DETAILED ACTION
This office action is based on the claim set submitted and filed on 07/02/2026.
Claims 1, 13, 23 have been amended.
Claims 2, 8, 17 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-16, and 18-23 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 13-16, 18-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Al-Ali et al. (US 2024/0047061 A1- “Al-Ali”)
Regarding Claim 1, Al-Ali teaches a system adapted to transfer medical data associated with unique identity (ID) data of a patient between monitoring devices (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0027], [0031], [0125-0127], [0140-0141]), the system comprising:
a first patient monitoring device of said monitoring devices associated with the unique ID data, wherein the first patient monitoring device is configured with a first wireless data receiver and a first wireless data transmitter, and wherein the first patient monitoring device is adapted to monitor the medical data of the patient Al-Ali discloses a computing device (e.g., monitoring hub) where identification an physiological data that can be generated by sensors and/or received via plurality of monitoring hubs such as origin monitoring hub when transferring physiological monitoring where the identification data can include data that is associated with a user and can be used to identify the user such as the user unique ID (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0067], [0141], [0151], [0158-0160], [0165], [0186])
a second patient monitoring device of said monitoring devices configured with a second wireless data receiver and a second wireless data transmitter, wherein the first patient monitoring device is adapted to wirelessly transmit the unique ID data to the second patient monitoring device and wherein the second patient monitoring device is configured to wirelessly receive the unique ID data from the first patient monitoring device; Al-Ali discloses the monitoring hubs where identification data can be received by a monitoring hub such as destination monitoring hub when transferring physiological monitoring to receive the identification data associated with the user such as the user unique ID (Al-Ali: [Fig. 5A-B], [0141], [0151], [0157-0161], [0190], );
at least one database for storing the medical data associated with the unique ID Al-Ali discloses the collected patient data is stored in a database (Al-Ali: [0152-0153], [0164])
at least one computing device in data communication with each of the first patient monitoring device, the second patient monitoring device, and the at least one database, wherein the at least one computing device is configured to execute a plurality of programmatic instructions that (Al-Ali: [0152-0153], [0164]), when executed, cause the at least one computing device to:
receive the medical data monitored by the first patient monitoring device Al-Ali discloses the data generated by the sensors communicating with the origin monitoring hubs and transmit physiological data to the monitoring hub and server to stores it (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0141], [0067], [0151-0153])
transmit the received medical data to the at least one database (Al-Ali: [0152-0153])
receive from the first patient monitoring device a request to transfer the medical data associated with the unique ID to the second patient monitoring device Al-Ali discloses a request to transfer the patient data comprises patient ID along with physiological monitoring from origin monitoring hub to destination monitoring hub (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0141], [0151], [0158-0160], [0165], [0186])
receive from the second patient monitoring device the unique ID Al-Ali discloses receiving a match of identification data of the origin monitoring hub and destination monitoring hub (Al-Ali: [0141-0142], [0155], [0165], [0196]),
initiate transmission of the medical data associated with the unique ID to the second patient monitoring device only upon detecting a concurrence of (i) a transfer request originating from the first patient monitoring device and (ii) receipt of the unique ID from the second patient monitoring device, Al-Ali discloses a request to transfer data such as identification data that is/are unique to a user from a first device to a second device where the identification data comprises the user unique ID and other information such as permission to transfer the data (Al-Ali: [0140-0141], Identification data can comprise a user ID. Identification data can include a tag, marker, serial number, bar code, QR code, facial recognition, fingerprint recognition, voice recognition, eye recognition, gesture recognition, or the like. Identification data may be unique to a user, [0152-0153], [0155-0156], [0165], [0195-0199])
wherein the transmission of the unique ID is performed using a short-range wireless protocol that is activated in response to physical contact between the first patient monitoring device and the second patient monitoring device, wherein, upon physical contact between the first patient monitoring device and the second patient monitoring device, the second patient monitoring device is configured to automatically display a confirmation prompt to a user, and wherein the transmission of the unique ID is initiated only upon receipt of an affirmative confirmation response to said prompt Al-Ali discloses a request to transfer data such as identification data that is/are unique to a user from a first device to a second device where the identification data comprises the user unique ID and other information such as permission to transfer the data where the transfer request maybe initiated by a user input and where the transfer request may comprise a non-contact or minimal-contact (e.g., light tap) user input that results in contact, initiating a wireless communication (e.g., Bluetooth, near field communication (NFC) and receiving request to transfer wireless monitoring comprising said identification data via the in-room display device one or more of near field communication (NFC) or radio frequency identification (RFID) a non-contact user input via the in-room display device and cause the monitoring hub to determine that the request to perform the transfer operation is approved if the identification data matches the second identification data and receive via the communication components the approval status and display a graphical depiction of the transfer instructions and indication of action taken by the user, and cause the monitoring hub to receive, via the communication component, confirmation that the transfer operation was completed (Al-Ali: [Fig. 4], [0040], [0068-0070], [0140-0141]; Identification data may comprise or indicate permissions associated with a user such as permission or authority to transfer physiological monitoring. Identification data can include a reason (e.g., provided by a requesting user) for requesting a transfer. A computing device, such as a monitoring hub, can receive identification data via one or more wireless communication protocols such as near field communication (NFC) or radio frequency identification (RFID). For example, a user may place a badge configured for wireless communication in proximity to a monitoring hub to be detected by the monitoring hub, [0152-0156], [0172], [0188], [0191], [0201], [0235])
Regarding Claim 3, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first patient monitoring device is configured to wirelessly directly transmit the unique ID to the second patient monitoring device upon physical contact with the second patient monitoring device (Al-Ali: [0141-0142], [0155], [0165], [0188-0189], [0191-0197]).
Regarding Claim 4, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the first patient monitoring device is configured to only directly transmit the unique ID to the second patient monitoring device upon physical contact with the second patient monitoring device and not to transmit the medical data directly to the second patient monitoring device (Al-Ali: [0141-0142], [0155], [0165], [0188-0189], [0191-0197]).
Regarding Claim 5, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first patient monitoring device is configured to wirelessly directly transmit, and the second patient monitoring device is configured to wirelessly directly receive, the unique ID using near field communication Al-Ali discloses the monitoring hubs may communicate with the server(s) via any combination of wireless communication protocols including near field communication (NFC) (Al-Ali: [0070], [0141-0142], [0149], [0191-0197]).
Regarding Claim 6, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the first patient monitoring device and the second patient monitoring device are configured to activate near field communication only by physical contact between the first patient monitoring device and the second patient monitoring device (Al-Ali: [0070], [0141-0142], [0188-0189], [0191-0197]).
Regarding Claim 13, Al-Ali teaches a method for transferring medical data associated with a unique identity (ID) of a patient from a first patient monitoring device to a second patient monitoring device using at least one computing device remotely located from, and in data communication with, both the first patient monitoring device and the second patient monitoring device, wherein the medical data associated with the unique ID comprises physiological data of the patient monitored by the first patient monitoring device, said method comprising:
the claim recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding Claim 14, Al-Ali teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising using the at least one computing device, causing the medical data to be stored in at least one database (Al-Ali: [0152-0153]).
Regarding Claim 15, Al-Ali teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising, using the at least one computing device, causing the medical data to be transmitted to the second patient monitoring device from the at least one database (Al-Ali: [0152-0153]).
Regarding Claim 16, Al-Ali teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the first patient monitoring device is not configured to, permitted to, or enabled to directly transmit the medical data to the second patient monitoring device (Al-Ali: [0142], [0155], [0165], [0196]).
Regarding Claim 18-20, the claims recite substantially similar limitations to claim 4-6, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding Claim 23, Al-Ali teaches a non-transient computer readable medium comprising a plurality of programmatic instructions that enable a transfer of medical data associated with a unique identity (ID) of a patient from a first patient monitoring device to a second patient monitoring device using at least one computing device remotely located from, and in data communication with, both the first patient monitoring device and the second patient monitoring device, wherein the medical data associated with the unique ID comprises physiological data of the patient monitored by the first patient monitoring device Al-Ali discloses a computing device (e.g., monitoring hub) may communicate with a remote server transferring based on a request monitored physiological and identification data that can be generated by sensors and/or received via plurality of monitoring hubs such as origin monitoring hub when transferring physiological monitoring where the identification data can include data that is associated with a user and can be used to identify the user such as the user unique ID (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0135], [0141], [0151], [0155], [0158-0160], [0165], [0310]), and wherein executing the plurality of programmatic instructions causes:
the medical data associated with the unique ID to be transmitted from the first patient monitoring device to the at least one computing device Al-Ali discloses transmit physiological data to origin monitoring hub, destination monitoring hub, and/or to the server(s) in real-time (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0141], [0152-153], [0165])
the at least one computing device to receive the medical data from the first patient monitoring device (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0152-153])
the unique ID to be directly transmitted from the first patient monitoring device to the second patient monitoring device Al-Ali discloses the monitoring hub can receive identification data via one or more wireless communication protocols such as near field communication (NFC) transmitting physiological data to origin monitoring hub and destination monitoring hub (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0152-153], [0155], [0165], [0195-0196])
the second patient monitoring device to receive the unique ID Al-Ali discloses the monitoring hub can receive identification data via one or more wireless communication protocols such as near field communication (NFC) (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0141-0142], [0155-0156], [0165], [0195-0196])
the first patient monitoring device to transmit to the at least one computing device a request to transfer the medical data to the second patient monitoring device Al-Ali discloses a request to transfer physiological monitoring from origin monitoring hub to destination monitoring hub (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 4, 5A-B], [0141-0142], [0155-0156], [0165])
the second patient monitoring device to transmit to the at least one computing device the unique ID Al-Ali discloses transmit physiological data to origin monitoring hub, destination monitoring hub, and/or to the server(s) in real-time (Al-Ali: [Fig. 1A-B, 5A-B], [0141-0142], [0152-153], [0155-0156], [0165], [0195-0196])
the medical data associated with the unique ID to be transmitted to the second patient monitoring device from the at least one computing device (Al-Ali: [0155-0156], [0165], [0197-0199]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-12 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Ali et al. (US 2024/0047061 A1- “Al-Ali”) in view of White et al. (US 2021/0304881 A1– “White”)
Regarding Claim 7, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the medical data associated with the unique ID comprises demographic data of the patient and physiological data of the patient Al-Ali teaches unique ID and physiological data (Al-Ali: [0141]). However, Al-Ali does not expressly disclose demographic data.
White teaches consolidating medical data from multiple devices where the data comprises demographic data (White: [0068], [0140], [0176], [0186]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Al-Ali incorporate demographic data, as taught by White which allow healthcare provider(s) to assess the overall state of care for the patient and make appropriate adjustments (White: [0059]).
Regarding Claim 9, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first patient monitoring device is a multi-parameter patient monitor configured to monitor a plurality of patient parameters of a neonate patient, a pediatric patient or adult patient Al-Ali discloses plurality of patient parameters (Al-Ali: [Fig. 3A-B], [0146], [015 l-0152], [0277]). However, Al-Ali does not expressly teach type of patient such as adult, neonatal, pediatric.
White teaches parameters for different types of patients such as adult and pediatric (White: [0136]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Al-Ali incorporate patient type parameters, as taught by White which ease treatment documentation in specific situations and provide the relevant information for the type of patient (White, [0136-137]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Al-Ali and White teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of patient parameters comprises one or more of ECG, heart rate, respirations, blood oxygenation, non-invasive blood pressure, invasive blood pressure, non-invasive temperature, invasive temperature, and cardiac output (Al-Ali: [Fig. 3A-B], [0134], [0146], [0152], [0277]).
Regarding Claim 11, Al-Ali teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second patient monitoring device is a multi-parameter patient monitor configured to monitor a plurality of patient parameters of a neonate patient, a pediatric patient or adult patient Al-Ali discloses plurality of patient parameters (Al-Ali: [Fig. 3A-B], [0146], [015 l-0152], [0277]). However, Al-Ali does not expressly teach type of patient such as adult, neonatal, pediatric.
White teaches parameters for different types of patients such as adult and pediatric (White: [0136]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Al-Ali incorporate patient type parameters, as taught by White which ease treatment documentation in specific situations and provide the relevant information for the type of patient (White, [0136-137]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Al-Ali and White teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of patient parameters comprises one or more of ECG, heart rate, respirations, blood oxygenation, non-invasive blood pressure, invasive blood pressure, non-invasive temperature, invasive temperature, and cardiac output (Al-Ali: [0134], [0146], [0152], [0277]).
Regarding Claims 21-22, the claims recite substantially similar limitations to claim 9-10, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered by the Examiner and addressed as the following:
In the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that:
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection on page 7-11.
In response to the Applicant claim(s) amendment and argument/remarks, Examiner withdraws the 101 rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection on page 11-17.
On page 13-14 of the remarks, Applicant argues “The Examiner relies primarily upon paragraphs [0141], [0155], [0165], [0188]-[0199] of Al-Ali for the newly amended limitations. Applicants respectfully submit that these passages do
not disclose the claimed invention. First, Al-Ali does not disclose a short-range wireless protocol that is activated in response to physical contact between two monitoring devices... Second, Al-Ali fails to disclose that physical contact automatically causes the receiving
monitoring device to display a confirmation prompt... Third, Al-Ali likewise fails to disclose that transmission of the unique ID is initiated only after receipt of an affirmative confirmation response... Fourth, Al-Ali does not disclose the claimed coordinated concurrence detection performed by the computing device in combination with the foregoing user-confirmation workflow...” Examiner respectfully disagree. Examiner has added the sections of Al-Ali disclosing the argued features. For example, Al-Ali in response to “short-range wireless protocol that is activated in response to physical contact between two monitoring devices” discloses a request to transfer date by providing an minimal contact user input as such tap that is physical contact between devices and initiate transfer request via establishing connection with wireless communication signal such as near field communication (NFC) and/or radio frequency identification (RFID) , see at least (Al-Ali: [Fig. 3A-B, 4], [0068], [0140-0142], [0188], [0235]).
Moreover, Al-Ali in response to “Al-Ali fails to disclose that physical contact automatically causes the receiving monitoring device to display a confirmation prompt” discloses in one or more sections discloses display a graphical depiction of the transfer instructions and indication of action taken by the user that indicates a confirmation prompt and confirmation of a transfer, see at least, (Al-Ali: [Fig. 4], [0069], [0191]). Furthermore. Al-Ali in response to “fails to disclose that transmission of the unique ID is initiated only after receipt of an affirmative confirmation response”, discloses transferring identification data which is unique ID to a user after receiving a transfer request and confirm matching approval of transfer, see at least (Al-Ali: [0140-0142]). Finally, Al-Ali in response to “does not disclose the claimed coordinated concurrence detection performed by the computing device in combination with the foregoing user-confirmation workflow”, discloses a process to transfer patient data to include the patient unique ID based on a request received to perform the transfer between devices such as first device to a second device and based on authenticating the request initiating the transfer using wireless communication signal, see at least (Al-Ali: [0068-0069], [0140-0142]).
As discussed above and described in the above rejection, the cited section(s) of Al-Ali discloses the argued features. Therefore, Examiner finds the Applicant argument are unpersuasive.
Prior Art Cited but not Applied
The following document(s) were found relevant to the disclosure but not applied:
US 2021/0196121 “Aarnio” discloses detecting a first wireless sensing in a predefined area associated with a second patient monitor and identification information of the first wireless sensing devices is then communicated to the second patient monitor.
The references are relevant since it discloses a process for providing access and sharing patient unique identification and physiological data between devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/ALAAELDIN M. ELSHAER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687