Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US PGPUB 20210219437 hereinafter referenced as Kim in view of Yoo et al., US PGPUB 20200183465 hereinafter referenced as Yoo.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: a housing comprising a first surface facing a first direction (e.g., surface 421, fig. 4A),
a second surface facing a second direction opposite to the first direction (e.g., surface 422, fig. 4A), and
a side surface surrounding at least a portion of a space between the first surface and the second surface (e.g., side member 221, fig. 2);
a first conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a first part of the side surface (e.g., conductive portion 431, fig. 4A);
a second conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a second part of the side surface portion (e.g., conductive portion 432, fig. 4B);
a first segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the first conductive part and the second conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the first conductive part from the second conductive part ([0048] the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 in FIG. 4) disposed on one surface thereof and at least one first non-conductive portion (e.g., the first inner segment 451 or the second inner segment 453 in FIG. 4B) disposed between the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433);
a communication circuit arranged inside the housing (e.g., communication module 190, fig. 1); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, arranged inside the housing and electrically connected to the keyboard and the communication circuit (e.g., processor 120, fig. 1),
wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a partial area of an external electronic device, the first segmentation portion is aligned with a second segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at a side surface of a housing of the external electronic device ([0058] the sliding cover surface 425 may include at least one second non-conductive portion 461 disposed on a portion facing the first non-conductive portion 451 when the second side member 223 overlaps the first side member 221 most widely, and may not face the first non-conductive portion 451 when the second side member 223 overlaps the first side member 221 most narrowly or does not overlap the first side member 221).
a keyboard exposed to an outside through the first surface;
Kim does not specifically disclose a keyboard exposed to an outside through the first surface.
However, in the same endeavor, Yoo discloses a keyboard exposed to an outside through the first surface ([0027] The second housing 120 may include a third surface 121 on which an input device 1211 is formed and a fourth surface 122 opposite the third surface 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kim to further include Yoo’s keyboard arrangement in order to increase the functionality of the device.
As to claim 10, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: a housing (housing 120, fig. 1);
a plate arranged inside the housing (bracket 136, fig. 1; wherein the bracket 136 may include a plurality of plates);
a first conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a first part of a side surface of the plate (e.g., conductive portion 431, fig. 4A);
a second conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a second part of the side surface of the plate (e.g., conductive portion 432, fig. 4B);
a first segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the first conductive part and the second conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the first conductive part from the second conductive part ([0048] the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 in FIG. 4) disposed on one surface thereof and at least one first non-conductive portion (e.g., the first inner segment 451 or the second inner segment 453 in FIG. 4B) disposed between the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433);
a communication circuit arranged inside the housing (e.g., communication module 190, fig. 1); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, arranged inside the housing, and electrically connected to the keyboard and the communication circuit (e.g., processor 120, fig. 1),
wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a partial area of an external electronic device, the first segmentation portion is aligned with a second segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at a side surface of a housing of the external electronic device ([0058] the sliding cover surface 425 may include at least one second non-conductive portion 461 disposed on a portion facing the first non-conductive portion 451 when the second side member 223 overlaps the first side member 221 most widely, and may not face the first non-conductive portion 451 when the second side member 223 overlaps the first side member 221 most narrowly or does not overlap the first side member 221).
Kim does not specifically disclose a keyboard seated on the plate and exposed to an outside.
However, in the same endeavor, Yoo discloses a keyboard seated on the plate and exposed to an outside ([0027] The second housing 120 may include a third surface 121 on which an input device 1211 is formed and a fourth surface 122 opposite the third surface 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kim to further include Yoo’s keyboard arrangement in order to increase the functionality of the device.
As to claim 7, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses at least one first fastener arranged at an inner side of the side surface of the housing, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a partial area of the external electronic device, the at least one first fastener is configured to be fastened with at least one second fastener arranged at an inner side of the side surface of the housing of the external electronic device (Kim, [0040] The information processing device further includes a feeding coil configured to supply electricity to the incoming coil by electromagnetically induced coupling, a position detector configured to detect a positional relationship between a display unit and the keyboard based on a coupling strength of an electromagnetically induced coupling between the feeding coil and the incoming coil).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses at least one of the first conductive part or the second conductive part is configured to be electrically connected to the communication circuit and used as an antenna radiator, and at least one of the first conductive part or the second conductive part is connected to a ground switch (Kim, [0103] According to an embodiment, each of the first conductive portion 431, the second conductive portion 432, and the third conductive portion 433 may be a radiator, for example, an antenna).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the first conductive part and the second conductive part are selectively connected to the communication circuit through a switch (Yoo, [0130] To generate the magnetic signal, according to an embodiment, the MST communication module 1010 may include a switching module (not shown) that includes one or more switches connected with the MST antenna 1097-1, and control the switching module to change the direction of voltage or current supplied to the MST antenna 1097-1 according to the received signal).
As to claim 16, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 10. The combination further discloses at least one first fastener arranged at an inner side of the side surface of the housing, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a partial area of the external electronic device, the at least one first fastener is configured to be fastened with at least one second fastener arranged at an inner side of the side surface of the housing of the external electronic device (Kim, [0040] The information processing device further includes a feeding coil configured to supply electricity to the incoming coil by electromagnetically induced coupling, a position detector configured to detect a positional relationship between a display unit and the keyboard based on a coupling strength of an electromagnetically induced coupling between the feeding coil and the incoming coil).
As to claim 17, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 10. The combination further discloses at least one of the first conductive part or the second conductive part is configured to be electrically connected to the communication circuit and used as an antenna radiator (Kim, [0103] According to an embodiment, each of the first conductive portion 431, the second conductive portion 432, and the third conductive portion 433 may be a radiator, for example, an antenna).
As to claim 18, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 17. The combination further discloses at least one of the first conductive part or the second conductive part is connected to a ground switch (Yoo, [0130] To generate the magnetic signal, according to an embodiment, the MST communication module 1010 may include a switching module (not shown) that includes one or more switches connected with the MST antenna 1097-1, and control the switching module to change the direction of voltage or current supplied to the MST antenna 1097-1 according to the received signal).
As to claim 19, the combination of Kim and Yoo discloses the electronic device of claim 10. The combination further discloses the first conductive part and the second conductive part are selectively connected to the communication circuit through a switch (Yoo, [0130] To generate the magnetic signal, according to an embodiment, the MST communication module 1010 may include a switching module (not shown) that includes one or more switches connected with the MST antenna 1097-1, and control the switching module to change the direction of voltage or current supplied to the MST antenna 1097-1 according to the received signal).
Claims 2-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Yoo as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Nakata et al., US PGPUB 20210018989 hereinafter referenced as Nakata.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kim and Yoo does not specifically disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing of the external electronic device comprises a first part and a second part physically isolated from the first part, the first part being connected to the second part through a hinge structure comprising a hinge, and the first part and the second part configured to be rotated by the hinge structure, and based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the first segmentation portion is aligned with the second segmentation portion arranged at a side surface of the second part.
However, in the same endeavor, Nakata discloses the housing of the external electronic device comprises a first part and a second part physically isolated from the first part, the first part being connected to the second part through a hinge structure comprising a hinge, and the first part and the second part configured to be rotated by the hinge structure, and based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the first segmentation portion is aligned with the second segmentation portion arranged at a side surface of the second part ([0055] In one embodiment, when the external keyboard 2 is not connected, the input controller 151 controls an image of an input device, such as a virtual keyboard, a touch pad, or a pen drawing tablet, displayed as a virtual input device on the area 13B of the display unit 13 to acquire information input to such an input device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kim and Yoo to further include Nakata’s detaching keyboard arrangement in order to reduce the weight of the device.
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 2. The combination further discloses a third conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a third part of the side surface; and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the second conductive part and the third conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the second conductive part from the third conductive part, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap the first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the third segmentation portion is aligned with a fourth segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at the side surface portion of the second part (Kim, [0058] a first side member (e.g., the first side member 221 in FIG. 2) surrounding a portion of the space and having multiple conductive portions (e.g., the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 in FIG. 4) disposed on one surface thereof and at least one first non-conductive portion (e.g., the first inner segment 451 or the second inner segment 453 in FIG. 4B) disposed between the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433; a second side member (e.g., the second side member 223 in FIG. 2) surrounding another portion of the space at one side of the first side member 221 and configured to be movable toward the one side of the first side member 221).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 2. The combination further discloses a third conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a third part of the side surface; and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the second conductive part and the third conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the second conductive part from the third conductive part, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a second area different from the first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the second segmentation portion arranged at the side surface of the second part is not aligned with the first segmentation portion and is aligned with the third segmentation portion (Kim, [0058] a wireless communication circuit (e.g., the communication module 190 in FIG. 1) electrically connected to at least one of the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 and configured to transmit or receive RF signals, wherein the second side member 223 may include a sliding cover surface (e.g., the fifth surface 425 in FIG. 4B) disposed to face the one surface of the first side member 221, and wherein the sliding cover surface 425 may include at least one second non-conductive portion 461 disposed on a portion facing the first non-conductive portion 451 when the second side member 223 overlaps the first side member 221 most widely).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 2. The combination further discloses in a state where the electronic device is arranged to overlap a partial area of the external electronic device, based on the housing of the external electronic device being fully folded and the first part facing the second part, the first segmentation portion is aligned with the second segmentation portion arranged at the side surface of the second part and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at a side surface of the first part (Nakata, [0048] The display unit 13 is foldable and includes a main screen area 13A and an area 13B that can operate as a virtual input device).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 2. The combination further discloses a third conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a third part of the side surface; and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the second conductive part and the third conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the second conductive part from the third conductive part, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged adjacent to a lower side surface of the second part of the external electronic device, the third segmentation portion is aligned with a fourth segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at the lower side surface of the second part (Kim, [0059] The multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 may include a first conductive portion (e.g., the first conductive portion 431 in FIG. 4B), a second conductive portion (e.g., the second conductive portion 432 in FIG. 4B), and a third conductive portion (e.g., the third conductive portion 433 in FIG. 4B), the first conductive portion 431 may be disposed between the second conductive portion 432 and the third conductive portion 433).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kim and Yoo does not specifically disclose the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the housing of the external electronic device comprises a first part and a second part physically isolated from the first part, the first part being connected to the second part through a hinge structure comprising a hinge, and the first part and the second part are configured to be rotated by the hinge structure, the plate is arranged inside the second part, and based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the first segmentation portion is aligned with the second segmentation portion arranged at a side surface of the second part.
However, in the same endeavor, Nakata discloses the housing of the external electronic device comprises a first part and a second part physically isolated from the first part, the first part being connected to the second part through a hinge structure comprising a hinge, and the first part and the second part are configured to be rotated by the hinge structure, the plate is arranged inside the second part, and based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the first segmentation portion is aligned with the second segmentation portion arranged at a side surface of the second part ([0055] In one embodiment, when the external keyboard 2 is not connected, the input controller 151 controls an image of an input device, such as a virtual keyboard, a touch pad, or a pen drawing tablet, displayed as a virtual input device on the area 13B of the display unit 13 to acquire information input to such an input device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kim and Yoo to further include Nakata’s detaching keyboard arrangement in order to reduce the weight of the device.
As to claim 12, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 11. The combination further discloses a third conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a third part of the side surface of the plate; and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the second conductive part and the third conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the second conductive part from the third conductive part, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap the first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the third segmentation portion is aligned with a fourth segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at the side surface of the second part (Kim, [0058] a first side member (e.g., the first side member 221 in FIG. 2) surrounding a portion of the space and having multiple conductive portions (e.g., the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 in FIG. 4) disposed on one surface thereof and at least one first non-conductive portion (e.g., the first inner segment 451 or the second inner segment 453 in FIG. 4B) disposed between the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433; a second side member (e.g., the second side member 223 in FIG. 2) surrounding another portion of the space at one side of the first side member 221 and configured to be movable toward the one side of the first side member 221).
As to claim 13, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 11. The combination further discloses a third conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a third part of the side surface of the plate; and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the second conductive part and the third conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the second conductive part from the third conductive part, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged to overlap a second area different from the first area on the second part of the external electronic device, the second segmentation portion arranged at the side surface of the second part is not aligned with the first segmentation portion and is aligned with the third segmentation portion (Kim, [0058] a wireless communication circuit (e.g., the communication module 190 in FIG. 1) electrically connected to at least one of the multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 and configured to transmit or receive RF signals, wherein the second side member 223 may include a sliding cover surface (e.g., the fifth surface 425 in FIG. 4B) disposed to face the one surface of the first side member 221, and wherein the sliding cover surface 425 may include at least one second non-conductive portion 461 disposed on a portion facing the first non-conductive portion 451 when the second side member 223 overlaps the first side member 221 most widely).
As to claim 14, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 11. The combination further discloses in a state where the electronic device is arranged to overlap a partial area of the external electronic device, based on the housing of the external electronic device being fully folded and the first part facing the second part, the first segmentation portion is aligned with the second segmentation portion arranged at the side surface portion of the second part and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at a side surface of the first part (Nakata, [0048] The display unit 13 is foldable and includes a main screen area 13A and an area 13B that can operate as a virtual input device).
As to claim 15, the combination of Kim, Yoo and Nakata discloses the electronic device of claim 11. The combination further discloses a third conductive part comprising a conductive material arranged along a third part of the side surface of the plate; and a third segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material disposed between the second conductive part and the third conductive part, and configured to electrically isolate the second conductive part from the third conductive part, wherein, based on the electronic device being arranged adjacent to a lower side surface of the second part of the external electronic device, the third segmentation portion is aligned with a fourth segmentation portion comprising a non-conductive material arranged at the lower side surface of the second part (Kim, [0059] The multiple conductive portions 431, 432, and 433 may include a first conductive portion (e.g., the first conductive portion 431 in FIG. 4B), a second conductive portion (e.g., the second conductive portion 432 in FIG. 4B), and a third conductive portion (e.g., the third conductive portion 433 in FIG. 4B), the first conductive portion 431 may be disposed between the second conductive portion 432 and the third conductive portion 433).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al., US PGPUB 20200166973 discloses various embodiments relating to an electronic device comprising an accessory are described. An electronic device according to one embodiment comprises: a first electronic device forming a first curved surface on at least one side and including at least one first magnet on the first curved surface; a second electronic device forming a second curved surface on at least one side and including at least one second magnet on the second curved surface; and an accessory structure including third and fourth curved surfaces facing the first and second curved surfaces, and including at least one third and fourth magnets on the third and fourth curved surfaces, wherein the accessory structure may attach and detach the at least one first and second magnets and the at least one third and fourth magnets by magnetic force, may rotate the first and second curved surfaces along the third and fourth curved surfaces, and may be bent during rotation so as to mount the first electronic device at various angles. Other various embodiments are also possible..
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 1/22/2026