fNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
This office action is in response to the original application filed on 03/13/2025.
Claims 1-20 are examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Chang et al. (CN103688502), hereinafter Chang in view of Smith et al. (CA2904634), hereinafter Smith in view of Ranganath et al. (US 20240259879), hereinafter Ranganath .
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a computer-implemented method for implementing security in a network development, comprising:
receiving data packets from one or more network devices in a radio access network (RAN); (para. [0038], a mobile terminal (Mobile Terminal), a mobile station (Mobile Station), … RAN, Radio Access Network) to communicate with one or more core network. the UE and the wireless access network to exchange voice and/or data)
analyzing the data packets based on a set of constraints and [[functions of the RAN]], the analysis including: (“[0044] … the first block of data into n data space … respectively performing recursive processing for each data space…”)
validating, in a first data space, the data packets [[based on a set of constraints]]; and executing, in a second data space, [[stateless functions of the RAN]] using the validated data packets based on configuration files; (para. ]0044]-[0048], in the first block of data into n data space, wherein two data space overlap D bit space adjacent to the n data; n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, D is a positive integer equal to or greater than I, respectively performing recursive processing for each data space of the n data space in combination after the recursive processing of the n data space to obtain a second data block, para. [0075-[0088], first data space and second data space, module updating each section state value ) and
While Chang discloses analyzing data packets, it does not explicitly disclose validation of packets in a first data space based on constraints. However, Smith in analogues art discloses validation of packets in a first data space based on constraints; (para. [0141], … policy criteria … Radio Access Selection, Capacity Augmentation, QoS…) and executing stateless functions of the RAN. (para. [0150] The stateless method may involve coordinating spectrum usage between networks on a real-time basis)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet analyzing disclosed by Chang by incorporating the additional packet validation based on constraints and stateless functions as disclosed by Smith. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a system configured to provide security for the traffic streams by segregating the traffic by prioritizing and other metering processes (para. [0148]-[0149], Smith)
Chang in view of Smith does not explicitly disclose updating a state of the RAN based on results of the analyzing. However, Ranganath in analogues art teaches updating a state of the RAN based on results of the analyzing (para. [0031], [0075]-[0083], [0088]-[0090], [0160]-[0167], re-allocating and/or adjusting HW, SW, and/or NW resources for individual xApps 410 and/or individual RANFs operating on or by one or more E2 nodes. The xApp manager 425 adjusts or otherwise determines HW, SW, and/or NW resource usage/allocations according to service requirements for one or more network slices or service slices. (e.g., as defined by KPIs, KPMs, and/or SLAs). The near-RT RIC's 414 (or the xApp manager's 425) control over xApps 410 and/or E2 nodes is steered or otherwise guided according to one or more policies 441 and/or enrichment information provided by the non-RT RIC 412 over the A1 interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet analyzing disclosed by Chang in view of Smith by incorporating the additional updating based on results of analyzing as disclosed by Ranganath. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide RAN intelligent controller-based application and resource management through collection and analysis of platform telemetry data and network measurements. (para. [0002], Ranaganath).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses determining that at least a portion of the data packets are invalid; and locking the invalid portion of the data packets in the first data space. (Chang para. [0060]-[0064], segment modules 211 for the first data block segmented into n of data space, wherein two data space overlap D bit space adjacent to the n data, n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, D is more than or equal to positive integer I; recursion module 212 for respectively performing recursive processing for each data space of the n data space; combining module 213 for combining after the recursive processing of the n data space to obtain a second data block; Raganath discloses 0075]-[0083], [0088]-[0090], [0160]-[0167], RIC adjusting}. The same motivation as claim 1 above applies.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses wherein validating the data packets further comprises: determining that at least a portion of the data packets are valid; and enabling access to the second data space to perform unit functions with the valid data packets (Chang, para. [0060]-[0063] … OP-BCJR unit … segmenting module … recursion module … combining module…; Raganath discloses 0075]-[0083], [0088]-[0090], [0160]-[0167], RIC adjusting }. The same motivation as claim 1 above applies.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses wherein the stateless functions are executed in one of a finite number of ways for a finite time span as defined in the configuration files. (Smith, para. [0150] The stateless method may involve coordinating spectrum usage between networks on a real-time basis. The stateful method may include storing and forwarding spectrum resources following …time intervals). The same motivation as claim 1 above applies.
Regarding claim 7, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses determining that the execution of at least one of the stateless functions fails to complete within a termination time window included in the configuration files; and terminating the at least one of the stateless functions, wherein an output of a failed stateless function is marked empty (Smith, para. [0095], [0150] if the *272 call is not answered by the PSAP within a predetermined time frame a temporary TPA authorization may be automatically issued… The stateless method and the stateful method). The same motivation as claim 1 above applies.
Regarding claim 9, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses wherein the updating is based on an analysis recognizing a violation based on the set of constraints (Smith, para, [0095] … the temporary TPA authorization may be flagged on the PSAP monitor for possible deactivation or investigation). The same motivation as claim 1 applies.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, claims 10 and 19 recite limitations substantially similar in scope as claim 1, therefore, claims 10 and 19 are also rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1 above. In addition, Chang discloses a processor; and a memory comprising instructions stored thereon (Chang, para. [0099]) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon (Chang, para. [0099]).
Regarding claims 11-14 16-18 and 20, claims 11-14 16-18 and 20 recite limitations substantially similar in scope as claims 2-4 and 6-8, therefore, are also rejected under the same rationale set forth for claims 2-4 and 6-8 above.
Regarding claims 19-14 and 16-18, claims 2-4 and 6-9 recite limitations substantially similar in scope as claims 2-4 and 6-8, therefore, are also rejected under the same rationale set forth for claims 2-4 and 6-8 above.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Chang et al. (CN103688502), hereinafter Chang in view of Smith et al. (CA2904634), hereinafter Smith i Ranganath et al. (US 20240259879) , hereinafter Ranganath and further in view of Robell et al. (CA 3223525) hereinafter Robell.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses wherein the configuration files are maintained by [a state machine] in a third data space independently from other data stored by [middleware associated with the RAN] (Chang, para. [0079] … primary Turbo equalizer … subsequent Turbo equalizer…) Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath do not explicitly discloses a state machine and data stored by middleware associated with the RAN. However, Robell in analogues art discloses a state machine and data stored by middleware associated with the RAN. (Robell, para. [0036], [0108]-[0114], [0187]-[0193], RAN and middleware software… system to communicate with other devices and/or systems, including instructions for packetizing/depacketizing data, modulating/demodulating signals, implementation of protocols stacks, and/or the like. In various implementations, a "protocol" and/or a "communication protocol" may be represented using a protocol stack, a finite state machine (FSM), and/or any other suitable data structure). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet analyzing disclosed by Chang, Smith and Raganath by including state machine and middleware software as taught by Robell. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a standardized rules to communicate with other devices by providing common means for unrelated objects. (Robell, see para. [0192)
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Chang et al. (CN103688502), hereinafter Chang in view of Smith et al. (CA2904634), hereinafter Smith in view of Ranganath et al. (US 20240259879) , hereinafter Ranganat and further in view of Robell et al. (CA 3223525) hereinafter Robell and in view of Duggal et al. US (20210392056), Duggal.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath in of Robell discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath in view of Robell do not explicitly disclose, however, Duggal discloses wherein the state machine is developed from a domain-specific language-based specification. (Duggal para. [0131]-[0137],[[0373]-[0384], allow modeling of state machine for complex paths …. High level domain services…. share the domain and the domain-model based approach …a network service implemented across separate domains for Secure Traffic directly to a Radio Access Network which allows cell phones to consume the service). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet analyzing disclosed by Chang, Smith, Raganath and Robell by including state machine developed from a domain-specific language as taught by Duggal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide optimized network service where event is evaluated based on context for resource requirements and configurations of domain-based services (Duggal, para. [0385]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Chang et al. (CN103688502), hereinafter Chang in view of Smith et al. (CA2904634), hereinafter Smith in view of Ranganath et al. (US 20240259879) , hereinafter Ranganat and further in view of and in view of Duggal et al. US (20210392056), Duggal.
Regarding claim 8, Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath discloses the method of claim 1. Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses [[detecting misbehavior in a unit function]] in the second data space; and sanitizing the second data space for traces of compromised data processed by the unit function, (Smith, para. [0078], validating for authorized network to participate, para. [0095]-[0097], , … the temporary TPA authorization may be flagged on the PSAP monitor for possible deactivation or investigation). While Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath further discloses flagging, it does not explicitly disclose detecting misbehavior in a unit function. Duggal in analogous art, however, discloses detecting misbehavior in a unit function (Duggal, para.[0410]-[0419], unexpected high volume of traffic is sent to the firewall (e.g., possible DoS attack or just misdirected traffic). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packet analyzing disclosed by Chang in view of Smith in view of Ranaganath by including detecting misbehavior as taught by Duggal. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide secure traffic domain with established assurance configuration (Duggal, para. [0413]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tofighbakhsh et al. - US 20250203412 directed to providing probes-as-services to customers of a cellular network.
Jerome et al. - US20150173085 directed to dynamically managing Secondary User Node (“SUN”) access to a segment of a wireless spectrum licensed for use by Primary User Nodes (“PUNs”).
Zhao et al. US20180132289 directed to a multi-subscriber identification module (MSIM) wireless communication device may have at least a first SIM and a second SIM associated with a shared radio frequency (RF) resource.
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436