DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “to perform desired processing” in line 3. It is unclear as to what is the process that is desired to be performed and how the desired processed is determined that is to be performed. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 1-6 recite the limitations “circuitry configured to control a supply operation” in line 10. It is unclear as to how a circuity which is generally construed as the wiring between the components is or can be configured to control a supply operation beyond the simple transmitting of a signal between components. Control of a supply operation is generally controlled by a processor or a controller with logic to operate components successively or in unison to perform the said function. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Saito (WO 2024150159 A1).
Referring to claim 1. Saito discloses a medium processing apparatus (1; Figure 1), comprising:
a liquid applier (31; Figure 3) to apply liquid to a part of a medium to perform a liquid application (The liquid applier 31 executes a liquid application process; Para. [0028]);
a medium processing device (32; Figure 3) to perform desired processing on a bundle of media (The crimper 32 serves as a post-processing device and executes a crimping process; Para. [0028]) including the medium subjected to the liquid application (As illustrated in FIG. 3, the edge binder 25 includes the liquid applier 31 and a crimper 32. The liquid applier 31 executes a liquid application process. The crimper 32 serves as a post-processing device and executes a crimping process; Para. [0028]);
a liquid storage (43; Figure 4) to store liquid used for the liquid application by the liquid applier (31; Figure 3);
a liquid detector (sensor 43a and sensor 94; Figure 4) to detect an amount of liquid in the liquid storage (The output value (voltage) output when the first liquid-level sensor 43a detects the liquid (liquid level) in the first liquid storage tank 43 is input to the controller 100B as a control device; Para. [0087]);
and circuitry (3; wiring of circuits; see Figure 8) configured to control a supply operation of supplying the liquid to the liquid applier (31; Figure 3) to set a liquid applicable state in which the liquid applier (31; Figure 3) can apply the liquid to the at least one medium (Pb) based on information from the liquid detector (sensor 43a and sensor 94; Figure 4),
the circuitry (controller 3; wiring of circuits; see Figure 8) configured to change a transition time to the liquid applicable state, based on the amount of liquid in the liquid storage (43) detected by the liquid detector (sensor 43a and sensor 94; Figures 4, 12, 13; par. 90, 94, 95, 98-111, the transition time to the liquid applicable state of step S705 of fig. 13a is changed depending on the detection results in steps S703, S707 and S712 in fig. 13A because, e.g., the necessary time to reach step S705 is different depending on whether additional processes in case of step S703 "NO" have to be performed or not in case of step S703 “YES”).
Referring to claim 2. Saito discloses a medium processing apparatus (1; Figure 1), comprising:
wherein the circuitry changes (controller 3; wiring of circuits; see Figure 8) the transition time so as to immediately transition to the liquid applicable state, when the amount of liquid in the liquid storage is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount (step S703 controller detects the output value of first liquid level sensor is greater than or equal to a threshold value; step S706 start driving liquid supply pump after detection; Figure 13A).
Referring to claim 3. Saito discloses a medium processing apparatus (1; Figure 1), comprising:
wherein the circuitry (controller 3; wiring of circuits; see Figure 8) changes the transition time so as to transition to the liquid applicable state after waiting for a predetermined time (wait 10 seconds; step S710; Figure 13A), when the amount of liquid in the liquid storage is less than a predetermined amount (Step S703, no).
Referring to claim 4. Saito discloses a medium processing apparatus (1; Figure 1), comprising:
wherein the circuitry (controller 3; wiring of circuits; see Figure 8) compares a supplying time of the liquid in the supply operation with a preset time to determine the amount of liquid in the liquid storage (see operation steps in Figure 13A, 13B,18, 27 and 28).
Referring to claims 5 and 6. Saito discloses a medium processing apparatus (1; Figure 1), comprising:
an input device (110; Figure 27) to change the preset time in response to a user operation,
wherein the circuitry (controller 3; wiring of circuits; see Figure 8) sets the preset time based on an input value from the input device (the image forming apparatus 2 includes the operation panel 110. The operation panel 110 includes an operation device that receives instructions from a user and a display serving as a notifier that notifies the user of information. The operation device includes, for example, hard keys and a touch screen overlaid on the display. The operation panel 110 acquires information from the user through the operation device and provides information to the user through the display; Para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, see claim rejections 1-5 cited above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651