DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (CN214837781U; “Xu” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a connection device (100), comprising:
a first connection component (3, fig. 4), configured to connect a first body (¶[0067], [0069]);
a second connection component (2, fig. 4), configured to connect a second body (¶[0067], [0070]); and
an adjustment component (4-6, 12, 22-24, 32-34, fig. 4) configured to connect the first connection component and the second connection component (figs. 5, 8-10), and to enable rotation of the first connection component with respect to the second connection component (¶[0073]),
wherein during a first rotation process (figs. 26-30, ¶[0081]-[0082]), the first connection component and the second connection component rotate synchronously through the adjustment component (¶[0085]), and
wherein during a second rotation process (figs. 11-13), the adjustment component is controlled to enable rotation for one of the first connection component and the second connection component (see at least ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses:
wherein the adjustment component includes:
a first linkage member (34), configured to connect the first connection component and rotate synchronously with the first connection component (¶[0073], [0085]);
a second linkage member (24), configured to connect the second connection component and rotate synchronously with the second connection component (¶[0073], [0085]), wherein the second linkage member (24) includes a first connection portion (241) and a second connection portion (see ‘SCP’ in annotated fig. 13 below), the first connection portion being used for transmission connection with the first linkage member during the first rotation process (fig. 29), and the second connection portion being used for transmission separation between the first linkage member and the second linkage member during the second rotation process (as disclosed upon examination of fig. 13); and
a control member (4,12, 22-23, 32-33), configured to limit the rotation of the first linkage member during the second rotation process (see at least fig. 12, and ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses:
wherein the control member includes:
a first control member (32-33), configured to connect the first connection component and being arranged coaxially with the first linkage member (fig. 12);
a second control member (22-23), configured to connect the second connection component and being arranged coaxially with the second linkage member (fig. 12); and
a sliding member (4, fig. 2), arranged between the first control member and the second control member (fig. 12), and used for switching between the first connection component and the second connection component (¶[0071]), so that one of the first connection component and the second connection component enables rotation during the second rotation process (figs. 11-13).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 3, and further discloses:
wherein the first control member is a first wheel body (figs. 6-7), the second control member is a second wheel body (figs. 6-7), the sliding member is a slider (¶[0071]), and the slider has a first end (arc shaped distal end adjacent to the first wheel body) and a second end (arc shaped distal end adjacent to the second wheel body),
wherein during the first rotation process, the first end of the slider is in sliding cooperation with the first wheel body, and the second end of the slider is in sliding cooperation with the second wheel body (fig. 27), and
wherein during the second rotation process, the first end of the slider is connected with the first wheel body to limit the rotation of the first wheel body (fig. 12, ¶[0078]), and the second end of the slider is in sliding cooperation with the second wheel body (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 4, and further discloses:
wherein a side wall of an outer periphery of the first wheel body includes an arc-shaped curved surface (331a) and a concave surface (331b) concave relative to the arc-shaped curved surface (fig. 12),
wherein a side wall of an outer periphery of the second wheel body includes a first arc surface (see ‘F1’ in annoted fig. 12 below) and a second arc surface (see ‘F2’ in annoted fig. 12 below), and a radius of the first arc surface is smaller than a radius of the second arc surface (fig. 12),
wherein during the first rotation process, the first end of the slider slides with the arc-shaped curved surface of the first wheel body (fig. 28), and the second end of the slider slides with the first arc surface (fig. 28), and
wherein during the second rotation process, the second arc surface abuts and slides with the second end of the slider (fig. 12), and the first end of the slider abuts with the concave surface of the first wheel body to limit the rotation of the first wheel body (fig. 12, ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses:
wherein the first linkage member is a first gear (¶[0069]), and the second linkage member is a second gear (¶[0069]), the second gear includes an annular side wall (figs. 4, 8-9 discloses this limitation), and
wherein the first connection portion is a plurality of gear teeth arranged on the annular side wall (fig. 8) and is in transmission connection to the first gear (fig. 24), the second connection portion is an avoidance surface formed by a surface of the annular side wall where no gear teeth are arranged (see annotated fig. 13 above), and the first linkage member and the second linkage member have opposite rotation directions (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 24 and 29).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses an electronic apparatus (¶[0067], [0075]), comprising: a first body (¶[0067], [0070]), a second body (¶[0067], [0069]), and a connection device (100), wherein the connection device includes:
a first connection component (3, fig. 4), configured to connect a first body (¶[0067], [0070]);
a second connection component (2, fig. 4), configured to connect a second body (¶[0067], [0069]); and
an adjustment component (4-6, 12, 22-24, 32-34, fig. 4) configured to connect the first connection component and the second connection component (figs. 5, 8-10), and to enable rotation of the first connection component with respect to the second connection component (¶[0073]),
wherein during a first rotation process (figs. 26-30, ¶[0081]-[0082]), the first connection component and the second connection component rotate synchronously through the adjustment component (¶[0085]), and
wherein during a second rotation process (figs. 11-13), the adjustment component is controlled to enable rotation for one of the first connection component and the second connection component (see at least ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses:
a connection device (100), comprising:
a first connection component (3, fig. 4);
a second connection component (2, fig. 4); and
an adjustment component (4-6, 12, 22-24, 32-34, fig. 4), configured to connect the first connection component and the second connection component (¶[0067], [0070]),
wherein during a first rotation process (figs. 26-30, ¶[0081]-[0082]), the first connection component and the second connection component both rotate through the adjustment component (¶[0085]), and
wherein during a second rotation process (figs. 11-13) the adjustment component is controlled to enable only one but not both of the first connection component and the second connection component to rotate (¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 11, and further discloses:
wherein the adjustment component includes:
a first linkage member (34), configured to connect the first connection component (¶[0073], [0085]);
a second linkage member (34), configured to connect the second connection component (¶[0073], [0085]); and
a control member (4,12, 22-23, 32-33), configured to limit the rotation of the first linkage member during the second rotation process (see at least fig. 12, and ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 12, and further discloses:
wherein the second linkage member includes a first connection portion (241) and a second connection portion (see ‘SCP’ in annotated fig. 13 below), the first connection portion being used for transmission connection with the first linkage member during the first rotation process (fig. 29), and the second connection portion being used for transmission separation between the first linkage member and the second linkage member during the second rotation process (as disclosed upon examination of fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 13, and further discloses:
wherein the control member includes:
a first control member (32-33), configured to connect the first connection component (fig. 12) and;
a second control member (22-23), configured to connect the second connection component (fig. 12); and
a sliding member (4), arranged between the first control member and the second control member (fig. 12), and used for switching between the first connection component and the second connection component (¶[0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 14, and further discloses:
wherein the first control member is a first wheel body (figs. 6-7), the second control member is a second wheel body (figs. 6-7), the sliding member is a slider (¶[0071]).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 15, and further discloses:
wherein the slider has a first end (arc shaped distal end adjacent to the first wheel body) and a second end (arc shaped distal end adjacent to the second wheel body),
wherein during the first rotation process, the first end of the slider is in sliding cooperation with the first wheel body, and the second end of the slider is in sliding cooperation with the second wheel body (fig. 27), and
wherein during the second rotation process, the first end of the slider is connected with the first wheel body to limit the rotation of the first wheel body (fig. 12, ¶[0078]), and the second end of the slider is in sliding cooperation with the second wheel body (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 15, and further discloses:
wherein a side wall of an outer periphery of the first wheel body includes an arc-shaped curved surface (331a) and a concave surface (331b) concave relative to the arc-shaped curved surface (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 15, and further discloses:
wherein a side wall of an outer periphery of the second wheel body includes a first arc surface (see ‘F1’ in annoted fig. 12 below) and a second arc surface (see ‘F2’ in annoted fig. 12 below), and a radius of the first arc surface is smaller than a radius of the second arc surface (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 15, and further discloses:
wherein an outer side wall of the first wheel body is formed with a first limiting structure (321b, figs. 2, 11) and a second limiting structure (321b, figs. 2, 11), the first limiting structure extends along a circumference of the first wheel body (fig. 11), and the second limiting structure extends along an axial direction of the first wheel body (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, in view of Hood, III et al (US 20150016040; “Hood” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first body is in a first position and a second position relative to the second body, and a free end of the first body is flush with a free end of the second body, and wherein a size of the first body along a first direction is smaller than a size of the second body along the first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to a rotation direction of the first connection component.
However, Hood teaches:
a first body (24, fig. 2) is in a first position (fig. 2A) and a second position (fig. 2D) relative to a second body (12, fig. 1), and a free end of the first body (see ‘1E’ in annotated fig. 2D below) is flush with a free end of the second body (see ‘2E’ in annotated fig. 2D below), and wherein a size of the first body along a first direction (see ‘1D’ in annotated fig. 2D below) is smaller than a size of the second body along the first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to a rotation direction of a first connection component (28, figs. 1-2D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Xu with Hood’s teaching such that the first body is in a first position and a second position relative to the second body, and a free end of the first body is flush with a free end of the second body, and wherein a size of the first body along a first direction is smaller than a size of the second body along the first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to a rotation direction of the first connection component, since the claim would have been obvious because combining 360 degree rotation hinges with clamshell type information handling systems was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Han. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the limitations of claim 8, and Hood further teaches:
wherein the first body has a display surface for display (32, fig. 1) and a first surface facing away from the display surface (see ‘1S’ in annotated fig. 2B below), and the second body has an input surface for input (22, fig. 1-2B, ¶[0019]) and a second surface facing away from the input surface (see ‘2S’ in annotated fig. 2B below),
wherein in a first position (fig. 2D), the display surface is arranged opposite to the input surface (fig. 2D), and in a projection along a second direction (see ‘2D’ in annotated fig. 1 below) , a connection line (where hinges 26 are disposed, figs. 1-2D) formed by a connection end of the first body (see ‘1B’ in annotated fig. 2B below) and a connection end of the second body (see ‘2B’ in annotated fig. 2B below)has a first tilt angle (0 degrees) relative to the first body (fig. 2D),
wherein in a second position (fig. 2A), the first surface is arranged opposite to the second surface (fig. 2A), and in a projection along the second direction, the connection line formed by the connection end of the first body and the connection end of the second body has a second tilt angle (0 degrees) relative to the first body (fig. 2A), and
wherein, the second direction is parallel to a rotation direction of the first connection component (fig. 1), and the first tilt angle is equal to the second tilt angle (figs. 2A and 2D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-4, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein an outer side wall of the first wheel body is formed with a first limiting structure and a second limiting structure, the first limiting structure is in a strip shape and extends along a circumference of the first wheel body, and the second limiting structure is in a strip shape and extends along an axial direction of the first wheel body, wherein an outer side wall of the second wheel body is formed with a third limiting structure and a fourth limiting structure, the third limiting structure is in a strip shape and extends along a circumference of the second wheel body, and the fourth limiting structure is in a spiral shape, wherein in the first rotation process, the first end of the slider slides with the first limiting structure of the first wheel body, and the second end of the slider slides with the third limiting structure of the second wheel body, and wherein in the second rotation process, the first end of the slider slides with the second limiting structure of the first wheel body, and the second end of the slider slides with the fourth limiting structure of the second wheel body. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 11-14, a combination of limitations that teaches:
wherein an outer side wall of the second wheel body is formed with a third limiting structure and a fourth limiting structure, the third limiting structure extends along a circumference of the second wheel body, and the fourth limiting structure is in a spiral shape. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 10908653 B2 Foldable Electronic Device and Hinge Mechanism Thereof. This invention relates generally to hinge mechanism, including a fixed member, a rotary member pivotally connected to the fixed member, a pin, a first gear set, and a second gear set. When the rotary member rotates relative to the fixed member from an initial angle to a first angle, the first gear set drives the pin to rotate in a first direction. When the rotary member further rotates relative to the fixed member from the first angle to a second angle, the second gear set drives the ping to rotate in a second direction, which is the opposite of the first direction
US 20240384751 A1 Hinge Device and Electronic Apparatus. This invention generally relates to a hinge device that enables rotary motion of a main-body chassis and a display chassis, and includes a first chassis shaft non-rotatably provided with respect to the main-body chassis, a second chassis shaft non-rotatably provided with respect to the display chassis.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841