DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 13, 2025 and October 09, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hur et al. (US 2019/0086379).
As per claim 1, Hur et al. disclose a modular monitoring unit in a form of a gas detection device (300, figure 7), comprising:
a base in a form of a driving module (340, paragraph 0046); and
a detector module in a form of a sensor module (330, paragraph 0046) removable from the base and comprising a connection (figure 7), wherein the connection is configured to attach a gas sensing module to the detector module (see abstract and paragraphs 0050-0051).
As per claim 2, Hur et al. disclose the base comprises a pump in a form of a pump module (320) to facilitate movement of air through the detector module (paragraph 0048).
As per claim 3, Hur et al. disclose the detector module comprises a removable cover (312, paragraph 0047).
As per claim 4, Hur et al. disclose the removable cover comprises a display device (350) to indicate a status condition of the detector module (paragraph 0049).
As per claim 6, Hur et al. disclose the base comprises a tube (P1, P2)) connection configured to connect a tube to the detector module (figure 7, paragraph 0048).
As per claim 7, Hur et al. disclose the base comprises a circuitry connection configured to provide power and data transmission for the detector module (paragraph 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hur et al. (US 2019/0086379) in view of Su (CN ).
As per claim 5, Hur et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the removable cover is a filter module. Su discloses an air purifier (figure 1) comprises a base (10) and a removable cover (1) with a ventilation fins (1) and being secured to the base via a fastener (12) to cover a filter element (2). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the air purifier as taught by Su in a system as disclosed by Hur et al. for the purpose of filtrating unwanted air particles.
As per claim 8, refer to claim 5 above, Hur et al. disclose method of operating a modular monitoring unit (100 of figures 1-5 and 300 of figure 7) comprising: a pump module (60 or 320) to drawing air in from a tube (P1) of the modular monitoring unit (see abstract and paragraphs 0028, 0038); testing the air for smoke, undesired chemicals, or a threshold level of particulates via a sensor in a particulate sensor chamber of a detector module of the modular monitoring unit (paragraph 0022); and passing the air through an inlet of a filter of the modular monitoring unit to reduce or remove particulates in the air (see abstract).
As per claim 9, Su discloses testing the air for an additional type of particulate via the sensor (description of figure 4).
As per claim 10, Su discloses determining whether a threshold level of the air is passing through an air sampling path via a flow sensor of the modular monitoring unit (read entire document).
As per claim 11, Su discloses determining whether the detector module is functioning properly based on whether the threshold level of the air is passing through the air sampling path (read entire document).
As per claim 12, Su discloses determining whether particulate data sensed by the sensor is accurate based on whether the threshold level of the air is passing through the air sampling path (read entire document).
As per claims 13-14, since Su discloses the gas sensor detects the poisonous and harmful substance in the ambient air exceeds the set threshold, it is fed back to the control board, an indicating lamp and a loudspeaker for prompting alarming, meanwhile the whole air cleaner acceleration work, until the sensor data is normal, quiet air purifier recovery purification state, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to changing the filter responsive to receiving the alarm indicating the ambient air exceeds the set threshold that means the filter being ineffective/dirty at filtering a particular particulate.
As per claims 15-20, refer to claims 8-14 above.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 June 17, 2026