DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on 13 March 2025 and 25 July 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12256082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to utilize processes at various levels of resolution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-30, 25, 29-30, 32, 34-35, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 9872024 B2).
Regarding Claims 22, 29, 34, and 39, Sun discloses a method performed on a device for video encoding/decoding, comprising: a processor configured to: obtain a motion vector (MV) difference associated with a first and second blocks [Sun: Claim 1: wherein the deblock filter includes a determination means for determining whether or not to conduct filtering at a boundary between two adjacent blocks in the reconstructed image, where: (1) filtering is conducted when at least one of the two adjacent blocks is intra-coded, and (2) filtering is not conducted when both of the two adjacent blocks are not intra-coded, a non-zero transformation coefficient is not coded in both of the two adjacent blocks, the two adjacent blocks are predicted by a same reference frame, and an absolute value of a difference between motion vectors of the two adjacent blocks is smaller than a specified threshold value, wherein the filtering modifies the pixel values at the boundary between the two adjacent blocks in the reconstructed image when at least one of the two adjacent blocks is intra-coded], wherein the second block is adjacent to the first block [Sun: Claim 1: An image decoding apparatus for filtering a boundary between two adjacent blocks in a reconstructed image]; obtain a sample value for a boundary pixel of the first block based on the MV difference [Sun: Claim 1: an absolute value of a difference between motion vectors of the two adjacent blocks]; and decode the first block based on the obtained sample value for the boundary pixel [Sun: Claim 1: is smaller than a specified threshold value, wherein the filtering modifies the pixel values at the boundary between the two adjacent blocks in the reconstructed image when at least one of the two adjacent blocks is intra-coded].
Regarding Claims 23, 30, 35, and 40, Sun discloses all the limitations of Claims 22, 29, 34, and 39, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Sun discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a reference picture of the first block and a reference picture of the second block; and obtain a MV of the second block, wherein the MV difference is obtained using the MV of the second block based on determining that the reference picture of the first block is the same as the reference picture of the second block [Sun: Claim 1: the two adjacent blocks are predicted by a same reference frame].
Regarding Claims 25 and 32, Sun discloses all the limitations of Claims 22 and 29, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Sun discloses wherein the sample value for the boundary pixel of the first block is determined further based on a sample value for a pixel that is adjacent to the boundary pixel [Sun: Claim 1: an absolute value of a difference between motion vectors of the two adjacent blocks is smaller than a specified threshold value].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 26-28, 31, 33, 36, and 37-38 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: While MV manipulation between boundary pixels is well-known, the specific adjustments base on the specific variables in the specific instances has not been found in the prior art.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482