Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive unit” in claims 1, 4 and 15-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 and its dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the top" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aphinity (WO2021158448) in view of Pentair (US20220154710).
Claim 1: Aphinity teaches a pump/mixer device (see Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 39, 55; see specifically embodiment of Fig. 12 which uses components from other embodiment which will be referenced; see claim 1 of Alphinity) comprising a main inlet (12, "main inlet", Figs. 3 and 12; paragraphs 39,56); an outer chamber disposed in the pump/mixer and fluidically connected to the main inlet (34, "outer chamber", figs. 1-15; paragraphs 46-47); a plurality of lower chambers disposed in the pump/mixer beneath the outer chamber (44, "lower chambers", figs. 1-15; paragraph 47) and fluidically connected to the outer chamber by respective check valves interposed between the outer chamber and the plurality of lower chambers (see Fig. 3; see check valves 42; paragraph 47), each check valve comprising an opening or aperture covered by a polymeric head or cap (see Fig. 3; paragraph 47; see opening in housing 30 that is covered by cap of valve 42; valves 42 are polymeric); a central chamber disposed in the pump/mixer (32, "central chamber", Figs. 1-15; paragraph 46-47), the central chamber fluidically connected to the plurality of lower chambers with respective check valves interposed between the central chamber and the plurality of lower chambers (see Fig. 3; paragraph 46-47; see check valves 46), each check valve comprising an opening or aperture covered by a polymeric head or cap (see Fig. 3; paragraph 47; see opening in housing 30 that is covered by cap of valve 46; valves 46 are polymeric); one or more outlets fluidically connected to the central chamber (18, "outlets", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 43-44); one or more additional inlets fluidically coupled to the central chamber via respective inlet check valve(s) (see Fig. 12; paragraph 55; see additional inlets 72); and a moveable diaphragm disposed in each of the plurality of lower chambers (48, "flexible diaphragms", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 47-48), the moveable diaphragms interfacing with a respective actuating element (54 - "actuating element", fig. 3) driven by a wobble or nutating plate (58, "wobble plate", Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49) operatively coupled to a motor or drive unit (see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49), wherein each of the moveable diaphragms reciprocally moves in response to actuation by the motor or drive unit (See Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49).
Alphinity does not specifically teach the opening or aperture of the check valves are a plurality of lobed apertures or openings. However, Pentair teaches a pump/mixer device (see Figs. 1 and 5a-7; paragraph 23, 27-28) comprising a check valve (see Figs. 5a-7; paragraphs 26-27; see valve housing 44 which includes a plurality of check valves 58 that allow flow in only one direction) comprising a plurality of lobed openings or apertures (see figs. 5a-6b; see lobe-shaped peripheral inlet apertures 68) covered by a head cap (note closure/covering portion of 58, see Figs. 5a-7; paragraph 27). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the check valve lobed apertures like that of Pentair as the check valve apertures in Aphinity as these multiple apertures arranged at a particular region in the valve will better guide the flow of fluids (either inlet of outlet) towards the respective inlet/outlet region.
Claim 2: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Aphinity further teaches that the pump/mixer comprises a plurality of outlets (Aphinity: 18 - "outlets", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 43-44).
Claim 3: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses the pump/mixer device of claim 1, wherein the pump/mixer comprises a plurality of inlets fluidically coupled to the central chamber (Aphinity: see Fig. 12; paragraph 55; see additional inlets 72).
Claim 4: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the wobble or nutating plate is coupled to the motor or drive unit by an eccentric drive shaft (Aphinity: see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49; see eccentric drive shaft 64).
Claim 5: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the one or more additional inlets are removable from the pump/mixer device (Aphinity: paragraph 53).
Claim 6: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the one or more outlets are removable from the pump/mixer device (Aphinity: paragraph 54).
Claim 7: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses an upper housing containing the main inlet (Alphinity: see Figs. 2-3; paragraphs 45-46); see upper housing 22), a central housing containing the plurality of lower chambers and the central chamber (Alphinity: see Figs. 2-3; paragraphs 45-46; see central housing 30), and a bottom housing or plate containing the moveable diaphragms and secured to the central housing (Alphinity: see Figs. 2-3; paragraphs 45-46; see bottom housing 52).
Claim 9: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Pentair further teaches a plurality of lobed openings or apertures are symmetrically arranged around a central aperture that accommodates a post or extension of each respective check valve (Fig. 8, note symmetry of openings 68 around aperture 66 for valve post 74).
Claim 10: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses a method of operating the pump/mixer device of claim 1 comprising driving the motor or drive unit to actuate the wobble or nutating plate (Alphinity: see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49); inputting a first fluid from a vessel or container into the main inlet of the pump/mixer device (Alphinity: see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 55); inputting a second or additional fluid(s) into the pump/mixer device via the one or more additional inlets (paragraphs 51-54, 60); mixing the first fluid and the second or additional fluid(s) in the central chamber of the pump/mixer device (paragraphs 51-54, 60); and outputting the mixed fluid via the one or more outlets (Alphinity: paragraph 16, 59).
Claim 11: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the second or additional fluid(s) are input into the pump/mixer device by one or more additional pumps (see paragraphs 57-58).
Claim 12: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the one or more additional inlets contain or are coupled to respective control valves, and one or more of the respective control valves are actuated to initiate and/or stop flow of the second or additional fluid(s) into the pump/mixer device (see paragraphs 57-58).
Claim 13: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses the second or additional fluid(s) comprises a buffer fluid or concentrated fluid (see paragraphs 4-5, 9-10, 59-62).
Claim 14: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the first fluid comprises living cells therein (see paragraphs 3-6, 64).
Claim 15: Alphinity teaches a pump device (see figs. 1-15; paragraphs 39, 55; see specifically embodiment of fig. 12 which uses components from other embodiment which will be referenced; see also claim 1 of Alphinity) comprising an inlet (12 - "main inlet", Figs. 3 and 12; paragraphs 39, 56) located at the top or upper region of the pump; an outer chamber disposed in the pump and fluidically connected to the inlet (34 - "outer chamber", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 46-47); a plurality of lower chambers disposed in the pump beneath the outer chamber (44 - "lower chambers", Figs. 1-15; paragraph 47) and
fluidically connected to the outer chamber by respective check valves interposed between the outer chamber and the plurality of lower chambers (see Fig. 3; see check valves 42; paragraph 47), each check valve comprising an opening or aperture covered by a polymeric head or cap (see Fig. 3; paragraph 47; see opening in housing 30 that is covered by cap of valve 42; valves 42 are polymeric); a central chamber disposed in the pump (32 - "central chamber", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 46-47), the central chamber fluidically connected to the plurality of lower chambers with respective check valves interposed between the central chamber and the plurality of lower chambers (see Fig. 3; paragraphs 46-47; see check valves 46), each check valve comprising an opening or aperture covered by a polymeric head or cap (see Fig. 3; paragraph 47; see opening in housing 30 that is covered by cap of valve 46; valves 46 are polymeric); a plurality of outlets fluidically connected to the central chamber (18 - "outlets", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 43-44); and a moveable diaphragm disposed in each of the plurality of lower chambers (48 - "flexible diaphragms", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 47-48), the moveable diaphragms interfacing with a respective actuating element (54 - "actuating element", Fig. 3) driven by a wobble or nutating plate (58 - "wobble plate", Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49) operatively coupled to a motor or drive unit (see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49), wherein each of the moveable diaphragms reciprocally moves in response to actuation by the motor or drive unit (see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49).
Alphinity does not specifically teach the opening or aperture of the check valves are a plurality of lobed apertures or openings. Pentair teaches a pump/mixer device (see Figs. 1 and 5a-7; paragraph 23, 27-28) comprising a check valve (see Figs. 5a-7; paragraphs 26-27; see valve housing 44 and valves 58 that allow flow in only one direction) comprising a plurality of lobed openings or apertures (see Figs. 5a-6b; see lobe shaped peripheral inlet apertures 68) covered by a head cap (58 - "valves", Figs. 5a-7; paragraph 27). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the check valve lobed apertures like that of Pentair as the check valve apertures in Aphinity as these multiple apertures arranged at a particular region in the valve will better guide the flow of fluids (either inlet of outlet) towards the respective inlet/outlet region.
Claim 16: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the wobble or nutating plate is coupled to the motor or drive unit by an eccentric drive shaft (Alphinity: see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49; see eccentric drive shaft 64).
Claim 17: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses that the plurality of outlets are removable from the pump device (Alphinity: see paragraph 54).
Claim 18: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses an upper housing containing the inlet (Alphinity: see Figs. 2-3; paragraph 45-46; see upper housing 22), a central housing containing the plurality of lower chambers and the central chamber (Alphinity: see Figs. 2-3; paragraphs 45-46; see central housing 30), and a bottom housing or plate containing the moveable diaphragms and secured to the central housing (Alphinity: see Figs. 2-3; paragraphs 45-46; see bottom housing 52).
Claim 19: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses a method of operating the pump (see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 39; see
above claims 13-16; see claim 13 of Alphinity) comprising driving the motor or drive unit to actuate the wobble or nutating plate (Alphinity: see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49); inputting a fluid from a vessel or container into the pump (Alphinity: see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 55); and outputting the fluid from the pump via one or more of the plurality of outlets (Alphinity: paragraph 16, 59).
Claim 20: Aphinity and Pentair teach the previous limitations. Modified Aphinity further discloses inputting another fluid into the central chamber of the pump from one or more additional inlets (paragraphs 51-54, 60).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aphinity (WO2021158448) in view of Zitron (DE19856754A1).
Claim 1: Aphinity teaches a pump/mixer device (see Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 39, 55; see specifically embodiment of Fig. 12 which uses components from other embodiment which will be referenced; see claim 1 of Alphinity) comprising a main inlet (12, "main inlet", Figs. 3 and 12; paragraphs 39,56); an outer chamber disposed in the pump/mixer and fluidically connected to the main inlet (34, "outer chamber", figs. 1-15; paragraphs 46-47); a plurality of lower chambers disposed in the pump/mixer beneath the outer chamber (44, "lower chambers", figs. 1-15; paragraph 47) and fluidically connected to the outer chamber by respective check valves interposed between the outer chamber and the plurality of lower chambers (see Fig. 3; see check valves 42; paragraph 47), each check valve comprising an opening or aperture covered by a polymeric head or cap (see Fig. 3; paragraph 47; see opening in housing 30 that is covered by cap of valve 42; valves 42 are polymeric); a central chamber disposed in the pump/mixer (32, "central chamber", Figs. 1-15; paragraph 46-47), the central chamber fluidically connected to the plurality of lower chambers with respective check valves interposed between the central chamber and the plurality of lower chambers (see Fig. 3; paragraph 46-47; see check valves 46), each check valve comprising an opening or aperture covered by a polymeric head or cap (see Fig. 3; paragraph 47; see opening in housing 30 that is covered by cap of valve 46; valves 46 are polymeric); one or more outlets fluidically connected to the central chamber (18, "outlets", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 43-44); one or more additional inlets fluidically coupled to the central chamber via respective inlet check valve(s) (see Fig. 12; paragraph 55; see additional inlets 72); and a moveable diaphragm disposed in each of the plurality of lower chambers (48, "flexible diaphragms", Figs. 1-15; paragraphs 47-48), the moveable diaphragms interfacing with a respective actuating element (54 - "actuating element", fig. 3) driven by a wobble or nutating plate (58, "wobble plate", Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49) operatively coupled to a motor or drive unit (see Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49), wherein each of the moveable diaphragms reciprocally moves in response to actuation by the motor or drive unit (See Figs. 1-15; paragraph 49).
Alphinity does not specifically teach the opening or aperture of the check valves are a plurality of lobed apertures or openings. However, Zitron teaches a pump/mixer device (See Figs. 1-5) comprising a check valve comprising a plurality of lobed openings or apertures (Figs. 4-5; note lobed openings of 22 or 26) covered by a head cap (see Fig. 1; note one of 24/27). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the check valve lobed apertures like that of Zitron as the check valve apertures in Aphinity as the multiple apertures arranged at a particular region in the valve will better guide the flow of fluids (either inlet of outlet) towards the respective inlet/outlet region.
Claim 8: Alphinity and Zitron teach the previous limitations. Zitron further teaches that the plurality of lobed openings or apertures comprise an outer arcuate surface and an inner arcuate surface that are connected at two lobed ends (see Figs. 4-5).
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746