all of the runways for a takeoff the process is terminated 2209 and 2202 will be executed again after the next landing on any of the runways. As long as there is enough time for a takeoff on at least one runway, 2211 will request release from departure ATC using process 5301 [ FIG. 53 ] for each takeoff. For every release approved by departure ATC 2212, during parallel takeoff operations without an RNAV SID, 2213 applies the 15degree rule on the heading of the takeoff. Each of the takeoffs are handled by process1201 [ FIG. 12 ]. The processes is repeated for as long as 2202 calculates there is enough time for at least one takeoff.”)
Yang_354 further teaches matching current operating context of the aircraft with historical data to generate navigation procedure. ([Par. 0087 – 0088], “after obtaining the current status information of the UAV and/or UAV ground station, the current status information of the UAV and/or UAV ground station can be matched with the historical status information of the UAV and/or UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups, so as to match the same status information in each historical data group and thus obtain the historical data group with the highest matching degree.[0088]In this embodiment of the invention, the current status information of the UAV and the UAV ground station can be matched together with the historical status information of the UAV and the UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups. Alternatively, the current status information of the UAV can be matched with the historical status information of the UAV in multiple historical data groups. Or, the current status information of the UAV ground station can be matched with the historical status information of the UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups. The matching principle is the same. The following example illustrates how to match the current status information of drones and drone ground stations with the historical status information of drones and drone ground stations in multiple historical data sets.”)
Since Shloosh's guidance procedures are associated with aircraft movement on the airport airside, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that matching current operating contexts to historical operating contexts would reasonably utilize operational factors relevant to airport surface movement, including the aircraft location and movement-related factors such as direction of travel or timing considerations, in order to improve the relevance of the selected guidance procedure.
Regarding to claim 3, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the method of claim 1.
Shloosh further teaches comprising generating the catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts comprising collecting historical data of at least one of:
airport operations data including map data of the airport airside and taxiway and runway data,
advanced surface movement guidance and control system (ASMGS) data including aircraft positions and traffic data for the airport airside,
radar-related data that indicates aircraft positions and movement on the airport airside,
clearance-related data indicating one or more clearance parameters provided to an aircraft,
avionics systems-related data used by an aircraft to set aircraft movement parameters,
flight control settings data indicating a setting of flight controls while an aircraft was located on the airport airside, and
aircraft component data indicating a state and limitations of components of an aircraft.
([Par. 0249], “the AMS [320] involved in simultaneously managing multiple runway operations. 2202 retrieves active runways in use from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 2203 extracts all taxiways for each of the active runways from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 2204retrieves the next 10 scheduled landings and 2205 retrieves the next 2 takeoffs foreach of the active runways from the Aircraft Locations Database [1010]. 2206 retrieves the updated runway conditions for each of the active runways from the Runway Conditions Database [1011]. Once all the data is pulled, 2207 calculates the time when an aircraft on each of the runways used for takeoffs will be airborne. After 2007calculates airborne time for each of the active runways, 2208 checks for the next takeoff scheduled for each of the runways. As long as there are no scheduled takeoffs left on any of the active runways, the process is complete 2209. For as long as there are still scheduled takeoffs on any of the runways, 2210 checks if there is enough time to execute the takeoff operation on each runway. If there is no time on all of the runways for a takeoff the process is terminated 2209 and 2202 will be executed again after the next landing on any of the runways. As long as there is enough time for a takeoff on at least one runway, 2211 will request release from departure ATC using process 5301 [ FIG. 53 ] for each takeoff. For every release approved by departure ATC 2212, during parallel takeoff operations without an RNAV SID, 2213 applies the 15degree rule on the heading of the takeoff. Each of the takeoffs are handled by process1201 [ FIG. 12 ]. The processes is repeated for as long as 2202 calculates there is enough time for at least one takeoff.”
Wherein this is at least mapped to “airport operations data including map data of the airport airside and taxiway and runway data,”)
Regarding to claim 8, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the method of claim 1.
Shloosh further teaches wherein the providing of the identified at least one ground navigation procedure comprises displaying the ground navigation guidance procedures on an avionics display in a cockpit of the aircraft. ([fig. 27, “FIG. 27 illustrates a flow diagram of the processes in a method within the AMS for displaying ATC commands and allowing Pilot confirmation through the CPDLCDU [140]or DAM [161], in accordance with an example embodiment”; [Par. 0173], “Twenty sixth technical solution is a menu display of selectable and available predefined routes, or optional progressive taxi routes, including each route's estimated times to reach the destination. Each selection of an item displays the route on the Dynamic Map, including current traffic, and by moving the finger on the device over the displayed route path, the pilot is shown the anticipated traffic at any given future point in time in relation to the position within the path.”)
Regarding to claim 9, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the method of claim 1.
Shloosh further teaches wherein the at least one ground navigation procedures comprise aircraft parameters being at least one of: braking guidance, thrust guidance, turning guidance, taxiing route, and airport support system usage comprising services provided by an airport to assist with moving the aircraft. ([Par. 0179], “displays the pilot a satellite image of the airport to easily understand the current location in relation to airport buildings and alike, which are unavailable in most airport diagrams. In addition, distances to the next junction are always updated, and, when nearing a junction to hold short or make a turn, a graphical alert and synthesized voice tell the pilot which way to turn, or heading, as well as any special restrictions and rules for next operation, such as speed and alike. Nearby traffic is always shown, with heading, operation type and other options.”; [Par. 0240], “receives current data from the aircraft locations database [1010] on any aircraft currently on the runway. 1203 checks if there are any aircraft received by the 1202process. If there is an aircraft on the runway, there is a need to wait 1204, and recheck again for aircraft positions 1202. As long as the runway is clear 1204 receives from the database [1011] the latest runway conditions applicable for the takeoff operation including; wind direction and speed; and possible alert on birds. 1206 receives aircraft departure data including the RNV SID or departure heading and/or initial climb altitude, and, contact information for departure ATC including frequency and altitude for switching to the departure ATC frequency. 1206 includes turbulence advisory from previous runway operation when relevant, 1207 creates a takeoff clearance Control Message processed by 3001 [ FIG. 3 ],” where this is at least mapped to “turning guidance” and “taxiing route”)
Claim 10 recites a system with substantially similar scope as claim 1, thus being rejected with the same basis as claim 1 above.
Regarding to claim 11, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the method of claim 10.
Shloosh further teaches wherein the at least one ground navigation procedure comprises at least one flight control setting and a timing of the setting. ([Par. 0248], “Once a takeoff roll or a landing passed the crossing junction, 2106 will further check is there is sufficient time to complete the crossing operation prior to the next operation. If there isn't enough time,2105 will wait and locations of other aircraft operations will be rechecked again in 2103.Once 2106 calculates there is enough time to cross the runway, 2107 uses process3001 [ FIG. 3 ] to display the Pilot the ATC command to cross the Runway. In addition,2108 outputs a "cross runway" voice command over the ATC frequency directed at the flight crew aboard the aircraft. 2109 sends signal to the AFL [10] and flashed the lights at the crossings.”; [Par. 0249], “For as long as there are still scheduled takeoffs on any of the runways, 2210 checks if there is enough time to execute the takeoff operation on each runway. If there is no time on all of the runways for a takeoff the process is terminated 2209 and 2202 will be executed again after the next landing on any of the runways. As long as there is enough time for a takeoff on at least one runway, 2211 will request release from departure ATC using process 5301 [ FIG. 53 ] for each takeoff. For every release approved by departure ATC 2212, during parallel takeoff operations without an RNAV SID, 2213 applies the 15degree rule on the heading of the takeoff. Each of the takeoffs are handled by process1201 [ FIG. 12 ]. The processes is repeated for as long as 2202 calculates there is enough time for at least one takeoff.”
Regarding to claim 17, Shloosh teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions thereon that when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to operate by:
determining a target destination at an airport airside and of an aircraft; ([Par. 0250], “a method within the AMS [320] involved with predicting taxiway congestions and hotspots. 2302 extracts all runways, taxiways, junctions and routes from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 2303retrieves the active runways in use. 2304 retrieves the scheduled departures with their assigned routes to the runway from the Aircraft Location Database [1010]. 2305retrieves the scheduled arrivals with their assigned routes after landing from the Aircraft Location Database [1010]. 2306 processes all the assigned routes of all the departures and arrivals retrieved by 2304 and 2305. 2307 processes the current locations of all aircrafts moving on taxiways and runways.”)
receiving at least one aircraft current operating context indicating a current state of the aircraft, a current environment around the aircraft, or both at the airport airside or while the aircraft is approaching the airport airside; ([Par. 0253], “retrieves the current location of the aircraft. 2606 calculates the distance between the current operation and the next takeoff or landing operation. 2607determines if the turbulence can affect the next landing of takeoff operation. If 2607outputs false the process is terminated. If 2607 output is true, 2608 looks if the next operation is a takeoff or a landing.”; [Par. 0239], “receives current data from the aircraft locations database [1010] on any aircraft currently on the runway. 1203 checks if there are any aircraft received by the 1202process. If there is an aircraft on the runway, there is a need to wait 1204, and recheck again for aircraft positions 1202. As long as the runway is clear 1204 receives from the database [1011] the latest runway conditions applicable for the takeoff operation including; wind direction and speed; and possible alert on birds. 1206 receives aircraft departure data including the RNV SID or departure heading and/or initial climb altitude, and, contact information for departure ATC including frequency and altitude for switching to the departure ATC frequency. 1206 includes turbulence advisory from previous runway operation when relevant, 1207 creates a takeoff clearance Control Message processed by 3001 [ FIG. 3 ],”)
determining at least one ground navigation guidance procedure for the aircraft to move on the airport airside, ([Par. 0240], “receives current data from the aircraft locations database [1010] on any aircraft currently on the runway. 1203 checks if there are any aircraft received by the 1202process. If there is an aircraft on the runway, there is a need to wait 1204, and recheck again for aircraft positions 1202. As long as the runway is clear 1204 receives from the database [1011] the latest runway conditions applicable for the takeoff operation including; wind direction and speed; and possible alert on birds. 1206 receives aircraft departure data including the RNV SID or departure heading and/or initial climb altitude, and, contact information for departure ATC including frequency and altitude for switching to the departure ATC frequency. 1206 includes turbulence advisory from previous runway operation when relevant, 1207 creates a takeoff clearance Control Message processed by 3001 [ FIG. 3 ],”) comprising:
providing the identified at least one ground navigation procedure to be displayed to at least one operator of the aircraft. ([Par. 0243], “method within the AMS[320] involved with managing a Go-Around or Missed Approach. Once a Pilot requests a Go-Around or a Missed Approach, 1602 gets information associated to missed approach and go-around from the Airport Layout Database [1001]. 1603 decides on a missed approach or go-around based on the incoming request. For Go-Around, 1604sends a confirmation through process 3001 [ FIG. 3 ] to update the DAM [161] or CPDLCDU [140] with relevant information associated to the Go-Around [ FIG. 42 ],1605 outputs a "Go-Around" voice command over the ATC frequency directed at the flight crew aboard the aircraft. In addition, 1606 notifies the departure ATC of the go-around through the ICM [330] display and 1607 sounds a tone associated to a go-around over the ICM [330] to ensure the departure ATC is notified.”; [Par. 0251], “calculates the best pushback times for each airside object at a gate or stand by using the output from 2308 [ FIG. 23 ]. 2409 sends the Pilot a routing selection Control Message through process 3001 [ FIG. 3 ] and the Pilot can accept the route of select another route. If a Pilot selects a different route2410 through the DAM [161] or CPDLCDU [140] as shown in FIG. 44 , the selected route will be assigned 2411.”)
Shloosh teaches to provide ground navigation guidance procedure to the pilot based on current state of the aircraft and the environment surrounding the aircraft as described above. Shloosh further teaches preparing the best possible routes for the aircraft based on pilot historical and preferred route (par. 0223], but does not explicitly disclose looking up the aircraft current operating context in a catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts of aircraft moving on the airport airside to determine a match between the aircraft current operating context and one of the historical operating contexts, and identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure of a matching one of the historical operating contexts;
However, Yang_354 teaches looking up the aircraft current operating context in a catalog of predetermined historical operating contexts of aircraft moving on the airport airside to determine a match between the aircraft current operating context and one of the historical operating contexts, ([Par. 0014 – 0015], “the step of matching the current status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station with the historical status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups to determine the historical data group with the highest matching degree includes:[0015]The current status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station is matched with the historical status information of the UAV and/or the UAV ground station in multiple historical data groups to determine the historical status information that matches each type of current status information.”) and
identifying at least one ground navigation guidance procedure of a matching one of the historical operating contexts; ([Par. 0020 – 0022], “after determining the historical control command in the historical data group with the highest matching degree as the control command corresponding to the operation signal, the method further includes: [0021]Display the control command corresponding to the operation signal; [0022] When a change command is received for the control instruction corresponding to the operation signal, the control instruction corresponding to the operation signal is changed to a new control instruction according to the change command.”; [Par. 0029], “Based on the historical control commands in the historical data group with the highest matching degree, a control command is generated and sent to the drone so that the drone receives the control command and returns to a safe location.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Shloosh to incorporate the teaching of Yang_354. The modification would have been obvious because utilizing Yang's historical-context matching technique enables selection of a ground navigation guidance procedure based on previously encountered operating conditions that are similar to the current operating context, thereby improving the relevance of the guidance provided to the aircraft operator.
Regarding to claim 18, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the medium of claim 17.
Shloosh further teaches wherein the providing comprises a map of the airport airside on an avionics display and having a display of individual ones of the at least one ground navigation procedures each at a location on the map associated with the at least one ground navigation procedures. ([Par. 0016], “Several types of common technologies provide some features, such as controller selected routes or segments, pilot approved and rejected routes, manual route or taxi entries, manual inputs, route selections, progressive taxi instructions, a dynamic map with perspective of the aircraft itself without other surrounding traffic or no map at all, nor the calculations for how long each route or route segment would take.”; [Par. 0123], “all commands and displayed images onboard the dynamic map interface foreach aircraft at or nearby the airport, all data displayed on CPDLC for each aircraft at or nearby the airport, all relevant data provided by external systems interacting with the system.”; [Par. 0166], “Nineteenth technical solution is a Dynamic Map within the cockpit, constantly updating information with all relevant aircraft and airport vehicles that are nearby or may affect the aircraft during runway operations. In addition, if selected by a pilot, a synthesized voice constantly provides updates of information relevant to the aircraft, in pilot's selected language.”)
Regarding to claim 19, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the medium of claim 17.
Shloosh further teaches wherein the at least one ground navigation procedures includes informing at least one operator of the aircraft of movement statistics that indicate a level of risk of performing a movement on the airport airside. ([Par. 0125], “Embodiments of the invention warn a pilot to go-around when the landing aircraft may overshoot a runway due to current runway conditions, breaking action, aircraft altitude and speed.”; [Par. 0137 – 0138], “Embodiments of the invention pilot better situational awareness and increase security within designated areas, provide a visual and audible warning to the pilot when in the direction nearing a restricted airport area. If the aircraft is too close and remains on course to the restricted area, security personnel are dispatched and a warning is also displayed and heard by the administrating tower controller. [0138] Embodiments of the invention provide a pilot better visual representation of the surface and gate sleeve to make better gate maneuvering decisions during taxi operations such as pushback and alike.”)
Regarding to claim 20, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the medium of claim 17.
Shloosh further teaches wherein the at least one ground navigation procedures comprises multiple alternative ground navigation procedures that provide an operator of the aircraft an option to select among the alternative ground navigation procedures. ([Par. 0111], “the invention allow Pilots to select preferred runways, runway exits and fastest routes for taxiing to and from runways.”; [Par. 0133 – 0134], “Embodiments of the invention provide a pilot a selection list of available routes, with time for each route, with optional progressive taxiing, or a complete taxi route. All options will include estimated total time for taxi to destination from current location [0134] Embodiments of the invention provide a pilot better situational awareness and overall airport safety, through the display of distance until a junction, or a turn to be taken”)
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 in further view of Yang et al. (English Translation of CN113610410A; hereinafter Yang_410).
Regarding to claim 4, the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches the method of claim 3.
The combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 teaches use historical data to generate navigation instruction for the aircraft as described above, but does not explicitly disclose comprising organizing the collected historical data into historical operating contexts that each represent a previous instance or previous duration of aircraft motion on the airside.
However, Yang_410 teaches comprising organizing the collected historical data into historical operating contexts that each represent a previous instance or previous duration of aircraft motion on the airside. ([Par. 0005], “Step A: Extract historical data from the air traffic control automation system during the command and control of aircraft operating within the airside area of the airport to be evaluated by any controller. This includes airport airside area structure data, aircraft operating parameter data, aircraft flight plan data, controller instruction issuance data, and aircraft operating attribute data defined by airport control rules.”; [Par. 0020], “Count the number of times runway occupancy time exceeds the allowed limit for takeoff or landing aircraft. The method used is as follows: Sort the historical data of actual runway occupancy time in ascending order, and take the data at the 80th percentile as the maximum allowable runway occupancy time”; [Par. 0029], “Count the number of times the aircraft's departure time is delayed compared to the flight plan. The method used is as follows: Sort the historical data of the aircraft's departure delay time in ascending order according to the actual delay duration, and take the data of the 80th percentile asthe maximum allowable departure delay time”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the combination of Shloosh and Yang_354 to incorporate the teaching of Yang_410. The modification would have been obvious because utilizing historical data associated with previous aircraft movements on the airport airside enables the current operating situation to be evaluated based on prior similar situations, thereby improving the effectiveness of the navigation guidance provided to the aircraft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 – 7, 12 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the 101 rejections set forth above are overcome.
Conclusion
/STEVEN VU NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668