DETAILED ACTION
Claims 15-28 are pending, as Claims 1-14 were cancelled. Claims 15-28 are considered in this Office action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 have been withdrawn/cancelled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election with traverse of the non-elected Claims in the reply filed on 4/30/2026 is acknowledged. Other than stating the traversal, Applicant has not stated why they are traversing this restriction and thus this is not found persuasive. Applicant has cancelled Claims 1-14 in response to this requirement.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/2025 has been acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 is attached to the instant Office action.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 15 of the current application (Hereby known as ‘926) is provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application No. 19/078,913 (Hereby known as ‘913). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 of the current application (‘926) recites substantially similar steps of '913 – Claim 1.
Claim 1 of ‘913 recites the steps of:
a data processing system comprising:
a sales training utility configured to provide sales training, the sales training utility comprising:
a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface comprises:
a profile graphical user interface,
a record pitch graphical user interface,
an explore graphical user interface, and
a pitch battle graphical user interface,
a processing device configured to provide sales training, wherein the processing device provides sales training via:
recording pitches,
analyzing pitches,
conducting pitch battles, and
analyzing pitch battles,
a data storage system comprising:
recorded pitches,
scripts for pitches, and
industry data,
wherein the sales training utility is configured to record pitches from a user, process recorded pitch via the processing device and provide analysis of the recorded pitch via the processing device and information stored in the data storage system.
Whereas Claim 15 of ‘926 states:
a sales training utility comprising a graphical user interface,
wherein the graphical user interface comprises utilities for displaying a pitch battle in real time,
wherein the sales training utility employs a processor to process data from a data storage system comprising:
scripts for pitches, expert level information, and industry information, wherein analyzing the pitch battle is analyzed in real time via a processor,
wherein the processor employs criteria comprising:
tonality, facial expressions, language, or cadence; and
the graphical user interface further enabling, by the processor, users to vote for pitch battle contestants, wherein the voting comprises:
up-votes, down-votes, likes, or comments.
These are obvious variants of each other as both recite substantially the same limitations. Further, elimination of an element or its functions is deemed to be obvious in light of prior art teachings of at least the recited element or its functions (see In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184, 186; 311 F2d 581 (CCPA 1963)), thereby rendering the elimination of any elements recited in the claims of the related patent (that are not recited in the instant claims) obvious.
Thus, Claim 15 of the current application is an obvious variant of claim 1 in ‘913.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor.
Claim 15 recites the limitations of “a processor to process data from a data storage system comprising: scripts for…”, later states “wherein analyzing the pitch battle is analyzed in real time via a processor, wherein the processor employs criteria comprising: tonality, …”, and then states “the graphical user interface further enabling, by the processor, users to vote… ” . This is unclear as are these all the same processor or are they different, and further which processor is the “the processor” as above which is later in the claim. Thus, the claim is indefinite. For examiner purposes, these all will be taken as the same processor.
The dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the independent, and thus the dependents are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Alice - Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 15 recites the limitations for displaying a pitch battle in real time, collecting and storing scripts for pitches, expert level information, and industry information, wherein analyzing the pitch battle is analyzed in real time, which employs criteria comprising: tonality, facial expressions, language, or cadence; and enabling users to vote for pitch battle contestants, wherein the voting comprises: up-votes, down-votes, likes, or comments (Collecting, Storing, Analyzing, and Transmitting Information, an Observation, Evaluation, and Judgment, a Mental Process; Managing Human Behavior, a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity), which under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind for the purposes of providing analysis and voting on recorded pitches, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a computer readable non-transitory storage medium, sales training utility, graphical user interface, processor, and data storage system, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed or read into the mind for the purposes of managing, which is Managing Human Behavior, a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, an observation, evaluation, and judgment. Further, as described above, the claims recite limitations for Managing Human Behavior, a “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity”. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the above stated additional elements to perform the abstract limitations as above. The computer readable non-transitory storage medium, sales training utility, graphical user interface, processor, and data storage system are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic software/module performing a generic computer function of storing, retrieving, sending, and processing data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Even if taken as an additional element, the collecting and transmitting steps above are at best insignificant extra-solution activity as these are receiving, storing, and transmitting data as per the MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element being used to perform the abstract limitations stated above amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Applicant’s Specification states:
“[0030] The sales training and recruitment utility with an autodialer 100 may include a cloud-based data management system 102 and a user device 104 (the user device 104 can be operated by the sale personnel, a recruiter, or a sales training and recruitment utility with an autodialer manager). The cloud-based data management system 102 may include an application server 106, a database 108, and a data server 110. The user device 104 may include one or more devices associated with sale personnel profiles of the sales training and recruitment utility with an autodialer 100, such as a smartphone 112 and/or a smart watch 114”
Which shows that any generic computing device can be used to perform the abstract limitations, such as a laptop, phone, desktop, etc., and from this interpretation, one would reasonably deduce the aforementioned steps are all functions that can be done on generic components, and thus application of an abstract idea on a generic computer, as per the Alice decision and not requiring further analysis under Berkheimer, but for edification the Applicant’s specification has been used as above satisfying any such requirement. This is “Applying It” by utilizing current technologies. For the collecting and transmitting steps that were considered extra-solution activity in Step 2A above, if they were to be considered additional elements, they have been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional, activity in the field. The background does not provide any indication that the additional elements, such as the medium, interfaces, etc., nor the collecting and transmitting steps as above, are anything other than a generic, and the MPEP Section 2106.05(d) indicates that mere collection or receipt, storing, or transmission of data is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 16-28 contain the identified abstract ideas, further narrowing them, with the additional elements of an explore graphical user interface, processing device, data storage system, explore scroll graphical user interface, and autodialer, which are highly generic as described by Applicant’s Specification when considered as part of a practical application or under prong 2 of the Alice analysis of the MPEP, thus not integrated into a practical application, nor are they significantly more for the same reasons and rationale as above.
After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination, Examiner has determined that the claims are directed to the above abstract ideas and do not amount to significantly more. Therefore, the claims and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, No. 13–298.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks (U.S. Publication No. 2020/019,3995) in view of Publicover (U.S. Publication No. 2025/018,2163).
Regarding Claim 15, Brooks, a Voice Analysis Training System and Method, teaches a computer readable non-transitory storage medium (As in Claim 20) comprising:
a sales training utility comprising a graphical user interface,
wherein the graphical user interface comprises utilities for displaying a pitch battle in real time, wherein the sales training utility employs a processor to process data from a data storage system ([0020] API/GUI with a interface for a user, interface for administrators, Fig. 4 shows an analysis of pitch in an interface, and Fig. 5 shows another interface for exploring information and analyzing pitches, [0044] feedback user interface) comprising:
scripts for pitches ([0044] scripts for pitches), expert level information, and industry information, wherein analyzing the pitch battle is analyzed in real time ([0053] these scripts are generated can be for particular products or services of a company, thus industry) via a processor (Claim 20 processor),
wherein the processor employs criteria comprising:
tonality, facial expressions, language, or cadence ([0018] analyzed based on facial, tone, and cadence); and
Although Brooks teaches a graphical user interface further enabling, by the processor, users to analyze pitch battle contestant, it does not explicitly state allow users to vote.
Publicover teaches interactions with the pitch battles comprise: up-votes, down-votes, likes, comment, sharing, and bookmarking ([0402] sharing, voting, up and down, liking, [0308-309] bookmarks and likes).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 16, Brooks teaches analyzing of the pitch battle as in Claim 1 above.
Publicover teaches the sales training utility employs artificial intelligence, machine learning and crowd sourcing ([0356] AI and machine learning are used and [0455] crowd feed/sourcing is used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 17, REFA teaches comprising an explore graphical user interface, wherein the explore graphical user interface is configured to:
input, via a processing device profile data ([0020] sales training provided on a device/training system) comprising:
recorded pitches ([0018] pitches are recorded), analyzing pitches ([0018] they are analyzed),
industry information ([0053] these scripts are generated can be for particular products or services of a company, thus industry), and
prior activity ([0020] prior sales training data) and
generate, via the processing device and a data storage system, an explore scroll graphical user interface (Fig. 4 shows a recorded pitch for sales training on an interface)
Brooks does not teach expert information or user profiles.
Publicover teaches a user profile in [0089] and use of expert information in [0354]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 18, Brooks teaches wherein the explore scroll graphical user interface is configured to:
display, via the data storage system, recoded pitches created for the user by the sale training utility (Fig. 4 shows a recorded pitch for sales training)
store, via the data storage system, recorded pitches and pitch battles conducted by the user ([0018] sales calls and pitches are recorded), and
Brooks does not teach, but
Publicover teaches a share feature allowing the user to share the pitch battle with other users via social media, text messages, email or other electronic systems ([0402] sharing, voting, up and down, liking, [0308-309] bookmarks and likes on Facebook which is social media).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 19, Brooks teaches wherein the pitch battle graphical user interface is configured to:
generate, via a processing device, a real-time display of active pitch battles, wherein the pitch battle graphical user interface is further configured to generate, via the processing device and data storage system, real-time interaction with the pitch battles (Fig 4 where real-time analysis is performed which is generated by the system as in Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 21, Brooks does not teach further comprising a bookmark feature allowing the user to save pitch battle for later viewing.
Publicover teaches interactions with the pitch battles comprise: up-votes, down-votes, likes, comment, sharing, and bookmarking ([0402] sharing, voting, up and down, liking, [0308-309] bookmarks and likes).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 22, Brooks does not teach, but
Publicover teaches a share feature allowing the user to share the pitch battle with other users via social media, text messages, email or other electronic systems ([0402] sharing, voting, up and down, liking, [0308-309] bookmarks and likes on Facebook which is social media).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 23, Brooks does not teach, but
Publicover teaches login information and third-party login information is maintained private to ensure privacy of a user's real-time information ([0354] and [0359] logging into a system and third party for real-time information of a user)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 24, Brooks teaches analyzing of the pitch battle as in Claim 1 above.
Publicover teaches the sales training utility employs artificial intelligence, machine learning and crowd sourcing ([0356] AI and machine learning are used and [0455] crowd feed/sourcing is used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 25, Brooks does not teach for review, but
Publicover teaches l analysis is sent to a user for review ([0357] multiple places)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches for review of users of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claim 26, Brooks does not teach for recruitment, but
Publicover teaches analysis is sent to a user for hiring/recruitment ([0465] for hiring of reviews/recruitment)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches for recruitment of users of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Regarding Claims 27 and 28, Brooks does not teach for role-playing or debate, but
Publicover teaches debate and role-playing ([0347] role-playing and debate between people and users)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to combine the pitch battles of Brooks with the use of video information and pitches for review of users of Publicover as they are all analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions to learning from sales pitches, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve a user’s experience and thus increase revenue as taught in [0008] of Publicover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the independent claim was amended in such a way as to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250182163 A1
Publicover; Mark W. et al.
COMPUTERIZED METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR PROVIDING CUSTOMIZED ENTERTAINMENT CONTENT
US 20200193995 A1
BROOKS; Margaret L
VOICE ANALYSIS TRAINING SYSTEM
US 20180261219 A1
BROOKS; Margaret L
VOICE ANALYSIS TRAINING SYSTEM
US 20240127816 A1
WEXLER; Yonatan
PROVIDING CONTEXT-DRIVEN OUTPUT BASED ON FACIAL MICROMOVEMENTS
US 20240070252 A1
MAIZELS; Aviad et al.
USING FACIAL MICROMOVEMENTS TO VERIFY COMMUNICATIONS AUTHENTICITY
US 20220414731 A1
Gietz; Dallen Gary
SOLAR SALES AND INSTALLATION PARTNER NETWORKING
/JOSEPH M WAESCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625B 8/3/2026