DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to a Continuation application filed by Applicant on 3/13/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 3/18/2025 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 15 of US 12,267,424 B2, issued Apr. 1, 2025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The present application, as claimed, satisfies the requirements for patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4–8, 11–15, 18–20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis (US 6,240,187 B1, issued May 29, 2001).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Lewis discloses: a memory device comprising: a storage array, the storage array storing a first cryptographic key (key controller 26 is coupled to storage 28 where the active private key (Apr) is stored. Lewis Figure 1 and 6:10–13.); and a processor configured to: determine a first signature is valid using a second cryptographic key (the digital signature SIG(Rpr) is verified by applying the replacement key. Lewis 8:24–26.), determine that a second signature is valid using the first cryptographic key (the digital signature SIG(Apr) is verified by applying the active key. Lewis 8:20–24.), and replace the first cryptographic key with the second cryptographic key after determining that both the first signature and second signature are valid (if both digital signatures are verified, the node replaces the active key with the replacement key. Lewis 8:27–33.).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Lewis discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, wherein the processor is further configured to return an error code after determining that either the first signature is invalid or the second signature if invalid (if signatures are not verified the key replacement is ignored or a message is sent to the key server that an unauthorized key replacement message has apparently been sent. Lewis Figure 2 and 8:34–40.).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Lewis discloses the limitations of claims 4, 11, and 18, respectively, wherein the processor is further configured to prevent overwriting of the first cryptographic key after returning the error code (if signatures are not verified the key replacement is ignored or a message is sent to the key server that an unauthorized key replacement message has apparently been sent. Lewis Figure 2 and 8:34–40.).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Lewis discloses the limitations of claims 4, 11, and 18, respectively, wherein the error code indicates whether the first signature or the second signature is invalid (if signatures are not verified the key replacement is ignored or a message is sent to the key server that an unauthorized key replacement message has apparently been sent. Lewis Figure 2 and 8:34–40.).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Lewis discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 8, respectively, wherein the first cryptographic key comprise a first public key and second cryptographic key comprises a second public key (the recited first key interpreted as the disclosed active public key A(pu) and the recited second key is interpreted as the disclosed replacement or new public key R(pu). Lewis 5:36–41.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis in view of Ruane (US 2021/0143990 A1, issued May 13, 2021).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Lewis discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Lewis does not disclose: wherein determining that the first signature is valid comprises computing a first hash using the second cryptographic key, decrypting the first signature using the second cryptographic key to generate a second hash, and determining that the first signature is valid when the first hash and second hash are equal.
However, Ruane does disclose: wherein determining that the first signature is valid comprises computing a first hash using the second cryptographic key, decrypting the first signature using the second cryptographic key to generate a second hash, and determining that the first signature is valid when the first hash and second hash are equal (validating the digital signature, the security component uses a public key to generate hash data on the challenge, and the security component decrypts the digital signature using the public key. Ruane ¶ 42. If the hash data and the decrypted data match, the key is considered valid. Ruane ¶ 42.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the key replacement command includes the replacement public key, a field including the hash of the pubic key from the next replacement key pair, and two digital signatures of Lewis with computing hash values using received key and decrypting the signature and determining validity of the signature based upon matching the two resulting values based upon the teachings of Ruane. The motivation being to determine whether a different key was used to generate the signature or the signature was altered. Ruane ¶ 42.
Allowable Subject Matter
Were Applicant to overcome the above double patenting rejection, claims 3, 10, and 17 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Durst (US 5,113,518, issued May 12, 1992), verifying key validity to present alert that a key is not valid and that an unauthorized attempt was made date a signature; Ashdown (US 2010/0174909 A1, published Jul. 8, 2010), verifying multiple digital signatures to enable key replacement; Sharifi Mehr (US 10,454,689 B1, issued Oct. 22, 2019), validate signatures to verify authenticity of certificates; Fletcher (US 2020/0213085 A1, published Jul. 2, 2020), validating multiple signature to facilitate sharing of new keys; Gueron (US 11,184,157 B1, issued Nov. 23, 2021), allowing an update to a key management service by confirming signatures are valid.
/VANCE M LITTLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493